Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder

<p>This Hitachi Freeview HD Digital TV Recorder comes with built in Smart TV to make your viewing experiences that much more exciting. A convenient 7 day electronic programme guide keeps you up to date with the upcoming programmes. It has an impressive 140 hours recording time and allows you to pause live TV. </p><p>Digital TV features:</p><ul><li>Digital text.</li><li>Favourite channels list.</li><li>Auto setup.</li><li>Electronic programme guide.</li></ul><p>Recording features:</p><ul><li>Freeview+.</li><li>Digital tuner.</li><li>500GB hard drive.</li><li>140 hours recording time.</li><li>Record 2 channels at the same time.</li><li>Record 1 channel whilst watching a previous recording.</li><li>Series record.</li><li>Pause live TV.</li></ul><p>Connectivity:</p><ul><li>1HDMI output.</li><li>1 SCART socket .</li><li>1 USB port.</li><li>Ethernet connection.</li></ul><p>Additional information:</p><ul><li>Remote control batteries required: 2 x AAA (included).</li><li>Size H4.3, W23.1, D13.7cm.</li><li>Weight 1000g.</li></ul><p>Energy efficiency information:</p><p>EAN: 4902530912920</p>
Overall rating:
3.953 / 5
4
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 170 reviews
5 Stars
81
4 Stars
49
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
7
1 Star
21
132 of 17078%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
173 Questions | 216 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Review 1 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hitachi HDR5T01 500 GB Freeview HD Smart Digital T
Posted26 August 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:West Sussex
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality of EPG 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Recordings are fine. Easy to use once you have read the literature. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to use and set up
Posted18 August 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Dorset
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Very good machine to use and very good results from recordings "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted17 August 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Surrey
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" A good product but some shortcomings in the Instruction Manual. The full capability of the product has only been determined by trial and error. Illustrations could be clearer. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Buy
Posted13 August 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Surrey
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" This product has helpful features ie it indicates which recording you are watching & goes straight to it. With our last machine we spent ages scrolling up & down looking for things. It is easy to use and the very fast forward is great for skipping adverts quickly.
very goog buy.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Posted11 August 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Lancashire
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Range of features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality of EPG 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" We had 3 faulty one's b4 changing to a Bush recorder which is exactly the same as the Hitachi one, but it worked ! And was £10.00 cheaper !!! "
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great value for money.
Posted11 August 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Fife
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Always scepticle of buying an electronic product as my knowledge of such items is pretty basic. However, setting up was simple and delighted with the quality of recordings. Would thoroughly recommend. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Rebadged with buggy software
Posted05 August 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Dartford
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality of EPG 
2 / 5
2 / 5
" This unit seems Good value and on the face of it is. The unit I bought 5 weeks ago was shipped with software that was very buggy meaning that the serial record timer did not work properly causing lots of frustration. On investigating on the Internet this seems to be a known problem. The Hitachi site offered no help which the reasons for this became apparent when I discovered that the unit is made by a third party company and badged as an Hitachi. The manufacturer is Vestel. Software fix worked. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lovely little machine
Posted04 August 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Gloucestershire
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Super little machine, it is small, not full length, but that didn't bother me. Does what it said on the tin, is easy to use and set up. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
recording problems
Posted30 July 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Range of features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality of EPG 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" have has this a couple of weeks. fine if you record a program on same day, but series recording is just not happening. all my shows are displayed on the timer option as if everything is ok but when you go to recordings library they just havent recorded. its very frustrating. i have deleted everything and rescanned the box, if ths does not work i will contact argos to ask if i can return and buy a better brand "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bought as a gift for my patents
Posted29 July 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Derbyshire, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Range of features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality of EPG 
2 / 5
2 / 5
" You pay for what you get as this is a lower priced product it does what it says but doesn't give a lot of time for you to press the buttons at first.
But it does what it says my parents are pleased with it.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
love this product
Posted28 July 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:fife
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Bought this box to replace an older model when it stopped working and I love it great value for money was easy to use and looks good "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
so pleased with my purchase
Posted28 July 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:lancashire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" The DVD is so light and very easy to handle!it more or less tells you what to do! It the best I have ever had! Would recommend! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hitachi recordable free view box
Posted28 July 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:York, York, York, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I am very happy with my item and the staff at argos are very helpful and friendly. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
value and does what I needed.
Posted24 July 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Herts
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Range of features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" This product is good value. It has 2 tuners and a good EPG. You can pause live TV which it calls time shifting. When you choose to record, it highlights the item in red on the EPG. It does everything I wanted it to do. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
didgie box
Posted23 July 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:North Yorkshire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Range of features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Not had this very long about two weeks ,but not found anything to gripe about and seems quite easy to operate. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We are very pleased with this item
Posted22 July 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Holt, Norfolk, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Ionly one fault the writing is small for people with poor eyesight "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hitachi digital tv recorder
Posted21 July 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Darlington, Darlington, Darlington, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Very impressed with the features this product offers. Good value for money. Would recommend this product. Very easy to install "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Was very happy with this product easy to install l
Posted21 July 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Helensburgh
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Was very happy with the product easy to use and install would like to recommend this machine had purchased an Hitachi TV a couple of weeks ago and it works perfectly fine with the Hitachi recorder thanks "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted21 July 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Livingston, West Lothian, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" A great product and very easy to get started
I would recommend it
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good value
Posted15 July 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Gloucestershire, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Excellent value, does everything a tv watcher wants, simple to use, my only suggestion to manufacturers is to offer a larger remote as the buttons for older people are too small. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 Next >>>