Top-rated product
Sorry this product is currently unavailable. Please visit Argos for similar products.

Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP 30x Zoom Compact Digital Camera.

Get close to the action with the stunningly compact Sony HX50 Camera. With a 20.4MP Exmor R Sensor you can enjoy fine digital photos and the 30x zoom ensures quality. Built-in WiFi allows you to send photos and videos straight to a smartphone or tablet, or back-up shots to your PC. For great visuals, the Sony HX50 is a fine choice.

Model number HX50.

Product specification:

  • 20 megapixels.
  • 30x optical zoom.
  • 120x digital zoom.
  • 24mmmm wide angle lens.
  • 3in LCD .
  • Continuous shooting up to 10 frames per second.
  • Image stabilisation.
  • Red eye reduction.

Features:

  • Wi-Fi.
  • 1080p high definition video capture and playback with sound.
  • Maximum ISO 12800.
  • Intelligent scene mode.
  • Built-in flash.

Memory card compatability:

SD, SDHC, SDXC, memory Stick Pro Duo, mMC, microSDHC, microSD, .

General information:

  • Size H5, W6cm.
  • Weight 48g.
  • Depth 2cm (when switched off).
  • Batteries required: 1 x Li-Ion (included) .
  • Colour: black.
  • Includes USB cable, carry strap, .
Overall rating:
4.516 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(415 reviews) 413
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 415 reviews
5 Stars
253
4 Stars
135
3 Stars
19
2 Stars
4
1 Star
4
388 of 41294%would recommend to a friend
Sort by Customer reviews for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP 30x Zoom Compact Digital Camera.
Review 1 for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP 30x Zoom Compact Digital Camera.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Present for husband at xmas
Posted15 January 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Wiltshire
Use:Family
Reason for purchase:Gift
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Good choice ,shame it didn't come with a memory card .lovely clear pictures . "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP 30x Zoom Compact Digital Camera.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Recent camera purchase
Posted12 January 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Plymouth, Plymouth, UK
Use:Family
Reason for purchase:Replacing an existing product
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This product has matched our expectations it is easy to use with some excellent features we would recommend as a family camera pictures are good sharp focus. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP 30x Zoom Compact Digital Camera.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
phil
Posted12 January 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:New Romney, Kent, UK
Use:Family
Reason for purchase:Planned purchase
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" quality compact good value "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP 30x Zoom Compact Digital Camera.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This camera has everything
Posted10 January 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:U K
Use:Family
Reason for purchase:Spontaneous
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Fantastic camera I'm no expert but find it easy to understand it has most features that some of the most expensive cameras have "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP 30x Zoom Compact Digital Camera.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great camera
Posted05 January 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:nottinghamshire
Use:Travel
Reason for purchase:Replacing an existing product
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I enjoyed using the camera the zoom fantastic pictures quality out of this world. I have only 1 problem when you looking at the screen and the sunshine is behind you it very difficult to see the screen "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP 30x Zoom Compact Digital Camera.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great camera
Posted05 January 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Yorkshire
Use:Family
Reason for purchase:Replacing an existing product
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Really pleased with camera, great pictures easy to use.
Having built in Wi fi is great for sending pictures to my phone and I pad.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP 30x Zoom Compact Digital Camera.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Happy so far
Posted05 January 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:bradford, west yorks.
Use:Travel
Reason for purchase:Gift
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" I've only taken a couple of pictures so far but I've been very pleased with the quality, the sharpness of the picture, this camera is just for mainly holiday use so I'm pretty pleased with it. Shame Argos don't do more accessories for it, I actually received a hx60 when I bought it so presumably a slightly better model? I bought a Sony case online for it. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP 30x Zoom Compact Digital Camera.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great little bridge camera
Posted05 January 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Scotland, UK
Use:Family
Reason for purchase:Replacing an existing product
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I was keen to upgrade my compact camera and couldn't justify getting an expensive SLR camera. Bridge cameras are the next best thing and this one sure has some great features.
Xmas photos were taken with the auto settings now I have time to play around with the settings this camera delivers much more than I expected and can't believe the price delighted with my purchase
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP 30x Zoom Compact Digital Camera.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great camera for the price.
Posted04 January 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:West Midlands
Use:Travel
Reason for purchase:Replacing an existing product
