Top-rated product

Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.

<p>This Hitachi Freeview HD Digital TV Recorder comes with built in Smart TV to make your viewing experiences that much more exciting. A convenient 7 day electronic programme guide keeps you up to date with the upcoming programmes. It has an impressive 250 hours recording time and allows you to pause live TV. </p><p>Digital TV features:</p><ul><li>Digital text.</li><li>Favourite channels list.</li><li>Auto setup.</li><li>Electronic programme guide.</li></ul><p>Recording features:</p><ul><li>Freeview+.</li><li>Digital tuner.</li><li>500GB hard drive.</li><li>250 hours recording time.</li><li>Record 2 channels at the same time.</li><li>Record 1 channel whilst watching a previous recording.</li><li>Series record.</li><li>Pause live TV.</li></ul><p>Connectivity:</p><ul><li>1HDMI output.</li><li>1 SCART socket .</li><li>1 USB port.</li><li>Ethernet connection.</li></ul><p>Additional information:</p><ul><li>Remote control batteries required: 2 x AAA (included).</li><li>Size H4.3, W23.1, D13.7cm.</li><li>Weight 1000g.</li></ul><p>Energy efficiency information:</p><p>EAN: 4902530912920</p>
Overall rating:
4.367 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 79 reviews
5 Stars
48
4 Stars
22
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Star
4
70 of 7989%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
136 Questions | 166 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Review 1 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Recording Doesn't Work
Posted05 December 2014
Customer avatar
By Alan S
From:London, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Range of features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality of EPG 
1 / 5
1 / 5
" Having had various Hitachi TV's & Recorders over the years I have always found them reliable, high quality and doing what they say they will. This one however.....
Setup was fairly easy and setting up recording is straight forward as with my previous Box as I would expect
However it simply doesn't record anything , single program or series events or even if manually set to a timer record but only If we sit in front of it and record manually !
It's going back for a replacement "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
a few minor niggles
Posted04 December 2014
Customer avatar
By i do like a bargain
From:West Midlands, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" I am overall happy that it records but it takes a few goes to switch on and I cannot exit recordings unless I switch to media, just a small problem, not sure if I am going to return it "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
doesn't work
Posted23 November 2014
Customer avatar
By Joolz
From:Bolton, Uk
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Range of features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality of EPG 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Bought this 7 days ago, can't create folders for recordings but got over that. Set a series record and it didn't work, neither did the second one, now 7 days later it won't play films all the way through, freezes the won't do anything and have to turn it off at wall to reset it again, now it's doing it when you bring up the program guide, it's going back tomorrow "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Neat little box
Posted18 November 2014
Customer avatar
By Cazza
From:Northumberland
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Does everything it says in a neat little package. EPG is a bit hard to read hence 4 stars instead of 5 "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hitachi HDR5T01
Posted18 November 2014
Customer avatar
By retired
From:south yorkshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" No need to worry about set up, easy to use with excellent results. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted18 November 2014
Customer avatar
By tykegirl
From:wrexham
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" we are not technically minded but this was so easy to set up brilliant product for the money "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great
Posted14 November 2014
Customer avatar
By Keith
From:Redhill, Surrey, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This allows you to save digital programs SD & HD to disk. Easy to use and has some internet viewing options like BBC iplayer. It is a small compact unit "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview & HD Smart Digital TV Rec
Posted11 November 2014
Customer avatar
By Anastasia
From:North Somerset, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" So far,I am very pleased with this recorder. It works well, you can record 2 programmes at the same time & resume play if you stop if before it's finished. Plenty of good features. My only criticism is that there is nothing to show that the programme is being recorded. My previous box had a red light, so that you knew it was recording. A minor detail though. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Product easy to set up and use
Posted10 November 2014
Customer avatar
By Jobee
From:Leeds, West Yorkshire, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" this was a hastly replacement and is very good, set up easy and recording very easy, also very easy to alter recordings which i had problems with on previous recorder.
No problems at all
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not very good
Posted21 October 2014
Customer avatar
By barbara
From:bedfordshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
" Changed it for a BT box "
No, I do not recommend this product.
-8points
3of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent
Posted07 October 2014
Customer avatar
By clare45
From:Chesterfield, Derbyshire, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This product lives up to its name and is really smart,it does exactly what it says,very pleased with its easy use remote,very good epg it gives it for a full week,even better as I can record two programmes at once,very pleased with it. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to use
Posted07 October 2014
Customer avatar
By Penro87
From:Flintshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Good value for money,compact, easy to use and very clear OSD. Good instruction manual not in multiple languages! Does everything I wanted with ease and speed. Very pleased with purchase after previous View21 refused to record after only
18 months ( not bought from Argos).
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Recorder
Posted02 October 2014
Customer avatar
By dianne
From:lancs
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Previously had disc recorder, this is so much easier to use. Can record 2 programmes at the same time, while watching another previously recorded programme. Setting up was simple. Can't say about the tech stuff, but catching all my favourites is so much easier since I bought this. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This recorder I think is amazing
Posted02 October 2014
Customer avatar
By Curly
From:Gwynedd, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" How can a small box do these great recordings at a touch of a button on the remote. So easy to get used to. Needed a new teli from a local store fair play to the engineer he connected the recorder for me as I'm a bit thick on connecting appliances and such.Excellent service from Argos as usual. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
easy set up
Posted02 October 2014
Customer avatar
By tiger
From:Wales, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Excellent piece of kit. Well worth the money. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hitachi HD5T01 Freeview Recorder
Posted30 September 2014
Customer avatar
By Susie 61
From:Middleton
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This product is just what it says ideal for anywhere we wanted one for the caravan to record its amazing! then on the plus side it was on a fantastic offer. The quality is amazing improved the picture and so easy to use, "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very useful unit
Posted23 September 2014
Customer avatar
By Oddjob
From:England
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Apart from the recording facility this box has also enabled Smart TV access to an older television at much less outlay than replacing the TV "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy as Pie
Posted23 September 2014
Customer avatar
By Rayzoray
From:UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" what a brilliant bit of kit, easy to use and no problems recording or playback, Highly recommended. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simplicity itself.
Posted23 September 2014
Customer avatar
By Frank
From:merseyside
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" I bought this product for my Auntie who is in her eighties, her previous machine had given up the ghost. I was pleased to be able buy this for her at a reasonable price. Its main asset is its simplicity and ease of use. My Aunt who is not particularly comfortable with the electronic age was delighted that she was able to understand the basics very quickly. The picture quality through to the TV was excellent much better than the previous machine. The handset was well laid out and not cluttered. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Hitachi HDR5T01 Freeview+ HD Smart Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hitachi Freeview hd smart tv recorder
Posted16 September 2014
Customer avatar
By Firey18
From:West Sussex
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" though l have not used all the features on this unit. Smart
etc. So far I have used this for general TV viewing and
recording.. No complaints , pleased with my purchase.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 Next >>>