Top-rated product

Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.

<p>Shoot detailed photos and HD movies with ease using the compact, family-friendly Canon PowerShot SX170 IS 16x Zoom 16MP Digital Camera. Intelligent IS ensures sharp results even at long zoom. Experiment and have fun with a range of creative filters including Miniature and Toy Camera Effect, Fish-eye effect and Super Vivid.</p><p>Model number SX170 IS</p><p>Product specification:</p><ul><li>16 megapixels.</li><li>16x optical zoom.</li><li>32x digital zoom.</li><li>28-448mmmm wide angle lens.</li><li>3in LCD screen.</li><li>Continuous shooting up to 0.5 frames per second.</li><li>Image stabilisation.</li><li>Red eye reduction.</li><li>PictBridge compatible.</li></ul><p>Features:</p><ul><li>720p high definition video capture and playback with sound.</li><li>Maximum ISO 1600.</li><li>Intelligent scene mode.</li><li>Self timer.</li><li>Built-in flash.</li></ul><p>Memory card compatability: </p><ul><li>SD, SDHC, SDXC, compact flash.</li></ul><p>General information:</p><ul><li>Size H7.2, W11.1cm.</li><li>Weight 291g.</li><li>Depth 4.4cm (when switched off).</li><li>Batteries required: 1 x Li-Ion (included).</li><li>Colour: red.</li><li>Includes carry strap.</li></ul>
Overall rating:
4.65 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 266 reviews
5 Stars
196
4 Stars
56
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
1
1 Star
4
251 of 26694%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 9 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Review 1 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Canon sx170is
Posted25 November 2014
Customer avatar
By rick49
From:West Yorkshire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Bought this camera for my holiday's, so have not really used it to its full potential yet. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
what one say ( Brillllllllllllllllllllllllllllllll
Posted19 November 2014
Customer avatar
By dorrinevil
From:soton.England hill lane
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Received free product:Yes
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Brill very easy to use good pictures compact easy to follow instructions. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
a lovely starter camera
Posted18 November 2014
Customer avatar
By busymum
From:Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire, UK
Age:35 to 44
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" My son saved and got this as my older daughter has one..it takes great clear pics and is easy to use "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great camera for an amateur
Posted30 September 2014
Customer avatar
By manimag
From:Surrey, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This is a great camera for the price. Simple to use with the 'auto' setting but can also be used as a manual camera with lots of different features for those who are more hands on. Picture quality is good even on close ups and although some may not like the fact that you have to manually open the flash, I liked being able to decide if I wanted to use flash or not. I am really pleased with this camera which lived up to all the reviews I read before purchasing and at half price is a very good buy. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Camera for average Price
Posted22 September 2014
Customer avatar
By Rainer
From:Great Yarmouth
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Here you have an better than average camera with all the features needed. The only concern is the lens protection shutter which is quite flimsy and has failed on a previous Canon camea with the same setup. Its easy to use and the rechargeable battery does last long. I recommend the offered Canon bag on offer from ARGOS as it fits nicely into that. I do can recommend this camera. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cracking camera!
Posted16 September 2014
Customer avatar
By Tanya224
From:Milton Keynes
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This camera was bought for holiday use and was fantastic! Having an SLR it was really nice to be able to just whip the camera out and snap! It's lovely looking, compact and very easy to use. Found it a bit strange lifting the flash flap manually but the screen reminds you to do it which I found helpful. There's not many settings but using the automatic setting was good. Has some lovely unexpected features such as fisheye too! All in all a basic, easy to use brilliant camera. You can't go wrong! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cannon Powershot SX170
Posted09 September 2014
Customer avatar
By George
From:Manchester
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Good, compact, excellent zoom and clarity.
Well recommended. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sturdy no frills camera
Posted19 October 2014
Customer avatar
By Surfy
From:Northants
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I use this as work camera so wanted it to be robust. Whilst it will not win prizes for speed or features it is easy to use and picture quality is good. The body is chunky and slightly heavy but has survived several knocks. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A very good camera
Posted27 August 2014
Customer avatar
By Lofty
From:Plymouth, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" A well balanced product. Excellent features, easy to handle and a good range in the menu. Quality throughout the product a very good buy. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Power Shot Camera
Posted27 August 2014
Customer avatar
By Sam85
From:Bierton, Aylesbury, Buckinghamshire, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Great light weight camera, fantastic zoom, very easy to use even my five year old can take photos. Photos come out brilliant. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what i needed.
Posted08 October 2014
Customer avatar
By Sophieee
From:Lancashire
Age:18 to 24
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I bought this for my upcoming holiday to Disney World Florida, after a trial run of the camera it seems to be just what i needed, the pictures are of good quality, the settings are easy to grasp and the different picture settings are useful especially as I'm wanting to get some good ones of the fireworks and other nighttime pictures. The only downside is the sound seems to be a little on the quite side. Other than that the video quality itself is good.
Can't wait to use it on holiday!
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent purchase
Posted07 October 2014
Customer avatar
By Bernie
From:London
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" This camera but has some excellent features, and I particularly like the 16X zoom, which was my main requirement. Focus can blur when moving up to maximum zoom, but that's only for a moment or two.So far I've only used auto settings, but you can choose manual settings The wrist-strap is incredibly fiddly to attach; I had to use dental floss. Can't think why Canon don't either attach it or re-design the attachment point! There's no USB cable supplied. This camera is excellent value for money. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
I also recommend:
 
