Top-rated product

Sony KDL50W829BBU 50 In Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.

<p>Great picture quality with 3D and heaps of exciting Smart features. With X-Reality PRO, everything you watch is improved to give you the most detailed Full HD picture possible. Experience lifelike 3D viewing and watch what you want, whenever you want, with catch-up TV, films and TV series on demand.</p><p>Please be aware that not all Apps are currently available in Ireland. </p><p>Television picture quality:</p><ul><li>LED TV Screen.</li><li>Full HD (1080p) display resolution.</li><li>Active with 3D TV .</li><li>Includes 2 pairs of 3D glasses.</li><li>Screen size: 50 inches</li><li>Motion rate 800Hz.</li><li>Viewing angle 89/89 degrees.</li><li>Resolution 1920 x 1080 pixels.</li></ul><p>Connectivity:</p><ul><li>1 SCART socket, 2 USB ports and 4 HDMI sockets.</li><li>Smart TV.</li><li>PC input socket.</li><li>Component video socket.</li><li>Composite socket.</li><li>Optical connection.</li><li>Headphone socket.</li><li>S-Video socket.</li><li>AV socket.</li><li>Wi-Fi enabled.</li><li>Ethernet connection.</li><li>DLNA compatibility.</li><li>Mobile high-definition link.</li><li>Miracast.</li><li>Open browser.</li><li>Suitable for wall mounting.</li></ul><p>Sound quality:</p><ul><li>Dolby Digital Pulse sound system.</li><li>2 x 8 watt RMS power output.</li></ul><p>Digital features:</p><ul><li>Features USB video playback.</li><li>Freeview HD digital tuner.</li><li>Smartphone remote capability.</li><li>Saorview digital tuner (Saorview can only be received in the Republic of Ireland).</li><li>Triple core processor.</li><li>7 day electronic programme guide (EPG).</li><li>CI+ slot.</li></ul><p>Additional features:</p><ul><li>Sleep timer.</li><li>Child lock.</li><li>Size of TV H65.6, W111.6, D6.4cm.</li><li>Weight of TV 13.6kg (unpackaged).</li><li>Size of TV with stand: H69.3, W111.6, D17.9cm.</li><li>Weight of TV with stand: 14.8kg.</li></ul><p>Energy efficiency information:</p><ul><li>Energy efficiency rating: A++.</li><li>On mode power consumption 51 watts.</li><li>Annual power consumption 71kWh.</li><li>Standby power consumption 0.5 watt.</li><li>This product contains lead.</li></ul><p>EAN: 4905524967791</p>
Overall rating:
4.6 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
19 of 2095%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
17 Questions | 18 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Sony KDL50W829BBU 50 In Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Review 1 for Sony KDL50W829BBU 50 In Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Pleased
Posted09 April 2015
Customer avatar
By The Oncoming Storm
From:South Shields
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Sony has been my 'go to' brand when needing a new TV for many years as the picture and build quality have always been second to none.
This TV is no different, in fact it even surpassed my expectations when I first plugged it it.
Connecting to the home network is something of a guessing game as the myriad menu options are sometimes misleading, especially Bluetooth which is not really supported. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sony KDL50W829BBU 50 In Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this product is all that it says and more great tv
Posted08 April 2015
Customer avatar
By tanya
From:uk
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" couldn't have picked a better model it does everything you could want "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sony KDL50W829BBU 50 In Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sony satisfaction
Posted07 April 2015
Customer avatar
By dennis
From:devon
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" great tv love it,well pleased,thank's "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sony KDL50W829BBU 50 In Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brilliant TV
Posted31 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Mrsd
From:West Yorkshire, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Received free product:Yes
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Would definitely recommend it great 3d and other attractions a must buy "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sony KDL50W829BBU 50 In Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Crystal, Clear, and Hard Working! A Medal-Winner!
Posted26 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Simba3662
From:Motherwell, North Lanarkshire, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" The TV pushes itself to go BEYOND what it promises to do.
Video looks 4K and 3D movies and games look equally amazing without blurring!
Automatically installs itself to your PC and other devices through the HDMI cable ensuring you get the optimum performance from the get go.
