Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder

<p>This Hitachi Freeview HD Digital TV Recorder comes with built in Smart TV to make your viewing experiences that much more exciting. A convenient 7 day electronic programme guide keeps you up to date with the upcoming programmes. It has an impressive 140 hours recording time and allows you to pause live TV. </p><p>Digital TV features:</p><ul><li>Digital text.</li><li>Favourite channels list.</li><li>Auto setup.</li><li>Electronic programme guide.</li></ul><p>Recording features:</p><ul><li>Freeview+.</li><li>Digital tuner.</li><li>500GB hard drive.</li><li>140 hours recording time.</li><li>Record 2 channels at the same time.</li><li>Record 1 channel whilst watching a previous recording.</li><li>Series record.</li><li>Pause live TV.</li></ul><p>Connectivity:</p><ul><li>1HDMI output.</li><li>1 SCART socket .</li><li>1 USB port.</li><li>Ethernet connection.</li></ul><p>Additional information:</p><ul><li>Remote control batteries required: 2 x AAA (included).</li><li>Size H4.3, W23.1, D13.7cm.</li><li>Weight 1000g.</li></ul><p>Energy efficiency information:</p><p>EAN: 4902530912920</p>
Overall rating:
3.969 / 5
4
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 161 reviews
5 Stars
78
4 Stars
46
3 Stars
11
2 Stars
6
1 Star
20
126 of 16178%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
166 Questions | 205 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Review 1 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bought as a gift for my patents
Posted29 July 2015
Customer avatar
By Tps
From:Derbyshire, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Range of features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality of EPG 
2 / 5
2 / 5
" You pay for what you get as this is a lower priced product it does what it says but doesn't give a lot of time for you to press the buttons at first.
But it does what it says my parents are pleased with it.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
love this product
Posted28 July 2015
Customer avatar
By lainey
From:fife
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Bought this box to replace an older model when it stopped working and I love it great value for money was easy to use and looks good "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
so pleased with my purchase
Posted28 July 2015
Customer avatar
By charlie
From:lancashire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" The DVD is so light and very easy to handle!it more or less tells you what to do! It the best I have ever had! Would recommend! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hitachi recordable free view box
Posted28 July 2015
Customer avatar
By Tracy Chloe 12345
From:York, York, York, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I am very happy with my item and the staff at argos are very helpful and friendly. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
value and does what I needed.
Posted24 July 2015
Customer avatar
By Whistle
From:Herts
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Range of features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" This product is good value. It has 2 tuners and a good EPG. You can pause live TV which it calls time shifting. When you choose to record, it highlights the item in red on the EPG. It does everything I wanted it to do. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
didgie box
Posted23 July 2015
Customer avatar
By Tots
From:North Yorkshire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Range of features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Not had this very long about two weeks ,but not found anything to gripe about and seems quite easy to operate. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We are very pleased with this item
Posted22 July 2015
Customer avatar
By John
From:Holt, Norfolk, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Ionly one fault the writing is small for people with poor eyesight "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hitachi digital tv recorder
Posted21 July 2015
Customer avatar
By Caddy
From:Darlington, Darlington, Darlington, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Very impressed with the features this product offers. Good value for money. Would recommend this product. Very easy to install "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Was very happy with this product easy to install l
Posted21 July 2015
Customer avatar
By Rose bud
From:Helensburgh
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Was very happy with the product easy to use and install would like to recommend this machine had purchased an Hitachi TV a couple of weeks ago and it works perfectly fine with the Hitachi recorder thanks "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted21 July 2015
Customer avatar
By Peter
From:Livingston, West Lothian, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" A great product and very easy to get started
I would recommend it
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good value
Posted15 July 2015
Customer avatar
By Alex
From:Gloucestershire, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Excellent value, does everything a tv watcher wants, simple to use, my only suggestion to manufacturers is to offer a larger remote as the buttons for older people are too small. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Set Up
Posted14 July 2015
Customer avatar
By ndh
From:Lincoln, Lincoln, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Wanted a backup tv recorder for the freeview channels we record incase our main box went down. Very pleased with it, easy to set up and have had no problems with the recording feature which works very well. Also it is nice and compact so if you have a lack of space to put a box, this is ideal. Picks the HD channels with no problem at all and with a internet cable can pick up further free channels. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted12 July 2015
Customer avatar
By Harry
From:Wiltshire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Very pleased with this unit. easy to operate. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sufficient for needs
Posted08 July 2015
Customer avatar
By Wingokenda
From:Scunthorpe, Scunthorpe, North Lincolnshire, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Bought this to record TV programmes. Very intuitive timer recording. Has most options you need inc record two shows at the same time. Functional design. Had slight issue with occasional freezing on some programmes, but replaced without issue by friendly staff at local Argos. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted07 July 2015
Customer avatar
By Kelly31
From:Scarborough
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Really happy with this and excellent value for money "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
very easy to use
Posted07 July 2015
Customer avatar
By Hope
From:Cumbria
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Great for recording, live pausing and series linking. Really easy to set up (it auto tunes itself), just the job if you want to do above but like me don't have sky. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Well worth the money
Posted30 June 2015
Customer avatar
By adey
From:Flintshire, UK
Age:45 to 54
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
2 / 5
2 / 5
" I bought this in the sale,was a little unsure after reading a few negative reviews, i am really glad I bought it now. Picture is perfect,I can play my external hard drive on it to watch my films etc,it's not missed any recordings I have timed,only downside I have is the guide doesn't have a view box in the corner so you can still watch the channel whilst viewing the guide and the writing is small,but I would still highly recommend this product. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent recorder
Posted10 June 2015
Customer avatar
By Fluffy
From:Buckinghamshire, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I bought this as a present for my boyfriend , he thinks it's the best thing he has ever had. Think it's probably because he is a telly addict. But on a serious note it's easy to use & does what it says. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Going Back
Posted03 June 2015
Customer avatar
By StuartA
From:East Ayrshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality of EPG 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Worked well during the first seven days then all of the series records stopped recording even though they still showed on the schedule. After resetting recording schedules they worked again, but after a couple of days stopped recording some of the programmes, so scheduled recording is "hit and miss". Regularly loses output signal and has to be isolated from power then reconnected to restore output. Too unreliable with recordings not guaranteed to happen and sometimes no output when switched on. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TV Recorder.
Posted03 June 2015
Customer avatar
By Grandma
From:Rossendale
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This product is just what we were after, we are very satisfied.
We were also very impressed with the staff who were extremely helpful.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 Next >>>