Top-rated product

Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder

<p>This Hitachi Freeview HD Digital TV Recorder comes with built in Smart TV to make your viewing experiences that much more exciting. A convenient 7 day electronic programme guide keeps you up to date with the upcoming programmes. It has an impressive 140 hours recording time and allows you to pause live TV. </p><p>Digital TV features:</p><ul><li>Digital text.</li><li>Favourite channels list.</li><li>Auto setup.</li><li>Electronic programme guide.</li></ul><p>Recording features:</p><ul><li>Freeview+.</li><li>Digital tuner.</li><li>500GB hard drive.</li><li>140 hours recording time.</li><li>Record 2 channels at the same time.</li><li>Record 1 channel whilst watching a previous recording.</li><li>Series record.</li><li>Pause live TV.</li></ul><p>Connectivity:</p><ul><li>1HDMI output.</li><li>1 SCART socket .</li><li>1 USB port.</li><li>Ethernet connection.</li></ul><p>Additional information:</p><ul><li>Remote control batteries required: 2 x AAA (included).</li><li>Size H4.3, W23.1, D13.7cm.</li><li>Weight 1000g.</li></ul><p>Energy efficiency information:</p><p>EAN: 4902530912920</p>
Overall rating:
4.155 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(343 reviews) 340
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 343 reviews
5 Stars
182
4 Stars
103
3 Stars
17
2 Stars
11
1 Star
30
288 of 34384%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
233 Questions | 305 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Review 1 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brillient
Posted26 July 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Uk
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Very pleased it looks good easy to install love itwould recomend this product "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hitachi HD. Freebies. Recorder
Posted20 July 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Devizes SN10, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" This box is easy to use and reasonably priced, i would recommend it to family and friends. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointed in dvr
Posted13 July 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Newquay, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Bought as replacement for a different brand . yet within 4days or so, needed replacing due to bkue screen appearing then the programme then bkue screen (repeat lots of times) Nice model and functions tho. Wish it had worked properly x bought a bit you view one instead even tho I can't use all its functions (not in broad brand) "
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Easy to set up
Posted13 July 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Bristol, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Great machine - very quick and easy to set up. I love that I can now get HD channels and it's also very easy to use.
However, I have got an issue with lip sync problems which I've spoken to Argos about and only stops if recorder or TV is switched off and back on again. This is a nuisance as it happens every day, sometimes more than once.
I will probably end up contacting Argos again as it's quite annoying!
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very happy
Posted13 July 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Manchester, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" This is a great little box, easy to use and to set up. No negatives as yet - very pleased "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very good
Posted13 July 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Co. Antrim
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Working well, easy to install and use. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fab product
Posted13 July 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Oxford
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" So handy for in the bedroom to record and watch at leisure. Easy to install and use. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brilliant
Posted12 July 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Scunthorpe
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I am amazed how reasonable priced this was for such an amazing item. It is so easy to set up and use. It holds hundreds of hours recording and even allows series recording for those like me who forget. Picture quality is excellent and I couldn't believe how small and compact it is. I thought I had got the wrong item !. Great having the time on permanent display which is missing on other makes. 10/10 "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great recorder
Posted12 July 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Shipley
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Bought this recorder has my bush one only lasted 6 months great picture & so easy to use hope this one lasts longer "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview* HD Box
Posted12 July 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Cardiff
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Nice design. Very easy to install. A slight issue with or two programs not recording but all in all a great buy "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fine - but beware!
Posted11 July 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Doncaster, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" We bought this to replace our older machine, which is becoming unreliable. It has a higher capacity than our other Hitachi, and appears to work very well.
However, we left the old one in place, because some recordings have not yet been viewed, and find that the new remote power button operates both machines, which has caused some confusion!
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great little Digital Recorder
Posted09 July 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Burnham, Buckinghamshire, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This Hitachi recorder is just what you need. Perhaps as an additional item, as we do, down at our caravan. I also have one in my craft cabin in the garden! Good value fro money and can record two channels at once and watch the television at the same time.
Good buy and value for money.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Compact little free view HD recorder
Posted06 July 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Hants
Age:55 to 64
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Great little free view HD recorder. Very easy to set up and use. Have not tried connecting to ether net as I bought this for my caravan. Picture quality is as good as real time and the remote control is very well laid out and easy to use. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hitachi dtv recorder
Posted05 July 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:West Lothian, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Great box easy to setup easy to use, all my favorite programs can be recorded by series it's great I don't miss any of my "soaps".
Also the live pause, in busy household it comes in very handy,wish I had bought one years ago, I have also taken it on holiday set it
Up in our caravan no problems there either
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money
Posted02 July 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Sheffield
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Easy to set up and use. Bought as a replacement, excellent value for money. Would definitely buy again. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted30 June 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Hull
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Great for price "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Digi Box is Small and Neat
Posted29 June 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:North Yorkshire, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This item was bought as a replacement for previous one which gave up after years of use. It is much smaller than previous one and looks smart within my unit, it was easy to connect to TV even for someone not technically minded. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Frustrating.
Posted29 June 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Cornwall
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Range of features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality of EPG 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" I had to return this product to Argos, when it was working it was a good product, then it wouldn't switch on, I couldn't access the recording library, apart from the main menu, and then while watching a recording the unit would want to shut down, very disappointed. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hitachi Digital TV Recorder
Posted29 June 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Isle of Wight, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Easy to set up and use - first class HD picture and good range of channels. Recording very easy and quick to set up. Excellent product all round. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Faulty
Posted29 June 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Manchester
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Range of features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality of EPG 
1 / 5
1 / 5
" Product was faulty when purchased, had to take back to store. Not great. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 18 Next >>>