Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder

<p>This Hitachi Freeview HD Digital TV Recorder comes with built in Smart TV to make your viewing experiences that much more exciting. A convenient 7 day electronic programme guide keeps you up to date with the upcoming programmes. It has an impressive 140 hours recording time and allows you to pause live TV. </p><p>Digital TV features:</p><ul><li>Digital text.</li><li>Favourite channels list.</li><li>Auto setup.</li><li>Electronic programme guide.</li></ul><p>Recording features:</p><ul><li>Freeview+.</li><li>Digital tuner.</li><li>500GB hard drive.</li><li>140 hours recording time.</li><li>Record 2 channels at the same time.</li><li>Record 1 channel whilst watching a previous recording.</li><li>Series record.</li><li>Pause live TV.</li></ul><p>Connectivity:</p><ul><li>1HDMI output.</li><li>1 SCART socket .</li><li>1 USB port.</li><li>Ethernet connection.</li></ul><p>Additional information:</p><ul><li>Remote control batteries required: 2 x AAA (included).</li><li>Size H4.3, W23.1, D13.7cm.</li><li>Weight 1000g.</li></ul><p>Energy efficiency information:</p><p>EAN: 4902530912920</p>
Overall rating:
3.949 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 137 reviews
5 Stars
68
4 Stars
37
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
5
1 Star
19
106 of 13777%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
158 Questions | 196 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Review 1 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Poor
Posted20 May 2015
Customer avatar
By Rob
From:??
Age:35 to 44
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality of EPG 
1 / 5
1 / 5
" The box was not sealed up when we picked it up, Had to take it back day after Could not set it up, Things missing ?? ( got my money back ). DO. NOT agree with terms and conditions Had to tick the box to sent this message, "
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted19 May 2015
Customer avatar
By helper 2
From:Worcestershire, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" This was bought for an older gentleman.He is very pleased with the ease of use and looks forward to many years service as it is a good named brand. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
this product is disappointing
Posted30 April 2015
Customer avatar
By Dave
From:East Riding of Yorkshire, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Range of features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Easy to install and get going however there are a few things that make me regret my choice
the layout of the remote control is poor, regularly used buttons are on the bottom and awkward to press
the main problem with it (and it appears I am not alone) is series linking...I have now missed programmes I thought were series linked but after recording the first one subsequent programmes are not recorded, despite showing in the epg as being series linked. Giving it one more week before returning
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Really good
Posted28 April 2015
Customer avatar
By Scottie
From:Staffordshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Very pleased with my purchase , Very easy to use . "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Awful product
Posted26 April 2015
Customer avatar
By SB
From:Cheltenham, Cheltenham, Gloucestershire, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Range of features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" I found the external quality good but it suffers from internal issues. It regularly freezes, it slows down over time if you don't turn it off at the mains which indicates the internal memory is leaking and if you want to record 2 channels it slows down considerably when you want to scroll through the guide it can take forever.
11 months in and it has started switching itself off and back on again.
Avoid this product as it has serious flaws. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good value for an easy to use simple recorder
Posted24 April 2015
Customer avatar
By Clive
From:Tyne & Wear
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" set-up was relatively straightforward though some patience required. It seems to have the reliability and ease of use which I have come to find from all Hitachi products that I have purchased over several decades. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
this product didnr work
Posted14 April 2015
Customer avatar
By Windy
From:West Yorkshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Bought this HDR5T01, as soon as we used it lines appeared across the screen and the sound was poor, we returned it and exchanged it for the same model, this one still had the lines across the screen, and recorded programms had no sound at all, very bad for a firm like Hitachi to produce such a bad product.Going now to exchange it for a different make. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Doesn't record properly
Posted01 April 2015
Customer avatar
By AFCB
Age:55 to 64
" Forgets series record! Only records 3 mins on standard recording. Took it back for a replacement and that did the same, swapped for a Bush equivalent (£40 cheaper - it is identical to the Hitachi) and it does exactly the same. Useless items. Bought a Panasonic from Richer Sounds instead - works perfectly. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
product did not work correctly
Posted31 March 2015
Customer avatar
By ajr
From:Suffolk, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Range of features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality of EPG 
1 / 5
1 / 5
" the product did not work, scan found no channels, even though the same aerial lead connected to telly found 129 channels...
returned product, assumed faulty, got another,
same problem.
finally got another brand, worked fine.
