Top-rated product

Sony KDL42W705BBU 42 Inch Freeview HD Smart LED TV.

<p>Great picture quality, 3D plus heaps of exciting Smart features on a slim design with a sleek aluminium finish. With X-Reality PRO, everything you watch is improved to give the most detailed Full HD picture possible. Experience lifelike 3D viewing and watch what you want, whenever you want with catch-up TV, films and TV series on demand.</p><p>Please be aware that not all Apps are currently available in Ireland. </p><p>Television picture quality:</p><ul><li>LED TV Screen.</li><li>Full HD (1080p) display resolution.</li><li>Screen size: 42 inches</li><li>Motion rate 200Hz.</li></ul><p>Connectivity:</p><ul><li>1 SCART socket, 2 USB ports and 4 HDMI sockets.</li><li>Smart TV.</li><li>PC input socket.</li><li>Component video socket.</li><li>Headphone socket.</li><li>S-Video socket.</li><li>AV socket.</li><li>Wi-Fi enabled.</li><li>Ethernet connection.</li><li>DLNA compatibility.</li><li>Mobile high-definition link.</li><li>Miracast.</li><li>Open browser.</li><li>Suitable for wall mounting.</li></ul><p>Sound quality:</p><ul><li>Dolby Digital Plus sound system.</li><li>16 watt RMS power output.</li></ul><p>Digital features:</p><ul><li>Features USB video playback.</li><li>Freeview HD digital tuner.</li><li>Smartphone remote capability.</li><li>Triple core processor.</li><li>7 day electronic programme guide (EPG).</li><li>CI+ slot.</li></ul><p>Additional features:</p><ul><li>Sleep timer.</li><li>Child lock.</li><li>Size of TV H56.3, W95.8, D6.4cm.</li><li>Weight of TV 7kg (unpackaged).</li><li>Size of TV with stand: H60, W95.8, D17cm.</li><li>Weight of TV with stand: 11.7kg.</li></ul><p>Energy efficiency information:</p><ul><li>Energy efficiency rating: A.</li><li>On mode power consumption 50 watts.</li><li>Annual power consumption 69kWh.</li><li>Standby power consumption 0.5 watt.</li></ul><p>EAN: 4905524967739</p>
Overall rating:
4.613 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 261 reviews
5 Stars
178
4 Stars
70
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
3
1 Star
1
245 of 25995%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
19 Questions | 21 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Sony KDL42W705BBU 42 Inch Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
Review 1 for Sony KDL42W705BBU 42 Inch Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sony KDL42W705BBU
Posted05 August 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Galway
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
" I've had this TV for about 6 weeks now. I'm very impressed indeed with the picture quality and smart functions. I was apprehensive about setting it up and some negative reviews of its sound quality, but the sound is fine and was equally impressed about its ability to set itself up (set channels) and its internet wireless ability.
The only negative I would say about the set is the controller, which is not good use with one hand as the channel and sound buttons are at the bottom of the handset .
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sony KDL42W705BBU 42 Inch Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing TV!
Posted29 July 2015
Customer avatar
By
Age:25 to 34
" After watching a 32" Alba TV for 5 years, we decided it was about time to upgrade! Checked around, read all the reviews of the top 42" TVs and came back to this one. The W series Sony's are renowned for their quality and I can completely see why. Within the first 5 minutes of turning it on, we were really impressed with it. The colours are vibrant and there was minimal motion blur. Played the PS4 on it (Arkham Knight), the visuals are stunning and the sound is amazing! Definitely worth buying. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sony KDL42W705BBU 42 Inch Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great tv for gameing as the tv has very little lag
Posted15 July 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Haywards Heath, Haywards Heath, West Sussex, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Location:Main bedroom
Use:Movies
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Nice tv what else can i say . for the money and if you like pc/console gaming its a no Brainer , buy it as their running out. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sony KDL42W705BBU 42 Inch Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Product
Posted03 July 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:London, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Location:Lounge
Use:General TV
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Great service.
TV looks amazing and works really well. It takes a few seconds when moving between apps. E.g. from Sky to YouTube and the initial setup was not as easy as I had hoped. registering the product in order to use Netflix was a bit of a challenge. However, if buying this product, I'm sure you'll work it out as we did.
