Top-rated product

Sony SR170 DVD Player.

<p>The sleek, compact design of the Sony SR170 DVD player compliments any room it is placed in. With playback compatibility including: DVD, DVD-R/RW and more, every medium of playback is catered for. Boasting an amazing energy efficient power consumption on standby of only 0.5 watts, this is both environmentally friendly and cost effective.</p><ul><li>Playback compatibility: DVD.</li></ul><p>Connectivity:</p><p>General information:</p><ul><li>Remote control - requires 2 x AA (included).</li><li>Size H3.85, W27, D20.7cm.</li><li>Weight 0.95kg.</li></ul><p>Energy efficiency information:</p><ul><li>Standby power consumption 0.5 watt.</li></ul><p>4905524904116</p>
Overall rating:
4.6 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 100 reviews
5 Stars
73
4 Stars
20
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
0
1 Star
3
95 of 10095%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
58 Questions | 64 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Review 1 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Easy to use
Posted19 August 2014
Customer avatar
By bernjill
From:Isle of Wight, UK
Age:65 or over
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"good value easy to connect as I had a cable"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This product is smaller than I expected.
Posted12 August 2014
Customer avatar
By lro63
From:Lancashire, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Value for money if you are looking for something compact. Does the job."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product is compact and easy to use.
Posted02 August 2014
Customer avatar
By wadey snr.
From:Stoke-on-Trent, Stoke-on-Trent, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Bought for a pensioner who found it simple to use and overall delighted with product."
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy Set up
Posted29 July 2014
Customer avatar
By sheshe
From:ely
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Great value, easy set up. Remote a bit difficult to get used too.
Just wish they would not make the front manual buttons in black as you cant see them
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sony SR170 DVD Player
Posted29 July 2014
Customer avatar
By tes
From:england
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"For the price i paid this player is as good as others of a higher price i fully recomend"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
a good dvd player
Posted24 July 2014
Customer avatar
By jan
From:Halifax, West Yorkshire, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"its easy to set up nice size for the bedroom could do with a longer mains lead on it but that's not a problem really"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good product for the price
Posted22 July 2014
Customer avatar
By neil
From:lancashire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"good product for the price"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dvf plater
Posted22 July 2014
Customer avatar
By coddy
From:portpatrick
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"Good sevice in stranraer..."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sony DVD player
Posted20 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Sue
From:West Sussex
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"Neat machine that is quite basic but it does what it says on the box.
Easy to use and set up. Ideal for bedroom
Great for the price
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Bad advertising
Posted10 July 2014
Customer avatar
By chairman
From:Ceredigion
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"Product is fine.
What a pity your catalogue did not tell me a scart lead was not included.
Suggest this omission is rectified ASAP
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
no fuss
Posted10 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Nicci61
From:Helston, Cornwall, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"If you want a simple dvd player at a great price, then this is fantastic value, from a renowned manufacturer."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SONY SR170
Posted09 July 2014
Customer avatar
By PETER
From:Essex, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Very good device, set up not as easy as they said - but we got there in the end.
Can't understand why the hand control as 30 buttons - when you only want to play a DVD !!!!!
Bottom line - great product for the price - fantastic quality"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DVD player
Posted08 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Anton m a
From:East Riding of Yorkshire HU17, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Plug in connect scart ready to go"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent quality and value
Posted02 July 2014
Customer avatar
By hutty
From:Dublin, Ireland
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Excellent quality and value"
Yes, I recommend this product.
-4points
2of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Little Power Package
Posted24 June 2014
Customer avatar
By Parksie
From:Aberdeenshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I needed a neat, light DVD player which would not loose any of the quality. This product has all of these features. A great little machine!!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Does what it says on the tin - very cheaply
Posted24 June 2014
Customer avatar
By Hampshire housewife
From:Hampshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Only use a DVD player occasionally and needed a replacement so chose a Sony one to match our TV. Very easy to install and set up - everything seemed to happen automatically. Played a DVD perfectly on first try. Fantastic value compared to what we paid 15 years ago! Only criticism is the hand book which was incomprehensible to me - just don't know what all those acronyms and technical terms mean - but there seem to be loads of special features I shall probably never use!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Small but powerful
Posted11 June 2014
Customer avatar
By Patrick
From:Leeds
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"A machine designed for simplicity and size. Perfect"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to install
Posted10 June 2014
Customer avatar
By Max28
From:Surrey
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Great for the bedroom"
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Does what it should
Posted10 June 2014
Customer avatar
By Trevor
From:Yorkshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Bought this DVD Player to replace ageing cheapie. For a reasonable price it does its job well and the pictures and sound are perfectly adequate for normal, non-HD viewing."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted03 June 2014
Customer avatar
By Mary
From:nortumberland
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"This product exceeded all expectations"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 Next >>>