Top-rated product

Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.

<p>Shoot detailed photos and HD movies with ease using the compact, family-friendly Canon PowerShot SX170 IS 16x Zoom 16MP Digital Camera. Intelligent IS ensures sharp results even at long zoom. Experiment and have fun with a range of creative filters including Miniature and Toy Camera Effect, Fish-eye effect and Super Vivid.</p><p>Model number SX170 IS</p><p>Product specification:</p><ul><li>16 megapixels.</li><li>16x optical zoom.</li><li>32x digital zoom.</li><li>28-448mmmm wide angle lens.</li><li>3in LCD screen.</li><li>Continuous shooting up to 0.5 frames per second.</li><li>Image stabilisation.</li><li>Red eye reduction.</li><li>PictBridge compatible.</li></ul><p>Features:</p><ul><li>720p high definition video capture and playback with sound.</li><li>Maximum ISO 1600.</li><li>Intelligent scene mode.</li><li>Self timer.</li><li>Built-in flash.</li></ul><p>Memory card compatability: </p><ul><li>SD, SDHC, SDXC, compact flash.</li></ul><p>General information:</p><ul><li>Size H7.2, W11.1cm.</li><li>Weight 291g.</li><li>Depth 4.4cm (when switched off).</li><li>Batteries required: 1 x Li-Ion (included).</li><li>Colour: black.</li><li>Includes carry strap.</li></ul>
Overall rating:
4.682 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 110 reviews
5 Stars
81
4 Stars
25
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
107 of 11097%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 6 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Review 1 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
canon powershot SX170
Posted24 July 2014
Customer avatar
By sam
From:Holywell, Flintshire, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"great camera easy to use good quality photos"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent quality for the price!
Posted23 July 2014
Customer avatar
By AmyC
From:Dublin, Ireland
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I love cameras, and was very impressed with this, light and easy to use, battery lasts a good while! Takes very professional looking photos and it's very affordable! I don't think I could fault it, if you want professional looking photos without paying too much this is for you!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent quality pictures.
Posted22 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Abdun
From:Bolton, U.K.
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Bought this camera for a couple of reasons, one it was on half price. Two it is Canon . Three for the zoom features. There are only two draw backs, one the build quality feels cheap and two you have to pull the flash out if you want pictures with flash. Overall a very good quality camera and superb pictures. Yes would recommend it ."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One of the best cams ever!
Posted22 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Callum
From:London
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I'm used quite a few cameras over the years and this has the complexity of an slr yet the size of a compact digital camera.
Out of all the things I've tried so far I quite enjoy the focus as if your photographing animals it looks crisp (even at 16x zoom) as if you were right infront of them."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Small but powerful
Posted22 July 2014
Customer avatar
By RJBGolfer
From:Down
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Great camera, very easy to use and the zoom is excellent"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
a great little camera
Posted22 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Paul
From:Ceredigion
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I bought this camera for my wife's birthday. She was especially impressed with the image stabilisation and the excellent zoom. She looks forward to using it on holiday in Oman and just hopes that the screen will be easily visible in the very bright sunlight."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lovely compac product with amazing manual settings
Posted18 July 2014
Customer avatar
By emmanatalie13
From:Hertfordshire, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I was after a small camera so I didnt have to lug around my digital canon SLR. I found this canon camera which is perfect! It has the ease of automatic point and snap but also as a photographer the manual settings for aperture, shutter speed, iso, manual focus and macro too. So far I am completely in love with this camera and very impressed!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent camera at a bargain price
Posted16 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Michelleann
From:Dungannon
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I just love my new camera. Really easy to use. Great battery life although I didn't like that it hadn't got a usb charger but the battery lasted beyond my expectations! I highly recommend this camera"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ideal camera and easy to use
Posted15 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Sarah
From:Surrey
Age:45 to 54
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Brought this camera for my 13 year old for her birthday. She loves it. Easy to use and takes fab pictures. Really pleased with the purchase."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent Value at Half RRP
Posted15 July 2014
Customer avatar
By John T
From:East Sussex
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"If you compare this camera against others all at the full RRP, this one is nothing special. But at a notional half price it currently represents outstanding value.
I purchased it as a camera to fit in my pocket, especially when on holiday as I do not want to carry around all my digital SLR bodies and lenses etc. especially when abroad.
Very easy to use, very reasonable picture quality, excellent zoom, easy video, good battery life, just fits comfortably into trouser pocket.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super little camera
Posted15 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Dizzyspyder
From:Sunderland, Tyne and Wear, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Bought to take to Spain in replacement of my 6D as the 6d and kit is far too bulky.
This camera was superb, amazing features and outstanding battery life.
The photos are vibrant and the zoom lens is amazing as long as you have a steady hand.
Only downside is the pop up flash that u have to pull up yourself but to be honest is better than it popping up every two minutes like some.
Overall 9 out of10"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good example of a camera
Posted14 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Lacking a brain
From:USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Build Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"3rd attempt to write a review due to the Argos rules!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing value for price
Posted11 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Kluso
From:London, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Build quality is great, and it's easy to hold with the grip. You can take great pictures even if you have shaky hands thanks to the image stabilization. It has a full auto, semi-auto and manual modes so it is the perfect family camera. If you just want to point and shoot you can do that or if you want to take more control that's no problem either. The battery life is amazing. The only downside is the display, low on brightness and resolution, which can make shooting difficult sometimes."
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
I also recommend:
 
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An amazing camera
Posted08 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Christine
From:CAMBS
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I am so pleased with this camera as it is very easy to use, takes amazing pictures and the zoom is good. The flash just flips up on top. Loving the battery with charger, no more normal batteries that don't last for me."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great photos
Posted08 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Poppy
Age:55 to 64
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have taken wedding pics, miserable wet day in England pics and sunny holiday in Zakynthos . They all are clear and well defined. excellent value for money."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well worth it!
Posted08 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Sarah
From:London, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"It's a very good quality camera at an excellent price."
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It does what it say's on the box.
Posted08 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Arry!
From:Hampshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"At the price it must be one of the best camera buys. It's nice to hold, it takes a very good quality photo and it has more than enough features for the average snapper plus some.
I'm very pleased with the camera.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
spot on
Posted03 July 2014
Customer avatar
By ian t
From:n yorkshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"It is just what we needed takes a bit of getting used to"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Canon SX 170
Posted02 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Frostie
From:North East Lincolnshire, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I'm still playing around with it but so far I am very happy with the quality of photos. The zoom is amazing but the only slight criticism is that there is no manual. YES you can download it online - but you don't always have internet access with you if you want to look up If your camera has a certain feature. As I say, I'm still playing around with it and discovering new features!
The price was fantastic!
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good burgain digital camera
Posted02 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Zico
From:London, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Compare to price it's an excellent camera.. Would b perfect for the beginners.. Only downside is this camera comes with no data transfer cable or even no software installation disc. That's bit annoying.."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next >>>