Top-rated product

Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.

<p>Get close to the action with the stunningly compact Sony HX50 Camera. With a 20.4MP Exmor R Sensor you can enjoy fine digital photos and the 30x zoom ensures quality. Built-in WiFi allows you to send photos and videos straight to a smartphone or tablet, or back-up shots to your PC. For great visuals, the Sony HX50 is a fine choice.</p><p>Model number HX50</p><p>Product specification:</p><ul><li>20 megapixels.</li><li>30x optical zoom.</li><li>120x digital zoom.</li><li>24mmmm wide angle lens.</li><li>3in LCD screen.</li><li>Continuous shooting up to 10 frames per second.</li><li>Image stabilisation.</li><li>Red eye reduction.</li></ul><p>Features:</p><ul><li>Wi-Fi.</li><li>1080p high definition video capture and playback with sound.</li><li>Maximum ISO 12800.</li><li>Intelligent scene mode.</li><li>Built-in flash.</li></ul><p>Memory card compatability: </p><ul><li>SD, SDHC, SDXC, Memory Stick Pro Duo, MMC, microSDHC, microSD.</li></ul><p>General information:</p><ul><li>Size H5, W6cm.</li><li>Weight 48g.</li><li>Depth 2cm (when switched off).</li><li>Batteries required: 1 x Li-Ion (included).</li><li>Colour: black.</li><li>Includes USB cable, carry strap.</li></ul>
Overall rating:
4.524 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 248 reviews
5 Stars
148
4 Stars
86
3 Stars
11
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
235 of 24596%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 9 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Review 1 for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great camera, great price..!
Posted08 May 2015
Customer avatar
By Silo
From:Nottingham, Nottingham, UK
Use:Family
Reason for purchase:Replacing an existing product
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Very well built camera with lots of good features and it takes very sharp pictures , the zoom is very good as well , the only negative for me is the lack of a dedicated macro mode setting. It's also easy to control with your smartphone and send pictures via wi fi to your device... Would Recomended . "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted29 April 2015
Customer avatar
By Gadget
Age:25 to 34
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Excellent value. This camera takes superb photos. Much better than my previous bridge camera. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great camera.
Posted29 April 2015
Customer avatar
By jon4jon
From:Oxfordshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Love it & its ease of use...
Loads of features too...
Recommended by me!
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A good replacement
Posted28 April 2015
Customer avatar
By WW1 anorak
From:Essex
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" This was bought to replace an earlier Sony camera which has given good service for several years and I wanted a similar model with the panoramic feature I like to use. So far the new one has proved to be good, the only diappointment is that the batteries (original + spare) from the previous camera don't fit this one! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Picture Quality is Great, excellent wifi feature
Posted22 April 2015
Customer avatar
By Jo43
From:Worcestershire, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This is my first proper camera after only using my phone to take snaps and I am so please with the picture quality, I can zoom in on the tiniest little things and still get a great picture, my favourite pictures can be sent to my smart phone or computer with ease. The camera instantly recognising it surroundings & choses the correct type of picture to take automatically, ie landscape. All in all I am very happy with this little compact, light weight camera and would highly recommend it. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good camera
Posted17 April 2015
Customer avatar
By Liz
From:Nottinghamshire, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" If you want a bit of a zoom camera, but without the bulk, then this is the camera. It takes pictures clearly and although I have not got round to printing any off yet, I know I will be happy with what I see on screen. Although I will always love my Nikon camera, this will come in handy for me, when I want something compact, but without the bulk. I look forward to using this on a weekend away I have planned later, to try this out even more. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent camera
Posted17 April 2015
Customer avatar
By KM
From:Essex, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I bought this after reading a few reviews online, and I'm not disappointed.
I'm no professional photographer, but for general use: holiday photos, pets, children etc it's fantastic. The picture quality is great, the panorama feature is brilliant and the 30x zoom is great, and even the digital zoom produces great pictures.
I'd definitely recommend this to anyone who wants to take great photos but doesn't want an SLR or to have to fiddle with loads of settings "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great features for a small camera
Posted08 April 2015
Customer avatar
By A
From:Warwickshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Bought for me but lost to my daughter - might have to get another "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm happy
Posted08 April 2015
Customer avatar
By K
From:Galway, Ireland
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I'm very happy that I bought this camera!!! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great compact with great optics
Posted07 April 2015
Customer avatar
By Matt1974
From:North Lincolnshire, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" I am a photographer by trade and bought this camera to take on our family holiday abroad instead of taking my heavy professional gear.
The optics are crisp and sharp more so with the optical stabilisation. Auto focus is precise and pretty quick. Video quality is also very good.
For the creative out there - full(ish) manual control PASM, however its quite fiddly if used to DSLR "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Check out the 30 x digital zoom!
Posted05 April 2015
Customer avatar
By SA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" The 30 x digital zoom. No other camera within this price bracket has this zoom quality. Select easy photo shoot or hit the menu button select SCN & choose from 17 different mood shots! From sports to snowy background. The user guides are built into the camera within this menu. I can’t praise this camera enough! Advanced and basic photography it’s all here in this camera!
The video capture is second to none.. The zoom in feature is so smooth it is almost as if the lens of your eye!
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great pictures
Posted31 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Studes
Age:25 to 34
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" If you want a small camera that takes great pictures, has an amazing zoom and isn't as large as the DSLR cameras then this is a great option. It captured beautiful views and sunsets wonderfully but also did a great job of photos of friends. It has lots of settings to make up for the fact that you cannot set the focus in the same way as the DSLRs for example a setting for close ups so that the background is defocussed. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
A fair camera
Posted26 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Fredr
From:Plymouth, Plymouth, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" takes great pictures but WI fi does not work and could not get any help from Sony support.
I would expect more for a camera that I paid that amount for
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great camera
Posted24 March 2015
Customer avatar
By vincenzo
Age:25 to 34
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Great camera at good price, with a lot of excellent and smart functions. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Camera
Posted12 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Baz
From:Withernsea, East Riding of Yorkshire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Having used this camera it is by far the best compact camera I have purchased.it has everything anyone from a photographer as myself to anyone wanting a quality and easy to use camera.the built in user guide can point you in the right direction for different shots.on auto this camera is in a league of its own.cannot praise it enough. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sony cybershot
Posted11 March 2015
Customer avatar
By M4d jock
From:Lancashire, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Fantastic camera at a fantastic price. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perfect camera for novice
Posted24 February 2015
Customer avatar
By sfsean
From:Scotland
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" I was looking for a camera for my wife as she has always had a good eye for a picture. This camera ticked all the boxes , it's quick and easy to use and the clarity of the photos are unbelievable. Once you've zoomed into a distant object and clicked the picture you will be blown away as to how close it appears. 10 / 10 "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sony cybershot hx50
Posted19 February 2015
Customer avatar
By pk1596
From:Middlesex House, Wembley, Greater London HA0, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Great features but could do with a viewfinder as in bright light the screen is impossible to see. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A Decent Camera
Posted10 February 2015
Customer avatar
By Nev60
From:Norwich, Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
" I have several cameras, but wanted a small versatile compact camera, which I could carry around most of the time. This is a good camera, sure it's not perfect and there are one or two things I don't like especially the positioning of the video button which keeps getting accidentally pressed, but having said that it's still a good little compact with an impressive zoom and some really nice little creative features like the HDR look and so on. (See PIcture) "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Not for me
Posted02 February 2015
Customer avatar
By Fletch
From:Bedfordshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
" This camera had some very good features but was too heavy and bulky for my use. I exchanged it for another Sony DSC-WX350 which I am very satisfied with. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 Next >>>