Top-rated product

Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.

<p>Great picture quality with 3D and heaps of exciting Smart features. With X-Reality PRO, everything you watch is improved to give you the most detailed Full HD picture possible. Experience lifelike 3D viewing and watch what you want, whenever you want, with catch-up TV, films and TV series on demand.</p><p>Please be aware that not all Apps are currently available in Ireland. </p><p>Television picture quality:</p><ul><li>LED TV Screen.</li><li>Full HD (1080p) display resolution.</li><li>3D TV .</li><li>Includes 2 pairs of 3D glasses.</li><li>Screen size: 42 inches</li><li>Motion rate 400Hz.</li><li>Viewing angle 89/89 degrees.</li></ul><p>Connectivity:</p><ul><li>1 SCART socket, 2 USB ports and 4 HDMI sockets.</li><li>Smart TV.</li><li>Component video socket.</li><li>Composite socket.</li><li>Optical connection.</li><li>Headphone socket.</li><li>S-Video socket.</li><li>AV socket.</li><li>Wi-Fi enabled.</li><li>Ethernet connection.</li><li>DLNA compatibility.</li><li>Mobile high-definition link.</li><li>Miracast.</li><li>Open browser.</li></ul><p>Sound quality:</p><ul><li>Dolby sound system.</li></ul><p>Digital features:</p><ul><li>Features USB video playback.</li><li>Freeview HD digital tuner.</li><li>Smartphone remote capability.</li><li>Triple core processor.</li><li>7 day electronic programme guide (EPG).</li><li>CI+ slot.</li></ul><p>Additional features:</p><ul><li>Sleep timer.</li><li>Child lock.</li><li>Size of TV H56.3, W95.8, D6.4cm.</li><li>Weight of TV 10.5kg (unpackaged).</li><li>Size of TV with stand: H60, W95.8, D17cm.</li><li>Weight of TV with stand: 11.7kg.</li></ul><p>Energy efficiency information:</p><ul><li>Energy efficiency rating: A+.</li><li>On mode power consumption 50 watts.</li><li>Annual power consumption 69kWh.</li><li>Standby power consumption 0.5 watt.</li></ul><p>EAN: 4905524967692</p>
Overall rating:
4.592 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 299 reviews
5 Stars
201
4 Stars
81
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
3
1 Star
2
275 of 28995%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
17 Questions | 19 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Review 1 for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good quality
Posted22 April 2015
Customer avatar
By theshott
From:Caerphilly, Caerphilly, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Location:Lounge
Use:Sport
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" got this to replace my Samsung 3d tv that died I wasn't going to get another 3d tv as there is not many 3d channels , but I am glad I did much better than my other tv picture in 3d amazing , sound is good enough without the need for a soundbar , only thing I must advise is to set up the internet app before you update the tv as you will loose it when you update the tv . you will not find a browser in the apps after you update so add it first then update and you will be fine "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sony at it's best
Posted16 April 2015
Customer avatar
By Yoda
From:Hampshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Location:Lounge
Use:Sport
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Has you would expect from Sony ,first class design do not look too big for room.
Free sound bar was a real bonus
Easy controls and set up
Would highly recommend this product "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic TV
Posted15 April 2015
Customer avatar
By Tony123
From:Saint Albans, St Albans, Hertfordshire, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Location:Lounge
Use:General TV
Received free product:Yes
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" After many visits to other technology shops to view different brands and TVs we opted for the Sony bravia 42"
What a TV. Beautiful sleek design and a good quality sound. A sound bar maybe needed for big rooms but for your average house the TV alone is just fine! The picture is Devine as you would imagine from Sony and the fact that you can watch YouTube vids at a click of a button on the big screen is just ace! Netflix is also built in which is tremendous. Buy this TV you won't be disappointed.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
For gamers
Posted15 April 2015
Customer avatar
By Marcin
From:Walthamstow
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Location:Main bedroom
Use:Gaming
Received free product:Yes
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Perfect for gamers. ( PS4 input lag only 18 milliseconds) "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great tv
Posted07 April 2015
Customer avatar
By mark68
From:West Midlands, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Received free product:Yes
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Great picture and with all its features makes it a fantastic TV for the money.Easy to connect and all its functions easy to use.If you use your smart phone you can mirror straight onto the TV no problem.
The screen almost to the edge makes things stand out more ,especially when using 3D.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really love it!
