Top-rated product

Seiko ER-8100 Britannica Concise Encyclopedia Dictionary.

<p>This electronic version of the Britannica Concise Encyclopedia is the ultimate pocket sized reference library, perfect for home, school or office. Also featuring an Oxford Dictionary and Thesaurus, this device is the ideal portable reference tool. </p><ul><li>240000 words.</li><li>4000000 synonyms.</li><li>25000 of articles.</li><li>9000 quotations.</li><li>12 word games.</li><li>Crossword solver.</li><li>Anagram solver.</li><li>Abbreviation solver.</li><li>Phonetic spell correction.</li><li>130000 word spellchecker.</li><li>1 languages.</li><li>Calculator and converter.</li><li>LCD display.</li><li>Batteries included.</li><li>Batteries required 1 AAA.</li><li>EAN: 5012789416052 / 978-.</li></ul>
Overall rating:
4.292 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 24 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
20 of 2483%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Seiko ER-8100 Britannica Concise Encyclopedia Dictionary.
Review 1 for Seiko ER-8100 Britannica Concise Encyclopedia Dictionary.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this is an update to what I had
Posted13 June 2015
Customer avatar
By bowler
From:Devon, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display screen 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" much more information to the previous one I had "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Seiko ER-8100 Britannica Concise Encyclopedia Dictionary.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cannot do without it!
Posted10 June 2015
Customer avatar
By Lizzie
From:Merseyside, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display screen 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This is the third Seiko we have bought. The previous two have been worn out with use for years. Very good value when we need help with daily crossword puzzles and it is easy to carry around. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Seiko ER-8100 Britannica Concise Encyclopedia Dictionary.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent Electronic Dictionary
Posted02 June 2015
Customer avatar
By Out in the stixs
From:Somerset
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display screen 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Excellent electronic crossword solver and encyclopedia, many other useful features, large, clear screen only disappointment was the size of the buttons. This latest version has smaller buttons than previous version and may be a consideration for people with large fingers or a disability. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Seiko ER-8100 Britannica Concise Encyclopedia Dictionary.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
seiko ER-8100
Posted25 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Geoff
From:Hertfordshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display screen 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" I am very pleased with this product, has some excellent features, such as "knowledge find". Excellent value for money! Geoff, Hitchin. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Seiko ER-8100 Britannica Concise Encyclopedia Dictionary.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Invaluable for "Cheating" with Puzzles
Posted22 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Roger
From:Sussex
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display screen 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Taking, as I do, some puzzle magazines each month when I can't think of the word I use this as a Crossword Solver, Spelling checker, dictionary and Thesaurus not to mention its thematic lists and I can often complete the puzzle-but not always, so things do remain a challenge!!. It is an excellent product with a screen that needs to be in a good light to read it easily, however. Well worth the Argos price (when I bought it) "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Seiko ER-8100 Britannica Concise Encyclopedia Dictionary.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
better than my old one
Posted21 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Higgs
From:Lancashire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display screen 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" replaced it as a better product "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Seiko ER-8100 Britannica Concise Encyclopedia Dictionary.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So Pleased with the Updated Version
Posted31 December 2014
Customer avatar
By Shirob
From:UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Display screen 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I had the older version of this dictionary and am really pleased I chose this one when the original one finally bit the dust. It is easy to use, was able to change the print to make it easy to read and it has really good features. It is constantly in use to aid my crossword efforts and in looking up information and spellings. One of my favourite gadgets that I would highly recommend. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Seiko ER-8100 Britannica Concise Encyclopedia Dictionary.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not as good as old model
Posted21 October 2014
Customer avatar
By oris123
From:Stafford, Stafford, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Display screen 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Having purchased this as a replacement for an old model that after many years reliable use finally packed up a bit disappointed. OK for most functions fine but when using some features not as good, not sure if the memory is smaller and thus less info available. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Seiko ER-8100 Britannica Concise Encyclopedia Dictionary.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good for its purpose
