Top-rated product

Sony KDL42W705BBU 42 Inch Freeview HD Smart LED TV.

<p>Great picture quality, 3D plus heaps of exciting Smart features on a slim design with a sleek aluminium finish. With X-Reality PRO, everything you watch is improved to give the most detailed Full HD picture possible. Experience lifelike 3D viewing and watch what you want, whenever you want with catch-up TV, films and TV series on demand.</p><p>Please be aware that not all Apps are currently available in Ireland. </p><p>Television picture quality:</p><ul><li>LED TV Screen.</li><li>Full HD (1080p) display resolution.</li><li>Screen size: 42 inches</li><li>Motion rate 200Hz.</li></ul><p>Connectivity:</p><ul><li>1 SCART socket, 2 USB ports and 4 HDMI sockets.</li><li>Smart TV.</li><li>PC input socket.</li><li>Component video socket.</li><li>Headphone socket.</li><li>S-Video socket.</li><li>AV socket.</li><li>Wi-Fi enabled.</li><li>Ethernet connection.</li><li>DLNA compatibility.</li><li>Mobile high-definition link.</li><li>Miracast.</li><li>Open browser.</li><li>Suitable for wall mounting.</li></ul><p>Sound quality:</p><ul><li>Dolby Digital Plus sound system.</li><li>16 watt RMS power output.</li></ul><p>Digital features:</p><ul><li>Features USB video playback.</li><li>Freeview HD digital tuner.</li><li>Smartphone remote capability.</li><li>Triple core processor.</li><li>7 day electronic programme guide (EPG).</li><li>CI+ slot.</li></ul><p>Additional features:</p><ul><li>Sleep timer.</li><li>Child lock.</li><li>Size of TV H56.3, W95.8, D6.4cm.</li><li>Weight of TV 7kg (unpackaged).</li><li>Size of TV with stand: H60, W95.8, D17cm.</li><li>Weight of TV with stand: 11.7kg.</li></ul><p>Energy efficiency information:</p><ul><li>Energy efficiency rating: A.</li><li>On mode power consumption 50 watts.</li><li>Annual power consumption 69kWh.</li><li>Standby power consumption 0.5 watt.</li></ul><p>EAN: 4905524967739</p>
Overall rating:
4.598 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 246 reviews
5 Stars
165
4 Stars
68
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
3
1 Star
1
230 of 24494%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
19 Questions | 20 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Sony KDL42W705BBU 42 Inch Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
Review 1 for Sony KDL42W705BBU 42 Inch Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great TV
Posted18 February 2015
Customer avatar
By fab
From:Cornwall, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This tv i was not to sure about buying but so glad i did "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sony KDL42W705BBU 42 Inch Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Open box, connect to Internet, watch content
Posted24 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Darklord
From:surrey
Age:45 to 54
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" I had to write a review on it. There is content from the Sony entertainment network, Netflicks, YouTube, BBC iPlayer etc. There is 4 HDMI ports,2 USB ports and 1 scart. The power supply is nice. The only niggling thing is the remote control buttons are tight packed together and sometimes press the home key rather then the down button. The sound is OK on its own but better through external speakers.
On the whole this TV has a plethora of options and we are very happy with it.. So will you.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sony KDL42W705BBU 42 Inch Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good tv for it price
Posted22 January 2015
Customer avatar
By wedgewd
From:Herts
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Easy to set up and good for its price. Good purchase "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sony KDL42W705BBU 42 Inch Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
tv
Posted22 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Julie
From:Worcestershire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" very pleased with this product we had no problems setting it up. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sony KDL42W705BBU 42 Inch Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted20 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Andrew
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" A good piece of kit if little fiddle to set up "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sony KDL42W705BBU 42 Inch Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great TV at a fantastic price.
Posted09 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Zohar
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Very elegant slim and simple design. Great picture quality with HD content, though not as great when upscaling lower resolution. Very good sound for its size. Has all the apps I use , but picture quality not as good as via apple tv. At this price this is an amazingly good tv. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sony KDL42W705BBU 42 Inch Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Recommend!
Posted07 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Zac
From:Scarborough, North Yorkshire, UK
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Followed allot of reviews and also assistance from a sales person on this product. Amazing buy definatly lives up to the sony standards! Worth paying that bit more than your average 42" as the picture is jaw dropping. For gaming especially! If your a gamer this is the tv for you! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sony KDL42W705BBU 42 Inch Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sony KDL707BBU
Posted01 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Agentkian
From:Leicester, Leicester, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Superb picture and great sound, Easy to set up, But 2 things IMO that I do not like,
The stand could have been better And the power brick!
