Top-rated product

Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.

<p>This Hitachi Freeview HD Digital TV Recorder comes with built in Smart TV to make your viewing experiences that much more exciting. A convenient 7 day electronic programme guide keeps you up to date with the upcoming programmes. It has an impressive 250 hours recording time and allows you to pause live TV. </p><p>Digital TV features:</p><ul><li>Digital text.</li><li>Favourite channels list.</li><li>Auto setup.</li><li>Electronic programme guide.</li></ul><p>Recording features:</p><ul><li>Freeview+.</li><li>Digital tuner.</li><li>500GB hard drive.</li><li>250 hours recording time.</li><li>Record 2 channels at the same time.</li><li>Record 1 channel whilst watching a previous recording.</li><li>Series record.</li><li>Pause live TV.</li></ul><p>Connectivity:</p><ul><li>1HDMI output.</li><li>1 SCART socket .</li><li>Ethernet connection.</li></ul><p>Additional information:</p><ul><li>Remote control batteries required: 2 x AAA (included).</li><li>Size H4.3, W23.1, D13.7cm.</li><li>Weight 1000g.</li></ul><p>Energy efficiency information:</p><p>EAN: 4902530912920</p>
Overall rating:
4.397 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 58 reviews
5 Stars
34
4 Stars
18
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
52 of 5890%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
112 Questions | 129 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Review 1 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Clever compact Recorder
Posted23 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Shuggie
From:Aberdeen, Aberdeen City, UK
Age:65 or over
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Easy to set up and operate and I am very hapy with the Recorder - great value for the price paid."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good buy
Posted19 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Jimbo46
From:Grays, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Bought for my son as birthday present and so far all working fine and he is very happy."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mum happy
Posted24 June 2014
Customer avatar
By Julie17
From:Bristol
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Bought for my mum for ease of use
She has tried others but found them more complicated
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brilliant Product
Posted17 June 2014
Customer avatar
By PWE
From:West Yorkshire, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"The product was purchased based on the HDMI connectivity, and it surpassed my expectations on so many levels. Excellent picture quality, easy to install and use once you understand the menu/setup structure and so far, totally reliable. My only 'crtisicm' is based on the Argos on-line description: no mention is made that the HDMI cable is included (which it is), so I bought a cable as a separate item when it was not needed. In all however, I highly recommend this product."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent value for money
Posted13 June 2014
Customer avatar
By lizzi
From:England, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"easy to use, first couple of recordings had end bit missing but all since have been spot on, no problems.
would recommend this product
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointment
Posted28 May 2014
Customer avatar
By stephen
From:durham
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Range of features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality of EPG 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"Just had to take this one back too ,this make it number three ,all keep freezing .so had to get my money back .stay well clear of it"
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very reliable and easy to use.
Posted20 May 2014
Customer avatar
By Grumpy
From:Northumberland, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Bought this box because two others we had purchased proved difficult to use and unreliable when recording programmes.
We have had no problems with this box finding it very easy to set and reliable when recording programmes.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Does the job, kind of...
Posted14 May 2014
Customer avatar
By devoncoast
From:Torquay
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Range of features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality of EPG 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"Easy to initially set up.
Takes up to a minute to start up from standby mode every time you turn it on.
Has frozen/jammed on me twice in the two weeks I've had it and after removing power and re-starting it I found it had forgotten all my future scheduled recordings.
Fast forward and rewind when viewing recordings is very hit and miss. Sometimes ok but other times will freeze or go back to start of the recording.
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would definitely recommend
Posted11 May 2014
Customer avatar
By Hoppy
From:Staffordshire, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This product is definitely 99.9% better than the last 2 I had which both of them had to be returned as both faulty products, I will not be buying Bush products again.
I have found a very small downside to this product although its not much of a problem, there is no reminder to set to watch a channel at a later time, apart from that a great product as a reasonable price"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
value for money
Posted07 May 2014
Customer avatar
By Ann
From:cornwall
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Ordered on line,collected at my local store extremely easy,very good product at a bargain price"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brilliant Freeview Box
Posted06 May 2014
Customer avatar
By Julie
From:London
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I bought this to replace my last digital box and I am so glad that this is the one I choose. It is a fantastic box."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hitachi HDR5TO1 Freeview HD Digital TV Recorder.
Posted04 May 2014
Customer avatar
By CC
From:Wales, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Very Happy so far with this recorder,only had it a few weeks.Picture is excellent & sound, setting recordings is very easy even for someone not very good with latest electronics like me.Could not believe how small the recorder was lovely & compact.Great product would highly recommend."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great HD box.
Posted30 April 2014
Customer avatar
By zebras22
From:Linlithgow, West Lothian EH49, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I am really impressed with the quality of the picture on this box. HD and sd are excellent. The EPG is good but not as slick as some of its competitors. The graphics on the epg are very easy to read. Overall a great buy."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
brilliant digital HD freeview tv recorder
Posted29 April 2014
Customer avatar
By madbiker2012
From:Liverpool, Merseyside, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"when i opened the box inside was every thing needed to start straight away including a HDMI cable which was excellent, easy to follow instructions to connecting up, and watching in less than five minutes, a small box with load of features.
only one small thing you cannot set a reminder for a channel not a big problem overall excellent
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hitachi smart recorder
Posted29 April 2014
Customer avatar
By kentut
From:Hebburn, Tyne and Wear, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Very good recorder super simple to set up and excellent picture, records programs very easily."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
value for money
Posted29 April 2014
Customer avatar
By Stan
From:seaton sluice
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"compact, easy to set up, loop through is fine even with device unplugged. other reviewers need to check their signal strength. the USB is very good for MP4 videos and you can transfer to and from the HDD to save computer space."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Not a bad little box
Posted23 April 2014
Customer avatar
By Stewy
Age:35 to 44
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I was quite supprised by this product. Easy to set up and use. Comes with all of the cables you need apart from the Ethernet cable but they are cheap any way. Bought this for grandparents and they are motoring away with it, bye bye VCR."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to use tv recorder
Posted22 April 2014
Customer avatar
By Happy TV Recorder
From:North East England
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Really good Tv recorder this, easy to set up and use right out of the box, it was bought to replace an older broken unit I was fond of, so was pleased this was easily just as good, if not better."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An excellent little product
Posted22 April 2014
Customer avatar
By Janet C
From:tyne and wear
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Bought this free view box after we had sky taken out and we are very impressed, easy to use, excellent memory capacity, very neat, easy to use, would recommend."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hitachi HDR5T01
Posted22 April 2014
Customer avatar
By Ted
From:Pontypridd, Rhondda Cynon Taff, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is the best recorder that I have had its much better than than both of the others that I had before and I am very pleased with my choice,"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 Next >>>