Top-rated product

Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.

<p>This Hitachi Freeview HD Digital TV Recorder comes with built in Smart TV to make your viewing experiences that much more exciting. A convenient 7 day electronic programme guide keeps you up to date with the upcoming programmes. It has an impressive 250 hours recording time and allows you to pause live TV. </p><p>Digital TV features:</p><ul><li>Digital text.</li><li>Favourite channels list.</li><li>Auto setup.</li><li>Electronic programme guide.</li></ul><p>Recording features:</p><ul><li>Freeview+.</li><li>Digital tuner.</li><li>500GB hard drive.</li><li>250 hours recording time.</li><li>Record 2 channels at the same time.</li><li>Record 1 channel whilst watching a previous recording.</li><li>Series record.</li><li>Pause live TV.</li></ul><p>Connectivity:</p><ul><li>1HDMI output.</li><li>1 SCART socket .</li><li>Ethernet connection.</li></ul><p>Additional information:</p><ul><li>Remote control batteries required: 2 x AAA (included).</li><li>Size H4.3, W23.1, D13.7cm.</li><li>Weight 1000g.</li></ul><p>Energy efficiency information:</p><p>EAN: 4902530912920</p>
Overall rating:
4.485 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 68 reviews
5 Stars
44
4 Stars
18
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
62 of 6891%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
121 Questions | 144 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Review 1 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent
Posted07 October 2014
Customer avatar
By clare45
From:Chesterfield, Derbyshire, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This product lives up to its name and is really smart,it does exactly what it says,very pleased with its easy use remote,very good epg it gives it for a full week,even better as I can record two programmes at once,very pleased with it."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to use
Posted07 October 2014
Customer avatar
By Penro87
From:Flintshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Good value for money,compact, easy to use and very clear OSD. Good instruction manual not in multiple languages! Does everything I wanted with ease and speed. Very pleased with purchase after previous View21 refused to record after only
18 months ( not bought from Argos).
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Recorder
Posted02 October 2014
Customer avatar
By dianne
From:lancs
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Previously had disc recorder, this is so much easier to use. Can record 2 programmes at the same time, while watching another previously recorded programme. Setting up was simple. Can't say about the tech stuff, but catching all my favourites is so much easier since I bought this."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This recorder I think is amazing
Posted02 October 2014
Customer avatar
By Curly
From:Gwynedd, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"How can a small box do these great recordings at a touch of a button on the remote. So easy to get used to. Needed a new teli from a local store fair play to the engineer he connected the recorder for me as I'm a bit thick on connecting appliances and such.Excellent service from Argos as usual."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
easy set up
Posted02 October 2014
Customer avatar
By tiger
From:Wales, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Excellent piece of kit. Well worth the money."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hitachi HD5T01 Freeview Recorder
Posted30 September 2014
Customer avatar
By Susie 61
From:Middleton
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This product is just what it says ideal for anywhere we wanted one for the caravan to record its amazing! then on the plus side it was on a fantastic offer. The quality is amazing improved the picture and so easy to use,"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very useful unit
Posted23 September 2014
Customer avatar
By Oddjob
From:England
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Apart from the recording facility this box has also enabled Smart TV access to an older television at much less outlay than replacing the TV"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy as Pie
Posted23 September 2014
Customer avatar
By Rayzoray
From:UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"what a brilliant bit of kit, easy to use and no problems recording or playback, Highly recommended."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simplicity itself.
Posted23 September 2014
Customer avatar
By Frank
From:merseyside
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I bought this product for my Auntie who is in her eighties, her previous machine had given up the ghost. I was pleased to be able buy this for her at a reasonable price. Its main asset is its simplicity and ease of use. My Aunt who is not particularly comfortable with the electronic age was delighted that she was able to understand the basics very quickly. The picture quality through to the TV was excellent much better than the previous machine. The handset was well laid out and not cluttered."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hitachi Freeview hd smart tv recorder
Posted16 September 2014
Customer avatar
By Firey18
From:West Sussex
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"though l have not used all the features on this unit. Smart
etc. So far I have used this for general TV viewing and
recording.. No complaints , pleased with my purchase.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Clever compact Recorder
Posted23 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Shuggie
From:Aberdeen, Aberdeen City, UK
Age:65 or over
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Easy to set up and operate and I am very hapy with the Recorder - great value for the price paid."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good buy
Posted19 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Jimbo46
From:Grays, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Bought for my son as birthday present and so far all working fine and he is very happy."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mum happy
Posted24 June 2014
Customer avatar
By Julie17
From:Bristol
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Bought for my mum for ease of use
She has tried others but found them more complicated
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brilliant Product
Posted17 June 2014
Customer avatar
By PWE
From:West Yorkshire, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"The product was purchased based on the HDMI connectivity, and it surpassed my expectations on so many levels. Excellent picture quality, easy to install and use once you understand the menu/setup structure and so far, totally reliable. My only 'crtisicm' is based on the Argos on-line description: no mention is made that the HDMI cable is included (which it is), so I bought a cable as a separate item when it was not needed. In all however, I highly recommend this product."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent value for money
Posted13 June 2014
Customer avatar
By lizzi
From:England, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"easy to use, first couple of recordings had end bit missing but all since have been spot on, no problems.
would recommend this product
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointment
Posted28 May 2014
Customer avatar
By stephen
From:durham
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Range of features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality of EPG 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"Just had to take this one back too ,this make it number three ,all keep freezing .so had to get my money back .stay well clear of it"
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very reliable and easy to use.
Posted20 May 2014
Customer avatar
By Grumpy
From:Northumberland, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Bought this box because two others we had purchased proved difficult to use and unreliable when recording programmes.
We have had no problems with this box finding it very easy to set and reliable when recording programmes.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Does the job, kind of...
Posted14 May 2014
Customer avatar
By devoncoast
From:Torquay
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Range of features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality of EPG 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"Easy to initially set up.
Takes up to a minute to start up from standby mode every time you turn it on.
Has frozen/jammed on me twice in the two weeks I've had it and after removing power and re-starting it I found it had forgotten all my future scheduled recordings.
Fast forward and rewind when viewing recordings is very hit and miss. Sometimes ok but other times will freeze or go back to start of the recording.
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would definitely recommend
Posted11 May 2014
Customer avatar
By Hoppy
From:Staffordshire, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This product is definitely 99.9% better than the last 2 I had which both of them had to be returned as both faulty products, I will not be buying Bush products again.
I have found a very small downside to this product although its not much of a problem, there is no reminder to set to watch a channel at a later time, apart from that a great product as a reasonable price"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
value for money
Posted07 May 2014
Customer avatar
By Ann
From:cornwall
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Ordered on line,collected at my local store extremely easy,very good product at a bargain price"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 Next >>>