Top-rated product
Sorry this product is currently unavailable. Please visit Argos for similar products.

Hitachi HXT12U 42 In Full HD1080p FVHD LED TV + Smart Apps.

<p>This Hitachi 42 Inch TV with Smart apps boasts Full High Definition 1080p picture quality on a contemporary and sleek design. This TV offers you a range of fantastic online content to keep you and your family entertained. Enjoy even more of your favourite programmes with integrated Freeview HD, allowing you to view over 50 subscription free channels in stunning Full HD.</p><p>Top 5 Smart Apps include: BBC iPlayer, Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, Flickr.</p><p>Television picture quality:</p><ul><li>Screen size: 42 inches</li><li>Motion rate 50Hz.</li><li>Response time 15 milliseconds.</li><li>Viewing angle 178/178 degrees.</li><li>Resolution 1920 x 1080 pixels.</li></ul><p>Connectivity:</p><ul><li>1 SCART socket, 2 USB ports and 2 HDMI sockets.</li><li>Smart TV.</li><li>PC input socket.</li><li>Composite.</li><li>Headphone socket.</li><li>AV socket.</li><li>Requires Wi-Fi dongle (sold separately).</li><li>Ethernet connection.</li><li>DLNA compatibility.</li><li>Suitable for wall mounting 200 x 200 bracket.</li></ul><p>Sound quality:</p><ul><li>NICAM sound system.</li><li>2 x 8 watts RMS power output.</li></ul><p>Digital features:</p><ul><li>Freeview HD digital tuner.</li><li>7 day electronic programme guide (EPG).</li><li>CI+ slot.</li></ul><p>Additional features:</p><ul><li>Sleep timer.</li><li>Child lock.</li><li>Size of TV H57, W97, D10cm.</li><li>Weight of TV 11kg (unpackaged).</li><li>Size of TV with stand: H61, W97, D22cm.</li><li>Weight of TV with stand: 11kg.</li></ul><p>Energy efficiency information:</p><ul><li>Energy efficiency rating: A.</li><li>On mode power consumption 69 watts.</li><li>Annual power consumption 100kWh.</li><li>Standby power consumption 0.5 watt.</li></ul><p>EAN: 1474680</p>
Overall rating:
4.423 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 407 reviews
5 Stars
251
4 Stars
111
3 Stars
22
2 Stars
12
1 Star
11
364 of 40789%would recommend to a friend
Sort by Customer reviews for Hitachi HXT12U 42 In Full HD1080p FVHD LED TV + Smart Apps.
Review 1 for Hitachi HXT12U 42 In Full HD1080p FVHD LED TV + Smart Apps.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good value
Posted27 January 2015
Customer avatar
By still rockin
From:Northamptonshire, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
" have had this tv for a couple of weeks now haven't got onto internet with it yet not easy to follow instructions hopefully my son is going to help with this, remote mute button plays up could do with a new remote will have to look who to call for this must be a number somewhere, otherwise nice picture.. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hitachi HXT12U 42 In Full HD1080p FVHD LED TV + Smart Apps.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good value for money
Posted23 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Ahmad.
From:Saint Ives, Saint Ives, Cambridgeshire PE27, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
" It is a cheap HD TV but with alot of and all basic features. It is as smart as it can go. It has DLNA for mobile or laptop mirroring.
Do not compare its graphics with Samsung - they are in a different league. But it is good enough.
I think it is a low budget tv with good value for money and up to date technological features (except built in wifi). "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hitachi HXT12U 42 In Full HD1080p FVHD LED TV + Smart Apps.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
can't download ITV player
Posted15 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Mother Goose
From:Lincolnshire, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
" TV fine but can't download ITV player -very disappointed! "
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hitachi HXT12U 42 In Full HD1080p FVHD LED TV + Smart Apps.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Not a smart TV, but a wonderful experience!
Posted14 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Karabiner
From:Great Yarmouth, Norfolk, UK
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" The viewing angles on this LCD are excellent. Wherever I am in the room, the image is consistent, about on par with plasma!
The brightness and colour are astounding. For the price I expected washed-out tones and dim images, but was delighted when I turned on the set to see the room somewhat filled with light.
The thin bezels make it look modern and sleek, and the PC connectivity renders each pixel sharply and definitely. Movies look AMAZING.
For the price you cannot go wrong! Thankyou, Argos! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
I also recommend:
Hitachi HXT12U 42 In Full HD1080p FVHD LED TV + Smart Apps.
