Top-rated product

Sony KDL42W705 42 Inch Freeview HD Smart LED TV.

<p>With X-Reality PRO everything you watch is improved to give you the most detailed Full HD picture possible. Watch what you want, whenever with catch-up TV, films and TV series on demand, YouTube&trade; and more. </p><p>Please be aware that not all Apps are currently available in Ireland. </p><p>Television picture quality:</p><ul><li>LED TV Screen.</li><li>Smart TV.</li><li>Full HD (1080p) display resolution.</li><li>Screen size: 42in (106.7cm).</li><li>Motion rate 200Hz.</li></ul><p>Connectivity:</p><ul><li>1 SCART socket, 2 USB ports and 4 HDMI sockets.</li><li>PC input socket.</li><li>Component video socket.</li><li>Headphone socket.</li><li>S-Video socket.</li><li>AV socket.</li><li>Wi-Fi enabled.</li><li>Ethernet connection.</li><li>DLNA compatibility.</li><li>Mobile high-definition link.</li><li>Miracast.</li><li>Open browser.</li><li>Suitable for wall mounting.</li></ul><p>Sound quality:</p><ul><li>Dolby Digital Plus sound system.</li><li>16 watts RMS power output.</li></ul><p>Digital features:</p><ul><li>Features USB video playback.</li><li>Freeview HD digital tuner.</li><li>Smartphone remote capability.</li><li>Triple core processor.</li><li>7 day electronic programme guide (EPG).</li><li>CI+ slot.</li></ul><p>Additional features:</p><ul><li>Sleep timer.</li><li>Child lock.</li><li>Size of TV H56.3, W95.8, D6.4cm.</li><li>Weight of TV 7kg (unpackaged).</li><li>Size of TV with stand: H60, W95.8, D17cm.</li><li>Weight of TV with stand: 11.7kg.</li></ul><p>Energy efficiency information:</p><ul><li>Energy efficiency rating: A.</li><li>On mode power consumption 50 watts.</li><li>Annual power consumption 69kWh.</li><li>Standby power consumption 0.5 watt.</li></ul><p>EAN: 4905524967739</p>
Overall rating:
4.687 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 67 reviews
5 Stars
47
4 Stars
19
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
65 of 6698%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions | 15 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Sony KDL42W705 42 Inch Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
Review 1 for Sony KDL42W705 42 Inch Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Buy
Posted17 September 2014
Customer avatar
By Max
From:Glasgow
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I earlier had KDL42W653 but got this one after the last one broke accidentally. This model is much better than the previous one as far as it's processing is concerned. It has better processor that helps download videos on YouTube and other websites much faster. The picture quality is the best. However, it's sound quality is not up to my expectations but that can be fixed by adjusting Sound settings. Overall, Sony is the best buy. I will recommend this product."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sony KDL42W705 42 Inch Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sony Smart LED TV
Posted15 September 2014
Customer avatar
By Cancera
From:Coventry, West Midlands, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have bought this TV as an official World Cup 2014 TV. Picture and sound quality is fantastic, it was very easy to connect and get it running. I love the Football Mode option, which enhance your football fan experience. I would recommend this product to anyone."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sony KDL42W705 42 Inch Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted10 September 2014
Customer avatar
By Tellygoon
From:Mid Glamorgan
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Very pleased with this TV.
Was looking for one with a PC connection, although this one did say it has a PC connection, it is through HDMI, and my computer hasnt got HDMI, a bit upset about that.
Has record facilities, but you need to connect an external drive.( or memory stick maybe).
Not a huge selection of Apps, but Ok.
Like the keyword search,type a word in and it scans for anything relevant.
Access to media on your computer is wireless, using the TV,s media player, you cant edit, or delete .
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sony KDL42W705 42 Inch Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SONY KDL42W705 TV
Posted09 September 2014
Customer avatar
By tobytwirl
From:Lancashire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Excellent TV really good picture. Would recommend."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sony KDL42W705 42 Inch Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product has great features
Posted09 September 2014
Customer avatar
By Dodge
From:Bristol, City of Bristol, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Great TV and Sony help line are brilliant."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sony KDL42W705 42 Inch Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted26 August 2014
Customer avatar
By cristina
From:london
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Im happy with my purchase but i found my other tv LG much better.i bought 2 wall brakets but no use. We used the sony ones which came with the tv."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sony KDL42W705 42 Inch Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sony KDL42W705
Posted19 August 2014
Customer avatar
By Len33
From:Warrington, Warrington, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Great new TV. Easy to assemble onto stand and then connect to internet. It's quite light and easy to move around.
Fantastic picture with HD channels. Good sound to.
Good value for money and would recommend to buy."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sony KDL42W705 42 Inch Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Actually brilliant
Posted14 August 2014
Customer avatar
By James
From:Staffordshire
Age:17 or under
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I hate buying TVs over internet, but seeing all the other reviews I wanted to try it. I made the perfect choice, this TV is excellent in many areas, I wish there was more apps and you can access the app page quicker at start up but overall I love this.
Pros- Excellent sound and sound options
Picture was exceptional and the wide choices is good
looks nice
Cons- have to wait to access apps on start up
WI-FI could be more stable when using play o function with win 8
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sony KDL42W705 42 Inch Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Great TV.
Posted12 August 2014
Customer avatar
By Ray
From:Essex
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"A really nice TV, and easy to set up.
Looks good as well, hardy any frame around the screen which, in my opinion makes the screen appear larger.
Excellent picture quality and sound as you would expect from Sony.
A number of adjustments can be made to enhance your viewing and listening experience.
Internet connection is very good with a number of features to use.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sony KDL42W705 42 Inch Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fab
Posted17 June 2014
Customer avatar
By Smudger
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Easy to install, great pic, lovely sound, hubby loves it!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sony KDL42W705 42 Inch Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent
Posted10 June 2014
Customer avatar
By Saf1
From:London, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Very happy with this product, great value for money plenty of features to enjoy ability to adjust picture and sound in depth rather than the options usually set up by the manufacture also great connectivity with other divices"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sony KDL42W705 42 Inch Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love it!
Posted20 May 2014
Customer avatar
By Andy
From:Cornwall
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Almost bought the previous model and so glad I didn't as this machine is hugely improved, the sleek brushed metal surround is gorgeous, sony listened to criticism and upped the hdmi ports from 2 - 4 and the picture/sound quality is faultless, even when viewing fast moving subjects such as motor sport and nature docs, in fact the sound quality on this model is so good that my surround sound system is now redundant."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sony KDL42W705 42 Inch Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
deal of the year
Posted14 May 2014
Customer avatar
By MezRob3
From:Warwick, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"extremely pleased with what I got for my money. Was a bit worried first as I did not see the picture quality beforehand but it was a pleasant surprise.Lots of useful features, lots of apps. Would recommend it to anyone"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Sony KDL42W705 42 Inch Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
Based on the average of (54) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4.7 / 5
4.7 / 5
52 out of 53 recommend this product