Top-rated product

Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP 30x Zoom Compact Digital Camera.

<p>Get close to the action with the stunningly compact Sony HX50 Camera. With a 20.4MP Exmor R Sensor you can enjoy fine digital photos and the 30x zoom ensures quality. Built-in WiFi allows you to send photos and videos straight to a smartphone or tablet, or back-up shots to your PC. For great visuals, the Sony HX50 is a fine choice. <br \><br \></p><p>Model number HX50. </p><p>Product specification:</p><ul><li>20 megapixels. </li><li>30x optical zoom. </li><li>120x digital zoom. </li><li>24mmmm wide angle lens. </li><li>3in LCD. </li><li>Continuous shooting up to 10 frames per second. </li><li>Image stabilisation. </li><li>Red eye reduction. </li></ul><p>Features:</p><ul><li>Wi-Fi. </li><li>1080p high definition video capture and playback with sound. </li><li>Maximum ISO 12800. </li><li>Intelligent scene mode. </li><li>Built-in flash. </li></ul><p>Memory card compatability: </p><p>SD, SDHC, SDXC, memory Stick Pro Duo, mMC, microSDHC, microSD,. </p><p>General information:</p><ul><li>Size H5, W6cm. </li><li>Weight 48g. </li><li>Depth 2cm (when switched off). </li><li>Batteries required: 1 x Li-Ion (included). </li><li>Colour: black. </li><li>Includes USB cable, carry strap,. </li></ul>
Overall rating:
4.546 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 262 reviews
5 Stars
161
4 Stars
87
3 Stars
11
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
249 of 25996%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
13 Questions | 17 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP 30x Zoom Compact Digital Camera.
Review 1 for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP 30x Zoom Compact Digital Camera.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great camera
Posted29 July 2015
Customer avatar
By Varan
From:Essex, UK
Use:Family
Reason for purchase:Spontaneous
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" easy to use and had shot a lot of pictures lately from 02 to my sisters daughter birthday, came out clear and the close ups were great as well as the video play back. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP 30x Zoom Compact Digital Camera.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sony cybershot camera
Posted29 July 2015
Customer avatar
By bernie
From:Merseyside, UK
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Lovely little camera. Excellent picture quality and video recording
is fantastic. Sony never lets me down. Excellent build quality
Yes I certainly would recommend this product
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP 30x Zoom Compact Digital Camera.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted29 July 2015
Customer avatar
By Joseywales
From:Edinburgh
Use:Travel
Reason for purchase:Replacing an existing product
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I bought this camera purely by using the website using the comparison of features of different cameras. Initially I wAs disappointed at the size , it appeared smaller on the photos. However, it was easy to use, with the side grip easy to handle. It was great for holidays as it has the video which also zooms as well as the camera, enabling good close up shots. The additional features are good, eg paint mode. There is a self help menu, easy to operate. Overall very pleased. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP 30x Zoom Compact Digital Camera.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A GOOD BUY
Posted22 July 2015
Customer avatar
By Jan
From:Sussex
Use:Travel
Reason for purchase:Planned purchase
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" This is a good little camera. It has all the features that I was looking for. Good zoom and also with a flash for those dull days and night time pictures. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP 30x Zoom Compact Digital Camera.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great easy to use camera
Posted21 July 2015
Customer avatar
By Whit
From:Somerset, UK
Use:Family
Reason for purchase:Replacing an existing product
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" The camera is small but gives excellent photographs and the separate movie button is very useful for quickly getting into movie mode. I am very pleased with it. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP 30x Zoom Compact Digital Camera.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sony DX50- great compact camera
Posted15 July 2015
Customer avatar
By Joanna22
From:Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh, UK
Use:Travel
Reason for purchase:Planned purchase
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I was looking for a camera that was lightweight, compact, easy to use with good zoom and could take a decent picture. The Sony is fantastic- does everything I need and more. Used for a wedding and it was great- took some great group shots and also lovely close ups. Perfect size to put in a bag, light enough to wear on neck strap. Next trip is Canada and know this camera is going to be great. If your looking for a bargain- go for it! 2 friends are already considering purchasing after having a go! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP 30x Zoom Compact Digital Camera.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sony camera
Posted14 July 2015
Customer avatar
By Pete
From:Uk
Use:Wildlife/Nature
Reason for purchase:Replacing an existing product
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" 10/10 spot on service very good "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP 30x Zoom Compact Digital Camera.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Massive bargain
Posted12 July 2015
Customer avatar
By tomfrom66
From:Thornton Cleveleys
Use:Wildlife/Nature
Reason for purchase:Replacing an existing product
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Set this camera to "i+" and it takes care of everything.
