Top-rated product

Philips Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.

<p>With a jumbo display alarm clock radio, this Philips player coated in black can be situated almost anywhere in the room with still clear visibility. With 8 hours battery life, and 10 preset stations, moving it from room to room can be done with such ease. Wake up to your favourite morning songs with the ability to choose alarm or radio to welcome you to the new day.</p><p>Product features:</p><ul><li>FM tuner.</li><li>10 preset stations - allows you to save your favourite radio stations in memory.</li><li>4 watts RMS - the average measurement of a speakers output.</li><li>Up to 8 hours battery life.</li><li>Dual alarm.</li><li>Wake up to alarm/radio.</li><li>Snooze function to delay alarm.</li><li>Auto time update.</li><li>Auto tune.</li></ul><p>General information:</p><ul><li>Size H7, W19.1, D10.3cm.</li><li>Mains operated or batteries required 2 x AAA (not included).</li><li>EAN: 871258166934 8.</li></ul>
Overall rating:
4.145 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 69 reviews
5 Stars
36
4 Stars
17
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
2
1 Star
4
56 of 6981%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
27 Questions | 27 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Philips Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Review 1 for Philips Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted24 February 2015
Customer avatar
By OrsonE
From:Norwich
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" A good buy! Great night clock and not too bright! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Philips Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cute little clock
Posted24 February 2015
Customer avatar
By linny
From:hants
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" This is just perfect clock its so hand during the night you can see the time ideal if you do have bad eye sight. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Philips Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
It would be excellent but for
Posted24 February 2015
Customer avatar
By Mordey
From:Hampshire, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" cons: Unable to set radio alarm volume.
Ascending alarm volume too high.
When using radio, volume reverts back to preset level 7 when next used.
pros: Easy to set up.
Dimmable display (hi/low).
Digital tuning.
Sound not too bad for a small unit.
I'd only recommend this product if you can put up with the cons. Personally i'm still looking for an alternative and will make do. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Philips Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent clock/radio for the price
Posted19 February 2015
Customer avatar
By Mags
From:Kent
Age:55 to 64
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Excellent sound. V easy to programme. Clear display - not too bright. Great to be able to preset radio stations and to have 2 preset alarm times. Buttons are difficult to identify in the dark but so are most clock radios. Only complaint is you can't alter radio volume when it comes on as an alarm - starts off quietly (nice) but gradually gets much louder. However you can easily turn the radio off and back on - you can then turn down the volume. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Philips Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent clock radio
Posted17 February 2015
Customer avatar
By moe84
From:Down
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" An excellent clock radio with an easy to read display that is not too bright on its lowest setting (there are two levels of brightness). I like that the alarm sounds at a low level initally and gradually increases in volume. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Philips Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
You shouldn't believe everything you read!
Posted17 February 2015
Customer avatar
By TinyTowie
From:Essex, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I was totally smitten with this alarm clock - I wanted it! Nice big numbers & nice easy tuning. Then I read the reviews about how loud it was & how it could wake up whole households! Streets! Small villages... I was SO disappointed & I thought No! this is not for me!
My Boyfriend talked me round, said it couldn't be that bad. He was SO right! its not loud at all, and it has a nice big snooze button. Its a million times easier to set than my last one too!
I'm really pleased with it. Buy it! :)
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Philips Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent - Nice big numbers!
Posted31 January 2015
Customer avatar
By ninawmer
From:Newton-le-Willows, Merseyside, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Nice big numbers so brilliant for my Dad when he has his glasses off. You only want on dim as an alarm clock but the brighter setting would be great for on the wall function. :) "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Philips Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted25 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Marts
From:Sheffield
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" The display is very clear and easy to read. I'm very pleased with this clock radio. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Philips Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Easy to read not to set up
Posted22 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Lorraine
From:North Lincolnshire, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
2 / 5
2 / 5
" The instructions for set up and use are not clear enough for my 82 year old mum. She struggled to set the alarm and its not clear how to switch it off. However, the display is nice and large and the sound clear enough to wake her. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Philips Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted22 January 2015
Customer avatar
By WI lady
From:Warwickshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" A bit fiddly to programme, but good display and does its job "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Philips Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Easy to Read
Posted10 January 2015
Customer avatar
By jazzman
From:Northumberland, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" bought specifically for ease of seeing the time - it does this very well & as a bonus has the ability to have the brightness adjusted. It looks great but the sound quality is only average compared with a much older (ie 27years) Philips clock radio which is still in permanent use . "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Philips Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Is it next to your bed or not?
Posted07 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Sheila
From:UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
" Note this clock has a very clear face so that you can see it from across the room, but has one major disadvantage. The radio alarm steadily increases in volume, which you cannot adjust. Thus, if the clock is not next to you when it goes off not only will you miss the news headlines on the hour( too quiet) but two minutes in you have to get out of bed and switch the thing off or else it will wake the whole household. Music impossibly loud. Most unsatisfactory way to get up in the morning.... "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Philips Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted31 December 2014
Customer avatar
By Tinkerbelle61
From:London, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Easy to see numbers, tunes well, didn't need to move ariel, "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Philips Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
clock radio
Posted30 December 2014
Customer avatar
By jass
From:Wiltshire, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Easy to use ,great time display , over all clock not to big, great product. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Philips Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Product
Posted30 December 2014
Customer avatar
By Stupot
From:Wiltshire
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Good radio and easy to setup "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Philips Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RELIABLE ALARM - TOP DEAL
Posted30 December 2014
Customer avatar
By Dukie
From:Oxford, Oxford, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Great value for the money and the twin alarm system is very easy to set up. The sound quality is good and all the settings are easy to follow. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Philips Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
volume control crazy
Posted24 November 2014
Customer avatar
By MrsHarrison
From:Swansea, Swansea, Swansea, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
" After only a few weeks we found that the volume control on the alarm set itself to full volume overnight = not at all a pleasant way to start the morning! It has happened 4 times now, in spite of our lowering the volume to an acceptable level the night before so back to Argos it goes. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Philips Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Philips Jumbo Display Alarm Clock
Posted11 November 2014
Customer avatar
By Techno720
From:Oxfordshire, UK
Age:55 to 64
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Great display and excellent sound quality. No loudspeaker buzzing that you get on some cheaper radio alarm clocks. Just waiting for some Sanyo Eneleoop batteries to try the portability aspect. Fully recommended. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Philips Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Auto time adjust???
Posted11 November 2014
Customer avatar
By Bacon
From:Cornwall, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Although the description states this clock has auto time adjust it doesn't!. So if this is a feature you wanted from the clock don't buy. Not sure about the radio as I have only managed to get a weak signal on 2 stations but this may be just due to the signal in the area generally. The time display is large and bright (adjustable) so to see the time at night it does the job. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Philips Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Posted18 October 2014
Customer avatar
By SD
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Good looking clock with huge numbers that illuminate dark rooms quite nicely, even on the lowest settings. Straightforward to setup and use and with a decent sound. The most annoying feature is that where the sound ramps up in volume when the alarm activates. It sounded great in theory but the problem is that the alarm comes on at volume 7 ( which is about midway ) and not where it last left and cannot be adjusted. This is far too loud and wakes me up with a jump. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 Next >>>