Top-rated product

Astro Gaming A40 Wired Audio Headset for PC,PS3/4 & Xbox 360

<p>The A40 Audio System combines an acoustically improved A40 Headset with our updated MixAmp&trade; Pro to bring you the next-gen audio experience. Immerse yourself with exceptionally accurate Dolby&reg; 7.1 Surround Sound, multi-platform support, and game to voice balancing. Own your gaming with interchangeable speaker tags and EQ modes to perfectly fit your gaming audio needs. Easily capture all your gaming audio for live streaming with the new MixAmp&trade; Pro's Stream output.</p><ul><li>Astro MixAmp with 4 EQ modes.</li><li>Link multiple MixAmps together for LAN setting.</li><li>Customisable speaker tags.</li><li>EAN: 817161010829.</li></ul>
Overall rating:
4.842 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
18 of 1995%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
17 Questions | 22 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Astro Gaming A40 Wired Audio Headset for PC,PS3/4 & Xbox 360
Review 1 for Astro Gaming A40 Wired Audio Headset for PC,PS3/4 & Xbox 360
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Astro A40 - Great, Comfortable
Posted26 August 2014
Customer avatar
By Nav
From:London
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Amazing headset, very comfortable and perfect sound quality. Bought as a replacement for my trittons 720+ as they were really uncomfortable and would clamp onto to your head but the Astros have been amazing. Might seem pricey but if you're looking to buy a great gaming headset look no further."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Astro Gaming A40 Wired Audio Headset for PC,PS3/4 & Xbox 360
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality headphones for Gamers
Posted29 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Phillip
From:Wiltshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This new set was purchased to replace it's aging predecessor which I have used daily for the past 3 years. I use it for my xbox360/PS3 and PS4 and they perform flawlessly on each. Cannot recommend them high enough."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Astro Gaming A40 Wired Audio Headset for PC,PS3/4 & Xbox 360
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing well worth the money
Posted23 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Woppa
From:Bromsgrove, Bromsgrove, Worcestershire, UK
Age:18 to 24
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Fantastic headset well worth the purchase happy days"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Astro Gaming A40 Wired Audio Headset for PC,PS3/4 & Xbox 360
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great
Posted27 May 2014
Customer avatar
By nick
From:England, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have had a few top brand headsets, these are without doubt the best"
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Astro Gaming A40 Wired Audio Headset for PC,PS3/4 & Xbox 360
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
If you want a top end head set...........
Posted13 May 2014
Customer avatar
By Tractor
Age:35 to 44
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Then look no further. Superb sound that is crystal clear. A great investment. My one and only gripe is the sound does leak slightly as my missus moaned at me the other night (she was sat about 4m away)."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Astro Gaming A40 Wired Audio Headset for PC,PS3/4 & Xbox 360
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Expensive... But well worth the cost.
Posted01 May 2014
Customer avatar
By Geshman
From:Hertfordshire, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"+Extremely comfortable
+Excellent sound quality (Astro state the distortion is <0.1% - most headsets are 1%); you can play audio stupidly loud and still have it be perfectly clear
+Open headset design keeps your ears nice and cool so you can wear it for extended periods (I wear mine for 5-6 hours a day)
+Open headset design helps provide a better surround sound effect, none of that feeling that the sound is originating from inside your head
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Astro Gaming A40 Wired Audio Headset for PC,PS3/4 & Xbox 360
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Astro a40s
Posted01 April 2014
Customer avatar
By Manjit
From:Peterlee
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Love the headset just need the headset adaptor to be in stock so I can use the mic"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Astro Gaming A40 Wired Audio Headset for PC,PS3/4 & Xbox 360
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Astro A40
Posted18 March 2014
Customer avatar
By Chalk8283
From:Arbroath
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"As a heavy gamer I own various headsets. I have owned the previous version of this headset for around 4 years but also own a couple of Turtle Beach headsets, these new A40's are a cut above anything else I've ever used, the sound quality when used with the mix amp is incredible. I often game for 5/6 hours at a time and you forget you have these on your head. Although these are advertised as PC/Xbox 360/PS3 I use these with PS4 and they work perfectly including chat."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Astro Gaming A40 Wired Audio Headset for PC,PS3/4 & Xbox 360
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great headset only if you have a decent soundcard.