Go beyond 30x zoom and there is virtually no deterioration in quality.
You won't find a better bargain. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP 30x Zoom Compact Digital Camera.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
happy snapper
Posted07 July 2015
Customer avatar
By blue009football
From:paisley
Use:Wildlife/Nature
Reason for purchase:Spontaneous
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" bought camera for going to isle of skye..... excellent camera very light and easy to use. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP 30x Zoom Compact Digital Camera.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted02 July 2015
Customer avatar
By #sony
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Excellent value for the quality of photos and zoom. Feels well made and engineered well. great for snap shots and day to day use. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP 30x Zoom Compact Digital Camera.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted30 June 2015
Customer avatar
By Irish60
From:Northern Ireland, UK
Use:Travel
Reason for purchase:Replacing an existing product
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Nice compact camera for holiday photos was pleased with still struggling transferring on wifi to smartphone "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP 30x Zoom Compact Digital Camera.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As good as you would expect from Sony
Posted10 June 2015
Customer avatar
By Dragonslayer
From:England
Use:Travel
Reason for purchase:Replacing an existing product
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" A great product. The picture quality and features are all great but the 30X zoom really does make this camera stand out. The features give it a great flexibilty fom simple point and shoot through to quite sophistacated photography. The price from Argos makes it terrific value for money. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP 30x Zoom Compact Digital Camera.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted27 May 2015
Customer avatar
By Lisa
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Great powerful and small camera.
Fits in your pocket so you can take anywhere.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP 30x Zoom Compact Digital Camera.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great camera, great price..!
Posted08 May 2015
Customer avatar
By Silo
From:Nottingham, Nottingham, UK
Use:Family
Reason for purchase:Replacing an existing product
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Very well built camera with lots of good features and it takes very sharp pictures , the zoom is very good as well , the only negative for me is the lack of a dedicated macro mode setting. It's also easy to control with your smartphone and send pictures via wi fi to your device... Would Recomended . "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP 30x Zoom Compact Digital Camera.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted29 April 2015
Customer avatar
By Gadget
Age:25 to 34
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Excellent value. This camera takes superb photos. Much better than my previous bridge camera. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP 30x Zoom Compact Digital Camera.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great camera.
Posted29 April 2015
Customer avatar
By jon4jon
From:Oxfordshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Love it & its ease of use...
Loads of features too...
Recommended by me!
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP 30x Zoom Compact Digital Camera.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A good replacement
Posted28 April 2015
Customer avatar
By WW1 anorak
From:Essex
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" This was bought to replace an earlier Sony camera which has given good service for several years and I wanted a similar model with the panoramic feature I like to use. So far the new one has proved to be good, the only diappointment is that the batteries (original + spare) from the previous camera don't fit this one! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP 30x Zoom Compact Digital Camera.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Picture Quality is Great, excellent wifi feature
Posted22 April 2015
Customer avatar
By Jo43
From:Worcestershire, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This is my first proper camera after only using my phone to take snaps and I am so please with the picture quality, I can zoom in on the tiniest little things and still get a great picture, my favourite pictures can be sent to my smart phone or computer with ease. The camera instantly recognising it surroundings & choses the correct type of picture to take automatically, ie landscape. All in all I am very happy with this little compact, light weight camera and would highly recommend it. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP 30x Zoom Compact Digital Camera.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good camera
Posted17 April 2015
Customer avatar
By Liz
From:Nottinghamshire, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" If you want a bit of a zoom camera, but without the bulk, then this is the camera. It takes pictures clearly and although I have not got round to printing any off yet, I know I will be happy with what I see on screen. Although I will always love my Nikon camera, this will come in handy for me, when I want something compact, but without the bulk. I look forward to using this on a weekend away I have planned later, to try this out even more. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Sony Cybershot HX50 20MP 30x Zoom Compact Digital Camera.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent camera
Posted17 April 2015
Customer avatar
By KM
From:Essex, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I bought this after reading a few reviews online, and I'm not disappointed.
I'm no professional photographer, but for general use: holiday photos, pets, children etc it's fantastic. The picture quality is great, the panorama feature is brilliant and the 30x zoom is great, and even the digital zoom produces great pictures.
I'd definitely recommend this to anyone who wants to take great photos but doesn't want an SLR or to have to fiddle with loads of settings "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 Next >>>