Top-rated product

Hitachi 40 Inch Full HD Freeview HD LED TV with Smart Apps.

<p>With an edge-lit LED TV screen this Hitachi 40 Inch Full HD 1080p television boasts superb image quality. Coupled with a 7 day electronic programme you will never miss your favourite shows again.</p><p>Vibrant colours and amazing detail courtesy of its Full HD 1080p display . Top 5 Smart apps include: BBC iPlayer, Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, Flickr.</p><p>Television picture quality:</p><ul><li>Smart TV.</li><li>Screen size: 40in (102cm).</li><li>Resolution 1920 x 1080 pixels.</li><li>Motion rate 50Hz.</li><li>Response time 10 milliseconds.</li><li>Viewing angle 176/176 degrees.</li></ul><p>Connectivity:</p><ul><li>1 SCART socket, 2 USB ports and 2 HDMI sockets.</li><li>Component video socket.</li><li>Composite.</li><li>Headphone socket.</li><li>AV socket.</li><li>Requires Wi-Fi dongle (sold separately).</li><li>Ethernet connection.</li><li>DLNA compatibility.</li><li>Suitable for wall mounting 200 x 200 bracket.</li></ul><p>Sound quality:</p><ul><li>NICAM sound system.</li><li>2 x 6 watts RMS power output.</li></ul><p>Digital features:</p><ul><li>Freeview HD digital tuner.</li><li>7 day electronic programme guide (EPG).</li><li>CI+ slot.</li></ul><p>Additional features:</p><ul><li>Sleep timer.</li><li>Child lock.</li><li>Size of TV H60.7, W93, D4cm.</li><li>Weight of TV 11kg (unpackaged).</li><li>Size of TV with stand: H60.7, W93, D22cm.</li><li>Weight of TV with stand: 15kg.</li></ul><p>Energy efficiency information:</p><ul><li>Energy efficiency rating: A.</li><li>On mode power consumption 63 watts.</li><li>Annual power consumption 91kWh.</li></ul><p>EAN: 4902530006896</p>
Overall rating:
4.201 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 179 reviews
5 Stars
101
4 Stars
41
3 Stars
19
2 Stars
8
1 Star
10
150 of 17984%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
138 Questions | 160 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Hitachi 40 Inch Full HD Freeview HD LED TV with Smart Apps.
Review 1 for Hitachi 40 Inch Full HD Freeview HD LED TV with Smart Apps.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not so Smart Apps
Posted12 August 2014
Customer avatar
By Cam
From:West Yorkshire, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
"Television worked ok until we used Smart Apps then the television kept freezing, we had to turn the television off by the mains as the remote control wouldn't even work when the television had froze, we returned this item as soon as."
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hitachi 40 Inch Full HD Freeview HD LED TV with Smart Apps.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hitachi 40 inch FULL HD
Posted05 August 2014
Customer avatar
By leec
From:West Midlands, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
"Excellent item. Very slim screen. Easy to use apps. Super price."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hitachi 40 Inch Full HD Freeview HD LED TV with Smart Apps.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Television
Posted05 August 2014
Customer avatar
By jakster
From:antrim
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
"Very happy with the TV."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hitachi 40 Inch Full HD Freeview HD LED TV with Smart Apps.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great TV
Posted29 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Laters
From:Kent
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
"Very easy to set up and use
Really pleased with this purchase"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hitachi 40 Inch Full HD Freeview HD LED TV with Smart Apps.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this product is great value for the money
Posted29 July 2014
Customer avatar
By josied
From:glas
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
"This product has a great picture quality and is well worth the money"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hitachi 40 Inch Full HD Freeview HD LED TV with Smart Apps.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hitachi 40 tv
Posted29 July 2014
Customer avatar
By ron
From:essex
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"The T.V works well and looks great in my Lounge. Good quality picture, easy to operate. Down side. Sound quality a bit tiny and the remote control is flimsy."
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hitachi 40 Inch Full HD Freeview HD LED TV with Smart Apps.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great value gif money
Posted29 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Steven
From:Staines-upon-Thames, Surrey, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
"I just wanted a low cost reasonable sized tv.
