Top-rated product

Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder

<p>This Hitachi Freeview HD Digital TV Recorder comes with built in Smart TV to make your viewing experiences that much more exciting. A convenient 7 day electronic programme guide keeps you up to date with the upcoming programmes. It has an impressive 140 hours recording time and allows you to pause live TV. </p><p>Digital TV features:</p><ul><li>Digital text.</li><li>Favourite channels list.</li><li>Auto setup.</li><li>Electronic programme guide.</li></ul><p>Recording features:</p><ul><li>Freeview+.</li><li>Digital tuner.</li><li>500GB hard drive.</li><li>140 hours recording time.</li><li>Record 2 channels at the same time.</li><li>Record 1 channel whilst watching a previous recording.</li><li>Series record.</li><li>Pause live TV.</li></ul><p>Connectivity:</p><ul><li>1HDMI output.</li><li>1 SCART socket .</li><li>1 USB port.</li><li>Ethernet connection.</li></ul><p>Additional information:</p><ul><li>Remote control batteries required: 2 x AAA (included).</li><li>Size H4.3, W23.1, D13.7cm.</li><li>Weight 1000g.</li></ul><p>Energy efficiency information:</p><p>EAN: 4902530912920</p>
Overall rating:
4.143 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(321 reviews) 318
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 321 reviews
5 Stars
167
4 Stars
99
3 Stars
17
2 Stars
10
1 Star
28
269 of 32184%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
233 Questions | 302 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Review 1 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall very good.
Posted23 June 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:London
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" I'm very pleased with this digital tv recorder,really easy to set up great little box. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice bit of kit
Posted22 June 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:North Ayrshire.UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Easy to install easy to understand just what I was looking for "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Would recomend
Posted22 June 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Cumbria, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Very easy to set up good picture on TV would recommend!! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Would recommend, but I miss a few features
Posted22 June 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:London
Age:45 to 54
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Good product and you can't go wrong choosing it; works great and is easy to use. However I do miss a couple of handy features that my old one had: the remote can't be coded to universally control the TV. Still have to use your TV remote to switch the TV on/off, and to use volume control to its fullest range.This one has limited volume control. Also, to fast forward through adverts, there's only speed options. Much handier and FASTER would be a "30 second skip" button like my other unit had. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This recorder works well
Posted22 June 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Anglesey
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" I would recommend this recorder as it does everything I wanted and, once you get used to the layout of the remote, is easy to use. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
small and compact
Posted22 June 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:tilbury essex, uk
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Good price not too expensive won't get too much use so just about right only one gripe is that when you set the machine to record I wish it would highlite the programme better "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy Peasy
Posted22 June 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Lancashire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Bought for my Father-in-law who is not the easiest person to buy for and has taken to it like a duck to water. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Recommend
Posted22 June 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Knottingley, Knottingley, West Yorkshire WF11, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Our previous Hitachi one broke so bought this,my parents needed a new one so recommended this one,we are all happy with our new recorders, good price too "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brilliant freesat box
Posted16 June 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Belfast
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Well worth the money easy setup has all the same features as sky box with out monthly bills would highly recomend "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good
Posted15 June 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:England, UK
Age:25 to 34
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This is good quality "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
my digital recorder is small but fab.
Posted14 June 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Glasgow, Glasgow, Glasgow City, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" ordered my digital box and got it the same day very easy setup plugged it in tuned it, and used it since,love it fab. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
freeview recorder
Posted14 June 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:South Yorkshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I needed to buy a new tv recorder after leaving a large company that I had been paying for a long time and they had become very expensive. I bought the Hitachi 500gb and I found it so easy to use, the epg will offer you HD channels as an alternative. I am very pleased with it and the service from Argos made the transition so smoothe. I would have no problem recommending this product to anyone. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
easy to use clear picture
Posted08 June 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:West Yorkshire, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" very easy to set up, picture seems sharper very easy one touch record "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good produst
Posted07 June 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Cumbria
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Very good recorder better than the Phillips it replaced. Start up a little bit slow "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted07 June 2016
Customer avatar
By
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Very happy with this product would recommend this product to friend "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Value
Posted07 June 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:CO12 3HL
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I purchased this unit to allow me to access Freeview with no commitment to any service provider. I have found it to be easy to use and gives all facilities available on subscription units. The cost will be negated by saving on subscription fees. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted01 June 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Cider County somerset
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" good for price "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Good and bad
Posted01 June 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:North Yorkshire, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality of EPG 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Although this box works well it won't download HD channels, nor will it connect to the internet, the instructions are useless and hard to understand, but the bits that do work work well "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
does what is says on the tin
Posted01 June 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Cambridgeshire, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" great digibox and not too expensive
have had no problems with it - very easy to use
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Hitachi HDR5T01 500GB Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
hitachi HDR5T01500GBfreeview HDsmart recorder
Posted30 May 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Northumberland, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" this product is excellent and really easy to use l wouldn't hesitate to recommend this product to any friend. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 16 Next >>>