Top-rated product

Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.

<p>Shoot detailed photos and HD movies with ease using the compact, family-friendly Canon PowerShot SX170 IS 16x Zoom 16MP Digital Camera. Intelligent IS ensures sharp results even at long zoom. Experiment and have fun with a range of creative filters including Miniature and Toy Camera Effect, Fish-eye effect and Super Vivid.</p><p>Model number SX170 IS</p><p>Product specification:</p><ul><li>16 megapixels.</li><li>16x optical zoom.</li><li>32x digital zoom.</li><li>28-448mmmm wide angle lens.</li><li>3in LCD screen.</li><li>Continuous shooting up to 0.5 frames per second.</li><li>Image stabilisation.</li><li>Red eye reduction.</li><li>PictBridge compatible.</li></ul><p>Features:</p><ul><li>720p high definition video capture and playback with sound.</li><li>Maximum ISO 1600.</li><li>Intelligent scene mode.</li><li>Self timer.</li><li>Built-in flash.</li></ul><p>Memory card compatability: </p><ul><li>SD, SDHC, SDXC, compact flash.</li></ul><p>General information:</p><ul><li>Size H7.2, W11.1cm.</li><li>Weight 291g.</li><li>Depth 4.4cm (when switched off).</li><li>Batteries required: 1 x Li-Ion (included).</li><li>Colour: black.</li><li>Includes carry strap.</li></ul>
Overall rating:
4.683 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 145 reviews
5 Stars
108
4 Stars
32
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
141 of 14597%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 6 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Review 1 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
canon powershot sx170
Posted16 September 2014
Customer avatar
By gardener
From:Wiltshire, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"really pleased with it so far, not learnt all the settings yet, but practicing! its an easy camera to hold, the settings give you a quick idea of what feature to use.
nice and light, a good buy.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Camera canon powershot sx170 16mp
Posted16 September 2014
Customer avatar
By John
From:Hayes, Greater London, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Bought for my special needs son was able to use the camera within the hour
Good value
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great camera
Posted16 September 2014
Customer avatar
By Terry
From:Bromley, Kent
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
"I bought this camera for my wife as were going on holiday to New York. The first thing that struck me as I took it out the box was the quality and feel of the camera, it feels like a small SLR. We're now on holiday and had a chance to use the camera and we have been impressed with the quality of the pictures and my wife has been happily snapping away. The features are also very good allowing you to add differant effects to your pictures. This has been a great purchase for the price I paid,"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
easy to carry and easy to use
Posted14 September 2014
Customer avatar
By Fiona
From:Essex
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"After reading the reviews I bought this camera at the last minute to take on holiday. I didn't have time to download the instruction manual so mainly used AUTO and a bit of trial and error to take photos but really pleased with the results. Looking forward to learning how to use the camera properly."
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
I also recommend:
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brilliant!
Posted10 September 2014
Customer avatar
By EddieQ786
From:West Midlands, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Birthday present for 15yr old daughter - she is very pleased with this camera. It has so many features/modes and the picture quality is excellent. Good size but maybe a little heavier than some other cameras.
Hundreds of photos and hours of video taken on recent holiday (bought with 32GB memory card)."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Canon camera
Posted09 September 2014
Customer avatar
By Stewart
From:Tameside
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Simple to use well made very good camera"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great buy
Posted27 August 2014
Customer avatar
By colin
From:somerset
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"with this camera i am able to take pictures of creatures / objects i can hardly see with naked eye thanks to the great zoom features and yet still fits in pocket"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product is easy to use.
Posted27 August 2014
Customer avatar
By Skip.
From:Hampshire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This product comes with a very basic 'get you started' instruction booklet, but you have to download the full version(72 pages!) to get the best out of the product. Ideally there should be an option to purchase the full instructions as a booklet."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ZOOM ZOOM ZOOM
Posted27 August 2014
Customer avatar
By perci
From:northampton
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"This camera is the best so far for the price ,The zoom is absolutely great ,its easy to use .Canon has impressed me so far ,You don't get a usb cable but that's my preference ,a little heavy but quality at its best ."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very very impressed!
Posted27 August 2014
Customer avatar
By Bayer
Age:18 to 24
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Love this camera, after having my DSLR stolen, and no money to pay for a new one this is the perfect downgrade. I've taken it to festivals and it really gives you the flexibility to be creative with your images. Such good value for the money. Really cannot fault it!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fantastic little camera!
Posted26 August 2014
Customer avatar
By Happy Snapper
From:Newcastle upon Tyne
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"this little (but powerful) camera is brilliant. Best I have ever used - pictures fantastic - so easy to use - handy pocket size - and goes everywhere with me.
I am so pleased to have purchased this one....thank you Canon.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great holiday snaps
Posted26 August 2014
Customer avatar
By happy snapper
From:England
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Compact camera with powerful optic zoom. Used it on holiday on auto settings with very good results."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So glad I chose this one!
Posted19 August 2014
Customer avatar
By Kate
From:Fermanagh, N Ireland
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This camera is fab especially as I got it at reduced price. Picture quality is brilliant and it is very easy to use. The video is easy to use and excellent quality also. I did download the manual from canon website (a very straight forward procedure) but I have only referred to it once so far. I do recommend you buy the case for this camera because it's well worth protecting. I love my new camera, looking forward to making lots of memories. Don't hesitate - buy!!!!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great camera not to teci
Posted19 August 2014
Customer avatar
By kannie03
From:Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear, UK
Age:17 or under
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I have found the camera easy to use found the offers and add on good to"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lovely Camera but ....
Posted19 August 2014
Customer avatar
By Spritex1
From:Leeds, West Yorkshire, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Nice camera, small lightweight and takes excellent pictures however had to return my first one due to a thin vertical line going through all the pictures I had taken. Full credit to the excellent staff at Argos however who exchanged this without issue. Replacement Camera does not suffer from this so maybe I was just unlucky. Thank you Argos"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Posted17 August 2014
Customer avatar
By bill
From:west sussex
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Build Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"poor features, too light, screen goes blank after 10 seconds, making it impossible to frame pictures."
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
camera
Posted15 August 2014
Customer avatar
By blackwidow
From:Essex, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"this camera was bought 1 day before our holiday and is so very easy to use and is of good quality"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Buy
Posted12 August 2014
Customer avatar
By Lizzy
From:Swansea
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"The only thing i feel is missing is a view finder, to enable to take photos without using the screen.
This would have been helpful when i was trying to capture Dolphins in New Quay, which i had trouble locating with just the screen. :-(
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
handy
Posted12 August 2014
Customer avatar
By scotty
From:tyrone
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"great photos easy to use"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Canon PowerShot SX170 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
camera
Posted12 August 2014
Customer avatar
By Graham
From:Lancashire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Knew exactly what I wanted and Argos was the cheapest. Had to travel to Blackpool to collect as it was a birthday present for my wife. She appreciated the effort."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 Next >>>