4.4 out of 5(407)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hitachi HXT12U 42 In Full HD1080p FVHD LED TV + Smart Apps.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted09 January 2015
Customer avatar
By t.c.Kent
From:Kent, UK
Age:65 or over
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Connectivity 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" sound is diabolical , its like a loud speaker in a dustbin, had to buuy a seperate sound bar. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hitachi HXT12U 42 In Full HD1080p FVHD LED TV + Smart Apps.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Quality
Posted06 January 2015
Customer avatar
By vickie Singh
From:Wealdstone, Harrow, Harrow, Greater London HA3, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I bought this T.V before 6 months and i will say this is a great TV with great picture quality and value of money. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hitachi HXT12U 42 In Full HD1080p FVHD LED TV + Smart Apps.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Worth every penny
Posted03 December 2014
Customer avatar
By Timmo
From:welling
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" firstly check length of power lead as it is short for wall mounted fixing. If you are fixing too established wall mounting you will need to buy different size screws to fit to bracket as they have changed size at back of tv to M6 screw the question got asked a lot on here but was never answered. The sound is only tinny if you have it on full volume,which I never need to do. This is a good buy! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hitachi HXT12U 42 In Full HD1080p FVHD LED TV + Smart Apps.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it
Posted11 November 2014
Customer avatar
By cassie
From:London, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Love this TV I brought a lead and linked it up to my Internet and it's gr8 being able to use the Internet thro ur tv the typing process is a tad slow tho "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hitachi HXT12U 42 In Full HD1080p FVHD LED TV + Smart Apps.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
smart tv
Posted15 October 2014
Customer avatar
By pabear
From:Oxfordshire, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" really good value tv.Easy to set up "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hitachi HXT12U 42 In Full HD1080p FVHD LED TV + Smart Apps.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good telly
Posted30 September 2014
Customer avatar
By Gollysailor
From:Yorkshire, England
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Needed a bigger telly (Rugby World Cup's coming up!) with a Freeview HD tuner.
Good telly at a keen price and easy to reserve and pickup from a local store
But I haven't found how to switch it off yet......
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hitachi HXT12U 42 In Full HD1080p FVHD LED TV + Smart Apps.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hittachi hxt12u
Posted30 September 2014
Customer avatar
By phil
From:west midlands
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" great price and service from Argos
easy connectivity and set up smart apps really good i player particularly good
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Hitachi HXT12U 42 In Full HD1080p FVHD LED TV + Smart Apps.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hitachi
Posted29 September 2014
Customer avatar
By motophan
From:Chesterfield, Derbyshire, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" This TV is pretty good, although some of the functionality leaves a bit to be desired. You cant watch a program and scroll through whats on next, without completely closing the screen, and not all features are available on internet settings. Sound is okay quality but tends to vibrate at higher levels.
Great picture though and pretty fast response rate.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Hitachi HXT12U 42 In Full HD1080p FVHD LED TV + Smart Apps.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great for the price
Posted21 September 2014
Customer avatar
By paul
From:leigh,lancs
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Bought this tv in the sale as my original tv was irreparable, sound is good as is the picture, my main issue is connecting to the internet or streaming film/pictures through the WiFi dongle(sold Separately) it often disconnects and on times the tv is not findable when searching for it through your phone/tablet. The hdmi and other outlets to rear of tv are quite snug against my wall when connected didn't have this with my last tv(Bush) as the connectors were deeper into the casing. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Hitachi HXT12U 42 In Full HD1080p FVHD LED TV + Smart Apps.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Loving it!
Posted16 September 2014
Customer avatar
By cuffgod
From:South Yorkshire
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Very impressed with this. Extremely easy set-up of the FreeviewHD and the Wi-fi! Sound quality is great, picture is excellent and it looks lovely even switched off. Already told lots of my friends and family about it. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Hitachi HXT12U 42 In Full HD1080p FVHD LED TV + Smart Apps.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Television
Posted09 September 2014
Customer avatar
By excellent all round
From:uk
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I was very happy with this t.v and the excellent help from the lovely young lady , only gripe is that the next week the price reduced by £30 ! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Hitachi HXT12U 42 In Full HD1080p FVHD LED TV + Smart Apps.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted04 September 2014
Customer avatar
By sid9553
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Looks great, great visuals too. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Hitachi HXT12U 42 In Full HD1080p FVHD LED TV + Smart Apps.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
brilliant buy.
Posted02 September 2014
Customer avatar
By supersal
From:uk
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" this tv has everything i wanted from a H.D tv, and it was excellent value. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Hitachi HXT12U 42 In Full HD1080p FVHD LED TV + Smart Apps.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great TV
Posted28 August 2014
Customer avatar
By Chan
From:Birmingham, West Midlands, UK
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" If you are looking for a good screen, sound and picture then this TV is perfect, however if your are looking for a modern smart tv I wouldn't recommended, you cannot add additional apps and the only one's I can use are youtube and BBC I player, netflix etc are not available.
Overall a great buy for a TV size upgrade
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Hitachi HXT12U 42 In Full HD1080p FVHD LED TV + Smart Apps.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Not bad for the money
Posted27 August 2014
Customer avatar
By JK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Good product but sound quality is a little tinny - May invest in a sound bar but overall a good product for the money paid "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Hitachi HXT12U 42 In Full HD1080p FVHD LED TV + Smart Apps.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great product
Posted27 August 2014
Customer avatar
By mickyd124
From:County Durham, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" picture and ease of use if fantastic but sound is tinny unless you got a sound bar to hook it up to "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 20 Next >>>