Top-rated product

Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.

<p>Shoot detailed photos and HD movies with ease using the compact, family-friendly Canon PowerShot SX170 IS 16x Zoom 16MP Digital Camera. Intelligent IS ensures sharp results even at long zoom. Experiment and have fun with a range of creative filters including Miniature and Toy Camera Effect, Fish-eye effect and Super Vivid.</p><p>Model number SX170 IS</p><p>Product specification:</p><ul><li>16 megapixels.</li><li>16x optical zoom.</li><li>32x digital zoom.</li><li>28-448mmmm wide angle lens.</li><li>3in LCD screen.</li><li>Continuous shooting up to 0.5 frames per second.</li><li>Image stabilisation.</li><li>Red eye reduction.</li><li>PictBridge compatible.</li></ul><p>Features:</p><ul><li>720p high definition video capture and playback with sound.</li><li>Maximum ISO 1600.</li><li>Intelligent scene mode.</li><li>Self timer.</li><li>Built-in flash.</li></ul><p>Memory card compatability: </p><ul><li>SD, SDHC, SDXC, compact flash.</li></ul><p>General information:</p><ul><li>Size H7.2, W11.1cm.</li><li>Weight 291g.</li><li>Depth 4.4cm (when switched off).</li><li>Batteries required: 1 x Li-Ion (included).</li><li>Colour: black.</li><li>Includes carry strap.</li></ul>
Overall rating:
4.65 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 266 reviews
5 Stars
196
4 Stars
56
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
1
1 Star
4
251 of 26694%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 9 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Review 1 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
a lovely starter camera
Posted18 November 2014
Customer avatar
By busymum
From:Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire, UK
Age:35 to 44
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" My son saved and got this as my older daughter has one..it takes great clear pics and is easy to use "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sturdy no frills camera
Posted19 October 2014
Customer avatar
By Surfy
From:Northants
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I use this as work camera so wanted it to be robust. Whilst it will not win prizes for speed or features it is easy to use and picture quality is good. The body is chunky and slightly heavy but has survived several knocks. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Canon sx170is
Posted25 November 2014
Customer avatar
By rick49
From:West Yorkshire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Bought this camera for my holiday's, so have not really used it to its full potential yet. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what i needed.
Posted08 October 2014
Customer avatar
By Sophieee
From:Lancashire
Age:18 to 24
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I bought this for my upcoming holiday to Disney World Florida, after a trial run of the camera it seems to be just what i needed, the pictures are of good quality, the settings are easy to grasp and the different picture settings are useful especially as I'm wanting to get some good ones of the fireworks and other nighttime pictures. The only downside is the sound seems to be a little on the quite side. Other than that the video quality itself is good.
Can't wait to use it on holiday!
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent purchase
Posted07 October 2014
Customer avatar
By Bernie
From:London
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" This camera but has some excellent features, and I particularly like the 16X zoom, which was my main requirement. Focus can blur when moving up to maximum zoom, but that's only for a moment or two.So far I've only used auto settings, but you can choose manual settings The wrist-strap is incredibly fiddly to attach; I had to use dental floss. Can't think why Canon don't either attach it or re-design the attachment point! There's no USB cable supplied. This camera is excellent value for money. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
I also recommend:
 
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
what one say ( Brillllllllllllllllllllllllllllllll
Posted19 November 2014
Customer avatar
By dorrinevil
From:soton.England hill lane
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Received free product:Yes
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Brill very easy to use good pictures compact easy to follow instructions. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product is an excellent camera
Posted30 September 2014
Customer avatar
By Mark
From:Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Really good easy to use and feature packed. Picture quality is brilliant and would definitely recommend.
My only issue is that the FPS is very slow. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
canon powershot sx170
Posted16 September 2014
Customer avatar
By gardener
From:Wiltshire, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" really pleased with it so far, not learnt all the settings yet, but practicing! its an easy camera to hold, the settings give you a quick idea of what feature to use.
nice and light, a good buy.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Camera canon powershot sx170 16mp
Posted16 September 2014
Customer avatar
By John
From:Hayes, Greater London, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Bought for my special needs son was able to use the camera within the hour
Good value
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great camera
Posted16 September 2014
Customer avatar
By Terry
From:Bromley, Kent
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
" I bought this camera for my wife as were going on holiday to New York. The first thing that struck me as I took it out the box was the quality and feel of the camera, it feels like a small SLR. We're now on holiday and had a chance to use the camera and we have been impressed with the quality of the pictures and my wife has been happily snapping away. The features are also very good allowing you to add differant effects to your pictures. This has been a great purchase for the price I paid, "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
easy to carry and easy to use
Posted14 September 2014
Customer avatar
By Fiona
From:Essex
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" After reading the reviews I bought this camera at the last minute to take on holiday. I didn't have time to download the instruction manual so mainly used AUTO and a bit of trial and error to take photos but really pleased with the results. Looking forward to learning how to use the camera properly. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
I also recommend:
 
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brilliant!
Posted10 September 2014
Customer avatar
By EddieQ786
From:West Midlands, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Birthday present for 15yr old daughter - she is very pleased with this camera. It has so many features/modes and the picture quality is excellent. Good size but maybe a little heavier than some other cameras.
Hundreds of photos and hours of video taken on recent holiday (bought with 32GB memory card). "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Canon camera
Posted09 September 2014
Customer avatar
By Stewart
From:Tameside
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Simple to use well made very good camera "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great buy
Posted27 August 2014
Customer avatar
By colin
From:somerset
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" with this camera i am able to take pictures of creatures / objects i can hardly see with naked eye thanks to the great zoom features and yet still fits in pocket "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product is easy to use.
Posted27 August 2014
Customer avatar
By Skip.
From:Hampshire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This product comes with a very basic 'get you started' instruction booklet, but you have to download the full version(72 pages!) to get the best out of the product. Ideally there should be an option to purchase the full instructions as a booklet. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ZOOM ZOOM ZOOM
Posted27 August 2014
Customer avatar
By perci
From:northampton
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" This camera is the best so far for the price ,The zoom is absolutely great ,its easy to use .Canon has impressed me so far ,You don't get a usb cable but that's my preference ,a little heavy but quality at its best . "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very very impressed!
Posted27 August 2014
Customer avatar
By Bayer
Age:18 to 24
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Love this camera, after having my DSLR stolen, and no money to pay for a new one this is the perfect downgrade. I've taken it to festivals and it really gives you the flexibility to be creative with your images. Such good value for the money. Really cannot fault it! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fantastic little camera!
Posted26 August 2014
Customer avatar
By Happy Snapper
From:Newcastle upon Tyne
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" this little (but powerful) camera is brilliant. Best I have ever used - pictures fantastic - so easy to use - handy pocket size - and goes everywhere with me.
I am so pleased to have purchased this one....thank you Canon.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great holiday snaps
Posted26 August 2014
Customer avatar
By happy snapper
From:England
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Compact camera with powerful optic zoom. Used it on holiday on auto settings with very good results. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So glad I chose this one!
Posted19 August 2014
Customer avatar
By Kate
From:Fermanagh, N Ireland
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This camera is fab especially as I got it at reduced price. Picture quality is brilliant and it is very easy to use. The video is easy to use and excellent quality also. I did download the manual from canon website (a very straight forward procedure) but I have only referred to it once so far. I do recommend you buy the case for this camera because it's well worth protecting. I love my new camera, looking forward to making lots of memories. Don't hesitate - buy!!!! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 Next >>>