Top-rated product

Sony SR170 DVD Player.

<p>The sleek, compact design of the Sony SR170 DVD player compliments any room it is placed in. With playback compatibility including: DVD, DVD-R/RW and more, every medium of playback is catered for. Boasting an amazing energy efficient power consumption on standby of only 0.5 watts, this is both environmentally friendly and cost effective.</p><ul><li>Playback compatibility: DVD.</li></ul><p>Connectivity:</p><p>General information:</p><ul><li>Remote control - requires 2 x AA (included).</li><li>Size H3.85, W27, D20.7cm.</li><li>Weight 0.95kg.</li></ul><p>Energy efficiency information:</p><ul><li>Standby power consumption 0.5 watt.</li></ul><p>4905524904116</p>
Overall rating:
4.642 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 120 reviews
5 Stars
91
4 Stars
21
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
0
1 Star
3
115 of 12096%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
65 Questions | 69 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Review 1 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DVD Player
Posted21 October 2014
Customer avatar
By NanEIHJ
From:Glamorgan
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Great DVD, very compact and very easy to set up and use. Only gripe is the one I bought had obviously been opened prior to purchase but as no other local store had one I took it home to check and fortunately it was fine. Would recommend this DVD tho especially at sale price!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted21 October 2014
Customer avatar
By Stuart
From:England South Yorkshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"For the money this product is excellent value"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DVD PLAYER
Posted21 October 2014
Customer avatar
By KD
From:GUILDFORD
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Good value for money, easy to use and set up."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very good value
Posted07 October 2014
Customer avatar
By Lynn
From:Devon
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We are very pleased with the Sony SR170 player, so easy to install and use,very good value."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted07 October 2014
Customer avatar
By Sazy
From:Basildon, Essex, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Cons= doesn't have a digital display"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
80 year old friend delighted with it
Posted30 September 2014
Customer avatar
By Jaffa99
From:Tyne and Wear, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Bought for my mum's 80 years old friend. She is delighted with the product and found it hard to believe the price for a Sony. She thinks it's wonderful and that's good enough for me."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simple
Posted23 September 2014
Customer avatar
By Mollikins
From:Staffordshire
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Great price and so easy to set up even for a non technology person like me"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DVD player
Posted23 September 2014
Customer avatar
By Slavco
From:Reading, Reading, Reading, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Famous brand,excellent quality!!!plus...very good service in Argos!!!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect replacement
Posted16 September 2014
Customer avatar
By Margemum
From:Near Heathrow
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Good price, easy pick up, installed easily, works well, son very happy with this product."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lovely compact player
Posted16 September 2014
Customer avatar
By Pete the feet
From:Somerset, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Easy to set up. Easy to use, and with DivX, you can compile your own discs, or USB device. Very pleased."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent DVD Player
Posted09 September 2014
Customer avatar
By SamJam
From:Warwickshire, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This product is excellent for the money, it is quick and easy to set up and so simple to use a 6 year old can do it !"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
good value dvd PLAYER
Posted23 August 2014
Customer avatar
By sj23
From:Wales
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
"I like everything I bought it to play dvds on.
It wont let me play any of my blu ray dvds so need to buy a more expensive blu ray dvd player.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Easy to use
Posted19 August 2014
Customer avatar
By bernjill
From:Isle of Wight, UK
Age:65 or over
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"good value easy to connect as I had a cable"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This product is smaller than I expected.
Posted12 August 2014
Customer avatar
By lro63
From:Lancashire, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Value for money if you are looking for something compact. Does the job."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product is compact and easy to use.
Posted02 August 2014
Customer avatar
By wadey snr.
From:Stoke-on-Trent, Stoke-on-Trent, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Bought for a pensioner who found it simple to use and overall delighted with product."
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy Set up
Posted29 July 2014
Customer avatar
By sheshe
From:ely
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Great value, easy set up. Remote a bit difficult to get used too.
Just wish they would not make the front manual buttons in black as you cant see them
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sony SR170 DVD Player
Posted29 July 2014
Customer avatar
By tes
From:england
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"For the price i paid this player is as good as others of a higher price i fully recomend"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
a good dvd player
Posted24 July 2014
Customer avatar
By jan
From:Halifax, West Yorkshire, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"its easy to set up nice size for the bedroom could do with a longer mains lead on it but that's not a problem really"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good product for the price
Posted22 July 2014
Customer avatar
By neil
From:lancashire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"good product for the price"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Sony SR170 DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dvf plater
Posted22 July 2014
Customer avatar
By coddy
From:portpatrick
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"Good sevice in stranraer..."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next >>>