Top-rated product

Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.

<p>Shoot detailed photos and HD movies with ease using the compact, family-friendly Canon PowerShot SX170 IS 16x Zoom 16MP Digital Camera. Intelligent IS ensures sharp results even at long zoom. Experiment and have fun with a range of creative filters including Miniature and Toy Camera Effect, Fish-eye effect and Super Vivid.</p><p>Model number SX170 IS</p><p>Product specification:</p><ul><li>16 megapixels.</li><li>16x optical zoom.</li><li>32x digital zoom.</li><li>28-448mmmm wide angle lens.</li><li>3in LCD screen.</li><li>Continuous shooting up to 0.5 frames per second.</li><li>Image stabilisation.</li><li>Red eye reduction.</li><li>PictBridge compatible.</li></ul><p>Features:</p><ul><li>720p high definition video capture and playback with sound.</li><li>Maximum ISO 1600.</li><li>Intelligent scene mode.</li><li>Self timer.</li><li>Built-in flash.</li></ul><p>Memory card compatability: </p><ul><li>SD, SDHC, SDXC, compact flash.</li></ul><p>General information:</p><ul><li>Size H7.2, W11.1cm.</li><li>Weight 291g.</li><li>Depth 4.4cm (when switched off).</li><li>Batteries required: 1 x Li-Ion (included).</li><li>Colour: red.</li><li>Includes carry strap.</li></ul>
Overall rating:
4.618 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 110 reviews
5 Stars
82
4 Stars
19
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
99 of 11090%would recommend to a friend
Sort by Customer reviews for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Review 1 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cannon Powershot SX170
Posted09 September 2014
Customer avatar
By George
From:Manchester
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Good, compact, excellent zoom and clarity.
Well recommended."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A very good camera
Posted27 August 2014
Customer avatar
By Lofty
From:Plymouth, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"A well balanced product. Excellent features, easy to handle and a good range in the menu. Quality throughout the product a very good buy."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Power Shot Camera
Posted27 August 2014
Customer avatar
By Sam85
From:Bierton, Aylesbury, Buckinghamshire, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Great light weight camera, fantastic zoom, very easy to use even my five year old can take photos. Photos come out brilliant."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Canon Can
Posted20 August 2014
Customer avatar
By Canon Man
From:Lymm, Warrington, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This compact has an amazing optical zoom which lets you get the shot you want. It also has many shooting modes that work like a Digital SLR camera - e.g. aperture or shutter speed priority - so if you want to move from a compact to a DSLR it would be a brilliant way to learn the principles. (There's also a full auto mode to keep things easy). I own a Canon DSLR and love this baby brother. One gripe - it doesn't come with a USB cable, which you have to buy separately. It's worth it."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SEEMS LIKE A GOOD DEAL
Posted12 August 2014
Customer avatar
By Jimbob1948
From:North Yorkshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"Existing camera packed up. Going to a new holiday destination. Wanted a reasonable new one of reputable make at good price. This fitted the bill. Haven't used it extensively yet as there are something like 139 pages of manual to download first, and digest! However, from the few trial photos taken, seems ok so far with good zoom. Pity it didn't come with a case, but will pick one somewhere along the line."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
brilliant camera
Posted07 August 2014
Customer avatar
By clp25
From:Bridgend, Bridgend, Bridgend, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"great camera and easy to use once you know how to"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Parts missing
Posted05 August 2014
Customer avatar
By oana21r
From:London, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Build Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I receive no cable data with it"
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money and a quality camera
Posted05 August 2014
Customer avatar
By Daffy
From:Ipswich
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Bought for daughter who is extremely pleased with it."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
intermittent fault on mine
Posted05 August 2014
Customer avatar
By Jan A
From:Bishop Auckland, County Durham
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"nice camera if you want something small - but mine started glitching a couple of months into using it. Screen not focussing but getting sick of waiting and clicking anyway, picture took ok.
then it started to get slower in taking the picture from doing the time of doing the click, and the moment is missed - so now its only good for taking static poses and scenery."
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
canon sx170
Posted30 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Donal
From:Dublin, Ireland
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Great camera and at an amazing price"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
canon sx170
Posted30 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Greeny
From:Beverley, East Riding of Yorkshire HU17, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Easy to use, and if you want to be daring take off the 'auto' button and click away, you can not make mistakes. Love it."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Canon PowerShot SX170 I6MP Camera. Red.
Posted30 July 2014
Customer avatar
By twitsindevon
From:Devon, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Great little compact camera, easy to carry and use. Super colour as well. money well spent."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Everything you expect from Canon and more
Posted29 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Joanne
From:Cheshire
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is a great little camera. The picture quality is very good and the zoom in excellent. It is easy to use (although I am still learning about some of the features as my old camera was a more basic model).
It is a great size - not too big to put in hand luggage, but large enough to sit comfortably in the hand.
I think you'd be hard pressed to find a camera that produces this quality of picture with so many features at a comparable price.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Canon Power Shot
Posted29 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Valerie
From:wales
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is a fantastic small camera. Value for money. Taken some super pictures and has a superb zoom."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
wife loves it
Posted29 July 2014
Customer avatar
By giggles
From:Newport
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Bought this camera canon powershot sx170is in purple for my wife. old camera 8mp very little zoom. The new camera 16mp x16 auto zoom she loves it taking pictures of everything can't get it off her absolutely brilliant camera. Love from now jealous husband."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
canon powershot
Posted29 July 2014
Customer avatar
By budgie1949
From:Morecambe
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I like this camera very much it is light to hold easy to use and the photo's are very good I am thinking about the printer that goes with this camera"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
It would be nice ...
Posted29 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Frustrated
From:London, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
"... if it explained clearly how to download photos. It assumes you have a cable to usb, but there is not one included. I still haven't worked out how to download. ps, I'm not stupid."
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product has great features
Posted24 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Jenny
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This camera is very easy to use, the instructions are easy to follow. I haven't taken many photos with it yet, but the ones I have taken are very clear."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent camera
Posted24 July 2014
Customer avatar
By aj
From:West Yorkshire, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Briil camera for price good clear photos"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Canon Camera
Posted24 July 2014
Customer avatar
By frazil
From:Fife
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"this has to be the best small camera ever, took it on holiday and it took the most fantastic pictures, so sharp and clear. Value for money is a very big yes"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next >>>