Top-rated product

Sony SR170 DVD Player.

<p>The sleek, compact design of the Sony SR170 DVD player complements any room it is placed in. With playback compatibility including: DVD, DVD-R/RW and more, every medium of playback is catered for. Boasting an amazing energy efficient power consumption on standby of only 0.5 watts, this is both environmentally friendly and cost effective.</p><ul><li>Playback compatibility: DVD.</li></ul><p>Connectivity:</p><p>General information:</p><ul><li>Remote control - requires 2 x AA (included).</li><li>Size H3.85, W27, D20.7cm.</li><li>Weight 0.95kg.</li></ul><p>Energy efficiency information:</p><ul><li>Standby power consumption 0.5 watt.</li></ul><p>4905524904116</p>
Overall rating:
4.506 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 235 reviews
5 Stars
159
4 Stars
56
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
0
1 Star
10
221 of 23594%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
87 Questions | 90 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Review 1 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This product is good
Posted23 April 2015
Customer avatar
By Toni
From:Watford
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" I like the small, compact fit and sleek style "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sony DVD player
Posted22 April 2015
Customer avatar
By Kazza
From:Essex
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" I bought this to replace a broken player.i was on a budget but I still wanted to get a known brand.easy set up and no problems so far,very pleased with purchase.And in the sale to so happy with that also. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted21 April 2015
Customer avatar
By Phil
From:Burton on trent
Age:25 to 34
Received free product:Yes
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Plays all the DVDs that would not play on a less exspensive player "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value with great features
Posted21 April 2015
Customer avatar
By Binga
From:Croydon
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Small but excellent value for money!!! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sony DVD player
Posted21 April 2015
Customer avatar
By Smurfpopa
From:Isle of Wight, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" A very good, but basic, DVD player "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted19 April 2015
Customer avatar
By captain hook
From:Cricklewood, London NW2, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Great price fantastic pitcher quality I recommend this to any 1 "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
Posted16 April 2015
Customer avatar
By Sophs
From:Worcestershire, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Small compact and does the job very pleased with it "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
reliable and compact
Posted16 April 2015
Customer avatar
By lovely jubberly
From:london
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Perfect little DVD player straight forward to use "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great dvd player
Posted15 April 2015
Customer avatar
By $apphire
From:north wales
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" really easy to use and overall a fantastic little dvd player.the only thing that would make this better would be if it had a usb slot.5/5 "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product is great
Posted15 April 2015
Customer avatar
By Tigerjohn
From:Patrington, Hull,
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I bought this product to accompany my new 3d TV . It has been a great buy I would recommend this product to any one . Tigerjohn "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really great DVD player
Posted14 April 2015
Customer avatar
By Roonie
From:Nottingham
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Little bit off price so went ahead and got this for our caravan holidays. Brilliant piece of kit easy to set up and all perfect picture etc. well worth the money and Sony is a good name too. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Marlow
Posted04 April 2015
Customer avatar
By Marlow
From:Wiltshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Good basic product at a reasonable price.Expected it to be heavier and have more of a 'quality' look about it,being a Sony product,but I guess components are smaller nowadays and everything is made of plastic.Haven't used it much yet but seems to be okay. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sony dvd
Posted01 April 2015
Customer avatar
By tez
Age:65 or over
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I find the sony dvd excellent value for money "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
not impressed.
Posted01 April 2015
Customer avatar
By steve
From:Worthing, West Sussex, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Initially I was pleased with this player, but I'd only had it about a year & it started playing up, randomly freezing while playing discs, very annoying, every few minutes the picture would freeze.
I expected better from sony.
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Affordable quality DVD player.
Posted31 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Mandodarlo
From:England, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Looks good, decent price and is working well so far, its very basic but was bought for a small childs bedroom so is fit for the purpose. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great wee gadget
Posted31 March 2015
Customer avatar
By MyraC
From:re3nfrewshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Very good. Great picture and very neat and compact.
Would buy again.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DVD Player Sony SR170
Posted26 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Bonnie
From:near Carmarthen
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" It was smaller than I had pictured, but it does the job really well. The fact that it is small is a bonus as it does not take up much room "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very pleased
Posted24 March 2015
Customer avatar
By I can't see why
From:Lancashire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I am very pleased with my purchase both price and quality "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simple DVD player that does the job!
Posted19 March 2015
Customer avatar
By BrixtonGirl
Age:25 to 34
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" We recently bought this DVD player and it's really easy to install and use with decent sound/picture quality. Remote and a battery are included. You need to buy a SCART cable though if you don't have one. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
brilliant dvd player
Posted17 March 2015
Customer avatar
By freddie
Age:65 or over
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Very happy with this neat compact DVD player - does what it says on the tin "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 Next >>>