This fitted the bill nicely but also has lots of features too.
All at a great price.
Great picture and sound.
Thanks
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hitachi 40 Inch Full HD Freeview HD LED TV with Smart Apps.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not as smart as you think
Posted25 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Serly 1
From:Exeter, Exeter, Devon, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"This isn't really a smart TV, it just has a small collection of apps to give an illusion of being smart. But as a standard TV at the price it is excellent, Picture quality is first rate and the sound is very good considering the tiny speakers."
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hitachi 40 Inch Full HD Freeview HD LED TV with Smart Apps.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
40" led tv
Posted24 July 2014
Customer avatar
By ros
From:South Shields, Tyne and Wear, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"very gd quality tv, only downside is sound"
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hitachi 40 Inch Full HD Freeview HD LED TV with Smart Apps.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
television
Posted24 July 2014
Customer avatar
By shaz25
From:England, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"this product is very good and very well priced"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hitachi 40 Inch Full HD Freeview HD LED TV with Smart Apps.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great set!!
Posted23 July 2014
Customer avatar
By ian s
From:West Lothian, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"great value set. compact for a 40" screen. easy to set up the basics, haven't set up the wifi or smart features yet, but instructions seem ok. could do with another scart socket, but apart from that brilliant"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Hitachi 40 Inch Full HD Freeview HD LED TV with Smart Apps.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great value for money
Posted22 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Jason
From:Surrey
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"A great TV for the price. Picture is as good as any more expensive TV I've seen and the surround sound is pretty good too."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Hitachi 40 Inch Full HD Freeview HD LED TV with Smart Apps.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted22 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Yorkie
From:Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Great price and quality try always to shop at argos"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Hitachi 40 Inch Full HD Freeview HD LED TV with Smart Apps.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
quality tv
Posted22 July 2014
Customer avatar
By rashiid
From:london
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"this product has excellent features ,nice design high sound quality ."
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
I also recommend:
Hitachi 40 Inch Full HD LED TV.
4.4 out of 5(107)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Hitachi 40 Inch Full HD Freeview HD LED TV with Smart Apps.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great TV for the price. Sound ok picture good.
Posted15 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Max
From:Northern Ireland, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Picture is good, sound ok.
Smart app is good.
Easy setup.
Would recommend.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Hitachi 40 Inch Full HD Freeview HD LED TV with Smart Apps.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
You get what you pay for
Posted10 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Suzy cx
From:Staffordshire, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Connectivity 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
"I got this for my husband as we are getting rid of sky and wanted to be able to connect with our online subscriptions it doesn't connect well at all keeps crashing and the sound quality is shocking returned to Argos and a full refund given good service but I would advise to avoid this one"
No, I do not recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Hitachi 40 Inch Full HD Freeview HD LED TV with Smart Apps.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted14 May 2014
Customer avatar
By makis
From:Leicester, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"excellent value for the money"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Hitachi 40 Inch Full HD Freeview HD LED TV with Smart Apps.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted13 May 2014
Customer avatar
By Snowy
From:Sutton park hulll
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"Fantasic well worth buying"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Hitachi 40 Inch Full HD Freeview HD LED TV with Smart Apps.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
TV
Posted07 May 2014
Customer avatar
By rach
From:cleveland
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"Got this tv to replace old type. Easy enough to set up. Picture quality good but volume not. A box appears on screen while you are watching something telling you. you haven't done anything for a while i.e change channel. Apparently this happens on all modern TV's. When there is writing on screen it doesn't fit."
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Hitachi 40 Inch Full HD Freeview HD LED TV with Smart Apps.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Only wanted a tv.......
Posted06 May 2014
Customer avatar
By Polly
From:Cornwall, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
".....but got all the goodies that come with it (apps, freeview etc).
Picture is as crisp as I have ever seen. Maybe add surround sound at a later date but don't need to dash out and buy it as sound quality from the unit itself is very good. !!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 Next >>>