Top-rated product

Philips Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.

<p>With a jumbo display alarm clock radio, this Philips player coated in black can be situated almost anywhere in the room with still clear visibility. With 8 hours battery life, and 10 preset stations, moving it from room to room can be done with such ease. Wake up to your favourite morning songs with the ability to choose alarm or radio to welcome you to the new day.</p><p>Product features:</p><ul><li>FM tuner.</li><li>10 preset stations - allows you to save your favourite radio stations in memory.</li><li>4 watts RMS - the average measurement of a speakers output.</li><li>Up to 8 hours battery life.</li><li>Dual alarm.</li><li>Wake up to alarm/radio.</li><li>Snooze function to delay alarm.</li><li>Auto time update.</li><li>Auto tune.</li></ul><p>General information:</p><ul><li>Size H7, W19.1, D10.3cm.</li><li>Mains operated or batteries required 2 x AAA (not included).</li><li>EAN: 871258166934 8.</li></ul>
Overall rating:
4.113 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 62 reviews
5 Stars
32
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
2
1 Star
4
49 of 6279%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
25 Questions | 25 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Philips Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Review 1 for Philips Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted25 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Marts
From:Sheffield
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" The display is very clear and easy to read. I'm very pleased with this clock radio. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Philips Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Easy to read not to set up
Posted22 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Lorraine
From:North Lincolnshire, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
2 / 5
2 / 5
" The instructions for set up and use are not clear enough for my 82 year old mum. She struggled to set the alarm and its not clear how to switch it off. However, the display is nice and large and the sound clear enough to wake her. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Philips Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted22 January 2015
Customer avatar
By WI lady
From:Warwickshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" A bit fiddly to programme, but good display and does its job "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Philips Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Easy to Read
Posted10 January 2015
Customer avatar
By jazzman
From:Northumberland, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" bought specifically for ease of seeing the time - it does this very well & as a bonus has the ability to have the brightness adjusted. It looks great but the sound quality is only average compared with a much older (ie 27years) Philips clock radio which is still in permanent use . "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Philips Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Is it next to your bed or not?
Posted07 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Sheila
From:UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
" Note this clock has a very clear face so that you can see it from across the room, but has one major disadvantage. The radio alarm steadily increases in volume, which you cannot adjust. Thus, if the clock is not next to you when it goes off not only will you miss the news headlines on the hour( too quiet) but two minutes in you have to get out of bed and switch the thing off or else it will wake the whole household. Music impossibly loud. Most unsatisfactory way to get up in the morning.... "
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Philips Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted31 December 2014
Customer avatar
By Tinkerbelle61
From:London, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Easy to see numbers, tunes well, didn't need to move ariel, "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Philips Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
clock radio
Posted30 December 2014
Customer avatar
By jass
From:Wiltshire, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Easy to use ,great time display , over all clock not to big, great product. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Philips Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Product
Posted30 December 2014
Customer avatar
By Stupot
From:Wiltshire
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Good radio and easy to setup "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Philips Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RELIABLE ALARM - TOP DEAL
Posted30 December 2014
Customer avatar
By Dukie
From:Oxford, Oxford, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Great value for the money and the twin alarm system is very easy to set up. The sound quality is good and all the settings are easy to follow. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Philips Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
volume control crazy
Posted24 November 2014
Customer avatar
By MrsHarrison
From:Swansea, Swansea, Swansea, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
" After only a few weeks we found that the volume control on the alarm set itself to full volume overnight = not at all a pleasant way to start the morning! It has happened 4 times now, in spite of our lowering the volume to an acceptable level the night before so back to Argos it goes. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Philips Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Philips Jumbo Display Alarm Clock
Posted11 November 2014
Customer avatar
By Techno720
From:Oxfordshire, UK
Age:55 to 64
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Great display and excellent sound quality. No loudspeaker buzzing that you get on some cheaper radio alarm clocks. Just waiting for some Sanyo Eneleoop batteries to try the portability aspect. Fully recommended. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Philips Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Auto time adjust???
Posted11 November 2014
Customer avatar
By Bacon
From:Cornwall, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Although the description states this clock has auto time adjust it doesn't!. So if this is a feature you wanted from the clock don't buy. Not sure about the radio as I have only managed to get a weak signal on 2 stations but this may be just due to the signal in the area generally. The time display is large and bright (adjustable) so to see the time at night it does the job. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Philips Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Posted18 October 2014
Customer avatar
By SD
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Good looking clock with huge numbers that illuminate dark rooms quite nicely, even on the lowest settings. Straightforward to setup and use and with a decent sound. The most annoying feature is that where the sound ramps up in volume when the alarm activates. It sounded great in theory but the problem is that the alarm comes on at volume 7 ( which is about midway ) and not where it last left and cannot be adjusted. This is far too loud and wakes me up with a jump. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Philips Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Clock
Posted14 October 2014
Customer avatar
By Lynn
From:UK
Age:65 or over
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Lovely large display, compact and easy to use. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Philips Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
philips jumbo display alarm clock
Posted30 September 2014
Customer avatar
By lesley
From:hereford
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Very happy with this item,I bought after reading reviews..
Cant understand why some people think radio not good I have no problems getting a good signal,It sounds great easy to use no problems setting alarms.Lovely clock radio :)
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Philips Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Bad point
Posted24 September 2014
Customer avatar
By Howard
From:Uk
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
2 / 5
2 / 5
" When the alarm goes off at 6 am it's starts off quiet but gets louder , and wakes everyone in the house up . "
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Philips Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice and neat
Posted24 September 2014
Customer avatar
By Ironing Lady
From:Edinburgh
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" This is a great radio alarm clock. The jumbo letter are fab and I can actually see the time. Its not too bright and can even be dimmed if needed. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Philips Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
It's going back :-/
Posted20 August 2014
Customer avatar
By Lalagooner
From:Bristol, City of Bristol, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
1 / 5
1 / 5
" Disappointment all round - buttons too small, crashingly loud radio alarm with no means of turning the volume down in alarm mode, when you try to by pressing the volume button it leaps to a different function, poor sound quality on normal radio playback, flimsy aerial, preset stations are awkward to set.
Meh. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Philips Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
brilliant if you short sighted
Posted19 August 2014
Customer avatar
By Foxie
From:Fife
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Very pleased with this product for money paid "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Philips Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Good sound but bit disappointing on performance
Posted12 August 2014
Customer avatar
By Sleepy
From:Warwickshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
" The product has a good sound quality and the radio station stays in place (I live in a bad reception area) which I was really pleased about. But when set the alarm it starts off quietly then gets louder and louder until it reaches full volume, there is no way you can alter this, this wakes you up with a big start, I therefore had to take the product back. I was really disappointed as the look of it is very good and its easy to set etc. but no good for what I needed. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 Next >>>