Top-rated product

Hitachi 40 Inch Full HD Freeview HD LED TV with Smart Apps.

<p>With an edge-lit LED TV screen this Hitachi 40 Inch Full HD 1080p television boasts superb image quality. Coupled with a 7 day electronic programme you will never miss your favourite shows again.</p><p>Vibrant colours and amazing detail courtesy of its Full HD 1080p display . Top 5 Smart apps include: BBC iPlayer, Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, Flickr.</p><p>Television picture quality:</p><ul><li>Smart TV.</li><li>Screen size: 40in (102cm).</li><li>Resolution 1920 x 1080 pixels.</li><li>Motion rate 50Hz.</li><li>Response time 10 milliseconds.</li><li>Viewing angle 176/176 degrees.</li></ul><p>Connectivity:</p><ul><li>1 SCART socket, 2 USB ports and 2 HDMI sockets.</li><li>Component video socket.</li><li>Composite.</li><li>Headphone socket.</li><li>AV socket.</li><li>Requires Wi-Fi dongle (sold separately).</li><li>Ethernet connection.</li><li>DLNA compatibility.</li><li>Suitable for wall mounting 200 x 200 bracket.</li></ul><p>Sound quality:</p><ul><li>NICAM sound system.</li><li>2 x 6 watts RMS power output.</li></ul><p>Digital features:</p><ul><li>Freeview HD digital tuner.</li><li>7 day electronic programme guide (EPG).</li><li>CI+ slot.</li></ul><p>Additional features:</p><ul><li>Sleep timer.</li><li>Child lock.</li><li>Size of TV H60.7, W93, D4cm.</li><li>Weight of TV 11kg (unpackaged).</li><li>Size of TV with stand: H60.7, W93, D22cm.</li><li>Weight of TV with stand: 15kg.</li></ul><p>Energy efficiency information:</p><ul><li>Energy efficiency rating: A.</li><li>On mode power consumption 63 watts.</li><li>Annual power consumption 91kWh.</li></ul><p>EAN: 4902530006896</p>
Overall rating:
4.181 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 166 reviews
5 Stars
91
4 Stars
40
3 Stars
18
2 Stars
8
1 Star
9
139 of 16684%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
135 Questions | 155 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Hitachi 40 Inch Full HD Freeview HD LED TV with Smart Apps.
Review 1 for Hitachi 40 Inch Full HD Freeview HD LED TV with Smart Apps.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great value for money
Posted22 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Jason
From:Surrey
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"A great TV for the price. Picture is as good as any more expensive TV I've seen and the surround sound is pretty good too."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hitachi 40 Inch Full HD Freeview HD LED TV with Smart Apps.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great TV for the price. Sound ok picture good.
Posted15 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Max
From:Northern Ireland, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Picture is good, sound ok.
Smart app is good.
Easy setup.
Would recommend.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hitachi 40 Inch Full HD Freeview HD LED TV with Smart Apps.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
You get what you pay for
Posted10 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Suzy cx
From:Staffordshire, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Connectivity 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
"I got this for my husband as we are getting rid of sky and wanted to be able to connect with our online subscriptions it doesn't connect well at all keeps crashing and the sound quality is shocking returned to Argos and a full refund given good service but I would advise to avoid this one"
No, I do not recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hitachi 40 Inch Full HD Freeview HD LED TV with Smart Apps.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted14 May 2014
Customer avatar
By makis
From:Leicester, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"excellent value for the money"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hitachi 40 Inch Full HD Freeview HD LED TV with Smart Apps.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted13 May 2014
Customer avatar
By Snowy
From:Sutton park hulll
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"Fantasic well worth buying"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hitachi 40 Inch Full HD Freeview HD LED TV with Smart Apps.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
TV
Posted07 May 2014
Customer avatar
By rach
From:cleveland
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"Got this tv to replace old type. Easy enough to set up. Picture quality good but volume not. A box appears on screen while you are watching something telling you. you haven't done anything for a while i.e change channel. Apparently this happens on all modern TV's. When there is writing on screen it doesn't fit."
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hitachi 40 Inch Full HD Freeview HD LED TV with Smart Apps.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Only wanted a tv.......
Posted06 May 2014
Customer avatar
By Polly
From:Cornwall, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
".....but got all the goodies that come with it (apps, freeview etc).
Picture is as crisp as I have ever seen. Maybe add surround sound at a later date but don't need to dash out and buy it as sound quality from the unit itself is very good. !!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hitachi 40 Inch Full HD Freeview HD LED TV with Smart Apps.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
40in TV
Posted06 May 2014
Customer avatar
By Julie Fax
From:Halifax, West Yorkshire, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Excellent product at the right price very happy with it and looks lovely in my room."
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
I also recommend:
 
