Top-rated product

Philips AJ3400/05 Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.

<p>The Philips AJ3400/05 black alarm clock radio has a big display, so it can be situated almost anywhere in the room with still clear visibility. With a long battery life, and 10 preset stations, moving it from room to room can be done with such ease. Wake up to your favourite songs with the ability to choose alarm or radio to welcome you to the new day.</p><p>Product features:</p><ul><li>FM tuner.</li><li>10 preset stations - allows you to save your favourite radio stations in memory.</li><li>4 watts RMS - the average measurement of a speakers output.</li><li>Up to 8 hours battery life.</li><li>Dual alarm.</li><li>Wake up to alarm/radio.</li><li>Snooze function to delay alarm.</li><li>Auto time update.</li><li>Auto tune.</li></ul><p>General information:</p><ul><li>Size H7, W19.1, D10.3cm.</li><li>Mains operated or batteries required 2 x AAA (not included).</li><li>EAN: 871258166934 8.</li></ul>
Overall rating:
4.194 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 129 reviews
5 Stars
62
4 Stars
44
3 Stars
14
2 Stars
4
1 Star
5
110 of 12985%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
33 Questions | 33 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Philips AJ3400/05 Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Review 1 for Philips AJ3400/05 Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted28 January 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Wales, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" For an elderly person (ie me) it was easy to set up , is clearly visible without my specs, and the radio quality is good. Not a very stylish design though. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Philips AJ3400/05 Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Simple
Posted21 January 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Devon, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" What else is needed from an alarm clock. Perfect I'm out of bed. Job done "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Philips AJ3400/05 Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Sized Numbers
Posted19 January 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:West Yorkshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" The Jumbo sized numbers make this clock easy to see. It was easy to set up and the sound was OK for an inexpensive item. In the end we returned the item as we use the Sleep function to fall asleep but even on the lowest volume the sound was too loud and so was intrusive. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Philips AJ3400/05 Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
a good product, lacking good user instruction
Posted13 January 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Ipswich, Suffolk, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" We brought home this Philips and a Bush DAB, and preferred Philips for its Jumbo display and sound quality. The disappointment is the User Guide - like with any modern gadgetry or utility (including Motor Vehicles), the instructions are a joke. A few simple words will serve the user well, instead of silly figures/illustrations. Even technical people baulk at some modern user guides! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Philips AJ3400/05 Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good clear display
Posted13 January 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:West Midlands, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
2 / 5
2 / 5
" The display is very good but the two dots between the digits on the time flash continually, the clock is in 24 hour format which I like. However the buttons on the top to alter the settings are very small and the writing to indicate what each button is for is very difficult to see.
The plug has a nice long cable and plugs into the clock radio.
Overall I am pleased with the product as I only really use it as a clock. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Philips AJ3400/05 Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Quality
Posted08 January 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:England
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This radio alarm is perfect for my wife and I as we don't have to put our glasses on in the night to see the time. Good Design and Good Quality at a reasonable price "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Philips AJ3400/05 Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Philips Jumbo display alarm
Posted07 January 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Edinburgh
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Great product with respect to ease of setting it up, quality of radio sound, and perfect numeral size in viewing the time. I would recommend this product. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Philips AJ3400/05 Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Alarm clock
Posted06 January 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:London, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" The radio alarm was as described and pickup was fine "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Philips AJ3400/05 Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Does what it says.
Posted06 January 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Cheshire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" The clock is very easy to work my only down fall Is I wish the numbers weren't so big. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Philips AJ3400/05 Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Number size
Posted30 December 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:U.K.
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Alarm has lovely big numbers so is easy to read without need of spectacles. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Philips AJ3400/05 Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This product is not user friendly
Posted30 December 2015
Customer avatar
By
Age:65 or over
Sound Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
1 / 5
1 / 5
" The instructions supplied with the product ref. setting and usage are very poor
Using the alarm settings and on off controls is cumbersome . The product is over complicated
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Philips AJ3400/05 Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was bought for a pensioner
Posted29 December 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Perthshire Scotland
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" It was suitable for my 89 year old mother and we found it easy to set up for her. The size of the numbers meant she could see it easily "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Philips AJ3400/05 Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Philips Jumbo Display Alarm
Posted09 December 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:North Somerset
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Very please with this item, it is a joy when waking in the early hours to be able to read the time. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Philips AJ3400/05 Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Product
Posted02 December 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Kidderminster, Worcestershire, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Very good to see the time with the large numbers,
However it should be fitted with non slip rubber grips underneath...but on the whole it's a good Clock Radio.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Philips AJ3400/05 Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great clock
Posted01 December 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Buckinghamshire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Best radio alarm clock I've ever had, lovely clear display, sound quality for a clock is great wish I'd bought one ages ago. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Philips AJ3400/05 Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good size numbers
Posted18 November 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Kent, UK
Age:65 or over
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Large easy to read figures in hi or lo green. Can be read easily from a distance eg if positioned at the bottom of the bed. Music sound adequate. Two separate alarms a nice touch.
Impressive Argos delivery service. 4 hours, same day after buying.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Philips AJ3400/05 Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good alarm clock, could be designed better
Posted18 November 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Edinburgh, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Good clock.
Main drawbacks:
You can't feel which button is which by touch (at least the on/off button could have had a little bump# so it's not immediately obvious where to press with closed eyes/in the dark.
You can only go in one direction through the pre-set channels #not back and forth#.
Volume control does not work when the alarm is on #only when it's switched on normally; this is because volume and alarm control use the same buttons)
Alarm volume resets every time.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Philips AJ3400/05 Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Slightly confusing set up details.
Posted17 November 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:essex
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
2 / 5
2 / 5
" Once you get your head round the setting up process, it is a nice clock radio. The screen is probably a bit too big for us, but you won't need to squint when looking at it without your glasses! Still haven't worked out how to turn the alarm off though. We are just pressing all the buttons until successful! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Philips AJ3400/05 Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Large numbers
Posted10 November 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Torfaen
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Excellent larger numerals "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Philips AJ3400/05 Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great!
Posted10 November 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Southampton
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Easy to set-up/use and the sound is really good for the price of the clock. Good value. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 Next >>>