Top-rated product

Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder

<p>This Hitachi Freeview HD Digital TV Recorder comes with built in Smart TV to make your viewing experiences that much more exciting. A convenient 7 day electronic programme guide keeps you up to date with the upcoming programmes. It has an impressive 140 hours recording time and allows you to pause live TV. </p><p>Digital TV features:</p><ul><li>Digital text.</li><li>Favourite channels list.</li><li>Auto setup.</li><li>Electronic programme guide.</li></ul><p>Recording features:</p><ul><li>Freeview+.</li><li>Digital tuner.</li><li>500GB hard drive.</li><li>140 hours recording time.</li><li>Record 2 channels at the same time.</li><li>Record 1 channel whilst watching a previous recording.</li><li>Series record.</li><li>Pause live TV.</li></ul><p>Connectivity:</p><ul><li>1HDMI output.</li><li>1 SCART socket .</li><li>1 USB port.</li><li>Ethernet connection.</li></ul><p>Additional information:</p><ul><li>Remote control batteries required: 2 x AAA (included).</li><li>Size H4.3, W23.1, D13.7cm.</li><li>Weight 1000g.</li></ul><p>Energy efficiency information:</p><p>EAN: 4902530912920</p>
Overall rating:
4.072 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 237 reviews
5 Stars
120
4 Stars
71
3 Stars
14
2 Stars
7
1 Star
25
193 of 23781%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
203 Questions | 267 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Review 1 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great for the price
Posted10 February 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Devon
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality of EPG 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Works well, except using an aerial wire connected to the TVs via the recorder. Even after purchasing an aerial signal booster the TVs picture had continual interference.
Using a splitter for the aerial wire, I connected to the recorder and just used the hdmi connection to the TVs. I the used an aerial wire directly to the Tv. The picture was perfect and the recorder worked well.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hitachi HDR5T01
Posted09 February 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Scotland, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Easy to set-up.
Range of features.
The text on Programme guide is too small to read comfortably from a distance.
Otherwise,an excellent product.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to use
Posted09 February 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:cambs
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" This is an excellent device. Very easy to use and understand. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It met all of our expectations
Posted03 February 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Leicestershire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" It is one of the best we have had over the past few years "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This product just did not do what it said it would
Posted03 February 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Nottinghamshire, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Range of features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Had to return 1st box because it said I was recording all the time, when I was not, and while it was in record mode it would not let me watch TV. The replacement box did exactly the same, absolute ruddish. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good
Posted02 February 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Dorset, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Now I am familiar with this box it's relatively easy to operate. It didn't automatically find the channels on set up as my tv was not set for the correct source - the instructions did not mention this but once I fiddled around I managed to sort it. The EPG is very small so definitely need glasses to read it. Overall I am happy with this product "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perfect
Posted02 February 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:ashton in makerfield
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" this is the best hard drive recorder I have purchased absolutely, perfect in every way very easy to set up and use picture quality spot on love it got it for caravan but decided to use in house as well . "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
signal issues
Posted31 January 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:West Cheshire
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Range of features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality of EPG 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Unfortunately it didn't work for me. Ordered a replacement, but still no joy. Couldn't get HD, and very few of the other channels would display without blocking/ freezing. No issues with the aerial. Tech team helpful, but unable to solve the problem, so both units returned "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted27 January 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:SHEFFIELD
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" had to return 2 other branded boxes because of faults within 2 hours of buying. THIS BOX PLUG AND PLAY NO MESSING EASY LOADED PROGRAMS EVERY THING EASY TO FIND.EASY RECORD GOOD CLEAR NAMED BUTTONS ON REMOTE.NOT SMALL ICONS THAT YOU HAVE TO GET A BOOK TO UNDERSTAND WHAT THEY MEAN. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great device
Posted27 January 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Cambridge
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Does everything I need "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Really excellent Quality of Picture but font size
Posted27 January 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Alsager, Stoke-on-Trent, Cheshire East ST7, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Font Size a bit small against the blue background. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Digital TV recorder
Posted26 January 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Skegness, Lincolnshire, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Good product. Easy to use and easy to install. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good picture
Posted26 January 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Middlesbrough, Middlesbrough, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Bought for my elderly mother and she can use it fine "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hitachi Freeview recorder
Posted26 January 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Cambridgeshire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Bought as a replacement for a cumbersome earlier model by Goodmans, which had stopped working. It is much smaller, but has all the same features, and more ,is faster in operation and quite simple to use and set up, even connected to my older style TV, where I had to use a scart lead. I would always prefer to record programmes to watch in my own time, rather than using a catch up service, and this gadget fits the bill perfectly. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best ever
Posted26 January 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Aberdeen, Aberdeen City, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I am delighted with this digital recorder. It is so easy to use not in the least complicated . Anyone can use it. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We are impressed
Posted20 January 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:yorkshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" well, after trying various Digital tv recorders, and finding them lacking in the way they work, e.g. Goodmans, tried 2 lots and disappointed in both.
This time the Hitachi Digital tv recorder we purchased is a relief, smaller, compact and smoother definitely to use, so we are very pleased so far.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Had 4 since new year
Posted20 January 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:cheshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Range of features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality of EPG 
2 / 5
2 / 5
" they kept breaking, my mother also had same problem. trying the bush one now, hopefully it will be better "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted19 January 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Suffolk, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" An easy to use device at a good price with quick delivery. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted19 January 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Stockport
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Very pleased works really well surprised it has HD tv on it. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product is great we bought for our caravan an
Posted13 January 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Leicester
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Great piece of electrical kit we have it in our caravan awesome "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 Next >>>