Top-rated product

Samsung 5500 3D Smart Blu-ray and DVD Player.

<p>The Samsung 5500 3D Blu-ray and DVD player boasts an array of features including quick start-up, digital noise reduction and 1080p upscaling. The added factor of Smart TV allows you to take advantage of the online features and watch movies on-line if you don't already have in your collection. The sharp design of the player would sit perfectly in any modern home. </p><p>Blu-ray and DVD player</p><ul><li>Upscales to 1080p.</li><li>Smart TV .</li><li>Playback and sound: DVD, Blu-ray, BD-R/RE, DivX.</li><li>2 channel audio output.</li><li>DTS, DTS HD and Dolby True HD decoding.</li><li>Dolby.</li></ul><p>Connectivity:</p><ul><li>1 HDMI port.</li><li>1 USB port.</li></ul><p>General information:</p><ul><li>Remote control batteries required 2 x AA (included).</li><li>Size H3.9, W36, D19.6cm.</li><li>Weight 1.2kg.</li><li>On mode power consumption 8.8 watts.</li><li>Standby power consumption 0.3 watt.</li></ul><p>EAN: 8806085400856</p>
Overall rating:
4.649 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 37 reviews
5 Stars
30
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
36 of 3797%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
32 Questions | 35 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Samsung 5500 3D Smart Blu-ray and DVD Player.
Review 1 for Samsung 5500 3D Smart Blu-ray and DVD Player.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Blue ray smart not that smart
Posted16 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Dave
From:Epsom, Surrey, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
"Good picture but home page not much features and should
Have more players than BBC I player but sound
Works well and remote easy to uses
easy to setup.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung 5500 3D Smart Blu-ray and DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
samsung 550 3d smart blu-ray dvd player
Posted01 July 2014
Customer avatar
By kathy
From:Manchester, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"i was very impressed with this blu-ray player the sound quality is very good and the picture quality is great overall very impressed for the money."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung 5500 3D Smart Blu-ray and DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Steve, Wiltshire.
Posted24 June 2014
Customer avatar
By steve
From:Wiltshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Super neat player, goes well with new TV and Table"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung 5500 3D Smart Blu-ray and DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
samaung blueray player
Posted24 June 2014
Customer avatar
By jack 1501
From:Lancashire, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"love this player, easy to install and excellent picture and sound quality"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung 5500 3D Smart Blu-ray and DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great value with HD Netflix and LAN player too
Posted17 June 2014
Customer avatar
By Bobdosh
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I've not got any BluRay discs but wanted Netflix to play through my Fibre broadband internet direct to my front room plasma. Brilliant value and awesome features. The LAN feature is limited to certain video formats but plug in the USB to unlock more video format playabilities. Very very happy with this product and price"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung 5500 3D Smart Blu-ray and DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superb Blu Ray Player
Posted17 June 2014
Customer avatar
By Matty
From:Buckinghamshire
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This was my second Samsung blu ray player purchase - and I bought it on the strength of my first player. It's very easy to set up - only took about 10 minutes.
I haven't watched any 3D movies yet, but I can tell you that the picture quality in 2D - especially on a large screen TV is superb. The detailing on a movie such as Avatar is awesome.
I'll be able to sample the 3D movie experience soon, and I'm looking forward to it.
I have no hesitation in recommending this blu ray player.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung 5500 3D Smart Blu-ray and DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
blueray superior
Posted03 June 2014
Customer avatar
By Mrs C
From:Paisley
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Small, beautiful and goes well with my Samsung Television
I would recommend this product!
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung 5500 3D Smart Blu-ray and DVD Player.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Works with normal 2D TV
Posted03 June 2014
Customer avatar
By SD
Age:35 to 44
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Some of the earlier reviews/comments were confusing so I'd like to confirm that this bluray player can be used as a standard 2D player connected to a normal 2D TV. You just can't view 3D blurays without a 3D tv."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung 5500 3D Smart Blu-ray and DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Does what it says on the box
Posted02 June 2014
Customer avatar
By Rob 60ish
From:Somerset, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Easy setup and easy to use, looks good, impressed"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung 5500 3D Smart Blu-ray and DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Samsung 3D Blu-Ray
Posted27 May 2014
Customer avatar
By David
From:Mid Glamorgan
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I am very imprested with it, it's better then my more expensive one was, it's also a Smart blu ray, nice one Argos a Great Product at a Great Price, THANKS."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung 5500 3D Smart Blu-ray and DVD Player.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Disappointed can't use smart features
Posted20 May 2014
Customer avatar
By P
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"This is a nice looking product and is an okay blu-ray player for the price.The biggest drawback with this product is no built in wifi which I did not realise when I purchased it. So the extra features such as smart are useless because you need to connect directly to Internet box with a cable to use it. Who would have this next to to their TV etc!!! DISAPPOINTED."
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung 5500 3D Smart Blu-ray and DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great features
Posted20 May 2014
Customer avatar
By Phil
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Has great features. Plays 3d films really well. Connects to internet through WLAN and has apps on it."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung 5500 3D Smart Blu-ray and DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Samsung 3D Smart Blu-ray and DvD Player
Posted15 May 2014
Customer avatar
By Sunny25
From:Derby, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This product is fantastic, It is just the right size not being as big as the older DVD players.The picture quality is amazing both in 3D and Blu-ray. The sound is perfect. I also purchased a Samsung 3D 42inch TV and both Samsung products work very well together. It is very easy to set up and use."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung 5500 3D Smart Blu-ray and DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent
Posted13 May 2014
Customer avatar
By BrianM
From:Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Please see my review for the LG BP630 Blu Ray DVD, as my review relates to this product, not the LG, which I did by mistake, sorry."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung 5500 3D Smart Blu-ray and DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
replacement to go with 3d tv
Posted13 May 2014
Customer avatar
By Tracey D
From:Durham, County Durham, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"there was nothing wrong with other bluray player we just wanted a compatible one to go with our samsung 3d smart TV,excellent price and also good samsung make picture q uality is amazing so pleased with this purchase , its also smaller in design so looks neat xxx"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung 5500 3D Smart Blu-ray and DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to use
Posted13 May 2014
Customer avatar
By Andrew
From:Nottinghamshire, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Easy to use product, easy to set up, I would recommend it to anyone ;-)"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung 5500 3D Smart Blu-ray and DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good quality and value
Posted06 May 2014
Customer avatar
By Bruce
From:Suffolk
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Easier to set up than I expected. Very good picture quality. Sound is probably limited to that of the tv."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung 5500 3D Smart Blu-ray and DVD Player.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reasonable player at a reasonable price
Posted23 April 2014
Customer avatar
By Willowman
From:Merseyside
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Small and compact works ok on 3d"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung 5500 3D Smart Blu-ray and DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great little bit of kit
Posted22 April 2014
Customer avatar
By Dow49
From:Cumbria
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Great buy I think, not bothered about wi fi issue, have apps and browser on my samsung tv, picture in 3d etc is amazing."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung 5500 3D Smart Blu-ray and DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Product
Posted22 April 2014
Customer avatar
By Candice100
From:Letchworth Garden City, Hertfordshire, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I ordered this to go with my new Samsung tv.
The Blu-ray player sits discretely on the tv stand.
This was easy to set-up & easy to use. Picture quality from both dvd & blu-ray is excellent.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 Next >>>