Top-rated product

Philips AJ3400/05 Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.

<p>The Philips AJ3400/05 black alarm clock radio has a big display, so it can be situated almost anywhere in the room with still clear visibility. With a long battery life, and 10 preset stations, moving it from room to room can be done with such ease. Wake up to your favourite songs with the ability to choose alarm or radio to welcome you to the new day.</p><p>Product features:</p><ul><li>FM tuner.</li><li>10 preset stations - allows you to save your favourite radio stations in memory.</li><li>4 watts RMS - the average measurement of a speakers output.</li><li>Up to 8 hours battery life.</li><li>Dual alarm.</li><li>Wake up to alarm/radio.</li><li>Snooze function to delay alarm.</li><li>Auto time update.</li><li>Auto tune.</li></ul><p>General information:</p><ul><li>Size H7, W19.1, D10.3cm.</li><li>Mains operated or batteries required 2 x AAA (not included).</li><li>EAN: 871258166934 8.</li></ul>
Overall rating:
4.179 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(168 reviews) 164
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 168 reviews
5 Stars
81
4 Stars
59
3 Stars
14
2 Stars
5
1 Star
9
143 of 16786%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
33 Questions | 34 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Philips AJ3400/05 Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Review 1 for Philips AJ3400/05 Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Will get you up on the wrong side of the bed!
Posted21 July 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Derbyshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" The manual is poor and does not cover everything. The control buttons are difficult to see unless you are directly over the alarm. If you use the alarm, the volume level cannot be set permanently and is really annoying to try to do once the radio has switched itself on. If you switch the radio on before the alarm activates, when it reaches the alarm set time, the radio switches itself off!
I definitely would not recommend this product, and after 2 weeks I am already considering replacing it.
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Philips AJ3400/05 Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Only gives you 30 mins of radio
Posted20 July 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Bath, Bath and North East Somerset, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
2 / 5
2 / 5
" Display is great, but alarm settings fall short. Most radio alarms give you 59 mins of radio, this one only provides 30... Massively disappointing. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Philips AJ3400/05 Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent radio alarm just what I was looking for
Posted20 July 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Lancashire, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Quick and easy to set up. Nice bold display and good sound quality "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Philips AJ3400/05 Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted20 July 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Bristol
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Good purchase, didn't expect the numbers to be quite so large but really like it and the numbers are easy to see in the dark, even on the dimmed setting.
Radio sound is very good. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Philips AJ3400/05 Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
jumbo clock radio
Posted19 July 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:middlesbrough
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" display very good able to see all about the bedroom.illumination can be turn up or down annoying setting alarm "
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Philips AJ3400/05 Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Big figures alarm clock
Posted06 July 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:East Anglia
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" The numbers are massive! So easy to see during the night without having to put glasses on!
Dead simple to set up.....just followed the drawings!
Great design too.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Philips AJ3400/05 Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted06 July 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Gloucestershire, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Clear and large numbers and the brightness adjustment is a bonus. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Philips AJ3400/05 Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great clock with good clear display
Posted06 July 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Plymouth Devon
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Bought for elderly mum in law because of large clock time numbers, display is good & clear, ideal for the shortsighted! Good sound, nice design & no fiddly bits! Mains or battery is good as there's back up if you get power cut. Very happy with this product! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Philips AJ3400/05 Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Clock
Posted05 July 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Uk
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Great clock, great clear display would recommend. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Philips AJ3400/05 Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bought alarm clock it does what it said on the tin
Posted22 June 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:blackpool
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" As usual all my argos purchases have worked perfectly takes the hassle out of shopping thanks "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Philips AJ3400/05 Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good clock radio
Posted21 June 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:North Yorks
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" This is a good clock radio which was easy to set up. It has a nice big time display and is reasonably priced. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Philips AJ3400/05 Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Happy with my alarm clock
Posted15 June 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:West Sussex, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Very pleased with this alarm clock. Love the green numbers allot better then my last one that had red numbers. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Philips AJ3400/05 Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lightweight, basic clock radio
Posted15 June 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:London, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Pros:
Fairly easy to set up using the manual.
Massive LED display, but not glaringly bright!
Lightweight but sturdy.
Easily picked up pre-paid from my nearest Argos (Old St).
Cheap, from a reliable brand.
Cons:
It is quite a large clock.
I have found the signal to be temperamental (but that is probably more to do with my house!)
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Philips AJ3400/05 Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bob
Posted02 June 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Worcestershire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Very good product. Large figures but very easy to read at a distance. Silent with the dim function at night very handy. Good buy. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Philips AJ3400/05 Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted27 May 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:hampshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" best clock I have ever had for night use "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Philips AJ3400/05 Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gr8 Display Alam Radio Clock
Posted25 May 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:ENGLAND
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Great Big Display", Easy tibiae-
Great Design.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Philips AJ3400/05 Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted19 May 2016
Customer avatar
By
Age:55 to 64
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Easy to use & install battery backup very useful "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Philips AJ3400/05 Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted18 May 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Essex, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Time displayed in 24 hour mode only, unable to change to 12 hour mode "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Philips AJ3400/05 Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A nice way to be woken in a morning.
Posted18 May 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:South Yorkshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" I bought this radio alarm clock to replace one where the digits were becoming very dim, although the radio was still very clear. This radio alarm is a good replacement, easier to see the time although the radio isn't quite a clear as my old one. It's easy to set up, once you've read the instructions, the radio programmes are easily selected and the dimmer function is an added bonus. I like the design. This clock is excellent value for money and was bought in moments at my local Argos store. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Philips AJ3400/05 Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great alarm clock
Posted17 May 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Coventry
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Has a good large display. Looks very smart "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 Next >>>