Top-rated product

Sony SR170 DVD Player.

<p>The sleek, compact design of the Sony SR170 DVD player complements any room it is placed in. With playback compatibility including: DVD, DVD-R/RW and more, every medium of playback is catered for. Boasting an amazing energy efficient power consumption on standby of only 0.5 watts, this is both environmentally friendly and cost effective.</p><ul><li>Playback compatibility: DVD.</li></ul><p>Connectivity:</p><p>General information:</p><ul><li>Remote control - requires 2 x AA (included).</li><li>Size H3.85, W27, D20.7cm.</li><li>Weight 0.95kg.</li></ul><p>Energy efficiency information:</p><ul><li>Standby power consumption 0.5 watt.</li></ul><p>4905524904116</p>
Overall rating:
4.509 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 218 reviews
5 Stars
148
4 Stars
51
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
0
1 Star
9
205 of 21894%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
83 Questions | 85 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Review 1 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DVD Player Sony SR170
Posted26 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Bonnie
From:near Carmarthen
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" It was smaller than I had pictured, but it does the job really well. The fact that it is small is a bonus as it does not take up much room "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very pleased
Posted24 March 2015
Customer avatar
By I can't see why
From:Lancashire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I am very pleased with my purchase both price and quality "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simple DVD player that does the job!
Posted19 March 2015
Customer avatar
By BrixtonGirl
Age:25 to 34
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" We recently bought this DVD player and it's really easy to install and use with decent sound/picture quality. Remote and a battery are included. You need to buy a SCART cable though if you don't have one. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
brilliant dvd player
Posted17 March 2015
Customer avatar
By freddie
Age:65 or over
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Very happy with this neat compact DVD player - does what it says on the tin "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
all around good buy
Posted10 March 2015
Customer avatar
By myself
From:Somerset, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" simple to set up, good quality all around at a very good price "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sony sr170 dvd player
Posted10 March 2015
Customer avatar
By willie
From:stirlingshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This is a great dvd player small,compact,and very easy to use and very cheap.Have allready got a few Sony products which have been very reliable and would certainly recommend this to anyone. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DVD Player
Posted10 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Barns
From:Staffordshire, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Easy to set up and operate.
No scart lead included.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good quality
Posted10 March 2015
Customer avatar
By gray
From:Yorkshire,
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Received free product:Yes
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Sony disc play offers good value as is excellent quality and value "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Does the job
Posted08 March 2015
Customer avatar
By HappySteve
From:Tyne & Wear
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
" It's a fair DVD player nothing more to say, the controller is a pain at times to use. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
replacement DVD player
Posted03 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Fell Runner
From:Cumbria
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Easy to set up. easy to use. My 8 year old grandson picked up the remote control and started plaaaaaaaaying a DVD "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Multi region - hurrah!
Posted03 March 2015
Customer avatar
By juliet
From:wor cestershire
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" I have a large collection of black/white films and old tv shows (like I Love Lucy). My old multi region decided to give up so I went out and bought this. I am very pleased, was so simple to set up (didn't need husband - another point in its favour!)with 10 mins was sitting on sofa, glass of wine and a new (but old) Jack Benny movie. Good value. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
this product is basic and is worth the low cost
Posted26 February 2015
Customer avatar
By pamela
From:hayes, middlesex
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
" The product is fine. It was cheap but the DVD player gets the job done. It doesn't have a forward or rewind button which is odd and might be annoying sometimes but is good because this stops people who have a habit of rewinding. It takes a while for functions to happen, for e.g. when you press ON or PLAY, you have to wait several long seconds to be able to press anything else. In this fast pace world we live in it gets me frustrated sometimes, but at the end of the day it does the basic job fine "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This product was a present
Posted26 February 2015
Customer avatar
By merwrite
From:M22
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
" And it is working well and the owner happy with it.
The sound quality is good and it is also used a a CD player.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
sony dvd player
Posted24 February 2015
Customer avatar
By Bim180
From:Surrey
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" This dvd works well it serves it's purpose in my sons bedroom. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sony dvd
Posted24 February 2015
Customer avatar
By Rik
From:Essex
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Received free product:Yes
Picture Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
" Budget DVD does the job "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
No Music
Posted18 February 2015
Customer avatar
By mgaps
From:Kent, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
" plays films ok but will not play music CD. so back to shop "
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good performer
Posted17 February 2015
Customer avatar
By spokeshave
From:Carlisle, Cumbria, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Remote initially appeared more complicated than it needs to be but overall the player is easy to use and performs well - I couldn't ask for more. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product
Posted17 February 2015
Customer avatar
By Algenon
From:Nottinghamshire.
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" This is a very stylish product easy to use and good quality.
Also a good price with excellent picture quality and sound.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Film watch
Posted17 February 2015
Customer avatar
By teamleadert
From:Newton Abbot, Newton Abbot, Devon TQ12, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" No problems connecting and using. Good value for money "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Does what it should
Posted12 February 2015
Customer avatar
By Kim
From:Somerset
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Not the most expensive DVD player, but not the cheapest either.
It plays DVDs - that's all that matters really!
The picture quality is good and the sound is ok.
It has no fancy features and a pretty straight-forward remote control.
Overall, it's perfect for what it should do! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 Next >>>