Top-rated product

Sony SR170 DVD Player.

<p>The sleek, compact design of the Sony SR170 DVD player compliments any room it is placed in. With playback compatibility including: DVD, DVD-R/RW and more, every medium of playback is catered for. Boasting an amazing energy efficient power consumption on standby of only 0.5 watts, this is both environmentally friendly and cost effective.</p><ul><li>Playback compatibility: DVD.</li></ul><p>Connectivity:</p><p>General information:</p><ul><li>Remote control - requires 2 x AA (included).</li><li>Size H3.85, W27, D20.7cm.</li><li>Weight 0.95kg.</li></ul><p>Energy efficiency information:</p><ul><li>Standby power consumption 0.5 watt.</li></ul><p>4905524904116</p>
Overall rating:
4.58 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 88 reviews
5 Stars
64
4 Stars
17
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
0
1 Star
3
84 of 8895%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
57 Questions | 63 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Review 1 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sony SR170 DVD Player
Posted29 July 2014
Customer avatar
By tes
From:england
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"For the price i paid this player is as good as others of a higher price i fully recomend"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
a good dvd player
Posted24 July 2014
Customer avatar
By jan
From:Halifax, West Yorkshire, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"its easy to set up nice size for the bedroom could do with a longer mains lead on it but that's not a problem really"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good product for the price
Posted22 July 2014
Customer avatar
By neil
From:lancashire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"good product for the price"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dvf plater
Posted22 July 2014
Customer avatar
By coddy
From:portpatrick
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"Good sevice in stranraer..."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sony DVD player
Posted20 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Sue
From:West Sussex
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"Neat machine that is quite basic but it does what it says on the box.
Easy to use and set up. Ideal for bedroom
Great for the price
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Bad advertising
Posted10 July 2014
Customer avatar
By chairman
From:Ceredigion
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"Product is fine.
What a pity your catalogue did not tell me a scart lead was not included.
Suggest this omission is rectified ASAP
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
no fuss
Posted10 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Nicci61
From:Helston, Cornwall, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"If you want a simple dvd player at a great price, then this is fantastic value, from a renowned manufacturer."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SONY SR170
Posted09 July 2014
Customer avatar
By PETER
From:Essex, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Very good device, set up not as easy as they said - but we got there in the end.
Can't understand why the hand control as 30 buttons - when you only want to play a DVD !!!!!
Bottom line - great product for the price - fantastic quality"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DVD player
Posted08 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Anton m a
From:East Riding of Yorkshire HU17, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Plug in connect scart ready to go"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent quality and value
Posted02 July 2014
Customer avatar
By hutty
From:Dublin, Ireland
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Excellent quality and value"
Yes, I recommend this product.
-5points
1of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Little Power Package
Posted24 June 2014
Customer avatar
By Parksie
From:Aberdeenshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I needed a neat, light DVD player which would not loose any of the quality. This product has all of these features. A great little machine!!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Does what it says on the tin - very cheaply
Posted24 June 2014
Customer avatar
By Hampshire housewife
From:Hampshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Only use a DVD player occasionally and needed a replacement so chose a Sony one to match our TV. Very easy to install and set up - everything seemed to happen automatically. Played a DVD perfectly on first try. Fantastic value compared to what we paid 15 years ago! Only criticism is the hand book which was incomprehensible to me - just don't know what all those acronyms and technical terms mean - but there seem to be loads of special features I shall probably never use!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Small but powerful
Posted11 June 2014
Customer avatar
By Patrick
From:Leeds
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"A machine designed for simplicity and size. Perfect"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to install
Posted10 June 2014
Customer avatar
By Max28
From:Surrey
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Great for the bedroom"
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Does what it should
Posted10 June 2014
Customer avatar
By Trevor
From:Yorkshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Bought this DVD Player to replace ageing cheapie. For a reasonable price it does its job well and the pictures and sound are perfectly adequate for normal, non-HD viewing."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted03 June 2014
Customer avatar
By Mary
From:nortumberland
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"This product exceeded all expectations"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simple, good value
Posted28 May 2014
Customer avatar
By Roger
From:UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"Early days, it's only been in use for a week or so. Bought as a simple DVD player to go with a small (24") TV in a spare room. Difficult to judge the finer points of picture quality on that size screen, and even harder to judge sound quality, but no problems that we've noticed, so I've been generous with the "Excellent". Not many features, but we weren't looking for complexity. Very easy to set up and use, and seems to be exactly what we wanted, and good value for money."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Posted27 May 2014
Customer avatar
By Kel
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"cheap and cheerful. It was bought for my children's playroom, it is easy for them to use and picture quality good. All in all very happy with the purchase and so are my children."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First class
Posted27 May 2014
Customer avatar
By DaGo49
From:Suffolk, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Great DVD player from Sony for not a lot of money. Small and neat it does exactly what it says on the box."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sony SR170 DVD Player
Posted20 May 2014
Customer avatar
By HKB
From:Hampshire
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
"Remote control is a little unsensitive - needs quite a heavy hand. Also, volume control doesn't work - need to use TV remote control to alter that. Otherwise, small and neat."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 Next >>>