Top-rated product

Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.

<p>Shoot detailed photos and HD movies with ease using the compact, family-friendly Canon PowerShot SX170 IS 16x Zoom 16MP Digital Camera. Intelligent IS ensures sharp results even at long zoom. Experiment and have fun with a range of creative filters including Miniature and Toy Camera Effect, Fish-eye effect and Super Vivid.</p><p>Model number SX170 IS</p><p>Product specification:</p><ul><li>16 megapixels.</li><li>16x optical zoom.</li><li>32x digital zoom.</li><li>28-448mmmm wide angle lens.</li><li>3in LCD screen.</li><li>Continuous shooting up to 0.5 frames per second.</li><li>Image stabilisation.</li><li>Red eye reduction.</li><li>PictBridge compatible.</li></ul><p>Features:</p><ul><li>720p high definition video capture and playback with sound.</li><li>Maximum ISO 1600.</li><li>Intelligent scene mode.</li><li>Self timer.</li><li>Built-in flash.</li></ul><p>Memory card compatability: </p><ul><li>SD, SDHC, SDXC, compact flash.</li></ul><p>General information:</p><ul><li>Size H7.2, W11.1cm.</li><li>Weight 291g.</li><li>Depth 4.4cm (when switched off).</li><li>Batteries required: 1 x Li-Ion (included).</li><li>Colour: black.</li><li>Includes carry strap.</li></ul>
Overall rating:
4.645 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 276 reviews
5 Stars
202
4 Stars
59
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
1
1 Star
4
260 of 27694%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 10 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Review 1 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great features & easy to use
Posted13 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Teresa
From:beds
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This camera has some excellent features, you can easily adjust the brightness of an image, you can view it before saving. There is many more great feature, very easy to use. Love the pull out screen for easy video use.
I would recommend this camera, when I purchased the camera when it was on a 3 day sale. Worth every penny. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent quality camera for the price
Posted09 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Dave
From:Near Woking
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" All things considered a very good buy. The only concern is the pdf download for the user instructions was a little bit tricky, certainly for people who struggle on-line or do not have access to a PC. But once achieved everything was fine. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent value for money
Posted02 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Maria
From:West Sussex
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I bought this as a Christmas present for my husband who isn't very technical. He finds it of good quality and easy to use. The camera looks good and has a good feel to it. My daughter is currently 'borrowing' it as she really loves it and keeps hinting for one for herself "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good quality
Posted31 December 2014
Customer avatar
By joss
From:Cork, Ireland
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Bought this foe my 18 year son for christmas and he loved it. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Not a bad camera
Posted30 December 2014
Customer avatar
By mumshotel
From:Hampshire, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" bought this for hubby as a stocking filler. It takes great pictures features are brilliant including the 16 X zoom. Drawbacks, there is not an SD Card included and not told at time of buying that it needed one, at this price I would expect one to be in the box from canon. luckily we have lots of them at home. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted30 December 2014
Customer avatar
By Korfanty
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Bardzo dobry produkt, polecam. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good for the price
Posted30 December 2014
Customer avatar
By Qualfirst
From:Boston, Boston, Lincolnshire, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" easy to set up and use - tho have to download user manual
takes nice clear pics
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Posted17 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Yasmin
From:London, UK
Age:17 or under
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Build Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Pretty product but no usb cable and adequate picture quality. Also it doesn't come with a memory card and camera case "
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted08 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Lucy 324
Age:25 to 34
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Brilliant camera. Easy to use. Amazing photos. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
a lovely starter camera
Posted18 November 2014
Customer avatar
By busymum
From:Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire, UK
Age:35 to 44
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" My son saved and got this as my older daughter has one..it takes great clear pics and is easy to use "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent camera
Posted30 December 2014
Customer avatar
By serendipity
From:essex
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" easy to use fantastic photos and great value for money "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sturdy no frills camera
Posted19 October 2014
Customer avatar
By Surfy
From:Northants
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I use this as work camera so wanted it to be robust. Whilst it will not win prizes for speed or features it is easy to use and picture quality is good. The body is chunky and slightly heavy but has survived several knocks. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Canon sx170is
Posted25 November 2014
Customer avatar
By rick49
From:West Yorkshire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Bought this camera for my holiday's, so have not really used it to its full potential yet. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what i needed.
Posted08 October 2014
Customer avatar
By Sophieee
From:Lancashire
Age:18 to 24
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I bought this for my upcoming holiday to Disney World Florida, after a trial run of the camera it seems to be just what i needed, the pictures are of good quality, the settings are easy to grasp and the different picture settings are useful especially as I'm wanting to get some good ones of the fireworks and other nighttime pictures. The only downside is the sound seems to be a little on the quite side. Other than that the video quality itself is good.
Can't wait to use it on holiday!
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent purchase
Posted07 October 2014
Customer avatar
By Bernie
From:London
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" This camera but has some excellent features, and I particularly like the 16X zoom, which was my main requirement. Focus can blur when moving up to maximum zoom, but that's only for a moment or two.So far I've only used auto settings, but you can choose manual settings The wrist-strap is incredibly fiddly to attach; I had to use dental floss. Can't think why Canon don't either attach it or re-design the attachment point! There's no USB cable supplied. This camera is excellent value for money. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
I also recommend:
Canon DCC-750 PowerShot Camera Case - Black.
4.3 out of 5(35)
 
 
 
 
 
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
what one say ( Brillllllllllllllllllllllllllllllll
Posted19 November 2014
Customer avatar
By dorrinevil
From:soton.England hill lane
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Received free product:Yes
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Brill very easy to use good pictures compact easy to follow instructions. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product is an excellent camera
Posted30 September 2014
Customer avatar
By Mark
From:Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Really good easy to use and feature packed. Picture quality is brilliant and would definitely recommend.
My only issue is that the FPS is very slow. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
canon powershot sx170
Posted16 September 2014
Customer avatar
By gardener
From:Wiltshire, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" really pleased with it so far, not learnt all the settings yet, but practicing! its an easy camera to hold, the settings give you a quick idea of what feature to use.
nice and light, a good buy.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Camera canon powershot sx170 16mp
Posted16 September 2014
Customer avatar
By John
From:Hayes, Greater London, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Bought for my special needs son was able to use the camera within the hour
Good value
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great camera
Posted16 September 2014
Customer avatar
By Terry
From:Bromley, Kent
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
" I bought this camera for my wife as were going on holiday to New York. The first thing that struck me as I took it out the box was the quality and feel of the camera, it feels like a small SLR. We're now on holiday and had a chance to use the camera and we have been impressed with the quality of the pictures and my wife has been happily snapping away. The features are also very good allowing you to add differant effects to your pictures. This has been a great purchase for the price I paid, "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 Next >>>