You need to use the sound and video presets to get the most out of the TV especially when listening to music. But you'll notice the difference right away. (I didn't need the soundbar) "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sony KDL50W829BBU 50 In Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Very low memory
Posted25 March 2015
Customer avatar
By 50 inch
Age:25 to 34
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" It has good picture quality and design. But Bad for live streaming, It has low memory for live streaming etc, you can´t sort the channels, you need to be smart in order to use the tv and its functions, its toooooooooo slow in response etc. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sony KDL50W829BBU 50 In Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stepped it up a notch from my old Bravia
Posted25 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Gaz78
From:Lancashire
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I've had a 40" Sony Bravia for years so now I've updated, brill tv, glad I got the sound bar though :) "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sony KDL50W829BBU 50 In Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted24 March 2015
Customer avatar
By charisma71
From:West Lothian, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Excellent value, plenty of options too choose plus the 3d is one of the best i've experienced, for the price it trully is a well worth bargain. I'd recommend purchasing, its an all rounder whether for gaming or movies. The sound quality isint perfect but with a decent speaker system you cant go wrong. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sony KDL50W829BBU 50 In Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good tv
Posted24 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Morton
From:North Lanarkshire
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This is a good tv from Sony,the picture quality with hd tv broadcasts is excellent but i was disappointed with the quality of the picture with non hd tv broadcasts "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sony KDL50W829BBU 50 In Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good purchase
Posted24 March 2015
Customer avatar
By lexman
From:Livingston, West Lothian, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Good TV but sound quality Poor and remote control complicated. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sony KDL50W829BBU 50 In Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best of the rest!
Posted24 March 2015
Customer avatar
By GT1
From:Leicester
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This tv really does have a stunning picture okay it's not 4K but as there's very little to actually watch in 4K atm it really doesn't matter. This is as good as any of the other makes & I'm really pleased with it! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sony KDL50W829BBU 50 In Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Brilliant tv
Posted24 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Carlos
From:Pitlochry
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Received free product:Yes
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Brilliant tv and picture "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sony KDL50W829BBU 50 In Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Tv for the money
Posted17 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Cliff1970
From:Ipswich, Suffolk, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Absolutely fantastic TV, once it had its software update worked really well. Great service from Argos, good sound but brought a sound plate to complement the TV.
Very good price and i am really pleased. I went for this after much research.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sony KDL50W829BBU 50 In Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sony 50 inch smart tv
Posted17 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Scholarboy
From:Manchester, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Received free product:Yes
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Love the picture production and everything about it.
Always a fan of Sony
Thank you
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sony KDL50W829BBU 50 In Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
well worth it for the price
Posted17 February 2015
Customer avatar
By PenPal
From:Hampshire, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Great Tv for the price. Sony have done well to give you all the features of a high end Tv for a mid range price. It's only downside is in the sound department. But for average home use it does well. Any serious gamers or audiophile will have a good system to complement it anyhow. To add to that, it has ARC and does DD through optical out via whatever component connected to the TV. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sony KDL50W829BBU 50 In Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted22 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Acihan
From:Southgate, London, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" This product has great features! I recommend it! The only thing is sound quality is not as perfect as I expected from Sony...I think that's the reason they offer the soundbar as a gift... "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sony KDL50W829BBU 50 In Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is an amazing TV!
Posted30 December 2014
Customer avatar
By Rili
From:Wales
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" For the price, this is an excellent TV. Even a visiting Sky engineer commented on the picture, saying it was one of the best he's seen. It has a range of 'smart' features including being able to connect to the Internet. We had considered a 4K Tv but this TV lives up to its great reviews. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sony KDL50W829BBU 50 In Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Could have been great but....
Posted12 August 2014
Customer avatar
By jake
From:UK
Age:55 to 64
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" ...let down by very average sound. I get the fact that a slimline TV will not have great sound but at 50" I would have thought the sound could be better, quite tinny in all modes and have to play around with the settings to get a reasonable sound. If, like me, you have a separate amplifier then that is the way to go.
It took some time to get the picture as I wanted it but it was well worth while, the HD, blu ray and blu ray 3d are superb. For a large TV SD pictures aren't too bad either. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-3points
6of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sony KDL50W829BBU 50 In Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sony tv 50" hd 3D
Posted01 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Mr. Wisdom38
From:Belfast, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Fantastic! I surely recommend it to friends. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Sony KDL50W829BBU 50 In Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Happy to buy this Television after reading reviews
Posted27 June 2014
Customer avatar
By Powerpow
From:Greater Manchester, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I am glad that I purchased this Sony television .Picture quality is great .
Its very easy to set up .
It connected straight away to my broadband router.
I love the fact it has a Netflix button on the remote.
There are loads of apps to choose from you are spoilt for choice.
I would recommend to anyone who is looking for a reasonable priced television with a fantastic picture.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.