Top-rated product

Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.

<p>This Hitachi Freeview HD Digital TV Recorder comes with built in Smart TV to make your viewing experiences that much more exciting. A convenient 7 day electronic programme guide keeps you up to date with the upcoming programmes. It has an impressive 140 hours recording time and allows you to pause live TV. </p><p>Digital TV features:</p><ul><li>Digital text.</li><li>Favourite channels list.</li><li>Auto setup.</li><li>Electronic programme guide.</li></ul><p>Recording features:</p><ul><li>Freeview+.</li><li>Digital tuner.</li><li>500GB hard drive.</li><li>140 hours recording time.</li><li>Record 2 channels at the same time.</li><li>Record 1 channel whilst watching a previous recording.</li><li>Series record.</li><li>Pause live TV.</li></ul><p>Connectivity:</p><ul><li>1HDMI output.</li><li>1 SCART socket .</li><li>1 USB port.</li><li>Ethernet connection.</li></ul><p>Additional information:</p><ul><li>Remote control batteries required: 2 x AAA (included).</li><li>Size H4.3, W23.1, D13.7cm.</li><li>Weight 1000g.</li></ul><p>Energy efficiency information:</p><p>EAN: 4902530912920</p>
Overall rating:
4.118 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 119 reviews
5 Stars
64
4 Stars
33
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
4
1 Star
12
98 of 11982%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
151 Questions | 189 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Review 1 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
faulty series recording link
Posted02 March 2015
Customer avatar
By jen
From:Liverpool, Merseyside, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Range of features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Bought this last October worked fine at first but series link has recently started to fail continuously. Disappointed to find out that apparently this is a known problem. Cannot find online if there is a solution and don't see what I should have to phone a chargeable number for advice. Can I return to shop to swap for another make? "
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Has major software issue.
Posted26 February 2015
Customer avatar
By MikeB
From:Worthing, West Sussex, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality of EPG 
1 / 5
1 / 5
" Hardware fine but software is rubbish. Recording is a nightmare and the series record just does not work. After hours of frustration with the first box had it replaced but new one also displayed same problems. Took that back and bought the BT box which is brilliant although a little more money. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This product is a load of rubbish
Posted23 February 2015
Customer avatar
By tgrstoreman
From:Penzance, Cornwall, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Hitachi as a name usually speaks of quality. Not this product!!
Currently on set number 4 - awaiting Argos to receive stock of Panasonic recorder. All 4 sets suffered from same faults.
1) Won't record set programs.
2) Won't record series.
3) Wipes program record settings from EPG.
4) Very small - hard to read screen details. Unless very large TV screen.
Best place for this product is either leave it on the shelf or bin it.
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A bit slow
Posted11 February 2015
Customer avatar
By kitty
From:Shropshire, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" This takes AGES to turn on, so we thought it was faulty but then we learned to wait a little while and so far it seems to be ok. Sometimes some of the program information is missing on the EPG which can be a bit annoying, but otherwise it seems to do what we want it to do (most of the time). If we get any more problems occurring with it we shall be taking it back. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very easy to use
Posted10 February 2015
Customer avatar
By Shaky
From:Gwynedd
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Bought this for my Mum and Dad who are retired and not tech savvy but set up easily with all leads required supplied (HDMI). First time installation went smoothly and menus are simple and easy to use. Much better experience than I anticipated so would recommend to anyone who wants a good value for money bit of tech. Nice clean and tidy unit too. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
hitachi hdr5t01
Posted03 February 2015
Customer avatar
By bilboy
From:Leeds, West Yorkshire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" a good product but it relies on the user to use the timers for recording programmes but its not for me I needed to press record button and away it went recording the night on bbc one say or any other programme with out using timers its a bit to technical for me but its a good product and would recommend if you want to use the timers but for a simple press and go NO WAY. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
2 units same fault - unlucky?
