Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder

<p>This Hitachi Freeview HD Digital TV Recorder comes with built in Smart TV to make your viewing experiences that much more exciting. A convenient 7 day electronic programme guide keeps you up to date with the upcoming programmes. It has an impressive 140 hours recording time and allows you to pause live TV. </p><p>Digital TV features:</p><ul><li>Digital text.</li><li>Favourite channels list.</li><li>Auto setup.</li><li>Electronic programme guide.</li></ul><p>Recording features:</p><ul><li>Freeview+.</li><li>Digital tuner.</li><li>500GB hard drive.</li><li>140 hours recording time.</li><li>Record 2 channels at the same time.</li><li>Record 1 channel whilst watching a previous recording.</li><li>Series record.</li><li>Pause live TV.</li></ul><p>Connectivity:</p><ul><li>1HDMI output.</li><li>1 SCART socket .</li><li>1 USB port.</li><li>Ethernet connection.</li></ul><p>Additional information:</p><ul><li>Remote control batteries required: 2 x AAA (included).</li><li>Size H4.3, W23.1, D13.7cm.</li><li>Weight 1000g.</li></ul><p>Energy efficiency information:</p><p>EAN: 4902530912920</p>
Overall rating:
3.924 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 145 reviews
5 Stars
70
4 Stars
40
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
6
1 Star
20
111 of 14577%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
159 Questions | 198 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Review 1 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Well worth the money
Posted30 June 2015
Customer avatar
By adey
From:Flintshire, UK
Age:45 to 54
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
2 / 5
2 / 5
" I bought this in the sale,was a little unsure after reading a few negative reviews, i am really glad I bought it now. Picture is perfect,I can play my external hard drive on it to watch my films etc,it's not missed any recordings I have timed,only downside I have is the guide doesn't have a view box in the corner so you can still watch the channel whilst viewing the guide and the writing is small,but I would still highly recommend this product. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent recorder
Posted10 June 2015
Customer avatar
By Fluffy
From:Buckinghamshire, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I bought this as a present for my boyfriend , he thinks it's the best thing he has ever had. Think it's probably because he is a telly addict. But on a serious note it's easy to use & does what it says. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Going Back
Posted03 June 2015
Customer avatar
By StuartA
From:East Ayrshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality of EPG 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Worked well during the first seven days then all of the series records stopped recording even though they still showed on the schedule. After resetting recording schedules they worked again, but after a couple of days stopped recording some of the programmes, so scheduled recording is "hit and miss". Regularly loses output signal and has to be isolated from power then reconnected to restore output. Too unreliable with recordings not guaranteed to happen and sometimes no output when switched on. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TV Recorder.
Posted03 June 2015
Customer avatar
By Grandma
From:Rossendale
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This product is just what we were after, we are very satisfied.
We were also very impressed with the staff who were extremely helpful.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
uncomplicated
Posted02 June 2015
Customer avatar
By smoothskin
From:South Yorkshire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" very easy to use and set up a lot simpler than my previous box "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
fre
Posted26 May 2015
Customer avatar
By mine
From:arbroath
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Range of features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality of EPG 
1 / 5
1 / 5
" Had to return. Used once and kept breaking up. Was faulty at cable connection "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Does what it says on the Tin
Posted25 May 2015
Customer avatar
By Sparky
From:Anglesey
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Very pleased with this product "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
third box from argos
Posted24 May 2015
Customer avatar
By sylvie
From:Selby, Selby, North Yorkshire YO8, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Range of features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality of EPG 
2 / 5
2 / 5
" bought the Hitachi hdrst01 had a problem with the timer. After putting in a programme to record and then watching another recorded programme and running it forward to miss the adverts, then going back to the timer the programme I put in to record, the date and time had disappeared.
I took it back to Argos and exchanged it for a Bush. The same thing happened with that. took that back and tried the Hitachi again.had it a day and it's doing the same thing. ?
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Poor
Posted20 May 2015
Customer avatar
By Rob
From:??
Age:35 to 44
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality of EPG 
1 / 5
1 / 5
" The box was not sealed up when we picked it up, Had to take it back day after Could not set it up, Things missing ?? ( got my money back ). DO. NOT agree with terms and conditions Had to tick the box to sent this message, "
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted19 May 2015
Customer avatar
By helper 2
From:Worcestershire, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" This was bought for an older gentleman.He is very pleased with the ease of use and looks forward to many years service as it is a good named brand. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
this product is disappointing
Posted30 April 2015
Customer avatar
By Dave
From:East Riding of Yorkshire, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Range of features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Easy to install and get going however there are a few things that make me regret my choice
the layout of the remote control is poor, regularly used buttons are on the bottom and awkward to press
the main problem with it (and it appears I am not alone) is series linking...I have now missed programmes I thought were series linked but after recording the first one subsequent programmes are not recorded, despite showing in the epg as being series linked. Giving it one more week before returning
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Really good
Posted28 April 2015
Customer avatar
By Scottie
From:Staffordshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Very pleased with my purchase , Very easy to use . "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Awful product
Posted26 April 2015
Customer avatar
By SB
From:Cheltenham, Cheltenham, Gloucestershire, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Range of features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" I found the external quality good but it suffers from internal issues. It regularly freezes, it slows down over time if you don't turn it off at the mains which indicates the internal memory is leaking and if you want to record 2 channels it slows down considerably when you want to scroll through the guide it can take forever.
11 months in and it has started switching itself off and back on again.
Avoid this product as it has serious flaws. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good value for an easy to use simple recorder
Posted24 April 2015
Customer avatar
By Clive
From:Tyne & Wear
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" set-up was relatively straightforward though some patience required. It seems to have the reliability and ease of use which I have come to find from all Hitachi products that I have purchased over several decades. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
this product didnr work
Posted14 April 2015
Customer avatar
By Windy
From:West Yorkshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Bought this HDR5T01, as soon as we used it lines appeared across the screen and the sound was poor, we returned it and exchanged it for the same model, this one still had the lines across the screen, and recorded programms had no sound at all, very bad for a firm like Hitachi to produce such a bad product.Going now to exchange it for a different make. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Doesn't record properly
Posted01 April 2015
Customer avatar
By AFCB
Age:55 to 64
" Forgets series record! Only records 3 mins on standard recording. Took it back for a replacement and that did the same, swapped for a Bush equivalent (£40 cheaper - it is identical to the Hitachi) and it does exactly the same. Useless items. Bought a Panasonic from Richer Sounds instead - works perfectly. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
product did not work correctly
Posted31 March 2015
Customer avatar
By ajr
From:Suffolk, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Range of features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality of EPG 
1 / 5
1 / 5
" the product did not work, scan found no channels, even though the same aerial lead connected to telly found 129 channels...
returned product, assumed faulty, got another,
same problem.
finally got another brand, worked fine.
I see that Argos does not carry product anymore...
any wonder!!
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
tv recorder
Posted31 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Chasessex
From:Hornchurchessex
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Received free product:Yes
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Having bought three of these and return to the shops this was by far the best one highly recermened "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted31 March 2015
Customer avatar
By davidf1809
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
1 / 5
1 / 5
" Epg to small. To read "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Freeview Box
Posted31 March 2015
Customer avatar
By David
From:Essex
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Top of the range product Easy instructions.Super price. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 Next >>>