Top-rated product

Sony KDL50W829BBU 50 In Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.

<p>Great picture quality with 3D and heaps of exciting Smart features. With X-Reality PRO, everything you watch is improved to give you the most detailed Full HD picture possible. Experience lifelike 3D viewing and watch what you want, whenever you want, with catch-up TV, films and TV series on demand.</p><p>Please be aware that not all Apps are currently available in Ireland. </p><p>Television picture quality:</p><ul><li>LED TV Screen.</li><li>Full HD (1080p) display resolution.</li><li>Active with 3D TV .</li><li>Includes 2 pairs of 3D glasses.</li><li>Screen size: 50 inches</li><li>Motion rate 800Hz.</li><li>Viewing angle 89/89 degrees.</li><li>Resolution 1920 x 1080 pixels.</li></ul><p>Connectivity:</p><ul><li>1 SCART socket, 2 USB ports and 4 HDMI sockets.</li><li>Smart TV.</li><li>PC input socket.</li><li>Component video socket.</li><li>Composite socket.</li><li>Optical connection.</li><li>Headphone socket.</li><li>S-Video socket.</li><li>AV socket.</li><li>Wi-Fi enabled.</li><li>Ethernet connection.</li><li>DLNA compatibility.</li><li>Mobile high-definition link.</li><li>Miracast.</li><li>Open browser.</li><li>Suitable for wall mounting.</li></ul><p>Sound quality:</p><ul><li>Dolby Digital Pulse sound system.</li><li>2 x 8 watt RMS power output.</li></ul><p>Digital features:</p><ul><li>Features USB video playback.</li><li>Freeview HD digital tuner.</li><li>Smartphone remote capability.</li><li>Saorview digital tuner (Saorview can only be received in the Republic of Ireland).</li><li>Triple core processor.</li><li>7 day electronic programme guide (EPG).</li><li>CI+ slot.</li></ul><p>Additional features:</p><ul><li>Sleep timer.</li><li>Child lock.</li><li>Size of TV H65.6, W111.6, D6.4cm.</li><li>Weight of TV 13.6kg (unpackaged).</li><li>Size of TV with stand: H69.3, W111.6, D17.9cm.</li><li>Weight of TV with stand: 14.8kg.</li></ul><p>Energy efficiency information:</p><ul><li>Energy efficiency rating: A++.</li><li>On mode power consumption 51 watts.</li><li>Annual power consumption 71kWh.</li><li>Standby power consumption 0.5 watt.</li><li>This product contains lead.</li></ul><p>EAN: 4905524967791</p>
Overall rating:
4.654 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 26 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
25 of 2696%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
18 Questions | 19 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Sony KDL50W829BBU 50 In Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Review 1 for Sony KDL50W829BBU 50 In Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better than my plasma
Posted21 May 2015
Customer avatar
By Ally
From:Melrose, Melrose, Scottish Borders TD6, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Location:Lounge
Use:Movies
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Incredible picture quality and amazing with my xbox one.It brings the best out of blu-ray.The smart part of the telly is not great,but i don't care as the picture quality is so good "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sony KDL50W829BBU 50 In Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great smart tv
Posted12 May 2015
Customer avatar
By ash
From:Leicester
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Location:Lounge
Use:General TV
Received free product:Yes
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" It's a great smart tv great picture, great sound over all excellent. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sony KDL50W829BBU 50 In Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good tv
Posted12 May 2015
Customer avatar
By arnie
From:Devon, UK
Age:35 to 44
Location:Lounge
Use:General TV
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I'm very happy with this product. The picture quality is awesome. The sound is pretty good as well. The only thing I found little bit slow is the keyboard typing on remote and browsing the apps. Very satisfied with the product. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sony KDL50W829BBU 50 In Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sony tv
Posted05 May 2015
Customer avatar
By gary
From:Cheshunt, Hertfordshire, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Location:Lounge
Use:General TV
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Very happy with this sony tv excellent picture and sound great hd as well "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sony KDL50W829BBU 50 In Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sony tv
Posted26 April 2015
Customer avatar
By gary
From:Cheshunt, Hertfordshire, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Location:Lounge
Use:Sport
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Got this tv the other day and we'll l did not what to expect from this tv. but when l saw the picture well l am very happy with it. it a lot better than my old tv "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sony KDL50W829BBU 50 In Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted23 April 2015
Customer avatar
By Ivars
From:UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Location:Lounge
Use:Gaming
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Excellent TV.