Posted31 January 2015
Customer avatar
By D G
From:Nottinghamshire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" 1st one replaced 2nd one refunded. Probably unlucky as same fault not noticed in other reviews. Both worked fine for a couple of weeks then programmes selected from EPG did not always record. Helpline suggested formatting drive which cured it for a day. Older Hitachi model which we had and was being used in spare room returned to full duties no problem.
If unit was as good as Argos customer service there would be no problem.
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted27 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Claire
From:Essex, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Good product, only had it 2 weeks but so far so good. Was very easy to set up and use. Only had to turn off at wall and restart once due to it freezing up! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product is compact
Posted27 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Mahfhgb3
From:South Yorkshire, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Easy to install and simple to use. I would recommend this product to anyone thinking of buying a recording device "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
freeview re order
Posted27 January 2015
Customer avatar
By wenham
From:Thornton-Cleveleys, Lancashire FY5, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This freeview box is the best we av had its easy to use and really clear "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
it just works
Posted26 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Surfinglaverty
From:Ballycastle, Ballycastle, Moyle BT54, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Easy to set up, easy to navigate, easy to record etc, only one niggle is that there is a bit of a delay when you choose a channel etc. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Probably OK for HD TVs, but not best for non-HD
Posted26 January 2015
Customer avatar
By OldTechie
From:Wirral
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Range of features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality of EPG 
2 / 5
2 / 5
" Can't comment on HD as not got HD TV.
Bought this to replace non-HD set top box.
It it does not have SCART pass through - previous boxes let you route DVD player throught the box. You can't with this.
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Buy
Posted22 January 2015
Customer avatar
By trendigran
From:Glasgow
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I am very pleased with this recorder, no complaints at all, great picture and very easy to understand. Great price too. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted22 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Joe
From:Lancashire, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Excellent HD quality but you need a dongle or ethernet to use smart "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Value
Posted22 January 2015
Customer avatar
By nannie J
From:West Midlands, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Easy to set up and use. H D picture is really good. Good value product. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This Model has issues
Posted21 January 2015
Customer avatar
By R.E. Viewer
From:West Yorkshire, UK
Age:45 to 54
Range of features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality of EPG 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" We've had this box for a short period and we've had to exchange it, as it has problems.
Sometimes it's down to bad luck, sometimes not.
Check reviews!
The issues were:
1. The Series Timer function did not work beyond the day it was set.
2. The beginning and end of programs did not record.
3. The wrong channel was recorded, even though everything on the unit said it was correct.
4. Some recordings were not highlighted in the Program Guide.
I wish you the best of luck if you buy this model. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good product
Posted20 January 2015
Customer avatar
By ed67
From:Hampshire
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Nice small product and easy to install. I only use for recording which it is perfect for. Thank you to the reviewer who noted it came with an hdmi cable - that saved me buying one "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Don't bother!
Posted20 January 2015
Customer avatar
By YAG
From:Derbyshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality of EPG 
1 / 5
1 / 5
" Our 9 month old recorder began freezing and not recording programmes properly. Argos replaced it. The replacement Hitachi did not record certain programmes and would switch itself off and refuse to start up without unplugging everything and switching on again.The EPG display on the second recorder was worse than on the original. The colours chosen were unclear. We have now chosen a different make. Great customer service from Argos who exchanged with no quibbles. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Compact with all the features needed
Posted20 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Bugsy
From:London
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Range of features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Froze couple of times earlier on but appears to have settled now "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My First Digital Recorder
Posted19 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Mike
From:Hampshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Recorder was straightforward to set up and certainly makes recording programmes simple. I have yet to connect broadband; I may not bother. Using the RF-in/RF-out sockets on the recorder, my TV set still has access to the aerial signal. Using my TV remote's "source" button, I can watch TV using this (DTV) signal or I can use the HDMI signal from the recorder. I think the DTV picture quality is marginally better. I guess the Freeview receiver in my TV is better than that in the recorder. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next >>>