Top-rated product

Samsung 5500 3D Smart Blu-ray and DVD Player.

<p>The Samsung 5500 3D Blu-ray and DVD player boasts an array of features including quick start-up, digital noise reduction and 1080p upscaling. The added factor of Smart TV allows you to take advantage of the online features and watch movies on-line if you don't already have in your collection. The sharp design of the player would sit perfectly in any modern home. </p><p>Blu-ray and DVD player</p><ul><li>Upscales to 1080p.</li><li>Smart TV .</li><li>Playback and sound: DVD, Blu-ray, BD-R/RE, DivX.</li><li>2 channel audio output.</li><li>DTS, DTS HD and Dolby True HD decoding.</li><li>Dolby.</li></ul><p>Connectivity:</p><ul><li>1 HDMI port.</li><li>1 USB port.</li></ul><p>General information:</p><ul><li>Remote control batteries required 2 x AA (included).</li><li>Size H3.9, W36, D19.6cm.</li><li>Weight 1.2kg.</li><li>On mode power consumption 8.8 watts.</li><li>Standby power consumption 0.3 watt.</li></ul><p>EAN: 8806085400856</p>
Overall rating:
4.647 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
16 of 1794%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
30 Questions | 32 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Samsung 5500 3D Smart Blu-ray and DVD Player.
Review 1 for Samsung 5500 3D Smart Blu-ray and DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Samsung 3D smart blu-Ray and DVD player
Posted16 April 2014
Customer avatar
By Elaine52
From:Salford, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Easy to set up good quality picture ect"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung 5500 3D Smart Blu-ray and DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent picture quality
Posted15 April 2014
Customer avatar
By Sneffle
From:Barnsley, South Yorkshire, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"For the price you cannot go wrong. Picture is fantastic as is the sound quality. The features I don't use as I have a smart tv so no need but if I didn't I would have all the features I need.
Cannot beat it for the price"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung 5500 3D Smart Blu-ray and DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great DVD player with some decent "Smart" extras
Posted14 April 2014
Customer avatar
By iMac
From:Lancashire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I don't have any Blu-rays yet (hence can't honestly give full marks for picture) but this is an excellent DVD player. Fast start-up quick access to Youtube, iPlayer and Netflix. Responsive remote. Very pleased so far."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung 5500 3D Smart Blu-ray and DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pleasantly surprised
Posted26 March 2014
Customer avatar
By jarrow
From:BIrmingham, West Midlands
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The Samsung player wasn't my first choice, as I wanted an LG
player to match the excellent LG 3d TV that I now owned.The store did not have an LG set, so in desperation I chose the Samsung. I was not disappointed........The picture was pin sharp, it only took moments to install.I definitely made the right choice,and I'm very pleased and satisfied..Thanks Argos...
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung 5500 3D Smart Blu-ray and DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very impressive
Posted25 March 2014
Customer avatar
By anthony
From:lowestoft
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Brilliant very impressed"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung 5500 3D Smart Blu-ray and DVD Player.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good all round product
Posted13 March 2014
Customer avatar
By Minnie
From:edinburgh
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Good value machine easy to set up good quality"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung 5500 3D Smart Blu-ray and DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dvd player
Posted11 March 2014
Customer avatar
By Juls
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Easy to set up. Easy to use."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung 5500 3D Smart Blu-ray and DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
3D Blue ray player
Posted04 March 2014
Customer avatar
By Jeff
From:Sheffield
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"What a lovely looking blue ray player, black and sleek. Has all the features you could ever need. At the sale price hard to beat. Don't lose out, go and get one now!!!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung 5500 3D Smart Blu-ray and DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great value for money!
Posted27 February 2014
Customer avatar
By PNewsome
From:Bradford, West Yorkshire, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Really pleased with this player and carn't believe it was so cheap! It's really simple to use and the picture quality is fantastic!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung 5500 3D Smart Blu-ray and DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Samsung 5500 3D Smart Blu-ray
Posted26 February 2014
Customer avatar
By Pabs70
From:Northumberland, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We had the non 3D version of this player and were very happy with it but upgraded to a 3D T.V. so needed a 3D player. The 3D version of the player is also very good, easy to use and really does improve the quality of any disc used in it. I would recommend this to all."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung 5500 3D Smart Blu-ray and DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This has all you need
Posted20 February 2014
Customer avatar
By Keith
From:Nottinghamshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is my second samsung 3d DVD player perfect it returns quality pictures every time"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung 5500 3D Smart Blu-ray and DVD Player.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Plays Blu ray
Posted20 February 2014
Customer avatar
By AberdonLoon
From:aberedeen
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"Wish I had followed other reviewers and not got this. Only because her indoors said why pay 10 quid more for the Samsung...... I now know why I should have.
The services on box were/are not available. Due to them shutting down, others are just not there. But more later
The sign in process, create account process, are just so cumbersome.
None of the services are there at start up but no note that you have to update any firmware (came across that accidently).
Numerous updates before WORKING"
No, I do not recommend this product.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung 5500 3D Smart Blu-ray and DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted12 February 2014
Customer avatar
By Spen
From:Northumberland, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Over the moon does what it says
And more mutch better than the lg I had 10 out of 10
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung 5500 3D Smart Blu-ray and DVD Player.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent model
Posted09 January 2014
Customer avatar
By Bigpaws.jo
From:Dumfries
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
"I love the fact there are no known buttons on this devise. I swapped two faulty panasonics and found this to be a dream compared to the previous. Very easy to set up, looks good in your living room too. A bargain at the price too"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung 5500 3D Smart Blu-ray and DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great Blu-ray player
Posted08 January 2014
Customer avatar
By JPW
From:West Berkshire, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"For the money I don't think you can fault this product it does everything more expensive machines do. Its simple and integrates with my Samsung TV."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung 5500 3D Smart Blu-ray and DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great samsung
Posted08 October 2013
Customer avatar
By roy
From:hampshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"this player was very good because it has quality
features I can play both dvd and blue ray with ease it
is far better than the lg one that I bought
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung 5500 3D Smart Blu-ray and DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted02 October 2013
Customer avatar
By Graham39
From:Lancashire, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Easy to use, lightweight, stylish,also upscales my ordinary DVD collection to HD quality, great compliment to my new flat screen TV. Very happy and feel I will get good value with this blu ray player."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.