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Canon Can
Posted20 August 2014
Customer avatar
By Canon Man
From:Lymm, Warrington, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This compact has an amazing optical zoom which lets you get the shot you want. It also has many shooting modes that work like a Digital SLR camera - e.g. aperture or shutter speed priority - so if you want to move from a compact to a DSLR it would be a brilliant way to learn the principles. (There's also a full auto mode to keep things easy). I own a Canon DSLR and love this baby brother. One gripe - it doesn't come with a USB cable, which you have to buy separately. It's worth it. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product is an excellent camera
Posted30 September 2014
Customer avatar
By Mark
From:Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Really good easy to use and feature packed. Picture quality is brilliant and would definitely recommend.
My only issue is that the FPS is very slow. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SEEMS LIKE A GOOD DEAL
Posted12 August 2014
Customer avatar
By Jimbob1948
From:North Yorkshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Existing camera packed up. Going to a new holiday destination. Wanted a reasonable new one of reputable make at good price. This fitted the bill. Haven't used it extensively yet as there are something like 139 pages of manual to download first, and digest! However, from the few trial photos taken, seems ok so far with good zoom. Pity it didn't come with a case, but will pick one somewhere along the line. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
brilliant camera
Posted07 August 2014
Customer avatar
By clp25
From:Bridgend, Bridgend, Bridgend, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" great camera and easy to use once you know how to "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Parts missing
Posted05 August 2014
Customer avatar
By oana21r
From:London, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Build Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I receive no cable data with it "
No, I do not recommend this product.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money and a quality camera
Posted05 August 2014
Customer avatar
By Daffy
From:Ipswich
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Bought for daughter who is extremely pleased with it. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
intermittent fault on mine
Posted05 August 2014
Customer avatar
By Jan A
From:Bishop Auckland, County Durham
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" nice camera if you want something small - but mine started glitching a couple of months into using it. Screen not focussing but getting sick of waiting and clicking anyway, picture took ok.
then it started to get slower in taking the picture from doing the time of doing the click, and the moment is missed - so now its only good for taking static poses and scenery. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
canon powershot sx170
Posted16 September 2014
Customer avatar
By gardener
From:Wiltshire, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" really pleased with it so far, not learnt all the settings yet, but practicing! its an easy camera to hold, the settings give you a quick idea of what feature to use.
nice and light, a good buy.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 Next >>>