Certainly recommended... "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sony KDL42W705BBU 42 Inch Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to set up
Posted03 July 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Cheshire, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Location:Lounge
Use:General TV
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Great picture and sounds, very easy to set up "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sony KDL42W705BBU 42 Inch Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this TV is unbelievable
Posted23 June 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:London
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Location:Lounge
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I bought this product 2 weeks ago am very pleased with. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sony KDL42W705BBU 42 Inch Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent quality
Posted03 June 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Belper. England
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Location:Lounge
Use:General TV
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" I bought this tv after buying and returning a Phillips. It's proving to be, easy to use, good to look at, and great sound quality. I'm impressed with everything about this tv, so far. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sony KDL42W705BBU 42 Inch Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great tv
Posted13 May 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Manchester, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Location:Main bedroom
Use:General TV
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I'm so glad I bought this tv it's brilliant I love it. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sony KDL42W705BBU 42 Inch Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sony 42 inch tv
Posted05 May 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Farnham, Surrey, UK
Age:25 to 34
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Easy to set up very good quality tv. Very good picture and sound is good got it set up on stand which seems very sturdy. Lot of good aspects happy with purchase "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sony KDL42W705BBU 42 Inch Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good picture
Posted05 May 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:United Kingdom
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Location:Lounge
Use:General TV
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" We saw there TV in a shop and had a chance to compare to other leading brands. Sony win hands down on pic quality. Sound is more difficult to judge
Don't like the Netflix button on the remote otherwise very good
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sony KDL42W705BBU 42 Inch Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very pleased
Posted14 April 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Nottingham, Nottingham, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Location:Lounge
Use:General TV
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Does everything very well. Very impressed with the pic quality and the included apps.
Can't comment on sound quality because we run it through a sound base so we've not even listened to the TV.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sony KDL42W705BBU 42 Inch Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sony bravia
Posted08 April 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Bristol, City of Bristol, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Really good picture quality, we are really pleased with the sony bravia "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sony KDL42W705BBU 42 Inch Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great TV
Posted18 February 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Cornwall, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This tv i was not to sure about buying but so glad i did "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sony KDL42W705BBU 42 Inch Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Open box, connect to Internet, watch content
Posted24 January 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:surrey
Age:45 to 54
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" I had to write a review on it. There is content from the Sony entertainment network, Netflicks, YouTube, BBC iPlayer etc. There is 4 HDMI ports,2 USB ports and 1 scart. The power supply is nice. The only niggling thing is the remote control buttons are tight packed together and sometimes press the home key rather then the down button. The sound is OK on its own but better through external speakers.
On the whole this TV has a plethora of options and we are very happy with it.. So will you.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sony KDL42W705BBU 42 Inch Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good tv for it price
Posted22 January 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Herts
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Easy to set up and good for its price. Good purchase "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sony KDL42W705BBU 42 Inch Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
tv
Posted22 January 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Worcestershire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" very pleased with this product we had no problems setting it up. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sony KDL42W705BBU 42 Inch Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted20 January 2015
Customer avatar
By
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" A good piece of kit if little fiddle to set up "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sony KDL42W705BBU 42 Inch Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great TV at a fantastic price.
Posted09 January 2015
Customer avatar
By
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Very elegant slim and simple design. Great picture quality with HD content, though not as great when upscaling lower resolution. Very good sound for its size. Has all the apps I use , but picture quality not as good as via apple tv. At this price this is an amazingly good tv. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sony KDL42W705BBU 42 Inch Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Recommend!
Posted07 January 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Scarborough, North Yorkshire, UK
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Followed allot of reviews and also assistance from a sales person on this product. Amazing buy definatly lives up to the sony standards! Worth paying that bit more than your average 42" as the picture is jaw dropping. For gaming especially! If your a gamer this is the tv for you! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Sony KDL42W705BBU 42 Inch Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sony KDL707BBU
Posted01 January 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Leicester, Leicester, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Superb picture and great sound, Easy to set up, But 2 things IMO that I do not like,
The stand could have been better And the power brick!
Overall a great tv
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 Next >>>