Top-rated product

Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.

<p>This Hitachi Freeview HD Digital TV Recorder comes with built in Smart TV to make your viewing experiences that much more exciting. A convenient 7 day electronic programme guide keeps you up to date with the upcoming programmes. It has an impressive 140 hours recording time and allows you to pause live TV. </p><p>Digital TV features:</p><ul><li>Digital text.</li><li>Favourite channels list.</li><li>Auto setup.</li><li>Electronic programme guide.</li></ul><p>Recording features:</p><ul><li>Freeview+.</li><li>Digital tuner.</li><li>500GB hard drive.</li><li>140 hours recording time.</li><li>Record 2 channels at the same time.</li><li>Record 1 channel whilst watching a previous recording.</li><li>Series record.</li><li>Pause live TV.</li></ul><p>Connectivity:</p><ul><li>1HDMI output.</li><li>1 SCART socket .</li><li>1 USB port.</li><li>Ethernet connection.</li></ul><p>Additional information:</p><ul><li>Remote control batteries required: 2 x AAA (included).</li><li>Size H4.3, W23.1, D13.7cm.</li><li>Weight 1000g.</li></ul><p>Energy efficiency information:</p><p>EAN: 4902530912920</p>
Overall rating:
4.186 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 113 reviews
5 Stars
62
4 Stars
32
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
4
1 Star
9
95 of 11384%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
146 Questions | 178 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Review 1 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
2 units same fault - unlucky?
Posted31 January 2015
Customer avatar
By D G
From:Nottinghamshire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" 1st one replaced 2nd one refunded. Probably unlucky as same fault not noticed in other reviews. Both worked fine for a couple of weeks then programmes selected from EPG did not always record. Helpline suggested formatting drive which cured it for a day. Older Hitachi model which we had and was being used in spare room returned to full duties no problem.
If unit was as good as Argos customer service there would be no problem.
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted27 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Claire
From:Essex, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Good product, only had it 2 weeks but so far so good. Was very easy to set up and use. Only had to turn off at wall and restart once due to it freezing up! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product is compact
Posted27 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Mahfhgb3
From:South Yorkshire, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Easy to install and simple to use. I would recommend this product to anyone thinking of buying a recording device "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
freeview re order
Posted27 January 2015
Customer avatar
By wenham
From:Thornton-Cleveleys, Lancashire FY5, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This freeview box is the best we av had its easy to use and really clear "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
it just works
Posted26 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Surfinglaverty
From:Ballycastle, Ballycastle, Moyle BT54, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Easy to set up, easy to navigate, easy to record etc, only one niggle is that there is a bit of a delay when you choose a channel etc. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Probably OK for HD TVs, but not best for non-HD
Posted26 January 2015
Customer avatar
By OldTechie
From:Wirral
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Range of features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality of EPG 
2 / 5
2 / 5
" Can't comment on HD as not got HD TV.
Bought this to replace non-HD set top box.
It it does not have SCART pass through - previous boxes let you route DVD player throught the box. You can't with this.
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Buy
Posted22 January 2015
Customer avatar
By trendigran
From:Glasgow
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I am very pleased with this recorder, no complaints at all, great picture and very easy to understand. Great price too. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted22 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Joe
From:Lancashire, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Excellent HD quality but you need a dongle or ethernet to use smart "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Value
Posted22 January 2015
Customer avatar
By nannie J
From:West Midlands, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Easy to set up and use. H D picture is really good. Good value product. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This Model has issues
Posted21 January 2015
Customer avatar
By R.E. Viewer
From:West Yorkshire, UK
Age:45 to 54
Range of features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality of EPG 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" We've had this box for a short period and we've had to exchange it, as it has problems.
Sometimes it's down to bad luck, sometimes not.
Check reviews!
The issues were:
1. The Series Timer function did not work beyond the day it was set.
2. The beginning and end of programs did not record.
3. The wrong channel was recorded, even though everything on the unit said it was correct.
4. Some recordings were not highlighted in the Program Guide.
I wish you the best of luck if you buy this model. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good product
Posted20 January 2015
Customer avatar
By ed67
From:Hampshire
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Nice small product and easy to install. I only use for recording which it is perfect for. Thank you to the reviewer who noted it came with an hdmi cable - that saved me buying one "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Don't bother!
Posted20 January 2015
Customer avatar
By YAG
From:Derbyshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality of EPG 
1 / 5
1 / 5
" Our 9 month old recorder began freezing and not recording programmes properly. Argos replaced it. The replacement Hitachi did not record certain programmes and would switch itself off and refuse to start up without unplugging everything and switching on again.The EPG display on the second recorder was worse than on the original. The colours chosen were unclear. We have now chosen a different make. Great customer service from Argos who exchanged with no quibbles. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Compact with all the features needed
Posted20 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Bugsy
From:London
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Range of features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Froze couple of times earlier on but appears to have settled now "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My First Digital Recorder
Posted19 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Mike
From:Hampshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Recorder was straightforward to set up and certainly makes recording programmes simple. I have yet to connect broadband; I may not bother. Using the RF-in/RF-out sockets on the recorder, my TV set still has access to the aerial signal. Using my TV remote's "source" button, I can watch TV using this (DTV) signal or I can use the HDMI signal from the recorder. I think the DTV picture quality is marginally better. I guess the Freeview receiver in my TV is better than that in the recorder. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Digital recorder
Posted17 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Paul
From:West Midlands
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Good value product, not the most technically advanced but does the job it was intended for. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
why change it ?
Posted15 January 2015
Customer avatar
By John 1944
From:Essex, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality of EPG 
1 / 5
1 / 5
" Bought two of these a few months ago.One had a faulty 12v transformer which was replaced and both are still working ok.Bought another one a week or so ago which upon setting up for first time promptly refused to come off standby.Was replaced but this next one has a mind of its own,deciding whether to record or not particularly on series.Also the on-screen display has changed from previous ones and the EPG colours are now very poor.Taking it back tomorrow to get a different make!.Steer clear !. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Easy to use
Posted14 January 2015
Customer avatar
By HB23
From:Norfolk
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Found this product very easy to set up & is very user friendly "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Freeview TV
Posted14 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Linden66
From:West Midlands
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Very pleased with this Freeview recorder. With cable TV package prices rising again I decided to try Freeview as an alternative and was very surprised and impressed with the service and channels. I have now cancelled my cable TV service. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Replacement for older technology
Posted14 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Eck 44
From:Scotland, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Bought this product to replace an older PVR. It is about half the size with more technology as the other. Set up OK but had to 'phone helpline who were both polite and helpful and soon had me up and running. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great little freeview recorder
Posted14 January 2015
Customer avatar
By derek
From:devon
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" very pleased with purchace does everything its supposed to . "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next >>>