Posted04 March 2014
Customer avatar
By Jon
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"*this only applies to PC users*
Great headset, great sound, great mic. Only if your soundcard/onboard) can support Dolby Digital Live (If your plugging into computer)
Even though the mixamp does the DDL, your soundcard still needs to be able to support this feature as you will be plugging straight into soundcard/onboard.
Otherwise your buying an expensive set of headphones which have the same use as a pair that would cost a 10th of the price of the A40's.
Xonar DX is great. U3 for cheap."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Astro Gaming A40 Wired Audio Headset for PC,PS3/4 & Xbox 360
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
finally a headset thats worth the money
Posted28 February 2014
Customer avatar
By Andy
From:staffs uk
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"A40 is very comfortable even after 4 hours on your head quality headset , not plasticy like other headsets"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Astro Gaming A40 Wired Audio Headset for PC,PS3/4 & Xbox 360
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Definite Buy
Posted20 February 2014
Customer avatar
By LachlanCotter
Age:17 or under
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I was worried that this A: Wasn't the 2013 edition and B: I wouldn't get my one year astro warranty. Both of those are resolved, it is indeed the 2013 edition and i could register for my warranty. Great buy, quick pick-up."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Astro Gaming A40 Wired Audio Headset for PC,PS3/4 & Xbox 360
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Astro A40 Gaming Audio System
Posted23 January 2014
Customer avatar
By Nip-Jarnu
From:Not Available
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
"Well what can i say from Astro you really get your moneys worth in every product, i bought these headphones because i tend to travel quite a bit to gaming tournaments across Europe and decided i need to treat myself to a new headset.
All in all great headset, 10/10
Very Durable
Money Well Spent.
If you are thinking about the Astro A50's i would highly recommend the A40's over them for quality reasons, so i feel from my professional view that you will go ahead and buy the A40's over the A50's"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Astro Gaming A40 Wired Audio Headset for PC,PS3/4 & Xbox 360
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
simply awesome gaming headphones
Posted23 October 2013
Customer avatar
By Adzprs
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"easy to set up great sound great for FPS games very good mic
just buy them you won't be disappointed"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Astro Gaming A40 Wired Audio Headset for PC,PS3/4 & Xbox 360
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A40
Posted01 October 2013
Customer avatar
By Stef
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
"Best gaming headset I have ever used"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Astro Gaming A40 Wired Audio Headset for PC,PS3/4 & Xbox 360
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent!!!
Posted01 October 2013
Customer avatar
By Khaos
From:Taunton, Somerset, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
"Before buying these i had a Tritton Warhead 7.1 headset for the xbxo and Razer chimera 5.1 headset and the Astro's beat them hands down with it working with both my pc and xbox i have found them easy to use with amazing control and sound"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Astro Gaming A40 Wired Audio Headset for PC,PS3/4 & Xbox 360
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Astro Gaming A40
Posted24 September 2013
Customer avatar
By lindyloulou
From:Bexleyheath, Greater London, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
"Sound good. However bought these for my 13 year son and he says they are too heavy so have had to get him a lighter set instead which is disappointing given the price!"
No, I do not recommend this product.
-80points
1of 82voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Astro Gaming A40 Wired Audio Headset for PC,PS3/4 & Xbox 360
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
amazing
Posted04 September 2013
Customer avatar
By JC
From:uk
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
"Ive been playing games for years and this is the cool brand at the moment. Forget anything else you have heard the real gamers know this offer's great 7.1 dolby surround, and a mix amp. Its also really easy to set up. And if you really want to you can listen to movies and music as well."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Astro Gaming A40 Wired Audio Headset for PC,PS3/4 & Xbox 360
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good!
Posted20 August 2013
Customer avatar
By Griticz
From:England, UK
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
"The product was a but strange to handle at first but once I installed the firmware and the drivers for the digital output, I was listening to surround sound in barely any time."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Astro Gaming A40 Wired Audio Headset for PC,PS3/4 & Xbox 360
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5