Top-rated product

Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder

<p>This Hitachi Freeview HD Digital TV Recorder comes with built in Smart TV to make your viewing experiences that much more exciting. A convenient 7 day electronic programme guide keeps you up to date with the upcoming programmes. It has an impressive 140 hours recording time and allows you to pause live TV. </p><p>Digital TV features:</p><ul><li>Digital text.</li><li>Favourite channels list.</li><li>Auto setup.</li><li>Electronic programme guide.</li></ul><p>Recording features:</p><ul><li>Freeview+.</li><li>Digital tuner.</li><li>500GB hard drive.</li><li>140 hours recording time.</li><li>Record 2 channels at the same time.</li><li>Record 1 channel whilst watching a previous recording.</li><li>Series record.</li><li>Pause live TV.</li></ul><p>Connectivity:</p><ul><li>1HDMI output.</li><li>1 SCART socket .</li><li>1 USB port.</li><li>Ethernet connection.</li></ul><p>Additional information:</p><ul><li>Remote control batteries required: 2 x AAA (included).</li><li>Size H4.3, W23.1, D13.7cm.</li><li>Weight 1000g.</li></ul><p>Energy efficiency information:</p><p>EAN: 4902530912920</p>
Overall rating:
4.107 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 298 reviews
5 Stars
151
4 Stars
93
3 Stars
17
2 Stars
9
1 Star
28
247 of 29883%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
227 Questions | 296 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Review 1 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was very pleased with this
Posted24 May 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Kent
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I was very pleased how easy it was to install , the directions were fine, and it was a good value for the money. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good value
Posted23 May 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Tyne and Wear, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Simple set up , easy to use , good price "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great little gadget
Posted19 May 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Hampshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" After years as a sky customer got fed up with continually rising price's so went to free view and needed something to record program's. This great little gadget does the job perfectly. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+HD Smart Digital TV
Posted19 May 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Stockton on Tees
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Excellent product which is easy to use "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to install
Posted18 May 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Scotland
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This was do easy to install and very easy to use all the controls. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
small,compact and easy to set up.really pleased
Posted18 May 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:West Midlands, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Great quality and really easy to use even if your a technophobe like me.
Looks and sounds great.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
super recorder at reasonable price
Posted18 May 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:West Yorkshire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Lovely clear picture and many good features. one of which I really do appreciate is the ability to introduce subtitles if you
decide they are needed part way through viewing the recording.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very easy to set up(even for an oldie)
Posted17 May 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:scotland
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
" The Hitachi freeview digital recorder is exactly as described. This is our 4th box and has been the easiest to set up.Would definitely recommend it. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
set-top box.
Posted17 May 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Essex, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" This is the second one of this make of set-top box I've had and its working well, does everything it says on the "box" and does it well faultlessly. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
value
Posted17 May 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Portsmouth, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Great product, very easy to set up and use. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Apart from not making tea it does all required.
Posted16 May 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:At home mostly
Age:65 or over
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Not having a 4 year old available to do the job for me I found setting up very easy. To quote the overused saying," it does what it says on the box". Setting the programme recorder for one or series programmes easy. Time shift easy
I would have liked the guide page to have greater contrast and there to be picture in picture, but for the money it is great.
It has even cured a nagging pain in the ear caused by the last recorder not functioning properly.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent value for money
Posted13 May 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:North Yorkshire, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This was bought for my mother as her previous set stopped working and she wanted a similar model so she didn't have to learn many new instructions. The quick use guide was easy to understand and she is very happy so far with her recorder. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this product was much easier to use than I thought
Posted12 May 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Nairnshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I often find instructions, on how to use a product, are difficult to follow but these were simple compared to many. I ( being a woman) managed to set it up myself with no problem and managed to use it to record with no problem as it was virtually self explanatory. Would recommend it to anyone for ease of use and the fact that it is small and unobtrusive compared to the last one I had. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to use
Posted12 May 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Leicestershire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" After retirment I decided that I could not afford cable anymore so I decided to use Freeview. The Hitachi box has the same recording features as my old cable box in fact its far better the EPG is simple to use and I am planning to get a second one for the bedroom TV. I wish I had made this decision a long time ago I would have saved a lot of money. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Faulty plug but replaced immediately by argos
Posted12 May 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Cramlington
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This product is great my son loves it however the first box we got had a pin snapped off the plug , the whole product was replaced with no issues from argos , thank you "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good value
Posted11 May 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Kent
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Easy to set up.Very compact.Takes ages to start up but once going is OK.Shutting down is a little vague too as mine does sometimes starts up again but might just be because its really slow at everything and I probably confuse it by keep pressing the power button!
HD picture quality and recording good.Remote control a nice size and not bad quality.
It only has iplayer and a few other random sites if you couple it up to the internet via a cable so no ITV or C4 but not bad at all for the price!
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This box is good value for money.
Posted11 May 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:West Midlands, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Compact size HD box,easy to use and under £100.Great VFM! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Hitachi freebies digital recorder
Posted11 May 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Lancashire, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Range of features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality of EPG 
2 / 5
2 / 5
" Had a humax before it was so much better to view and easy to find recorded items and planned recordings than this is. Disappointed with purchase, sorry. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Does what it says
Posted11 May 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Essex, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" We are pleased with this - it is very neat, and straightforward to install and operate. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great value from Hitachi
Posted10 May 2016
Customer avatar
By
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I got this for my 86 year old mother as her old hard drive recorder had died. This Hitachi unit is very compact and the EPG and menus work in the same way as the old one, so her transition onto this device has been fairly straight forward.
This recorder represents excellent value for money. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 15 Next >>>