Posted31 March 2015
Customer avatar
By zaina
From:Burton, Staffordshire
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" After having an old telly with a great big back side that lasted 13 years I was looking for something stylish ,within budget and average screen size! The Sony 42 inch Bravia is brilliant! I always go for Sony due to past usage giving me quality products always! Love the way it works and the picture is better with HDMI scart leads. Just wish sound was better but comparing others I have seem it's better than some! Highly recommend this TV! Hope it lasts another 13 years! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Value
Posted30 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Johnboy
From:Pembrokeshire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" After a lot of research bought this set, was easy to set up and put together. Very good picture sound not so good, but I have a sound bar and that works perfectly with the set. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic tv
Posted24 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Shopaholic1993
From:Kent, UK
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Great tv, really impressed with the overall quality. Also really easy to set up. I wouldn't recommend the 3D aspect as I have seen better on other TV's but I wasn't buying this for the 3D so doesn't bother me. I got it whilst on special offer and I am really happy with my purchase. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect buy
Posted24 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Amelia
From:London, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Great tv, the view is so perfect. We also bought a sound system which makes the waching of a movie like you're in a cinema. Overall happy with my purchase "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Quality Product
Posted19 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Alec
From:East Riding of Yorkshire, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This is without question a top quality product from Sony, the picture and sound are fantastic and the overall look and design is beautiful.
I would fully recommend this product to others "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best in class
Posted11 March 2015
Customer avatar
By William
From:Newtownards
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Bought this to replace a 7 year old samsung that was on its way out. Very pleased with this sony tv, excellent picture quality and decent sound. I use this for my PS4 and can recommend it for gaming. I couldnt believe just how light this tv is compared to the older heavier lcd tvs from several years ago, I was able to carry this out of the shop effortlessly. Quick and easy to setup. Recommended. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An excellent 3D HD Smart TV from Sony
Posted03 March 2015
Customer avatar
By ICR121
From:Sheffield, South Yorkshire, UK
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" This TV is great to look at on or off. The style is cool and modern with black sleek lines and a nice trim of brushed steel around the screen.
When on, the screen is bright, vibrant and full of colour and depth. Blacks are deep and colours stand out well. The built in HD satellite tuner is excellent receiving well over 200 channels including many HD services. Sound is a bit of a let down however. There are loads of HDMI ports and Wi-Fi connectivity is really stable and fast.
Overall a great TV!
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sony 42 inch full HD Freeview HD 3D smart Led TV
Posted24 February 2015
Customer avatar
By carmen
From:Cheshire, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This product has sharp picture and great features. Also has an amazing catalogue of sights where to choose from. It makes everything so easy and enjoyable. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted24 February 2015
Customer avatar
By bas
From:london
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Sony always the best!!!! :) "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Smart functions and Football Mode
Posted18 February 2015
Customer avatar
By Val
From:Ayr
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This is an excellent tv and I experienced no issues with the step up. In fact I found it very straight-forward. Social view (where you can read Tweets on the screen without logging in to your account) is fab. Football mode (adjusts the screen lighting and sound for the best viewing experience) is fab, but remember to turn it off after the game has ended.
I've also been very impressed by the 3D function. All in, a fantastic purchase. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very happy
Posted14 February 2015
Customer avatar
By Azza
From:Glasgow
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I bought this TV to replace and ageing 37" Philips TV. The TV is great, picture quality is brillant and the volume can be brillant as long as you play about with the settings.
The power button is at the back of the TV, which could be awkward, but I have discovered that you can actually turn the TV on and off with the remote.
The only disappointing thing about this TV, is not being able to use the TV speakers and an external audio source at the same time, you can only use one or the other. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for gaming in the living room
Posted04 February 2015
Customer avatar
By Gary99
From:Dublin, Ireland
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This is a great TV for gaming and watching sports/movies. Integrates with consoles and PC's seamlessly. Great variety of ports for input/output. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic picture and clarity
Posted28 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Monica
From:Edinburgh
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Love the Sony TV. Fantastic picture quality cannot fault. Haven't tried the 3D to date. But I did find set up a little tricky though probably myself to blame, as previous 37" Phillips HD TV was not WiFi, though modern. I am still trying to find my way around options available. Only regret.. I didn't buy a larger size as this was what prompted myself to actually buy another set, but great TV for the price. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sony 3d hd smart tv
Posted27 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Robert hillman
From:United Kingdom
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I love this tv it's good for my old game consoles like my sega dreamcast and it's good for ps4 wiiu and makes 3d look nice as well and hd and I like smart tv as well I can use Netflix on it best tv I ever add "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Tv!
Posted22 January 2015
Customer avatar
By RooRooBear
From:Oswestry
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Received free product:Yes
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Beautiful TV, the only negative is that it comes with Netflix instead of Now TV, otherwise very good. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 Next >>>