Top-rated product

Seagate Backup Plus 4TB Desktop Hard Drive - Black.

<p>This Seagate Backup Plus 4TB Desktop Hard Drive is a great product to add storage space to your computer and to backup your work in case it gets lost. Use the protect function to set up a one-click plan or customise your scheduled local backup to ensure safety. It includes preloaded software and USB 3.0 cable for a quick and easy setup.</p><ul><li>Run speed 7200 rpm.</li><li>Storage space 4TB+.</li><li>USB 2.0.</li><li>Size H15.8, W12.4, L4.4cm.</li><li>EAN: 7636490039171.</li></ul>
Overall rating:
4.8 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
15 of 15100%would recommend to a friend
Sort by Customer reviews for Seagate Backup Plus 4TB Desktop Hard Drive - Black.
Review 1 for Seagate Backup Plus 4TB Desktop Hard Drive - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
harddrive
Posted05 August 2014
Customer avatar
By cj
From:Bedford, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Ease of set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"easy to use,easy to set up ,no problems and idiot proof"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Seagate Backup Plus 4TB Desktop Hard Drive - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted15 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Mike5316
From:Dorset
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Ease of set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Good value and performance.
The cat likes it too.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Seagate Backup Plus 4TB Desktop Hard Drive - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Large Disk drive, Cheap
Posted15 April 2014
Customer avatar
By pete
From:birmingham
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Ease of set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"After plugging this drive in it worked no setup required from me. This is a great backup drive with great storage.
This drive is slower than my other USB 3 drives however as I'm using it to store my important files speed does not matter so much
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Seagate Backup Plus 4TB Desktop Hard Drive - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ease of use! great space :)
Posted18 March 2014
Customer avatar
By angelus
From:London, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Ease of set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This drive is perfect for my needs. Those who complain that it only shows as 3.4tb should try a different format! Mine is in ext4 and with journalling only 54gb gets used, without only 1gb. Thus giving me around 3.8tb space.
Great!
Speed over USB 2 is around 33mb/s read and write
Speed over usb 3 is around 150mb/s read 100mb/s write (do not mistake with Mbps)
Seek sound almost unheard but is noticeable.
So far no errors unlike the 4 failed 3tb drives!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Seagate Backup Plus 4TB Desktop Hard Drive - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Big disk, but Apple Mac owners beware!
Posted18 March 2014
Customer avatar
By hlfcgb
From:Guildford, Surrey, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Ease of set up 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"To set up this HDD for Apple Mac OS X one needs to know the Apple Disk Utility facilities in detail. Both, SuperDuper! and Carbon Copy Cleaner eventually worked well as backup applications, however, the Seagate Backup Plus 4TB can not be used as a startup disk: it can be chosen, but just does not start up several of our Apple Macs! On further inspection it seems to be more of a problem that Apple has with USB3 disks - on startup only."
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Seagate Backup Plus 4TB Desktop Hard Drive - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what I needed.
Posted18 March 2014
Customer avatar
By Ralern
From:Kent, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Ease of set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Ideal for storing all those photos and larger files.
Plugged it in and then installed the software and away it went. As easy as that.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Seagate Backup Plus 4TB Desktop Hard Drive - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very easy to use and set up.
Posted02 March 2014
Customer avatar
By CP
From:Essex
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Ease of set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Not a tech expert so wanted something I can just plug in and set in motion for my whole PC back up. This has worked just fine, took a relatively short while to set up the first back up, and since then it goes into auto mode whenever I plug it in and backs up everything that has changed since last time. Easy as Ronseal (for those that remember the advert)."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Seagate Backup Plus 4TB Desktop Hard Drive - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Small and easy to use
Posted25 February 2014
Customer avatar
By Tony
From:Alton, Hampshire GU34, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Ease of set up 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Very easy to setup. When plugged into a USB3 port I get 160mb per second transfer rate."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Seagate Backup Plus 4TB Desktop Hard Drive - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tons of space!
Posted25 February 2014
Customer avatar
By rivastix
From:Wolverhampton
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Ease of set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"An excellent back-up drive for my Mac - good value."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Seagate Backup Plus 4TB Desktop Hard Drive - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Storage Solution
Posted24 February 2014
Customer avatar
By Professor
From:Plymouth, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Ease of set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Good product a lot of positives.
Usb 3 cable not in the package which meant extra expense in obtaining one.
Design is slightly smaller than its predecessors.
You will loose transfer speed between usb 3 to usb 2 devices
If you transfer data from another external device to this one it will also be considerably slower.
but on the whole this represents value for money and a best buy for 2014
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Seagate Backup Plus 4TB Desktop Hard Drive - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what I wanted.
Posted20 February 2014
Customer avatar
By AlexH1
From:Dumfries and Galloway, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Ease of set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I needed somethin with a large capacity to store my digital images which, as RAW files, are quite big. I have backed up my entire collection and also all my other data files. This was achieved with great speed especially as I only have USB 2 ports and the hard drive will accommodate the faster USB 3 ports."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Seagate Backup Plus 4TB Desktop Hard Drive - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Its a hard drive
Posted09 January 2014
Customer avatar
By Adam
From:Kent, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
"What can I say it does what it says on the TIN. I opted to use the eSata connection to gain speed ( cable not included )"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Seagate Backup Plus 4TB Desktop Hard Drive - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This productis great
Posted29 October 2013
Customer avatar
By Kat
From:Wirral CH62, UK
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Female
Ease of set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I can say is Seagate Backup Plus 4TB Desktop Hard Drive great!!!!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Seagate Backup Plus 4TB Desktop Hard Drive - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Seagate Back up-Great item-I needed more storage!
Posted02 October 2013
Customer avatar
By Widgster
From:Hertfordshire, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Ease of set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Just the back up storage I needed.
My old drive was now too small and this was a good price to get
a larger back up drive!
Very pleased with my purchase
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Seagate Backup Plus 4TB Desktop Hard Drive - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product
Posted17 September 2013
Customer avatar
By JessH37
From:Somerset, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Ease of set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I am not exactly a pro when it comes to computers, although i'm also not totally useless! However, this product is incredibly easy to set up and easy to use.
I would definitely recommend this product as it does what it says on the tin (for those of you who remember those adverts!) and is slim line so does not take up lots of room either.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.