Top-rated product

Philips Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.

<p>With a jumbo display alarm clock radio, this Philips player coated in black can be situated almost anywhere in the room with still clear visibility. With 8 hours battery life, and 10 preset stations, moving it from room to room can be done with such ease. Wake up to your favourite morning songs with the ability to choose alarm or radio to welcome you to the new day.</p><p>Product features:</p><ul><li>FM tuner.</li><li>10 preset stations - allows you to save your favourite radio stations in memory.</li><li>4 watts RMS - the average measurement of a speakers output.</li><li>Up to 8 hours battery life.</li><li>Dual alarm.</li><li>Wake up to alarm/radio.</li><li>Snooze function to delay alarm.</li><li>Auto time update.</li><li>Auto tune.</li></ul><p>General information:</p><ul><li>Size H7, W19.1, D10.3cm.</li><li>Mains operated or batteries required 2 x AAA (not included).</li><li>EAN: 871258166934 8.</li></ul>
Overall rating:
4.2 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 50 reviews
5 Stars
27
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
1
1 Star
3
40 of 5080%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
21 Questions | 21 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Philips Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Review 1 for Philips Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Posted18 October 2014
Customer avatar
By SD
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Good looking clock with huge numbers that illuminate dark rooms quite nicely, even on the lowest settings. Straightforward to setup and use and with a decent sound. The most annoying feature is that where the sound ramps up in volume when the alarm activates. It sounded great in theory but the problem is that the alarm comes on at volume 7 ( which is about midway ) and not where it last left and cannot be adjusted. This is far too loud and wakes me up with a jump."
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Philips Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Clock
Posted14 October 2014
Customer avatar
By Lynn
From:UK
Age:65 or over
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Lovely large display, compact and easy to use."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Philips Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
philips jumbo display alarm clock
Posted30 September 2014
Customer avatar
By lesley
From:hereford
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Very happy with this item,I bought after reading reviews..
Cant understand why some people think radio not good I have no problems getting a good signal,It sounds great easy to use no problems setting alarms.Lovely clock radio :)
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Philips Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Bad point
Posted24 September 2014
Customer avatar
By Howard
From:Uk
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
2 / 5
2 / 5
"When the alarm goes off at 6 am it's starts off quiet but gets louder , and wakes everyone in the house up ."
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Philips Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice and neat
Posted24 September 2014
Customer avatar
By Ironing Lady
From:Edinburgh
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"This is a great radio alarm clock. The jumbo letter are fab and I can actually see the time. Its not too bright and can even be dimmed if needed."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Philips Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
It's going back :-/
Posted20 August 2014
Customer avatar
By Lalagooner
From:Bristol, City of Bristol, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"Disappointment all round - buttons too small, crashingly loud radio alarm with no means of turning the volume down in alarm mode, when you try to by pressing the volume button it leaps to a different function, poor sound quality on normal radio playback, flimsy aerial, preset stations are awkward to set.
Meh."
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Philips Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
brilliant if you short sighted
Posted19 August 2014
Customer avatar
By Foxie
From:Fife
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Very pleased with this product for money paid"
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Philips Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Good sound but bit disappointing on performance
Posted12 August 2014
Customer avatar
By Sleepy
From:Warwickshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"The product has a good sound quality and the radio station stays in place (I live in a bad reception area) which I was really pleased about. But when set the alarm it starts off quietly then gets louder and louder until it reaches full volume, there is no way you can alter this, this wakes you up with a big start, I therefore had to take the product back. I was really disappointed as the look of it is very good and its easy to set etc. but no good for what I needed."
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Philips Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Value Basic Radio Alarm
Posted12 August 2014
Customer avatar
By DavidL
From:Middlesex
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"When the tuner on my (much more expensive) radio alarm clock started to play up i decided it was time to replace it with one having a digital tuner.
It was simple to set up and I didn't even need to unwind the aerial wire to get good radio reception.
I would have no hesitation in buying another one, and probably will for my guest bedroom.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Philips Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
phillip Clocks jumbo Alarm
Posted16 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Misty
From:Cambridgeshire, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"very good,
Apart from the starting volume which is too loud would have been better to have been set at level one instead of level seven
as it is very noisy when it starts especially in the middle of the night when it is very quiet
has a nice large clock easy to see in the night
Controls are small if you have bad eye sight
nice sound
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Philips Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wake up
Posted15 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Lateman
From:London, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Great clock, easy setup just one thing that bothers me, it is very light in weight so I put two batteries in it to weigh it down otherwise it seems to skate across smooth surfaces very easily."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Philips Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Digital Clock
Posted08 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Jillie1501
From:Aberdeenshire, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Great clock & does everything it says. It has the dual alarm which is great as my husband & I get up at different times."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Philips Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very easy to set up and use
Posted01 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Margie13
From:West Midlands, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Very good alarm clock radio for the price. Took it out of the box and had set it up within 5 minutes, instruction leaflet had diagrams to show you how. Jumbo display excellent to read in the night when haven't got my glasses on and dimmable so it is not too bright. Good value for the price."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Philips Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice little radio alarm.
Posted21 May 2014
Customer avatar
By Ginny.
From:Lancashire. UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Takes up very little space but has everything you need. Easy to set up with no problems. Sound is good, you don't need it too loud when you're going to sleep. Didn't realise digits would be quite as large but not a problem,"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Philips Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very clear display and easy to use.
Posted21 May 2014
Customer avatar
By rlm0206
From:Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"The extremely large numbers are easy to read, even for people like myself who are very short-sighted (and don't wear glasses in bed!). The clock is very easy to set up and gives reasonable FM reception. It replaces an over-complicated DAB alarm which had poor reception. I would recommend this as a very functional radio alarm."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Philips Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Hugo
Posted29 April 2014
Customer avatar
By Hugo
From:Northamptonshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"The instructions with this radio are pathetic. I am quite competent to set this type of radio up but have still not mastered it after 3 weeks. Buttons are very small."
No, I do not recommend this product.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Philips Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very good does what it says!
Posted23 April 2014
Customer avatar
By JP
Age:45 to 54
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"It is very easy to set up. The numbers are a great size which is what I needed. It is great that you can alter the brightness too.
It is a simple product that does what it says it will.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Philips Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well worth the money!!
Posted23 April 2014
Customer avatar
By The Raven
From:Scottish Highlands, , UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Product arrived on morning of the day that I specified. First class service!
Clock is one of the best purchases that I have made. Clear display without being over bright and keeps excellent time, even after a ten hour power outage.
Recommend highly!!
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Philips Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Easy to Use
Posted15 April 2014
Customer avatar
By Insomnia
From:North East
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Easy to use with a small amount of buttons, only problem is the alarm volume can’t be set low, it becomes louder and louder the longer you leave it."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Philips Jumbo Display Alarm Clock Radio - Black.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Posted08 April 2014
Customer avatar
By Bee
From:Kent, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"Do not like no am or pm on it"
No, I do not recommend this product.
-6points
0of 6voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 Next >>>