-5points
3of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hitachi 40 Inch Full HD Freeview HD LED TV with Smart Apps.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
hitachi tv
Posted06 May 2014
Customer avatar
By romany 77
From:berwickshire duns td11 3QW
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This was a great offer for the quality of this tv and I would highly recommend this tv. I find it easier to watch my programs now."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hitachi 40 Inch Full HD Freeview HD LED TV with Smart Apps.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent value
Posted06 May 2014
Customer avatar
By jeffers 1878
From:Cheshire, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"a super value tv, with very easy set up instructions and a brilliant delivery service, what more could you want."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hitachi 40 Inch Full HD Freeview HD LED TV with Smart Apps.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
this product is basic
Posted06 May 2014
Customer avatar
By steven
From:portishead
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"you can not upload any apps
no search engine
also bbci player changed to news 24
it is just a good 40" free view TV for price
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Hitachi 40 Inch Full HD Freeview HD LED TV with Smart Apps.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
For the price this is excellent value
Posted06 May 2014
Customer avatar
By LoWo
Age:45 to 54
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Bought this as a tv for a bedroom - delighted with the product for the price. Incredibly easy to install - plug in and ready.
Looks great mounted on the wall
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Hitachi 40 Inch Full HD Freeview HD LED TV with Smart Apps.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
very good for the price
Posted06 May 2014
Customer avatar
By norman c.
From:East Riding of Yorkshire, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"the only downfall with this tv is there is only one scart and the smart apps are limited I wanted it for Netflix I bought a wifi dongle for it specialy but a good tv for the price."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Hitachi 40 Inch Full HD Freeview HD LED TV with Smart Apps.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Don't be cheep
Posted06 May 2014
Customer avatar
By Ra
From:Leicester
Age:25 to 34
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The price is okay, but if pay more 50£ you will get the features that are not available such as .
build in wifi
better responsive tv ( this tv lag too much) the control system is extremely slow.
real smart tv. this one is half smart.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Hitachi 40 Inch Full HD Freeview HD LED TV with Smart Apps.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic TV
Posted06 May 2014
Customer avatar
By Mr SnowButt
From:England, UK
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Excellent TV, providing fantastic picture quality, especially on HD channels. Sound is very nice, you can customise the equaliser to your preference. The Smart aspect is a bit lacking, as the only main 'apps' are iPlayer and ITV, as others have not been made for it. Unfortunately have not had a chance to test the wireless as internet has been to slow for connection, but over Ethernet works fine."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Hitachi 40 Inch Full HD Freeview HD LED TV with Smart Apps.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great tv
Posted29 April 2014
Customer avatar
By Julie
From:Lincolnshire
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is a great tv it has good picture quality and sound and was very easy to set up. Had to buy dongle to be able to connect to internet. I think you get a lot for the price. I would recommend this tv."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Hitachi 40 Inch Full HD Freeview HD LED TV with Smart Apps.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TV
Posted29 April 2014
Customer avatar
By Skeggyglenn
From:Chapel Saint Leonards, Lincolnshire, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Very happy with the product and the service from on line purchase"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Hitachi 40 Inch Full HD Freeview HD LED TV with Smart Apps.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good set for what we need
Posted29 April 2014
Customer avatar
By nil
From:stanley, County Durham, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"only problem we have is setting up each morning so we may have to call in local dealer if it continues"
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Hitachi 40 Inch Full HD Freeview HD LED TV with Smart Apps.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Poor picture quality
Posted29 April 2014
Customer avatar
By Nadi
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Sound Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Looks better than it is, the quality of the image is really poor. The contrast is not great and neither is the brightness."
No, I do not recommend this product.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Hitachi 40 Inch Full HD Freeview HD LED TV with Smart Apps.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very good buy
Posted29 April 2014
Customer avatar
By sam
From:Handsworth Birmingham
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"It does what it's supposed to, good quality picture. Very slick design, nice and light. purchased it for a very good price."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 Next >>>