Top-rated product

Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.

<p>Shoot detailed photos and HD movies with ease using the compact, family-friendly Canon PowerShot SX170 IS 16x Zoom 16MP Digital Camera. Intelligent IS ensures sharp results even at long zoom. Experiment and have fun with a range of creative filters including Miniature and Toy Camera Effect, Fish-eye effect and Super Vivid.</p><p>Model number SX170 IS</p><p>Product specification:</p><ul><li>16 megapixels.</li><li>16x optical zoom.</li><li>32x digital zoom.</li><li>28-448mmmm wide angle lens.</li><li>3in LCD screen.</li><li>Continuous shooting up to 0.5 frames per second.</li><li>Image stabilisation.</li><li>Red eye reduction.</li><li>PictBridge compatible.</li></ul><p>Features:</p><ul><li>720p high definition video capture and playback with sound.</li><li>Maximum ISO 1600.</li><li>Intelligent scene mode.</li><li>Self timer.</li><li>Built-in flash.</li></ul><p>Memory card compatability: </p><ul><li>SD, SDHC, SDXC, compact flash.</li></ul><p>General information:</p><ul><li>Size H7.2, W11.1cm.</li><li>Weight 291g.</li><li>Depth 4.4cm (when switched off).</li><li>Batteries required: 1 x Li-Ion (included).</li><li>Colour: red.</li><li>Includes carry strap.</li></ul>
Overall rating:
4.646 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 96 reviews
5 Stars
73
4 Stars
17
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
88 of 9692%would recommend to a friend
Sort by Customer reviews for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Review 1 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
canon sx170
Posted30 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Donal
From:Dublin, Ireland
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Great camera and at an amazing price"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Canon PowerShot SX170 I6MP Camera. Red.
Posted30 July 2014
Customer avatar
By twitsindevon
From:Devon, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Great little compact camera, easy to carry and use. Super colour as well. money well spent."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Canon Power Shot
Posted29 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Valerie
From:wales
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is a fantastic small camera. Value for money. Taken some super pictures and has a superb zoom."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
canon powershot
Posted29 July 2014
Customer avatar
By budgie1949
From:Morecambe
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I like this camera very much it is light to hold easy to use and the photo's are very good I am thinking about the printer that goes with this camera"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product has great features
Posted24 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Jenny
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This camera is very easy to use, the instructions are easy to follow. I haven't taken many photos with it yet, but the ones I have taken are very clear."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent camera
Posted24 July 2014
Customer avatar
By aj
From:West Yorkshire, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Briil camera for price good clear photos"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Canon Camera
Posted24 July 2014
Customer avatar
By frazil
From:Fife
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"this has to be the best small camera ever, took it on holiday and it took the most fantastic pictures, so sharp and clear. Value for money is a very big yes"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice camera for the price
Posted24 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Burt
From:Leics
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This was a bit of a rushed decision purchase but I am happy I did. Nice pictures, good features and looks good too. Plenty of features for the amateur to get great pictures.
The first canon camera I have had and I am very happy with it.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
First camera i can get my head around
Posted22 July 2014
Customer avatar
By BOB
From:england
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is the First camera i can get my head around easy to use and good zoom just Brill"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Camera
Posted22 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Jane
From:Staines-upon-Thames, Surrey, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Great camera, with great features (many of which I'm getting used to :)) - so simple to use and far better than my previous one (a Samsung), which kept freezing and I'd have to take the battery out to close the zoom etc - just like their mobile phones! The camera fits the recommended case perfectly - I would definitely recommend."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very happy 8 year old!
Posted22 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Deblar
From:Royal Leamington Spa, Warwickshire, UK
Age:35 to 44
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My daughter wanted her first 'proper' camera, treated her to this as she loves using her dads very expensive Nikon!
Easy to use and makes her feel like a proper photographer!
Great quality photos and she loves the video option.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fabulous looking camera
Posted22 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Ally
From:Edinburgh
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"great camera , takes excellent pictures, looks good"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great camera
Posted16 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Annie82
From:Grimsby
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is a fantastic camera. The zoom is amazing! Clear pictures even when my hands shake. Really easy to use as I am not the most technical minded.
This camera is alittle heavier than i'm used to but thats the only downside so far.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Macro shots
Posted15 July 2014
Customer avatar
By mistymurky
Age:35 to 44
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Wanted a reasonably priced camera to put in my pocket that took good macro shots. Was finding it really difficult to get any information on this. On recommendation from a friend I bought this and it does just the job. Find if I put the dial to 'live' with macro it focuses perfectly and gives great results."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Simple but versatile and effective
Posted10 July 2014
Customer avatar
By TarmacJunkie
From:Cornwall, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"At the offer price this seems very good value, looking and feeling like a "proper" camera. Simple Auto mode for point and shoot, but with manual options for more creative photos. ong-lasting rechargeable battery a bonus, although lack of interface lead a bit mean."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Good
Posted08 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Wilko
From:Stoke on Trent
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Recently got this as a gift for myself. Loved the colour of the shell. East to use, comes with rechargeable battery, similar to one you get in a mobile phone, and mains charger. No fear it works from 110 volts through to 240 volts. So with the right plug adapter you can use the charger in any country. Has a really extensive zoom as well as be able to use in Macro mode for detailed very close up shots. Has various settings you can set manually to give a few different effects. Also has Auto shoot."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great buy.
Posted08 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Patricia
From:Lincolnshire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This camera takes great photographs, it's easy to use and not too big for my handbag. I love the red too."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted02 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Spiral step
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"This camera is so far so good, takes good quality pictures even when zoomed in, for the price well worth it"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A fine little camera
Posted01 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Frosty
From:Nottinghamshire, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Excellent little camera for holiday snaps and site pictures. Nice and small and fits in the pocket well"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ideal for holidays
Posted24 June 2014
Customer avatar
By granny B
From:Scotland, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Love this camera. photos are very professional - no shaky blurred photos and 16 x zoom is brilliant
onlyimprovement would be a viewfinder as unable to see screen in bright light"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 Next >>>