Top-rated product

Philips AJ3400/05 Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.

<p>The Philips AJ3400/05 black alarm clock radio has a big display, so it can be situated almost anywhere in the room with still clear visibility. With a long battery life, and 10 preset stations, moving it from room to room can be done with such ease. Wake up to your favourite songs with the ability to choose alarm or radio to welcome you to the new day.</p><p>Product features:</p><ul><li>FM tuner.</li><li>10 preset stations - allows you to save your favourite radio stations in memory.</li><li>4 watts RMS - the average measurement of a speakers output.</li><li>Up to 8 hours battery life.</li><li>Dual alarm.</li><li>Wake up to alarm/radio.</li><li>Snooze function to delay alarm.</li><li>Auto time update.</li><li>Auto tune.</li></ul><p>General information:</p><ul><li>Size H7, W19.1, D10.3cm.</li><li>Mains operated or batteries required 2 x AAA (not included).</li><li>EAN: 871258166934 8.</li></ul>
Overall rating:
4.177 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 141 reviews
5 Stars
67
4 Stars
49
3 Stars
14
2 Stars
5
1 Star
6
120 of 14086%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
32 Questions | 33 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Philips AJ3400/05 Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Review 1 for Philips AJ3400/05 Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JUMBO DISPLAY ALARM CLOCK RADIO
Posted26 April 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:North Acton, London W3, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" This is an excellent display clock, especially if you are partially sighted. Large, clear display. Can see from afar. Quite easy to set up. Good value for money. I was not disappointed. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Philips AJ3400/05 Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good product
Posted23 April 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Luton, Luton, Luton, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Good value for the price, relatively easy to use - storing the radio stations gave me a slight headache, but the instructions are clear and I did not expect more straightforward controls for a clock radio. The sound quality is good and setting up the alarms is easy as well; you can also adjust the brightness of the display so the light doesn't keep you up at night. I'm very happy with this purchase. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Philips AJ3400/05 Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent clock but the buttons are small
Posted19 April 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Merseyside, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Love the clock but the alarm buttons are small and hard to find at 5 in the morning. The first 2 mornings I had it I ended up pulling the plug out to stop it, as I was pushing everything I could find, and making all sorts of noises (alarms and non tuned radio stations). However it was easy to set up and now that I'm used to it, I love it. The alarm itself is a gentle noise building to a crescendo, but it's good enough to wake me up when it's quite low and therefore doesn't disturb anyone else "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Philips AJ3400/05 Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good product for price
Posted19 April 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Manchester
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Clock purchased for my father who is 85.
Good clear display, easy to read without his glasses at night.
Good sound quality and easy setup.
Good quality product for the price
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Philips AJ3400/05 Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice bright clear clock
Posted05 April 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Horsham, Horsham, West Sussex, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Have found it hard to find a nice size display and easy to see at night, I don't use the radio part of it. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Philips AJ3400/05 Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what I wanted
Posted29 March 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:East Riding of Yorkshire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I needed a good quality clock radio and this just seemed to fit the bill. It's a smart and tidy clock that keeps time and the tone of the radio is very good. I would recommend this item. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Philips AJ3400/05 Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent sized numerals
Posted16 March 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Leicester, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Neat clock/radio. Easy to set up. Radio quality pretty good for its size. Numerals excellent especially if your sight isn't as good as it should be. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Philips AJ3400/05 Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted09 February 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Harrow, Greater London, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Great purchase, this light really does work, it gently wakes you up before the alarm goes off and you wake feeling much better than a normal alarm, also the light is great for a normal light and is better than a normal light as you can have the light level to your own setting "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Philips AJ3400/05 Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted28 January 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Wales, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" For an elderly person (ie me) it was easy to set up , is clearly visible without my specs, and the radio quality is good. Not a very stylish design though. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Philips AJ3400/05 Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Simple
Posted21 January 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Devon, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" What else is needed from an alarm clock. Perfect I'm out of bed. Job done "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Philips AJ3400/05 Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Sized Numbers
Posted19 January 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:West Yorkshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" The Jumbo sized numbers make this clock easy to see. It was easy to set up and the sound was OK for an inexpensive item. In the end we returned the item as we use the Sleep function to fall asleep but even on the lowest volume the sound was too loud and so was intrusive. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Philips AJ3400/05 Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
a good product, lacking good user instruction
Posted13 January 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Ipswich, Suffolk, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" We brought home this Philips and a Bush DAB, and preferred Philips for its Jumbo display and sound quality. The disappointment is the User Guide - like with any modern gadgetry or utility (including Motor Vehicles), the instructions are a joke. A few simple words will serve the user well, instead of silly figures/illustrations. Even technical people baulk at some modern user guides! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Philips AJ3400/05 Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good clear display
Posted13 January 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:West Midlands, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
2 / 5
2 / 5
" The display is very good but the two dots between the digits on the time flash continually, the clock is in 24 hour format which I like. However the buttons on the top to alter the settings are very small and the writing to indicate what each button is for is very difficult to see.
The plug has a nice long cable and plugs into the clock radio.
Overall I am pleased with the product as I only really use it as a clock. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Philips AJ3400/05 Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Quality
Posted08 January 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:England
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This radio alarm is perfect for my wife and I as we don't have to put our glasses on in the night to see the time. Good Design and Good Quality at a reasonable price "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Philips AJ3400/05 Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Philips Jumbo display alarm
Posted07 January 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Edinburgh
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Great product with respect to ease of setting it up, quality of radio sound, and perfect numeral size in viewing the time. I would recommend this product. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Philips AJ3400/05 Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Alarm clock
Posted06 January 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:London, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" The radio alarm was as described and pickup was fine "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Philips AJ3400/05 Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Does what it says.
Posted06 January 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Cheshire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" The clock is very easy to work my only down fall Is I wish the numbers weren't so big. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Philips AJ3400/05 Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Number size
Posted30 December 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:U.K.
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Alarm has lovely big numbers so is easy to read without need of spectacles. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Philips AJ3400/05 Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This product is not user friendly
Posted30 December 2015
Customer avatar
By
Age:65 or over
Sound Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
1 / 5
1 / 5
" The instructions supplied with the product ref. setting and usage are very poor
Using the alarm settings and on off controls is cumbersome . The product is over complicated
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Philips AJ3400/05 Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was bought for a pensioner
Posted29 December 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Perthshire Scotland
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" It was suitable for my 89 year old mother and we found it easy to set up for her. The size of the numbers meant she could see it easily "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 Next >>>