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Great quality images from an incredible zoom. Does feel a bit heavier than it looks, but thats down to that amazing zoom lens. Only draw back is the buttons and dials might be a bit fiddly for large hands. Bought it as a gift, wish I'd got one for myself at the same time. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP 30x Zoom Compact Digital Camera.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good camera
Posted02 January 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Chichester, Chichester, West Sussex, UK
Use:Family
Reason for purchase:Gift
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Seems easy to use with good results on automatic setting but lots of other features to learn about "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP 30x Zoom Compact Digital Camera.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted30 December 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:London, UK
Use:Family
Reason for purchase:Product on promotion
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" very handy "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP 30x Zoom Compact Digital Camera.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ace camera
Posted30 December 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Wirral, Wirral, Merseyside CH60, UK
Use:Wildlife/Nature
Reason for purchase:Planned purchase
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" A very good, value for money camera. We tested it out for the first time in a zoo to enable us to use as many features as possible.
The 30X's zoom on it is REALLY fantastic. Very close up photos of a Tigers face and birds that were quite some distance away.
Lots of features. Easy to use.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP 30x Zoom Compact Digital Camera.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best entry-level DSLR-like camera
Posted30 December 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Essex
Use:Wildlife/Nature
Reason for purchase:Planned purchase
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This camera packs a lot of punch for its buck, providing you with in surplus of 20 megapixels of detail, and an incredible 30x optical zoom, making it one very nifty, and well-crafted camera. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP 30x Zoom Compact Digital Camera.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best product in class, best price
Posted30 December 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Ashington, Northumberland, UK
Use:Wildlife/Nature
Reason for purchase:Gift
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This is classed as a SuperZoom and a 'Bridge' camera. Other Bridge class cameras are much more a typical camera size and shape whereas this will fit in many pockets.
This also has the highest level zoom in class.
It is great as a point and shoot, but is also best for configurable options and the menu leads the user by the hand.
Fantastic spec, photos and price.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP 30x Zoom Compact Digital Camera.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was so much better than ever before
Posted29 December 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Grays, Essex, UK
Use:Family
Reason for purchase:Gift
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This was a present and I am so impressed with it it is so much better than any other cyber shot before "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP 30x Zoom Compact Digital Camera.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brilliant features
Posted29 December 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:yorkshire, uk
Use:Family
Reason for purchase:Replacing an existing product
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" VERY EASY to use. Takes BRILLIANT Pictures. !!!!! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP 30x Zoom Compact Digital Camera.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brilliant product
Posted29 December 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Cornwall
Use:Family
Reason for purchase:Gift
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Bought this as a gift for my dad absolutely brilliant item lots of features and wifi which is always a plus. Brilliant value for money will recommend to anyone. Overall very very please with this product. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP 30x Zoom Compact Digital Camera.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Seems good so far
Posted07 December 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Buckinghamshire, UK
Use:Wildlife/Nature
Reason for purchase:Product on promotion
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" I wanted a camera to take photos within seconds of being turned on. I also wanted a good clear zoom. From turning on I can take photos fairly quickly but if I'm too quick it's slightly out of focus. You can take burst shots but you must set it up beforehand. The zoom is impressive.
You can display photos on your TV and use wifi to transfer pictures to your pc but I haven't managed to yet.
Overall I'm happy with my purchase but need to spend time using it to fully maximise its promised potential.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP 30x Zoom Compact Digital Camera.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent - love the Cybershot series
Posted06 December 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Bristol
Use:Family
Reason for purchase:Gift
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Bought this as a birthday present for my dad - he wanted a superzoom camera - and this is perfect with its 30x zoom! excellent, as always from the Cybershot series, clear pictures, multiple features (which take some getting used to as to which is best for which scene!) but easily learnt and handled. Slightly heavier than its simpler predecessors but good for my dad to have a weightier camera. Would be useful to have a neck strap for this reason (but working on this as a home-modification!). "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP 30x Zoom Compact Digital Camera.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Product
Posted04 December 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Wiltshire
Use:Wildlife/Nature
Reason for purchase:Replacing an existing product
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" So pleased with my new Camera. I smile everytime i use it. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 Next >>>