I see that Argos does not carry product anymore...
any wonder!!
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
tv recorder
Posted31 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Chasessex
From:Hornchurchessex
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Received free product:Yes
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Having bought three of these and return to the shops this was by far the best one highly recermened "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted31 March 2015
Customer avatar
By davidf1809
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
1 / 5
1 / 5
" Epg to small. To read "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Freeview Box
Posted31 March 2015
Customer avatar
By David
From:Essex
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Top of the range product Easy instructions.Super price. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Free view recorder
Posted25 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Nimrod35
From:Kent, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Range of features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Well known make. Excellent value. Easy to set up & use "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Hitachi HDR5T01 Recorder
Posted25 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Dave
From:Kent, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
2 / 5
2 / 5
" There is a problem with the recorder, it sometimes freezes for a short period when in playback of recorded programmes. I may have to take it back for exchange.
Written detail on screen in guide and messages is small and difficult to read if you are seated some way from the screen.
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Hitachi freeview recorder
Posted17 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Algernon
Age:65 or over
Range of features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality of EPG 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Unfortunately, had to be returned to store after seemingly developing a mind of its own ie:losing volume after fast forward. It then refused to turn off/turn on. The only way yo gain response was to unplug and try again. Exchanged with no hassle whatsoever by Argos for another make. Thank you Argos for brilliant service! "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Faulty Series Link Recording
Posted16 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Tina99
From:Staffordshire, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Range of features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality of EPG 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Had to return this product as it won't record anything other than what's on that day. Did the broadcast software upgrade and still it didn't work. Returned it and chose another product. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+25points
25of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
DOSEN'T RECORD ANYTHING THAT'S NOT ON THE DAY
Posted15 March 2015
Customer avatar
By CLARABELL
From:London, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Range of features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" I've already changed this machine once, this one is no better than the first one. If I record something tomorrow it will not do it - will only record stuff on the actual day of screening ........... I cannot go away for a couple of days and think it's gonna record what I've set ................ very frustrating, not sure if this is a fault in all of them or just some but I am not happy with this product and don't have faith in changing it again .......... will save up for a new one ......again "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+24points
24of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
faulty series recording link
Posted02 March 2015
Customer avatar
By jen
From:Liverpool, Merseyside, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Range of features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Bought this last October worked fine at first but series link has recently started to fail continuously. Disappointed to find out that apparently this is a known problem. Cannot find online if there is a solution and don't see what I should have to phone a chargeable number for advice. Can I return to shop to swap for another make? "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+24points
24of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Has major software issue.
Posted26 February 2015
Customer avatar
By MikeB
From:Worthing, West Sussex, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality of EPG 
1 / 5
1 / 5
" Hardware fine but software is rubbish. Recording is a nightmare and the series record just does not work. After hours of frustration with the first box had it replaced but new one also displayed same problems. Took that back and bought the BT box which is brilliant although a little more money. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+28points
28of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This product is a load of rubbish
Posted23 February 2015
Customer avatar
By tgrstoreman
From:Penzance, Cornwall, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Hitachi as a name usually speaks of quality. Not this product!!
Currently on set number 4 - awaiting Argos to receive stock of Panasonic recorder. All 4 sets suffered from same faults.
1) Won't record set programs.
2) Won't record series.
3) Wipes program record settings from EPG.
4) Very small - hard to read screen details. Unless very large TV screen.
Best place for this product is either leave it on the shelf or bin it.
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
+24points
24of 24voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 Next >>>