Top-rated product

Sony SR170 DVD Player.

<p>The sleek, compact design of the Sony SR170 DVD player compliments any room it is placed in. With playback compatibility including: DVD, DVD-R/RW and more, every medium of playback is catered for. Boasting an amazing energy efficient power consumption on standby of only 0.5 watts, this is both environmentally friendly and cost effective.</p><ul><li>Playback compatibility: DVD.</li></ul><p>Connectivity:</p><p>General information:</p><ul><li>Remote control - requires 2 x AA (included).</li><li>Size H3.85, W27, D20.7cm.</li><li>Weight 0.95kg.</li></ul><p>Energy efficiency information:</p><ul><li>Standby power consumption 0.5 watt.</li></ul><p>4905524904116</p>
Overall rating:
4.542 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 190 reviews
5 Stars
132
4 Stars
43
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
0
1 Star
7
180 of 19095%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
82 Questions | 84 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Review 1 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This product lives up to all its claims.
Posted27 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Nameless
From:Devon
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Excellent value and enables the use of viewing DVDs from all regions around the world which is helpful when one buys DVDs when travelling. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for the price.
Posted27 January 2015
Customer avatar
By teresa6705
From:Leicester, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I brought this dvd player for my aunt, whom does not like new technology! She absolutely loves it, so easy to use. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DVDplayer
Posted26 January 2015
Customer avatar
By chick
From:east yorkshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" lovely item small and compact very easy to use "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted23 January 2015
Customer avatar
By stu
From:Midlothian, UK
Age:55 to 64
" does what it says on the tin "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Does what it says on the tin
Posted23 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Pippa
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" This DVD player works fine - it's just very very slow to start, or to take any info from the remote. As long as you aren't looking for something that responds quickly, it's perfectly fine. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
would reccomemd
Posted22 January 2015
Customer avatar
By briona
From:east kilbride
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" I bought this for mother and she is impressed with quality and finds easy to use.
Good value "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sony SR170 DVD player
Posted22 January 2015
Customer avatar
By k11
From:Surbiton, Greater London, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" A good value dvd player, easy to install and use. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dvd gem.
Posted22 January 2015
Customer avatar
By diamondlil
From:Ayrshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Brilliant DVD player and CDs . Really excellent for the prIce paid . You just don't need any better . "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sony dvd player
Posted22 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Peter R
From:UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Purchased this for an elderly relative who following illness is more housebound. This dvd player is simple to set up, absolute ease to operate, and provides good qualty picture reproduction. For the price and quality of this player, you really cant lose, recommended. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Value
Posted22 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Classicol
From:DT11, United Kingdom
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
" Inexpensive item that is great value. Can't complain at that price if it is a little noisy when operating. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
What we needed
Posted22 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Eddie
From:West Mids
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Easy to use. Picture quality has been good. A good buy at the price. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great little machine.
Posted14 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Mike99
From:Cirencester
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Great little player. Very easy to use with the remote - the operating buttons on the player are almost invisible as they are the same colour as the body. So don't lose the remote. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Compact DVDs player
Posted13 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Loz1
From:Crawley, West Sussex, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" I bought this did player to replace my old one. It is extremely easy to set-up and use. I am very happy with this product. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Easy to use
Posted10 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Valh
From:Derbyhire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Good value DVD player& easy to use. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cheap and cheerful
Posted10 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Pansy
From:Leeds, West Yorkshire, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" A budget player, simple to use, lightweight.
Not much to go wrong, should easy last a couple of years. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Easy to use..
Posted10 January 2015
Customer avatar
By hunkygenie
From:London, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Nice little compact DVD player, easy to set up, easy to use.. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sony SR170 DVD Player
Posted10 January 2015
Customer avatar
By abcdefg
From:england
Age:55 to 64
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Worked perfectly straight out of the box, very easy to use. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
simple to use easy to instal
Posted09 January 2015
Customer avatar
By JD
From:South Yorkshire, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I bought this for my Mum who is 78 to replace her old one. She did not want anything complicated and this product fitted the bill. It was simple to install and operate and she was delighted to find it played CDs as well, "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent
Posted07 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Zo
From:Chesterfield, Derbyshire, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Great value for money especially as it's Sony. Amazing picture. Compact for a small bedroom or children "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sony DVD player
Posted07 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Alistairf
From:London, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" What an excellent little device. Some time since I bought my last player but I'm very impressed by the improvements made.
Easy to set-up, use and with very good picture/sound quality, at this price it's hard to beat.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 Next >>>