Top-rated product

Seagate Backup Plus 4TB Desktop Hard Drive - Black.

<p>This Seagate Backup Plus 4TB Desktop Hard Drive is a great product to add storage space to your computer and to backup your work in case it gets lost. Use the protect function to set up a one-click plan or customise your scheduled local backup to ensure safety. It includes preloaded software and USB 3.0 cable for a quick and easy setup.</p><ul><li>Run speed 7200 rpm.</li><li>Storage space 4TB.</li><li>USB 2.0.</li><li>USB 3.0.</li><li>Size H15.8, W12.4, L4.4cm.</li><li>EAN: 7636490039171.</li></ul>
Overall rating:
4.353 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 34 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
31 of 3491%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 8 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Seagate Backup Plus 4TB Desktop Hard Drive - Black.
Review 1 for Seagate Backup Plus 4TB Desktop Hard Drive - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted09 February 2016
Customer avatar
By
Age:18 to 24
Ease of set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Excellent product easy to use and downloads games very fast on my Xbox "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Seagate Backup Plus 4TB Desktop Hard Drive - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted28 January 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Manchester, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Ease of set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Little big, but does the job "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Seagate Backup Plus 4TB Desktop Hard Drive - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliable back up
Posted13 January 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Middlesex, United Kingdom
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Ease of set up 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Whilst the instructions contained in the box for my iMac were not as clear and simple as I hoped, I managed to set up without too much fuss. The product works well with Apple Time Machine once set up, but it was necessary to clear the disk of its loaded software first. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Seagate Backup Plus 4TB Desktop Hard Drive - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent
Posted24 November 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Plymouth
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Ease of set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" So easy to set up with Xbox one "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Seagate Backup Plus 4TB Desktop Hard Drive - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This product is easy to set up
Posted12 November 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Wales, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Ease of set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" The only thing I was worried about after purchasing this product was setting it up but to my delighte this was so easy the step by step guide you supplied with the item was so easy to follow I managed to get the device working withing a few minutes. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Seagate Backup Plus 4TB Desktop Hard Drive - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Basically a good product.
Posted12 September 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Isle of Wight, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Ease of set up 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" The product functions as advertised but some users could find the transfer rate slow. Though it is a backup drive not used on a daily basis it can take an age to transfer data to it initially.
The answer would be to incorporate an esata port as well as a usb. Esata cards are cheap and simple to install on a pc. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Seagate Backup Plus 4TB Desktop Hard Drive - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Seagate back up plus 4tb desktop harddrive
Posted02 September 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:bournmeouth
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Ease of set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" a very good product and easy to install.straight forward and no other requirements.highly recommended for other computer needs. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Seagate Backup Plus 4TB Desktop Hard Drive - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
seawater 4 TB
Posted26 August 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Nairn, Highland, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Ease of set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Having used external hard drives for many years I have to admit that this one is the fastest I have ever used I can't say what the life span is as I have only got this one recently but as I said it is very fast . "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Seagate Backup Plus 4TB Desktop Hard Drive - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brilliant
Posted25 August 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Essex, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Ease of set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Easy to use for Xbox one just plug and follow what it says and boom done to easy "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Seagate Backup Plus 4TB Desktop Hard Drive - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Whining noise when spinning down
Posted22 May 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Ireland
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Ease of set up 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" I use this drive for time machine. It works well overall but there are a few issues that prospective buyers should be aware of.
1. When the drive spins down there is a high pitched whining noise. It's not too loud but is noticeable. This is replaced after a few minutes with a high pitched capacitor noise which is mostly inaudible.
2. Seagate's software is horribly buggy when used on OSX. Just don't bother installing this; it will only cause trouble. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Seagate Backup Plus 4TB Desktop Hard Drive - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent
Posted01 April 2015
Customer avatar
By
Age:55 to 64
Ease of set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" this product is excellent and well worth its value "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Seagate Backup Plus 4TB Desktop Hard Drive - Black.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Faulty
Posted01 April 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Wexford, Ireland
Age:17 or under
Gender:Male
Ease of set up 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Connectivity 
1 / 5
1 / 5
" This product was the last one in the store. When I took it home and set it up, it was faulty and wouldn't work, the outside of the box had been damaged so maybe it got a fall, but I brought it back and got a full refund. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Seagate Backup Plus 4TB Desktop Hard Drive - Black.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not a 7200rpm drive as advertised!
Posted15 March 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:London
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Ease of set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
" Not as advertised, will be taking it back for a refund when I get a day off.
Drive is 5900rpm not 7200rpm as described. Not a huge difference for everyday use but I bought the drive for a specific purpose and a slower seek time of the 5900rpm drive isn't fit for purpose.
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Seagate Backup Plus 4TB Desktop Hard Drive - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BACKUP PLUS 4TB DESKTOP
Posted24 February 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Bedford, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Ease of set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" JUST OUT STANDING, THE PRICE EVERYTHING, IT WORKS WELL WITH MY MAC,
I USE IT TO BACKUP ALL MY PHOTOS,
VIDEO AND OTHER FILES.. AMAZING.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Seagate Backup Plus 4TB Desktop Hard Drive - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted17 February 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:bradford
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Ease of set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Brilliant device for consoles and pcs alike a lot of space would buy this product again great price too "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Seagate Backup Plus 4TB Desktop Hard Drive - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
works fast enough
Posted27 January 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:England, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Ease of set up 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" quite a well priced hard drive,works fast enough.only slight moan is all the edges of this drive are very square and that makes the corners quite sharp. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Seagate Backup Plus 4TB Desktop Hard Drive - Black.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not The Drive In The Photo
Posted08 January 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Stoke-on-Trent, Stoke-on-Trent, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
" Having purchased several of these drives in the past and being very happy with them, when i needed some more i decided to buy some more, however the picture is not the drive you actually receive, i purchased 4 drives over the christmas period 2 drives to use and 2 to back up, the drives are of a different design but the issue is with the part where the thin usb 3 cable goes into the drive, the cable keeps dropping out.
Will not buy again. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Seagate Backup Plus 4TB Desktop Hard Drive - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great on Windows but didn't allow Apple mac
Posted23 September 2014
Customer avatar
By
From:Birmingham, West Midlands, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Ease of set up 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This is a great product and it connected to the Windows really quickly. However, when connected to the Apple mac it would not let me connect. I am using it more for Windows so I think the product is great and an ace memory system for my files. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Seagate Backup Plus 4TB Desktop Hard Drive - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
harddrive
Posted05 August 2014
Customer avatar
By
From:Bedford, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Ease of set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" easy to use,easy to set up ,no problems and idiot proof "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Seagate Backup Plus 4TB Desktop Hard Drive - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted15 July 2014
Customer avatar
By
From:Dorset
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Ease of set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Good value and performance.
The cat likes it too.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 Next >>>