Good 3D qualquality, you can convert any TV show or movie in 3D. Afcorse only HD will be enjoyable.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sony KDL50W829BBU 50 In Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Pleased
Posted09 April 2015
Customer avatar
By The Oncoming Storm
From:South Shields
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Sony has been my 'go to' brand when needing a new TV for many years as the picture and build quality have always been second to none.
This TV is no different, in fact it even surpassed my expectations when I first plugged it it.
Connecting to the home network is something of a guessing game as the myriad menu options are sometimes misleading, especially Bluetooth which is not really supported. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sony KDL50W829BBU 50 In Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this product is all that it says and more great tv
Posted08 April 2015
Customer avatar
By tanya
From:uk
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" couldn't have picked a better model it does everything you could want "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sony KDL50W829BBU 50 In Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sony satisfaction
Posted07 April 2015
Customer avatar
By dennis
From:devon
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" great tv love it,well pleased,thank's "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sony KDL50W829BBU 50 In Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brilliant TV
Posted31 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Mrsd
From:West Yorkshire, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Received free product:Yes
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Would definitely recommend it great 3d and other attractions a must buy "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sony KDL50W829BBU 50 In Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Crystal, Clear, and Hard Working! A Medal-Winner!
Posted26 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Simba3662
From:Motherwell, North Lanarkshire, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" The TV pushes itself to go BEYOND what it promises to do.
Video looks 4K and 3D movies and games look equally amazing without blurring!
Automatically installs itself to your PC and other devices through the HDMI cable ensuring you get the optimum performance from the get go.
You need to use the sound and video presets to get the most out of the TV especially when listening to music. But you'll notice the difference right away. (I didn't need the soundbar) "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sony KDL50W829BBU 50 In Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Very low memory
Posted25 March 2015
Customer avatar
By 50 inch
Age:25 to 34
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" It has good picture quality and design. But Bad for live streaming, It has low memory for live streaming etc, you can´t sort the channels, you need to be smart in order to use the tv and its functions, its toooooooooo slow in response etc. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sony KDL50W829BBU 50 In Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stepped it up a notch from my old Bravia
Posted25 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Gaz78
From:Lancashire
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I've had a 40" Sony Bravia for years so now I've updated, brill tv, glad I got the sound bar though :) "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sony KDL50W829BBU 50 In Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted24 March 2015
Customer avatar
By charisma71
From:West Lothian, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Excellent value, plenty of options too choose plus the 3d is one of the best i've experienced, for the price it trully is a well worth bargain. I'd recommend purchasing, its an all rounder whether for gaming or movies. The sound quality isint perfect but with a decent speaker system you cant go wrong. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sony KDL50W829BBU 50 In Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good tv
Posted24 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Morton
From:North Lanarkshire
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This is a good tv from Sony,the picture quality with hd tv broadcasts is excellent but i was disappointed with the quality of the picture with non hd tv broadcasts "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sony KDL50W829BBU 50 In Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good purchase
Posted24 March 2015
Customer avatar
By lexman
From:Livingston, West Lothian, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Good TV but sound quality Poor and remote control complicated. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sony KDL50W829BBU 50 In Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best of the rest!
Posted24 March 2015
Customer avatar
By GT1
From:Leicester
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This tv really does have a stunning picture okay it's not 4K but as there's very little to actually watch in 4K atm it really doesn't matter. This is as good as any of the other makes & I'm really pleased with it! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sony KDL50W829BBU 50 In Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Brilliant tv
Posted24 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Carlos
From:Pitlochry
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Received free product:Yes
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Brilliant tv and picture "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sony KDL50W829BBU 50 In Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Tv for the money
Posted17 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Cliff1970
From:Ipswich, Suffolk, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Absolutely fantastic TV, once it had its software update worked really well. Great service from Argos, good sound but brought a sound plate to complement the TV.
Very good price and i am really pleased. I went for this after much research.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Sony KDL50W829BBU 50 In Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sony 50 inch smart tv
Posted17 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Scholarboy
From:Manchester, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Received free product:Yes
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Love the picture production and everything about it.
Always a fan of Sony
Thank you
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 Next >>>