Top-rated product

Sharp EL531XBWH Scientific Calculator.

<p>The Sharp EL531XBVL Scientific calculator includes 272 functions which makes it one of the leading models in its class. The twinline LCD screen gives a 5 x 7 dot matrix display. This means that text is easier to read as well as appearing clearer. Sharp have designed this product with a contemporary black design with a violet trim. The EL531XBVL features Sharps renowned Advanced DAL (Direct Algebraic Logic) technology, which makes it easy to key-in algebraic equations. It includes functions which are suitable for Key Stage 3 and 4, A and AS level, making the EL531XBVL the ideal long term investment for students of any level.</p><ul><li>Suitable for GCSE and A Level.</li><li>LCD display.</li><li>Non-stick keys.</li><li>Auto shut-off.</li><li>272 functions.</li><li>Algebraic logic.</li><li>Regression analysis.</li><li>Statistical functions.</li><li>24 levels of parenthesis.</li></ul><p>General information:</p><ul><li>Batteries required 2 x button cell (included).</li><li>EAN: 4974019045757.</li></ul>
Overall rating:
4.25 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 24 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
21 of 2488%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Sharp EL531XBWH Scientific Calculator.
Review 1 for Sharp EL531XBWH Scientific Calculator.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
GCSE - 6 marks
Posted18 November 2014
Customer avatar
By bennsmum
From:London, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Display screen 
2 / 5
2 / 5
" Do not get this if your child is about to sit GCSE maths... They will instantly lose 6 marks as it has not got a fractions function even though it states clearly on a bright yellow sicker it is for GCSE & A/AS england & wales exams!!!!!!!! Not impressed and will be demanding money back!!!!! "
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sharp EL531XBWH Scientific Calculator.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reasonably easy to use.
Posted12 November 2014
Customer avatar
By disco
From:Oldham
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display screen 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" The calculator suits the non technical user. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sharp EL531XBWH Scientific Calculator.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted07 October 2014
Customer avatar
By Karen
From:Belfast
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display screen 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" does what it says on the tin "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sharp EL531XBWH Scientific Calculator.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sharp calculator
Posted18 November 2014
Customer avatar
By jenny
From:Nottingham, Nottingham, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display screen 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Excellent, just what my son needs for school . Great price too ! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sharp EL531XBWH Scientific Calculator.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Product
Posted10 November 2014
Customer avatar
By Debby
From:London
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display screen 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Bought it for my daughter and she likes it.
Ease to use and good value for money.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sharp EL531XBWH Scientific Calculator.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted09 September 2014
Customer avatar
By MrsP
From:swindon
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
" I bought two of these for my children,to take to school. They were a good price for the type of calculator they required. They seemed please to be able to use them for the most important thing to do with a calculator, spelling silly words!!! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sharp EL531XBWH Scientific Calculator.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for secondary school
Posted15 October 2014
Customer avatar
By busymum43
From:merseyside
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Display screen 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I bought this to replace one of the same model that my son had managed to break. He wanted exactly the same model again as it's the one the maths teacher recommends and the model they have spares of in school for pupils who forget their own (or manage to break the screen - don't ask!). It has all the functions he needs to see him through GCSE maths. I find it a bit complicated to use, but he doesn't (hence the 3 stars for ease of use). "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sharp EL531XBWH Scientific Calculator.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best calculator in the world for the price
Posted07 October 2014
Customer avatar
By Support lab tec Helen
From:Oxfordshire, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display screen 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" It does exactly what it says, i work in a scientific company and this calculator needed to please both my money savvy boss and picky research scientist i it pleased them both, excellent service too.
Thanks Argos, may your business prosper. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sharp EL531XBWH Scientific Calculator.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A hi-spec calculator
Posted30 September 2014
Customer avatar
By Rob
From:Nottinghamshire, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display screen 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This calculator more than surpassed my expectations in what I required from a calculator. I have only been using it for simple sums and could use it for complex electrical theory calculations which I have done in the past. An excellent item and great value. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sharp EL531XBWH Scientific Calculator.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great for school & good make
Posted12 August 2014
Customer avatar
By bmc
From:Lancashire, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
" bought for daughter for school. I have had a sharp calculator for years and never had a problem hope this will be same "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sharp EL531XBWH Scientific Calculator.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent
Posted19 September 2014
Customer avatar
By Mark
From:Cornwall
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display screen 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Was bought for my son for the start to a new School, he says its great and easy to use and would recommend to his friends as i would recommend to all parents, also price was good and nice size to use better than those little ones, my boy is very happy with it. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sharp EL531XBWH Scientific Calculator.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Son not happy prefers Casio
Posted15 May 2014
Customer avatar
By Kags
From:UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
" This calculator maybe fine if you have always used Sharp I bought as replacement for sons Casio and he is not happy with some of the limited functions.
Going out today to buy a Casio so check before you buy!
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sharp EL531XBWH Scientific Calculator.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sharp Scientific Calculator
Posted11 March 2014
Customer avatar
By Tonig
From:Belfast, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
" I was looking for a HEX converter
this calculator has HEX DEC OCT BIN and one other
I have looked at more expensive brands they may
or may not have these features but they are not
on the key board as far as I can see
another feature is FIX which sets the number of
decimal places ideal for pounds and pence
as all scientific calculators it has sin cos tan
Log etc on the down side which has been noted
before is the manual and I don't think it's programmable
But good value for procr
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sharp EL531XBWH Scientific Calculator.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Glad I bought them.
Posted10 December 2013
Customer avatar
By volcanolizzy
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
" I bought ten of these calculators as presents for my year 6 class and I'm glad that I did. They are value for money and the pupils love them as they are easy to use. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sharp EL531XBWH Scientific Calculator.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great value scientific calculator!
Posted25 October 2013
Customer avatar
By Rachel
From:Argyll
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
" My daughter finds this calculator very good as the equation shows on the screen, and it's better than her last one that cost more than twice the price! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sharp EL531XBWH Scientific Calculator.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Absolute rubbish! Do not buy
Posted08 October 2013
Customer avatar
By Gina
From:london
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
" Bought this in the sale for my 12 year old
Couldn't believe it when she said it was giving
wrong answers!! Checked for myself and
she was right, also two of the buttons
weren't working, never came across a
Calculator like this before, will be returning
in the next day or so.
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
-2points
3of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sharp EL531XBWH Scientific Calculator.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted01 October 2013
Customer avatar
By nigel
From:Manchester, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
" Very good my daughter loved it for college "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sharp EL531XBWH Scientific Calculator.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
fantastic product
Posted01 October 2013
Customer avatar
By petra
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
" For the price this calculator is very good and works perfectly "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sharp EL531XBWH Scientific Calculator.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sharp as you like
Posted13 November 2013
Customer avatar
By pab
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
" I was pleased to find someone selling Sharp calculators as I just don't get on with Casios. This has been an excellent replacement for my old calculator with all the features and more. I especially like the hex and Boolean functions. Great value for money. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Sharp EL531XBWH Scientific Calculator.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brilliant Price, Quality product
Posted11 September 2013
Customer avatar
By keith01
From:West Yorkshire, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
" Excellent Value for a brilliant calculator. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 Next >>>