Top-rated product

Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.

<p>Shoot detailed photos and HD movies with ease using the compact, family-friendly Canon PowerShot SX170 IS 16x Zoom 16MP Digital Camera. Intelligent IS ensures sharp results even at long zoom. Experiment and have fun with a range of creative filters including Miniature and Toy Camera Effect, Fish-eye effect and Super Vivid.</p><p>Model number SX170 IS</p><p>Product specification:</p><ul><li>16 megapixels.</li><li>16x optical zoom.</li><li>32x digital zoom.</li><li>28-448mmmm wide angle lens.</li><li>3in LCD screen.</li><li>Continuous shooting up to 0.5 frames per second.</li><li>Image stabilisation.</li><li>Red eye reduction.</li><li>PictBridge compatible.</li></ul><p>Features:</p><ul><li>720p high definition video capture and playback with sound.</li><li>Maximum ISO 1600.</li><li>Intelligent scene mode.</li><li>Self timer.</li><li>Built-in flash.</li></ul><p>Memory card compatability: </p><ul><li>SD, SDHC, SDXC, compact flash.</li></ul><p>General information:</p><ul><li>Size H7.2, W11.1cm.</li><li>Weight 291g.</li><li>Depth 4.4cm (when switched off).</li><li>Batteries required: 1 x Li-Ion (included).</li><li>Colour: black.</li><li>Includes carry strap.</li></ul>
Overall rating:
4.659 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 135 reviews
5 Stars
98
4 Stars
32
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
131 of 13597%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 6 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Review 1 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fantastic little camera!
Posted26 August 2014
Customer avatar
By Happy Snapper
From:Newcastle upon Tyne
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"this little (but powerful) camera is brilliant. Best I have ever used - pictures fantastic - so easy to use - handy pocket size - and goes everywhere with me.
I am so pleased to have purchased this one....thank you Canon.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great holiday snaps
Posted26 August 2014
Customer avatar
By happy snapper
From:England
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Compact camera with powerful optic zoom. Used it on holiday on auto settings with very good results."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So glad I chose this one!
Posted19 August 2014
Customer avatar
By Kate
From:Fermanagh, N Ireland
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This camera is fab especially as I got it at reduced price. Picture quality is brilliant and it is very easy to use. The video is easy to use and excellent quality also. I did download the manual from canon website (a very straight forward procedure) but I have only referred to it once so far. I do recommend you buy the case for this camera because it's well worth protecting. I love my new camera, looking forward to making lots of memories. Don't hesitate - buy!!!!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great camera not to teci
Posted19 August 2014
Customer avatar
By kannie03
From:Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear, UK
Age:17 or under
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I have found the camera easy to use found the offers and add on good to"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lovely Camera but ....
Posted19 August 2014
Customer avatar
By Spritex1
From:Leeds, West Yorkshire, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Nice camera, small lightweight and takes excellent pictures however had to return my first one due to a thin vertical line going through all the pictures I had taken. Full credit to the excellent staff at Argos however who exchanged this without issue. Replacement Camera does not suffer from this so maybe I was just unlucky. Thank you Argos"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Posted17 August 2014
Customer avatar
By bill
From:west sussex
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Build Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"poor features, too light, screen goes blank after 10 seconds, making it impossible to frame pictures."
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
camera
Posted15 August 2014
Customer avatar
By blackwidow
From:Essex, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"this camera was bought 1 day before our holiday and is so very easy to use and is of good quality"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Buy
Posted12 August 2014
Customer avatar
By Lizzy
From:Swansea
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"The only thing i feel is missing is a view finder, to enable to take photos without using the screen.
This would have been helpful when i was trying to capture Dolphins in New Quay, which i had trouble locating with just the screen. :-(
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
handy
Posted12 August 2014
Customer avatar
By scotty
From:tyrone
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"great photos easy to use"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
camera
Posted12 August 2014
Customer avatar
By Graham
From:Lancashire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Knew exactly what I wanted and Argos was the cheapest. Had to travel to Blackpool to collect as it was a birthday present for my wife. She appreciated the effort."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pretty Good
Posted09 August 2014
Customer avatar
By SMartins
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This camera does exactly what is said. The only thing I could say is the ISO is probably a bit low. It is not that good with darker environments, but it's still good for the price and type of camera.
Pretty good if you want a good camera for holidays.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
present
Posted05 August 2014
Customer avatar
By Nutsanonomous
From:Cambridgeshire, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Bought this for my sister as an upgrade for her point and shoot but not too complicated, she was thrilled and had a great time taking photos on holiday"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brilliant camera
Posted05 August 2014
Customer avatar
By Nickyb211
From:Uk
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is an amazing camera it takes amazingly clear shots even from a distance you can zoom in and the picture is still crisp. Canons are always the best and this one was a bargain as bought on sale. In low light inside the screen sometimes looks fuzzy but it still takes a great picture, don't worry I recommend this product its a little but bigger than your standard digital camera but it's much better than them aswell."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This product is easy to use
Posted30 July 2014
Customer avatar
By CameraShy
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Far better than my previous camera and gives good clear pictures. The only annoyance is I have to manually lift up the Flash when needed."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Impressive Camera
Posted30 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Andy
From:Lettledean in the Forest of Dean
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Although I've only took a few test pictures this Camera really feels good to use and picture detail when using the zoom if exceptional."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Canon Powershot Compact Camera
Posted29 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Bob39
From:Kent, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This camera lives up to my expectation of Canon cameras, having owned many for years. This is a smaller version of my other Powershot SX20 camera and has most of the features and software of the larger camera. For a compact camera it has a very solid feel about. Very pleased with my purchase."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great little camera
Posted29 July 2014
Customer avatar
By DUMS
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Perfect little camera, takes excellent photos once you get the hang of the features, you need to download the instructions from the cannon web site as does it not come with any,but very simple to do, perfect size to replace on old friendly shoot and go pocket camera!!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great camera for the price
Posted29 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Geegee
From:Northants
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Managed to buy this half price. Wanted a good digital camera with a decent zoom and this does the job. Only annoyance is there is no USB with the camera however we had a spare from previous camera. I'm a canon convert now and will upgrade to their DSLR next year."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Canon Digital Camera
Posted29 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Mary
From:Lancashire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have not started using this camera completely yet as there is a 134 page manual we downloaded and, as I am 70 years old, it is taking some time to read it all. However this camera offers many different options that we did not have on our old camera so I am very pleased with it. Have practiced all the options with glee! Yes I would recommend this camera. Lightweight, many options, will be easy once I have mastered all the variations!!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted29 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Estrella1
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Excellent little camera with amazing picture quality. To be highly recommended."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 Next >>>