Top-rated product

Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.

<p>This Hitachi Freeview HD Digital TV Recorder comes with built in Smart TV to make your viewing experiences that much more exciting. A convenient 7 day electronic programme guide keeps you up to date with the upcoming programmes. It has an impressive 250 hours recording time and allows you to pause live TV. </p><p>Digital TV features:</p><ul><li>Digital text.</li><li>Favourite channels list.</li><li>Auto setup.</li><li>Electronic programme guide.</li></ul><p>Recording features:</p><ul><li>Freeview+.</li><li>Digital tuner.</li><li>500GB hard drive.</li><li>250 hours recording time.</li><li>Record 2 channels at the same time.</li><li>Record 1 channel whilst watching a previous recording.</li><li>Series record.</li><li>Pause live TV.</li></ul><p>Connectivity:</p><ul><li>1HDMI output.</li><li>1 SCART socket .</li><li>Ethernet connection.</li></ul><p>Additional information:</p><ul><li>Remote control batteries required: 2 x AAA (included).</li><li>Size H4.3, W23.1, D13.7cm.</li><li>Weight 1000g.</li></ul><p>Energy efficiency information:</p><p>EAN: 4902530912920</p>
Overall rating:
4.341 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 41 reviews
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
17
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
37 of 4190%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
88 Questions | 102 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Review 1 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to use tv recorder
Posted22 April 2014
Customer avatar
By Happy TV Recorder
From:North East England
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Really good Tv recorder this, easy to set up and use right out of the box, it was bought to replace an older broken unit I was fond of, so was pleased this was easily just as good, if not better."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An excellent little product
Posted22 April 2014
Customer avatar
By Janet C
From:tyne and wear
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Bought this free view box after we had sky taken out and we are very impressed, easy to use, excellent memory capacity, very neat, easy to use, would recommend."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hitachi HDR5T01
Posted22 April 2014
Customer avatar
By Ted
From:Pontypridd, Rhondda Cynon Taff, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is the best recorder that I have had its much better than than both of the others that I had before and I am very pleased with my choice,"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great little box
Posted15 April 2014
Customer avatar
By britta
From:wales
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"very easy to set up took a few minutes
and easy to use
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted08 April 2014
Customer avatar
By maggie
From:York, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"this recorder was very easy to install and use, would recommend it"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Hitachi 500gb smart pvr
Posted01 April 2014
Customer avatar
By qasquai
From:north east England
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Range of features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is the second one I've had because the first one decided it would only record what it wanted to. Half way through a prog I was recording it decided to change channels. Although this pvr is easy to set up and program I still can't get YouTube. I'm afraid this one is going back as well."
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
As good as a sky or a tivo box but no rent
Posted25 March 2014
Customer avatar
By ginger whinger
From:wilts
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I bought this unit to reduce my dependency on virgin who keep putting up prices. It does what it says on the tin, the picture I get is better than virgins cable TiVo box. Easy to set up and use. Well satisfied with this purchase."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product is very goo d value
Posted11 March 2014
Customer avatar
By Ann45
From:Devon
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"It is very easy to used and to set up and only thing is I wish it had be
Built in wifi so you can contect the the internet without using a cable
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very good Hitachi TV Recorder from Argos
Posted05 March 2014
Customer avatar
By ine
From:uk
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Very easy to install and operate, although could benefit from a visible display of current recording/playback. Hope it lasts, after first one failed after 9 months, 2nd lasted only 1 day and 3rd never got started!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
recorder
Posted05 March 2014
Customer avatar
By pat1
From:Somerset, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality of EPG 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"got this as i needed a recorder, but don't have broadband or sattelite. this does record as i wanted, except that i can't watch one channel whilst recording another; got round it by recording through the box while watching straight through tv (mine is digital already). good that i can use the usb to view pics on a memory stick, the kids think that this is a great idea!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
very impressed
Posted04 March 2014
Customer avatar
By jonnybravo
From:South Yorkshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"replaced an old recorder with this item ,very impressed with quality and ease of use no problems at all"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent quality
Posted11 February 2014
Customer avatar
By coiley1950
From:flintshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"this product is smaller than you think from the picture..it also has a usb slot on the front and apart from playing most files it also plays mp4s which was a bonus for me...it also comes with a hdmi lead.this is a great little box that packs a big punch with its features."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
works well
Posted15 January 2014
Customer avatar
By woody
From:cheshire
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
"box recording and working well. quiet too"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Digital Recorder
Posted14 January 2014
Customer avatar
By Rosie
From:UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
"We bought this product only because our own Sky system with our caravan would not work owing to the severe weather at Christmas time. However, we were very pleased with the product and it did what it said on the tin. It was simple to set up and the picture quality was excellent."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted14 January 2014
Customer avatar
By Macca
From:Kent, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
"Very pleased, easy to install and to use."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better than stated
Posted11 January 2014
Customer avatar
By bodygu4rd
From:London, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
"This product does exactly what it says on the box, apart from two areas that I believe it has been understated
1) In the advertisement on Argos website it doesn't tell you that a HDMI cable is already included with the recorder, which meant I unnecessarily bought a Sony HDMI cable , which I returned , and I was given my money back.
2) Up scales to 1080p which was not mentioned on the website, which was the deciding factor for me whether to buy it or not.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Just the job!
Posted10 January 2014
Customer avatar
By sam
From:uk essex
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"I wanted a replacement for my dvd player/recorder. This unit has provided a far simpler method of saving programs and films etc. Selecting a program and recording in advance is easy and provides a very good quality picture on play back. Better than previous dvd copy. Although no hard copy is made the cost difference compensates. There is enough storage space for favourites until you are fed up watching them over and over."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
makes life easier
Posted09 January 2014
Customer avatar
By Ros
From:Birmingham, West Midlands, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
"Great item allows me to do other things whilst my favourite programs are being taped and no monthly fee. I had a box that I had to pay a monthly fee for before this and this does exactly the same job and it is so easy to operate. Would highly recommend."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Happy shopper
Posted09 January 2014
Customer avatar
By speedy191
From:Staffordshire, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
"A compact little box that is a really useful gadget for recording programnes. Only had it a few weeks but so far so good. Very easy to install."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works Fine.
Posted09 January 2014
Customer avatar
By geno101
From:Worcestershire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"This PVR is so much better, faster, than the Bush one it replaces. The only Cons, the Progame title in the Library List is difficult see against the red field back ground, and the red border around the programs already set to record in the EPG is also difficult to see, but not a deal breaker for me."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 Next >>>