Top-rated product

Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.

<p>Shoot detailed photos and HD movies with ease using the compact, family-friendly Canon PowerShot SX170 IS 16x Zoom 16MP Digital Camera. Intelligent IS ensures sharp results even at long zoom. Experiment and have fun with a range of creative filters including Miniature and Toy Camera Effect, Fish-eye effect and Super Vivid.</p><p>Model number SX170 IS</p><p>Product specification:</p><ul><li>16 megapixels.</li><li>16x optical zoom.</li><li>32x digital zoom.</li><li>28-448mmmm wide angle lens.</li><li>3in LCD screen.</li><li>Continuous shooting up to 0.5 frames per second.</li><li>Image stabilisation.</li><li>Red eye reduction.</li><li>PictBridge compatible.</li></ul><p>Features:</p><ul><li>720p high definition video capture and playback with sound.</li><li>Maximum ISO 1600.</li><li>Intelligent scene mode.</li><li>Self timer.</li><li>Built-in flash.</li></ul><p>Memory card compatability: </p><ul><li>SD, SDHC, SDXC, compact flash.</li></ul><p>General information:</p><ul><li>Size H7.2, W11.1cm.</li><li>Weight 291g.</li><li>Depth 4.4cm (when switched off).</li><li>Batteries required: 1 x Li-Ion (included).</li><li>Colour: red.</li><li>Includes carry strap.</li></ul>
Overall rating:
4.605 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 86 reviews
5 Stars
63
4 Stars
17
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
78 of 8691%would recommend to a friend
Sort by Customer reviews for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Review 1 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
First camera i can get my head around
Posted22 July 2014
Customer avatar
By BOB
From:england
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is the First camera i can get my head around easy to use and good zoom just Brill"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fabulous looking camera
Posted22 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Ally
From:Edinburgh
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"great camera , takes excellent pictures, looks good"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great camera
Posted16 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Annie82
From:Grimsby
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is a fantastic camera. The zoom is amazing! Clear pictures even when my hands shake. Really easy to use as I am not the most technical minded.
This camera is alittle heavier than i'm used to but thats the only downside so far.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Macro shots
Posted15 July 2014
Customer avatar
By mistymurky
Age:35 to 44
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Wanted a reasonably priced camera to put in my pocket that took good macro shots. Was finding it really difficult to get any information on this. On recommendation from a friend I bought this and it does just the job. Find if I put the dial to 'live' with macro it focuses perfectly and gives great results."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Simple but versatile and effective
Posted10 July 2014
Customer avatar
By TarmacJunkie
From:Cornwall, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"At the offer price this seems very good value, looking and feeling like a "proper" camera. Simple Auto mode for point and shoot, but with manual options for more creative photos. ong-lasting rechargeable battery a bonus, although lack of interface lead a bit mean."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Good
Posted08 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Wilko
From:Stoke on Trent
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Recently got this as a gift for myself. Loved the colour of the shell. East to use, comes with rechargeable battery, similar to one you get in a mobile phone, and mains charger. No fear it works from 110 volts through to 240 volts. So with the right plug adapter you can use the charger in any country. Has a really extensive zoom as well as be able to use in Macro mode for detailed very close up shots. Has various settings you can set manually to give a few different effects. Also has Auto shoot."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great buy.
Posted08 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Patricia
From:Lincolnshire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This camera takes great photographs, it's easy to use and not too big for my handbag. I love the red too."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted02 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Spiral step
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"This camera is so far so good, takes good quality pictures even when zoomed in, for the price well worth it"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A fine little camera
Posted01 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Frosty
From:Nottinghamshire, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Excellent little camera for holiday snaps and site pictures. Nice and small and fits in the pocket well"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ideal for holidays
Posted24 June 2014
Customer avatar
By granny B
From:Scotland, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Love this camera. photos are very professional - no shaky blurred photos and 16 x zoom is brilliant
onlyimprovement would be a viewfinder as unable to see screen in bright light"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Canon Powershot is neat and handy
Posted24 June 2014
Customer avatar
By Gennny
From:U.K.
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"No problem except a written guide for use by the older person would be good. II`s extremely nice to handle."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
canon powershot
Posted19 June 2014
Customer avatar
By JULIA
From:wiltshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"First class service and great little camera"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product
Posted18 June 2014
Customer avatar
By PMcK
From:Dungannon, Dungannon and South Tyrone BT71, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Very satisfied with this camera."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
lovely camera and easy to use
Posted10 June 2014
Customer avatar
By susan
From:cambridgeshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"i brought this camera for myself as my other one had stopped working. after reading the reviews on the canon powershot sx170 is 16mp , i decided that this one i liked. the price was very good, camera is not to heavy to hold (as i suffer with arthritis in my hand) very easy to get on with.
would recommend."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Camera
Posted03 June 2014
Customer avatar
By Jan01
From:Wigan, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Seems good, not used it yet."
Yes, I recommend this product.
-9points
0of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to use
Posted03 June 2014
Customer avatar
By ADAPTAMAN
From:Bristol
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"all very good the only improvement would be the carry strap, used the one off my old camera, more like a strap, the one that comes with the camera is more like a string
although I have not used it a great deal all results so far are good
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Powershot SX170
Posted28 May 2014
Customer avatar
By Seth
From:Buckinghamshire, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
"Bought as a gift for my 9-year old daughter, and worth every penny. Extraordinary value for money for the spec, and a very capable little camera. She's taken 100's of photos, and her favourite is one of a Tawny Owl napping about 30 foot up a tree. Great zoom and image stabilisation."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SX170
Posted27 May 2014
Customer avatar
By Vallie
Age:55 to 64
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Excellent little camera. I am a Canon fan anyway - this is a great little camera."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Easy to handle
Posted27 May 2014
Customer avatar
By Jane10
From:Vale of Glamorgan, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I found this product easy to handle and was able to start taking pictures straight away without any fuss.
The instructions were easy to understand and it has all the features that I require for my purposes.
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
EASY TO USE
Posted22 May 2014
Customer avatar
By South london
From:Lambeth
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This camera is lightweight and has a decent zoom. I required better close up images for my hobby and this camera does the job. Clear pictures, nice sized viewing screen and easy to use functions. The battery compartment however is a little fiddly to open compared to my previous Cannon camera."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 Next >>>