Posted08 October 2014
Customer avatar
By mike
From:kent
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Display screen 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Screen a bit small but all features are ok "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Seiko ER-8100 Britannica Concise Encyclopedia Dictionary.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted19 August 2014
Customer avatar
By CeeDee
From:London, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
" I agree with other reviewers that this is not as good as the ER8000 which I had previously - no lists in the Thesaurus and less information generally. However, seems like the best on the market at present. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Seiko ER-8100 Britannica Concise Encyclopedia Dictionary.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted29 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Army
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
" Absolutely brilliant item "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Seiko ER-8100 Britannica Concise Encyclopedia Dictionary.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Improvement on ER8000
Posted19 January 2014
Customer avatar
By Pete
From:West Sussex
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
" ER8100 has more features than before, including extra search facilities. Just scroll down the menu! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Seiko ER-8100 Britannica Concise Encyclopedia Dictionary.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Encyclopedia lacks some entries
Posted29 September 2013
Customer avatar
By Den
From:Somerset, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
" I was surprised to find 'no information' from an input of 'Mona Lisa': even our old Collins National manages that! The amount of data for those entries that the ER-8100 does have is very good. My wife now prefers the old device that this new one was meant to replace! Also, we find that the screen could be brighter, even at high contrast or, better still, to have had a 'back light' function. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Seiko ER-8100 Britannica Concise Encyclopedia Dictionary.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Seiko ER-8100 Britannica Concise Ency Dictionary
Posted24 September 2013
Customer avatar
By Ibrah54
From:Nigeria
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
" This product has good features which include an encyclopedia, dictionary, quotations, thesaurus and English idioms. It also includes spellchecker and 12 word games. It is a very good pocket sized reference material that could easily be used anywhere and at any place. However, I have 2 issues with the product; the screen is not coloured and one needs to be in a lit place to be able to use it at night. These, in my opinion , are the drawback to such an excellent reference material. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Seiko ER-8100 Britannica Concise Encyclopedia Dictionary.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
just the right gift
Posted28 August 2013
Customer avatar
By snowpake1
From:norfolk, uk
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
" this item was purchased as an 80th birthday pressie for my brother in law who often got stuck with clues/words etc - he is now a very happy 80 year old and complete his puzzles daily without any problems thanks to his britannica concise enyclopedia - he even comes up with words we've never heard of before "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Seiko ER-8100 Britannica Concise Encyclopedia Dictionary.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
a good buy
Posted19 June 2013
Customer avatar
By kenneth
From:bedfordshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
" I am very pleased with this product and I have found it very useful in helping to solve crossword puzzles and correct my spelling mistakes.
The links to all the various sections are very easy to follow, the only criticism is the lack of a single clear screen key
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Seiko ER-8100 Britannica Concise Encyclopedia Dictionary.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect choice
Posted28 May 2013
Customer avatar
By Paul
From:Sunny Sussex Coast
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
" Bought as a present for a crossword fanatic. She is delighted. What more can I say! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Seiko ER-8100 Britannica Concise Encyclopedia Dictionary.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Exactly what one wants fro crosswords
Posted14 May 2013
Customer avatar
By Banjoboy
From:Cowbit
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
" very good piece of intellectual kit "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Seiko ER-8100 Britannica Concise Encyclopedia Dictionary.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Extras well worth the extra
Posted27 August 2012
Customer avatar
By Zante
From:West Yorks
" Bought this to replace an ER3700 I've had for many years. Its brain was still functioning perfectly but old age had caught up with the keyboard.
The added extras of the Encyclopedia,Quotations, and Idioms make solving a doddle now.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Seiko ER-8100 Britannica Concise Encyclopedia Dictionary.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Bit of a let down
Posted21 August 2012
Customer avatar
By Batford
From:U.K.
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
" I bought the ER8100 after using the previous model ER8000 for a number of years hoping to see improvements but found that some useful information had been removed. Why would Seiko do that? Memory is now so much cheaper they could have doubled the amount of data and still reduced the price. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
1 2 Next >>>