Overall a great tv
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sony KDL42W705BBU 42 Inch Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted31 December 2014
Customer avatar
By Pawel
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Great tv. 400 Hz would be better though. Remote controle looks cheep and has too many buttons. Tv itslf is good looking - really slick design. Great picture quality especially hd. 4 hdmi great. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sony KDL42W705BBU 42 Inch Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great tv
Posted30 December 2014
Customer avatar
By masooma
From:Essex
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Great in everything except the ease of use or setup,, very hard to set up using remote. remote is so complicated that you have spend ages in solving puzzles before getting use to of remote control's functions..
Also quality of remote look very cheap.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sony KDL42W705BBU 42 Inch Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fantastic product
Posted30 December 2014
Customer avatar
By lou
From:Nottinghamshire
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" A fabulous buy!
Always loved Sony and this one hasn't let the name down.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sony KDL42W705BBU 42 Inch Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great TV
Posted30 December 2014
Customer avatar
By Gronk
From:Gloucestershire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Great TV , very pleased with it. Purchased after quite a lot of research, best around for the price. Works well with the Sony sound bar we have. Would recommend to anyone! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sony KDL42W705BBU 42 Inch Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fabulous
Posted30 December 2014
Customer avatar
By Westie
From:Buckinghamshire
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" SO pleased I opted for this Sony TV. Perfect! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sony KDL42W705BBU 42 Inch Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sony Kdl42W705
Posted06 December 2014
Customer avatar
By Kevin
From:Preston Lancashire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Don't bother looking at other TVs , this is one fantastic TV, picture quality outstanding, football mode is a must for footy fans, playing Call of Duty on this brings it to a whole different level, just a pleasure to play. I only gave the sound a 4 but the sound is quite good, but I bought a sound bar and sub woofer and after I plugged it in, wow just made this TV one outstanding piece of equipment. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sony KDL42W705BBU 42 Inch Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Picture Quality Amongst Other +ves...
Posted05 December 2014
Customer avatar
By Ray
From:Lancashire, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" After scouring the internet I found this at the cheapest price at Argos, and I am so glad I bought it. Not only does it have a brilliantly detailed and vibrant picture, the smart features are great, and even the sound is good (though I use a soundbar too). If you want an easy to setup and capable TV that is good quality with a crisp/clean picture, look no further. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sony KDL42W705BBU 42 Inch Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another WOW
Posted18 November 2014
Customer avatar
By Marti
From:Wiltshire, UK
Age:55 to 64
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Did quite a bit of research before buying this TV. One thing stood out on every review on all web sites I looked at (not just Argos) - lots of people saying wow to virtually everything to do with the TV especially the picture quality.
So here's another "Wow" - I can now see what they were talking about. 1st class all round. So much so that I'm about to buy a smaller size of the same model for my parents. Excellent buy, really pleased with it. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sony KDL42W705BBU 42 Inch Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great TV!
Posted15 November 2014
Customer avatar
By Jay
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Really good tv with a deep picture which is great for gaming and Blu Rays especially! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sony KDL42W705BBU 42 Inch Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sony KDL42W705 42 Inch Freeview HD Smart LED TV
Posted12 November 2014
Customer avatar
By technohunter
From:uk
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I am no TV expert but after looking at all other popular brands and their reviews I chose this TV. Did not need 3D at that size. considering all the features and the quality it is good buy. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sony KDL42W705BBU 42 Inch Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great tv but has some niggles
Posted22 October 2014
Customer avatar
By owdfosil
From:Heanor, Derbyshire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" This tv replaced our old 24" jcv so is considerably better.
The niggles are , after the picture displays it takes about 40 seconds before you can access the EPG or any of the other functions, if you want a different wall bracket eg. a tilt and turn or cantilever you will be hard pressed to find one that fits.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Sony KDL42W705BBU 42 Inch Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to connect up
Posted21 October 2014
Customer avatar
By Karola
From:Stafforshire
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" A lovely Sony 42" TV for the price & does just what it says although we purchased it for the bedroom it has many other features .. We did buy a flat wall bracket for it ! NOTE: there is one with the TV but no problem returning the unwanted one . Have since purchased the 50" Hitachi & yet to set that up in the lounge .. Cannot wait .. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 Next >>>