Top-rated product

Seagate Backup Plus 4TB Desktop Hard Drive - Black.

<p>This Seagate Backup Plus 4TB Desktop Hard Drive is a great product to add storage space to your computer and to backup your work in case it gets lost. Use the protect function to set up a one-click plan or customise your scheduled local backup to ensure safety. It includes preloaded software and USB 3.0 cable for a quick and easy setup.</p><ul><li>Run speed 7200 rpm.</li><li>Storage space 4TB.</li><li>USB 2.0.</li><li>USB 3.0.</li><li>Size H15.8, W12.4, L4.4cm.</li><li>EAN: 7636490039171.</li></ul>
Overall rating:
4.359 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 39 reviews
5 Stars
23
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
3
1 Star
1
35 of 3990%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 8 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Seagate Backup Plus 4TB Desktop Hard Drive - Black.
Review 1 for Seagate Backup Plus 4TB Desktop Hard Drive - Black.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Just hate the design and it is hefty
Posted04 May 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Wembley, Greater London, UK
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
" I opened the product and i found it was too heavy with a very bad design.. plus it needs a power cable.. i immediately had to pack it and return the item back to Argos outlet. Hope they must have stopped the production of the above item..
Sorry guys i don't know if it works well but, its a no from me.. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Seagate Backup Plus 4TB Desktop Hard Drive - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Seagate 4TB Desktop back up drive
Posted12 April 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Belper
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Ease of set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" With 4 TB this back up drive has terrific capacity to back up videos, photos and your whole system. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Seagate Backup Plus 4TB Desktop Hard Drive - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Seagate External Hard Drive
Posted06 April 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:West Midlands
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
Ease of set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" The Seagate Backup Plus 4TB External Hard Drive is one of the leading product of its kind in the current market. It delivers everything its says therefore I would recommend it to everyone. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Seagate Backup Plus 4TB Desktop Hard Drive - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great value per TB
Posted30 March 2016
Customer avatar
By
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Ease of set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Handy for backing up my computer drives, just incase something goes wrong.
Which means i avoid the numerious updates and reinstalling of games etc and the time required to do so, after a failure.
With almost 1 TB of Steam games alone installed, backing them up is a must (faster than redownloading them) and this 4 TB external drive is very handy for that. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Seagate Backup Plus 4TB Desktop Hard Drive - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Usual Seagate quality and ease of use.
Posted09 March 2016
Customer avatar
By
Age:65 or over
Ease of set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Excellent product. Excellent service from Argos. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Seagate Backup Plus 4TB Desktop Hard Drive - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted09 February 2016
Customer avatar
By
Age:18 to 24
Ease of set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Excellent product easy to use and downloads games very fast on my Xbox "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Seagate Backup Plus 4TB Desktop Hard Drive - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted28 January 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Manchester, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Ease of set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Little big, but does the job "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Seagate Backup Plus 4TB Desktop Hard Drive - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliable back up
Posted13 January 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Middlesex, United Kingdom
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Ease of set up 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Whilst the instructions contained in the box for my iMac were not as clear and simple as I hoped, I managed to set up without too much fuss. The product works well with Apple Time Machine once set up, but it was necessary to clear the disk of its loaded software first. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Seagate Backup Plus 4TB Desktop Hard Drive - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent
Posted24 November 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Plymouth
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Ease of set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" So easy to set up with Xbox one "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Seagate Backup Plus 4TB Desktop Hard Drive - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This product is easy to set up
Posted12 November 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Wales, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Ease of set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" The only thing I was worried about after purchasing this product was setting it up but to my delighte this was so easy the step by step guide you supplied with the item was so easy to follow I managed to get the device working withing a few minutes. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Seagate Backup Plus 4TB Desktop Hard Drive - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Basically a good product.
Posted12 September 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Isle of Wight, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Ease of set up 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" The product functions as advertised but some users could find the transfer rate slow. Though it is a backup drive not used on a daily basis it can take an age to transfer data to it initially.
The answer would be to incorporate an esata port as well as a usb. Esata cards are cheap and simple to install on a pc. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Seagate Backup Plus 4TB Desktop Hard Drive - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Seagate back up plus 4tb desktop harddrive
Posted02 September 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:bournmeouth
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Ease of set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" a very good product and easy to install.straight forward and no other requirements.highly recommended for other computer needs. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Seagate Backup Plus 4TB Desktop Hard Drive - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
seawater 4 TB
Posted26 August 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Nairn, Highland, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Ease of set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Having used external hard drives for many years I have to admit that this one is the fastest I have ever used I can't say what the life span is as I have only got this one recently but as I said it is very fast . "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Seagate Backup Plus 4TB Desktop Hard Drive - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brilliant
Posted25 August 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Essex, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Ease of set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Easy to use for Xbox one just plug and follow what it says and boom done to easy "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Seagate Backup Plus 4TB Desktop Hard Drive - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Whining noise when spinning down
Posted22 May 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Ireland
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Ease of set up 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" I use this drive for time machine. It works well overall but there are a few issues that prospective buyers should be aware of.
1. When the drive spins down there is a high pitched whining noise. It's not too loud but is noticeable. This is replaced after a few minutes with a high pitched capacitor noise which is mostly inaudible.
2. Seagate's software is horribly buggy when used on OSX. Just don't bother installing this; it will only cause trouble. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Seagate Backup Plus 4TB Desktop Hard Drive - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent
Posted01 April 2015
Customer avatar
By
Age:55 to 64
Ease of set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" this product is excellent and well worth its value "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Seagate Backup Plus 4TB Desktop Hard Drive - Black.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Faulty
Posted01 April 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Wexford, Ireland
Age:17 or under
Gender:Male
Ease of set up 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Connectivity 
1 / 5
1 / 5
" This product was the last one in the store. When I took it home and set it up, it was faulty and wouldn't work, the outside of the box had been damaged so maybe it got a fall, but I brought it back and got a full refund. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Seagate Backup Plus 4TB Desktop Hard Drive - Black.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not a 7200rpm drive as advertised!
Posted15 March 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:London
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Ease of set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
" Not as advertised, will be taking it back for a refund when I get a day off.
Drive is 5900rpm not 7200rpm as described. Not a huge difference for everyday use but I bought the drive for a specific purpose and a slower seek time of the 5900rpm drive isn't fit for purpose.
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Seagate Backup Plus 4TB Desktop Hard Drive - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BACKUP PLUS 4TB DESKTOP
Posted24 February 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Bedford, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Ease of set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" JUST OUT STANDING, THE PRICE EVERYTHING, IT WORKS WELL WITH MY MAC,
I USE IT TO BACKUP ALL MY PHOTOS,
VIDEO AND OTHER FILES.. AMAZING.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Seagate Backup Plus 4TB Desktop Hard Drive - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted17 February 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:bradford
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Ease of set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Brilliant device for consoles and pcs alike a lot of space would buy this product again great price too "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 Next >>>