Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder

<p>This Hitachi Freeview HD Digital TV Recorder comes with built in Smart TV to make your viewing experiences that much more exciting. A convenient 7 day electronic programme guide keeps you up to date with the upcoming programmes. It has an impressive 140 hours recording time and allows you to pause live TV. </p><p>Digital TV features:</p><ul><li>Digital text.</li><li>Favourite channels list.</li><li>Auto setup.</li><li>Electronic programme guide.</li></ul><p>Recording features:</p><ul><li>Freeview+.</li><li>Digital tuner.</li><li>500GB hard drive.</li><li>140 hours recording time.</li><li>Record 2 channels at the same time.</li><li>Record 1 channel whilst watching a previous recording.</li><li>Series record.</li><li>Pause live TV.</li></ul><p>Connectivity:</p><ul><li>1HDMI output.</li><li>1 SCART socket .</li><li>1 USB port.</li><li>Ethernet connection.</li></ul><p>Additional information:</p><ul><li>Remote control batteries required: 2 x AAA (included).</li><li>Size H4.3, W23.1, D13.7cm.</li><li>Weight 1000g.</li></ul><p>Energy efficiency information:</p><p>EAN: 4902530912920</p>
Overall rating:
3.97 / 5
4
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 133 reviews
5 Stars
68
4 Stars
35
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
4
1 Star
19
104 of 13378%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
156 Questions | 194 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Review 1 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Awful product
Posted26 April 2015
Customer avatar
By SB
From:Cheltenham, Cheltenham, Gloucestershire, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Range of features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" I found the external quality good but it suffers from internal issues. It regularly freezes, it slows down over time if you don't turn it off at the mains which indicates the internal memory is leaking and if you want to record 2 channels it slows down considerably when you want to scroll through the guide it can take forever.
11 months in and it has started switching itself off and back on again.
Avoid this product as it has serious flaws. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good value for an easy to use simple recorder
Posted24 April 2015
Customer avatar
By Clive
From:Tyne & Wear
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" set-up was relatively straightforward though some patience required. It seems to have the reliability and ease of use which I have come to find from all Hitachi products that I have purchased over several decades. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
this product didnr work
Posted14 April 2015
Customer avatar
By Windy
From:West Yorkshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Bought this HDR5T01, as soon as we used it lines appeared across the screen and the sound was poor, we returned it and exchanged it for the same model, this one still had the lines across the screen, and recorded programms had no sound at all, very bad for a firm like Hitachi to produce such a bad product.Going now to exchange it for a different make. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Doesn't record properly
Posted01 April 2015
Customer avatar
By AFCB
Age:55 to 64
" Forgets series record! Only records 3 mins on standard recording. Took it back for a replacement and that did the same, swapped for a Bush equivalent (£40 cheaper - it is identical to the Hitachi) and it does exactly the same. Useless items. Bought a Panasonic from Richer Sounds instead - works perfectly. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
product did not work correctly
Posted31 March 2015
Customer avatar
By ajr
From:Suffolk, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Range of features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality of EPG 
1 / 5
1 / 5
" the product did not work, scan found no channels, even though the same aerial lead connected to telly found 129 channels...
returned product, assumed faulty, got another,
same problem.
finally got another brand, worked fine.
I see that Argos does not carry product anymore...
any wonder!!
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
tv recorder
Posted31 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Chasessex
From:Hornchurchessex
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Received free product:Yes
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Having bought three of these and return to the shops this was by far the best one highly recermened "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted31 March 2015
Customer avatar
By davidf1809
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
1 / 5
1 / 5
" Epg to small. To read "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Freeview Box
Posted31 March 2015
Customer avatar
By David
From:Essex
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Top of the range product Easy instructions.Super price. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Free view recorder
Posted25 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Nimrod35
From:Kent, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Range of features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Well known make. Excellent value. Easy to set up & use "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Hitachi HDR5T01 Recorder
Posted25 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Dave
From:Kent, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
2 / 5
2 / 5
" There is a problem with the recorder, it sometimes freezes for a short period when in playback of recorded programmes. I may have to take it back for exchange.
Written detail on screen in guide and messages is small and difficult to read if you are seated some way from the screen.
