Top-rated product

Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.

<p>Get close to the action with the stunningly compact Sony HX50 Camera. With a 20.4MP Exmor R Sensor you can enjoy fine digital photos and the 30x zoom ensures quality. Built-in WiFi allows you to send photos and videos straight to a smartphone or tablet, or back-up shots to your PC. For great visuals, the Sony HX50 is a fine choice.</p><p>Model number HX50</p><p>Product specification:</p><ul><li>20 megapixels.</li><li>30x optical zoom.</li><li>120x digital zoom.</li><li>24mmmm wide angle lens.</li><li>3in LCD screen.</li><li>Continuous shooting up to 10 frames per second.</li><li>Image stabilisation.</li><li>Red eye reduction.</li></ul><p>Features:</p><ul><li>Wi-Fi.</li><li>1080p high definition video capture and playback with sound.</li><li>Maximum ISO 12800.</li><li>Intelligent scene mode.</li><li>Built-in flash.</li></ul><p>Memory card compatability: </p><ul><li>SD, SDHC, SDXC, Memory Stick Pro Duo, MMC, microSDHC, microSD.</li></ul><p>General information:</p><ul><li>Size H5, W6cm.</li><li>Weight 48g.</li><li>Depth 2cm (when switched off).</li><li>Batteries required: 1 x Li-Ion (included).</li><li>Colour: black.</li><li>Includes USB cable, carry strap.</li></ul>
Overall rating:
4.51 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 237 reviews
5 Stars
139
4 Stars
84
3 Stars
11
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
224 of 23496%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 8 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Review 1 for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great pictures
Posted31 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Studes
Age:25 to 34
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" If you want a small camera that takes great pictures, has an amazing zoom and isn't as large as the DSLR cameras then this is a great option. It captured beautiful views and sunsets wonderfully but also did a great job of photos of friends. It has lots of settings to make up for the fact that you cannot set the focus in the same way as the DSLRs for example a setting for close ups so that the background is defocussed. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
A fair camera
Posted26 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Fredr
From:Plymouth, Plymouth, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" takes great pictures but WI fi does not work and could not get any help from Sony support.
I would expect more for a camera that I paid that amount for
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great camera
Posted24 March 2015
Customer avatar
By vincenzo
Age:25 to 34
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Great camera at good price, with a lot of excellent and smart functions. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Camera
Posted12 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Baz
From:Withernsea, East Riding of Yorkshire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Having used this camera it is by far the best compact camera I have purchased.it has everything anyone from a photographer as myself to anyone wanting a quality and easy to use camera.the built in user guide can point you in the right direction for different shots.on auto this camera is in a league of its own.cannot praise it enough. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sony cybershot
Posted11 March 2015
Customer avatar
By M4d jock
From:Lancashire, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Fantastic camera at a fantastic price. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perfect camera for novice
Posted24 February 2015
Customer avatar
By sfsean
From:Scotland
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" I was looking for a camera for my wife as she has always had a good eye for a picture. This camera ticked all the boxes , it's quick and easy to use and the clarity of the photos are unbelievable. Once you've zoomed into a distant object and clicked the picture you will be blown away as to how close it appears. 10 / 10 "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sony cybershot hx50
Posted19 February 2015
Customer avatar
By pk1596
From:Middlesex House, Wembley, Greater London HA0, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Great features but could do with a viewfinder as in bright light the screen is impossible to see. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A Decent Camera
Posted10 February 2015
Customer avatar
By Nev60
From:Norwich, Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
" I have several cameras, but wanted a small versatile compact camera, which I could carry around most of the time. This is a good camera, sure it's not perfect and there are one or two things I don't like especially the positioning of the video button which keeps getting accidentally pressed, but having said that it's still a good little compact with an impressive zoom and some really nice little creative features like the HDR look and so on. (See PIcture) "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Not for me
Posted02 February 2015
Customer avatar
By Fletch
From:Bedfordshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
" This camera had some very good features but was too heavy and bulky for my use. I exchanged it for another Sony DSC-WX350 which I am very satisfied with. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The perfect pocket camera
Posted27 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Dave13
From:Lancashire, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I regularly use a Nikon dslr but required something to carry around with me all the time. After studying what was available I opted for the Sony and I couldn't have made a better choice, it's fully loaded and brilliant quality and the pictures are top class. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sony does what it says
Posted27 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Griffo54
From:England, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Excellent product, zoom is amazing along with the picture quality .
What you expect from Sony.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent camera
Posted21 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Sooty102
From:Scottish Borders, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" I bought this for the super zoom which is great. Picture quality is excellent and the camera is full of features. Wifi is a bit fiddly and it doesn't seem to connect to 64 bit windows 7 but it's not too big a deal. Overall delighted with it "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great camera!
Posted13 January 2015
Customer avatar
By BethB93
From:England, UK
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This camera is fantastic, and the price is unbelievable for what you get! I was really pleased with the quality of the photos, even when at full zoom you get defined pictures, something which my previous cameras have struggled with. It's not the thinnest or most lightweight camera out there, but its definitely worth the extra bulk! Couldn't recommend this enough!! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sony hx50 20mp
Posted22 October 2014
Customer avatar
By Rob
Age:35 to 44
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Awesome camera. Very easy to use. Fits in my pocket.
Lots of functions. Good price. For a smallish compact
camera you can't go wrong.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The excellent compact DC
Posted23 September 2014
Customer avatar
By Yan
From:London, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Its long zoom function is very useful and the DC is still so compact. Excellent compact DC. The wifi function is really convenient for me as I can transfer the picture to any digital device, like my iphone, in a second wherever I am. Highly recommended!! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Product, A little slow
Posted10 September 2014
Customer avatar
By RichyMPH
From:Stoke-on-Trent, Stoke-on-Trent, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Great camera for the price. I bought it for the 30X zoom and this is great. HD video good quality, you need a fast memory card though.
The only thing I find wrong is the time it takes to process a photograph, the image is good when it has finished though, "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice camera and easy to carry with a great picture
Posted30 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Rajmaharjan2
From:London, UK
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Good picture and easy to use "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Based on the average of (220) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4.5 / 5
4.5 / 5
208 out of 217 recommend this product
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5