Top-rated product

Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.

<p>Great picture quality with 3D and heaps of exciting Smart features. With X-Reality PRO, everything you watch is improved to give you the most detailed Full HD picture possible. Experience lifelike 3D viewing and watch what you want, whenever you want, with catch-up TV, films and TV series on demand.</p><p>Please be aware that not all Apps are currently available in Ireland. </p><p>Television picture quality:</p><ul><li>LED TV Screen.</li><li>Full HD (1080p) display resolution.</li><li>3D TV .</li><li>Includes 2 pairs of 3D glasses.</li><li>Screen size: 42 inches</li><li>Motion rate 400Hz.</li><li>Viewing angle 89/89 degrees.</li></ul><p>Connectivity:</p><ul><li>1 SCART socket, 2 USB ports and 4 HDMI sockets.</li><li>Smart TV.</li><li>Component video socket.</li><li>Composite socket.</li><li>Optical connection.</li><li>Headphone socket.</li><li>S-Video socket.</li><li>AV socket.</li><li>Wi-Fi enabled.</li><li>Ethernet connection.</li><li>DLNA compatibility.</li><li>Mobile high-definition link.</li><li>Miracast.</li><li>Open browser.</li></ul><p>Sound quality:</p><ul><li>Dolby sound system.</li></ul><p>Digital features:</p><ul><li>Features USB video playback.</li><li>Freeview HD digital tuner.</li><li>Smartphone remote capability.</li><li>Triple core processor.</li><li>7 day electronic programme guide (EPG).</li><li>CI+ slot.</li></ul><p>Additional features:</p><ul><li>Sleep timer.</li><li>Child lock.</li><li>Size of TV H56.3, W95.8, D6.4cm.</li><li>Weight of TV 10.5kg (unpackaged).</li><li>Size of TV with stand: H60, W95.8, D17cm.</li><li>Weight of TV with stand: 11.7kg.</li></ul><p>Energy efficiency information:</p><ul><li>Energy efficiency rating: A+.</li><li>On mode power consumption 50 watts.</li><li>Annual power consumption 69kWh.</li><li>Standby power consumption 0.5 watt.</li></ul><p>EAN: 4905524967692</p>
Overall rating:
4.591 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 306 reviews
5 Stars
206
4 Stars
82
3 Stars
13
2 Stars
3
1 Star
2
282 of 29695%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
22 Questions | 25 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Review 1 for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product is excellent as I wanted
Posted06 August 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Berkshire, England
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
" It is a wonderful product as i expected and wanted. ...ieven recommended to my frfriends to buy the same. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best buy TV
Posted14 July 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Falkirk
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Location:Lounge
Use:General TV
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Incredible value at a sensible price!
Amazed by the all round quality of the television. Looks so much bigger than it actually is, and the picture quality is so sharp!
Easy to tune and excellent in built services!
A 5 star product!
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted08 July 2015
Customer avatar
By
Age:25 to 34
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Superb excellent highly recommend "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
this tv as good sound and good pictures
Posted02 July 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Essex, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Location:Lounge
Use:General TV
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" The sony tv is good value but not happy with no 3d glasses have to buy them our self "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sony Does It Again
Posted30 June 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Location:Lounge
Use:General TV
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This is one great tv. Picture quality 5/5. 3D Picture quality 5/5. Sound quality 5/5. Connections 4 HDMI, 2 USB, 1 Scart, 1 composite, 1 Optical Out, could do with an extra scart and RGB/Composite. Recognises PS4/PS3 when connected by HDMI Cable. Connect effortlessly to Sony Xperia Phone via Bluetooth. Has a dedicated Netflix Button on the remote. Connects to internet wireless or by cat5 cable, better connection by cable. Loads of different apps. Skype needs a separate camera. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
I also recommend:
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it!
