Top-rated product

Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder

<p>This Hitachi Freeview HD Digital TV Recorder comes with built in Smart TV to make your viewing experiences that much more exciting. A convenient 7 day electronic programme guide keeps you up to date with the upcoming programmes. It has an impressive 140 hours recording time and allows you to pause live TV. </p><p>Digital TV features:</p><ul><li>Digital text.</li><li>Favourite channels list.</li><li>Auto setup.</li><li>Electronic programme guide.</li></ul><p>Recording features:</p><ul><li>Freeview+.</li><li>Digital tuner.</li><li>500GB hard drive.</li><li>140 hours recording time.</li><li>Record 2 channels at the same time.</li><li>Record 1 channel whilst watching a previous recording.</li><li>Series record.</li><li>Pause live TV.</li></ul><p>Connectivity:</p><ul><li>1HDMI output.</li><li>1 SCART socket .</li><li>1 USB port.</li><li>Ethernet connection.</li></ul><p>Additional information:</p><ul><li>Remote control batteries required: 2 x AAA (included).</li><li>Size H4.3, W23.1, D13.7cm.</li><li>Weight 1000g.</li></ul><p>Energy efficiency information:</p><p>EAN: 4902530912920</p>
Overall rating:
4.059 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 273 reviews
5 Stars
133
4 Stars
87
3 Stars
17
2 Stars
8
1 Star
28
223 of 27382%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
224 Questions | 292 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Review 1 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
very good machine
Posted03 May 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:swansea
Age:55 to 64
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Very easy to set up and use.The quality of the recordings are good and very easy to use. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hitachi HDR5T01 TV Recorder
Posted28 April 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Moreton, Wirral
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" A good product, small and easy to use. What would be nice is a programmer to record a series of the same programme over several weeks. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Better Quality
Posted28 April 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Lancashire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" The product is indentical to the one we returned except this one is an Hitachi as the previous one was a Bush. It is a lot better quality "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Digital tv player
Posted27 April 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Sutton coldfield
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Very pleased with the ease of set up. I received player before time stated so will definitely shop with you every time. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Basic box
Posted27 April 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:West Yorkshire, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Range of features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" If you have 2 things set to record at 9pm for instance and are watching a programme it just switches over. It doesn't ask or warn it just does it so if the programme your watching is paused and is 10 mins behind it turns it over and you can't go back. You can only go back to live TV. You can't access the menu whilst tv is using pause features.
Basically it's the most basic of boxes you can get. Worth spending the little bit extra and buying a model up.
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
poor functionality limited
Posted26 April 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Houghton le Spring, Tyne and Wear, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality of EPG 
1 / 5
1 / 5
" Limited functions no reply to e mail to Hitatchi re functions very poor instruction manual
Over priced for functions
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Did not do what it should
Posted25 April 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:North Yorkshire, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Range of features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality of EPG 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Set up easily but found if you are on time shift (after pause) and a pre programmed recording starts for another channel the time shift is lost and you miss the programme you have been watching. Most annoying! "
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
hitachi hdr5t01 500gb freeview smart tv
Posted21 April 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Blackpool, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Easy to set up and use , with user freindly remote control. highly recommended. value for money. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Does the job
Posted20 April 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Uk
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
" Only thing that let's it down is the old fashioned digital clock on the front in bright red that sometimes disappears and just leaves a red dot..... "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
freeview machine
Posted19 April 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:South Yorkshire, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Seems quite good so far "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted19 April 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Newcastle
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I was spending £50+ a month for Sky so this will save me a fortune. I don't need hundreds of channels I just want to watch or record my soaps etc and its so easy with this. The added bonus for me is it records subtitles as well while 'catch-up tv' doesn't. It's brilliant. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
iffy!
Posted15 April 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Accrington
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Easy to use, good picture quality BUT the unit will not let me record 2 programs whilst watching another - gives messages that I do not understand and I used to teach IT! "
No, I do not recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent
Posted14 April 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Somerset, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" small but perfectly formed!
does what it is supposed to do
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
chair
Posted13 April 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Maidstone, Maidstone, Kent, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Easy assembled and comfortable to use "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted12 April 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Leeds, West Yorkshire, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" yes it is good i would buy againg "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hitachi Freeview Box
Posted12 April 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Folkestone, Kent
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This is a great product. I did find it difficult at first as it is so much different to my other freeview box but once I found everything it is very simple to use and there is a lot more to it than you think when you start - all in all an excellent product. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very good value for money.
Posted06 April 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:England, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Very good value just as good as the expensive ones . Staff was very helpful when choosing which one to buy . "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good value would buy again easy to use and set up
Posted06 April 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Barnsley, South Yorkshire, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Good value for money easy to use "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good all round piece of equipmant
Posted06 April 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Southampton, Southampton, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" This and its predecessor are more reliable than the market leader Hymax. Some of the facilities on the Hymax are not available on the Hitachi, but if this is as relaible as it's predecessor I would readily advise purchase ! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted05 April 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:N Ireland
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" I just wanted a hard drive recorder that was simple to use and this is perfect for it. It has good memory and easy to set up. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 Next >>>