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Hitachi freeview recorder
Posted17 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Algernon
Age:65 or over
Range of features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality of EPG 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Unfortunately, had to be returned to store after seemingly developing a mind of its own ie:losing volume after fast forward. It then refused to turn off/turn on. The only way yo gain response was to unplug and try again. Exchanged with no hassle whatsoever by Argos for another make. Thank you Argos for brilliant service! "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Faulty Series Link Recording
Posted16 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Tina99
From:Staffordshire, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Range of features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality of EPG 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Had to return this product as it won't record anything other than what's on that day. Did the broadcast software upgrade and still it didn't work. Returned it and chose another product. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+24points
24of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
DOSEN'T RECORD ANYTHING THAT'S NOT ON THE DAY
Posted15 March 2015
Customer avatar
By CLARABELL
From:London, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Range of features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" I've already changed this machine once, this one is no better than the first one. If I record something tomorrow it will not do it - will only record stuff on the actual day of screening ........... I cannot go away for a couple of days and think it's gonna record what I've set ................ very frustrating, not sure if this is a fault in all of them or just some but I am not happy with this product and don't have faith in changing it again .......... will save up for a new one ......again "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+23points
23of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
faulty series recording link
Posted02 March 2015
Customer avatar
By jen
From:Liverpool, Merseyside, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Range of features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Bought this last October worked fine at first but series link has recently started to fail continuously. Disappointed to find out that apparently this is a known problem. Cannot find online if there is a solution and don't see what I should have to phone a chargeable number for advice. Can I return to shop to swap for another make? "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+23points
23of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Has major software issue.
Posted26 February 2015
Customer avatar
By MikeB
From:Worthing, West Sussex, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality of EPG 
1 / 5
1 / 5
" Hardware fine but software is rubbish. Recording is a nightmare and the series record just does not work. After hours of frustration with the first box had it replaced but new one also displayed same problems. Took that back and bought the BT box which is brilliant although a little more money. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+27points
27of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This product is a load of rubbish
Posted23 February 2015
Customer avatar
By tgrstoreman
From:Penzance, Cornwall, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Hitachi as a name usually speaks of quality. Not this product!!
Currently on set number 4 - awaiting Argos to receive stock of Panasonic recorder. All 4 sets suffered from same faults.
1) Won't record set programs.
2) Won't record series.
3) Wipes program record settings from EPG.
4) Very small - hard to read screen details. Unless very large TV screen.
Best place for this product is either leave it on the shelf or bin it.
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
+23points
23of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A bit slow
Posted11 February 2015
Customer avatar
By kitty
From:Shropshire, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" This takes AGES to turn on, so we thought it was faulty but then we learned to wait a little while and so far it seems to be ok. Sometimes some of the program information is missing on the EPG which can be a bit annoying, but otherwise it seems to do what we want it to do (most of the time). If we get any more problems occurring with it we shall be taking it back. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very easy to use
Posted10 February 2015
Customer avatar
By Shaky
From:Gwynedd
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Bought this for my Mum and Dad who are retired and not tech savvy but set up easily with all leads required supplied (HDMI). First time installation went smoothly and menus are simple and easy to use. Much better experience than I anticipated so would recommend to anyone who wants a good value for money bit of tech. Nice clean and tidy unit too. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-5points
1of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
hitachi hdr5t01
Posted03 February 2015
Customer avatar
By bilboy
From:Leeds, West Yorkshire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" a good product but it relies on the user to use the timers for recording programmes but its not for me I needed to press record button and away it went recording the night on bbc one say or any other programme with out using timers its a bit to technical for me but its a good product and would recommend if you want to use the timers but for a simple press and go NO WAY. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
2 units same fault - unlucky?
Posted31 January 2015
Customer avatar
By D G
From:Nottinghamshire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" 1st one replaced 2nd one refunded. Probably unlucky as same fault not noticed in other reviews. Both worked fine for a couple of weeks then programmes selected from EPG did not always record. Helpline suggested formatting drive which cured it for a day. Older Hitachi model which we had and was being used in spare room returned to full duties no problem.
If unit was as good as Argos customer service there would be no problem.
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 Next >>>