Posted12 May 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Northern Ireland
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Location:Lounge
Use:Streaming
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Great TV. Very easy to set up and to use "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good quality
Posted22 April 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Caerphilly, Caerphilly, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Location:Lounge
Use:Sport
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" got this to replace my Samsung 3d tv that died I wasn't going to get another 3d tv as there is not many 3d channels , but I am glad I did much better than my other tv picture in 3d amazing , sound is good enough without the need for a soundbar , only thing I must advise is to set up the internet app before you update the tv as you will loose it when you update the tv . you will not find a browser in the apps after you update so add it first then update and you will be fine "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sony at it's best
Posted16 April 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Hampshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Location:Lounge
Use:Sport
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Has you would expect from Sony ,first class design do not look too big for room.
Free sound bar was a real bonus
Easy controls and set up
Would highly recommend this product "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic TV
Posted15 April 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Saint Albans, St Albans, Hertfordshire, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Location:Lounge
Use:General TV
Received free product:Yes
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" After many visits to other technology shops to view different brands and TVs we opted for the Sony bravia 42"
What a TV. Beautiful sleek design and a good quality sound. A sound bar maybe needed for big rooms but for your average house the TV alone is just fine! The picture is Devine as you would imagine from Sony and the fact that you can watch YouTube vids at a click of a button on the big screen is just ace! Netflix is also built in which is tremendous. Buy this TV you won't be disappointed.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
For gamers
Posted15 April 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Walthamstow
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Location:Main bedroom
Use:Gaming
Received free product:Yes
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Perfect for gamers. ( PS4 input lag only 18 milliseconds) "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great tv
Posted07 April 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:West Midlands, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Received free product:Yes
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Great picture and with all its features makes it a fantastic TV for the money.Easy to connect and all its functions easy to use.If you use your smart phone you can mirror straight onto the TV no problem.
The screen almost to the edge makes things stand out more ,especially when using 3D.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really love it!
Posted31 March 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Burton, Staffordshire
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" After having an old telly with a great big back side that lasted 13 years I was looking for something stylish ,within budget and average screen size! The Sony 42 inch Bravia is brilliant! I always go for Sony due to past usage giving me quality products always! Love the way it works and the picture is better with HDMI scart leads. Just wish sound was better but comparing others I have seem it's better than some! Highly recommend this TV! Hope it lasts another 13 years! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Value
Posted30 March 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Pembrokeshire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" After a lot of research bought this set, was easy to set up and put together. Very good picture sound not so good, but I have a sound bar and that works perfectly with the set. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic tv
Posted24 March 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Kent, UK
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Great tv, really impressed with the overall quality. Also really easy to set up. I wouldn't recommend the 3D aspect as I have seen better on other TV's but I wasn't buying this for the 3D so doesn't bother me. I got it whilst on special offer and I am really happy with my purchase. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect buy
Posted24 March 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:London, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Great tv, the view is so perfect. We also bought a sound system which makes the waching of a movie like you're in a cinema. Overall happy with my purchase "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Quality Product
Posted19 March 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:East Riding of Yorkshire, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This is without question a top quality product from Sony, the picture and sound are fantastic and the overall look and design is beautiful.
I would fully recommend this product to others "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best in class
Posted11 March 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Newtownards
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Bought this to replace a 7 year old samsung that was on its way out. Very pleased with this sony tv, excellent picture quality and decent sound. I use this for my PS4 and can recommend it for gaming. I couldnt believe just how light this tv is compared to the older heavier lcd tvs from several years ago, I was able to carry this out of the shop effortlessly. Quick and easy to setup. Recommended. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An excellent 3D HD Smart TV from Sony
Posted03 March 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Sheffield, South Yorkshire, UK
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" This TV is great to look at on or off. The style is cool and modern with black sleek lines and a nice trim of brushed steel around the screen.
When on, the screen is bright, vibrant and full of colour and depth. Blacks are deep and colours stand out well. The built in HD satellite tuner is excellent receiving well over 200 channels including many HD services. Sound is a bit of a let down however. There are loads of HDMI ports and Wi-Fi connectivity is really stable and fast.
Overall a great TV!
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sony 42 inch full HD Freeview HD 3D smart Led TV
Posted24 February 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Cheshire, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This product has sharp picture and great features. Also has an amazing catalogue of sights where to choose from. It makes everything so easy and enjoyable. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted24 February 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:london
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Sony always the best!!!! :) "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 Next >>>