Top-rated product

Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.

<p>Great picture quality with 3D and heaps of exciting Smart features. With X-Reality PRO, everything you watch is improved to give you the most detailed Full HD picture possible. Experience lifelike 3D viewing and watch what you want, whenever you want, with catch-up TV, films and TV series on demand.</p><p>Please be aware that not all Apps are currently available in Ireland. </p><p>Television picture quality:</p><ul><li>LED TV Screen.</li><li>Full HD (1080p) display resolution.</li><li>3D TV .</li><li>Includes 2 pairs of 3D glasses.</li><li>Screen size: 42 inches</li><li>Motion rate 400Hz.</li><li>Viewing angle 89/89 degrees.</li></ul><p>Connectivity:</p><ul><li>1 SCART socket, 2 USB ports and 4 HDMI sockets.</li><li>Smart TV.</li><li>Component video socket.</li><li>Composite socket.</li><li>Optical connection.</li><li>Headphone socket.</li><li>S-Video socket.</li><li>AV socket.</li><li>Wi-Fi enabled.</li><li>Ethernet connection.</li><li>DLNA compatibility.</li><li>Mobile high-definition link.</li><li>Miracast.</li><li>Open browser.</li></ul><p>Sound quality:</p><ul><li>Dolby sound system.</li></ul><p>Digital features:</p><ul><li>Features USB video playback.</li><li>Freeview HD digital tuner.</li><li>Smartphone remote capability.</li><li>Triple core processor.</li><li>7 day electronic programme guide (EPG).</li><li>CI+ slot.</li></ul><p>Additional features:</p><ul><li>Sleep timer.</li><li>Child lock.</li><li>Size of TV H56.3, W95.8, D6.4cm.</li><li>Weight of TV 10.5kg (unpackaged).</li><li>Size of TV with stand: H60, W95.8, D17cm.</li><li>Weight of TV with stand: 11.7kg.</li></ul><p>Energy efficiency information:</p><ul><li>Energy efficiency rating: A+.</li><li>On mode power consumption 50 watts.</li><li>Annual power consumption 69kWh.</li><li>Standby power consumption 0.5 watt.</li></ul><p>EAN: 4905524967692</p>
Overall rating:
4.586 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 292 reviews
5 Stars
195
4 Stars
80
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
3
1 Star
2
268 of 28295%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
16 Questions | 18 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Review 1 for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic tv
Posted24 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Shopaholic1993
From:Kent, UK
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Great tv, really impressed with the overall quality. Also really easy to set up. I wouldn't recommend the 3D aspect as I have seen better on other TV's but I wasn't buying this for the 3D so doesn't bother me. I got it whilst on special offer and I am really happy with my purchase. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect buy
Posted24 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Amelia
From:London, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Great tv, the view is so perfect. We also bought a sound system which makes the waching of a movie like you're in a cinema. Overall happy with my purchase "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Quality Product
Posted19 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Alec
From:East Riding of Yorkshire, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This is without question a top quality product from Sony, the picture and sound are fantastic and the overall look and design is beautiful.
I would fully recommend this product to others "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best in class
Posted11 March 2015
Customer avatar
By William
From:Newtownards
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Bought this to replace a 7 year old samsung that was on its way out. Very pleased with this sony tv, excellent picture quality and decent sound. I use this for my PS4 and can recommend it for gaming. I couldnt believe just how light this tv is compared to the older heavier lcd tvs from several years ago, I was able to carry this out of the shop effortlessly. Quick and easy to setup. Recommended. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An excellent 3D HD Smart TV from Sony
Posted03 March 2015
Customer avatar
By ICR121
From:Sheffield, South Yorkshire, UK
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" This TV is great to look at on or off. The style is cool and modern with black sleek lines and a nice trim of brushed steel around the screen.
When on, the screen is bright, vibrant and full of colour and depth. Blacks are deep and colours stand out well. The built in HD satellite tuner is excellent receiving well over 200 channels including many HD services. Sound is a bit of a let down however. There are loads of HDMI ports and Wi-Fi connectivity is really stable and fast.
Overall a great TV!
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sony 42 inch full HD Freeview HD 3D smart Led TV
Posted24 February 2015
Customer avatar
By carmen
From:Cheshire, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This product has sharp picture and great features. Also has an amazing catalogue of sights where to choose from. It makes everything so easy and enjoyable. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted24 February 2015
Customer avatar
By bas
From:london
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Sony always the best!!!! :) "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Smart functions and Football Mode
Posted18 February 2015
Customer avatar
By Val
From:Ayr
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This is an excellent tv and I experienced no issues with the step up. In fact I found it very straight-forward. Social view (where you can read Tweets on the screen without logging in to your account) is fab. Football mode (adjusts the screen lighting and sound for the best viewing experience) is fab, but remember to turn it off after the game has ended.
I've also been very impressed by the 3D function. All in, a fantastic purchase. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very happy
Posted14 February 2015
Customer avatar
By Azza
From:Glasgow
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I bought this TV to replace and ageing 37" Philips TV. The TV is great, picture quality is brillant and the volume can be brillant as long as you play about with the settings.
The power button is at the back of the TV, which could be awkward, but I have discovered that you can actually turn the TV on and off with the remote.
The only disappointing thing about this TV, is not being able to use the TV speakers and an external audio source at the same time, you can only use one or the other. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for gaming in the living room
Posted04 February 2015
Customer avatar
By Gary99
From:Dublin, Ireland
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This is a great TV for gaming and watching sports/movies. Integrates with consoles and PC's seamlessly. Great variety of ports for input/output. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic picture and clarity
Posted28 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Monica
From:Edinburgh
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Love the Sony TV. Fantastic picture quality cannot fault. Haven't tried the 3D to date. But I did find set up a little tricky though probably myself to blame, as previous 37" Phillips HD TV was not WiFi, though modern. I am still trying to find my way around options available. Only regret.. I didn't buy a larger size as this was what prompted myself to actually buy another set, but great TV for the price. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sony 3d hd smart tv
Posted27 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Robert hillman
From:United Kingdom
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I love this tv it's good for my old game consoles like my sega dreamcast and it's good for ps4 wiiu and makes 3d look nice as well and hd and I like smart tv as well I can use Netflix on it best tv I ever add "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Tv!
Posted22 January 2015
Customer avatar
By RooRooBear
From:Oswestry
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Received free product:Yes
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Beautiful TV, the only negative is that it comes with Netflix instead of Now TV, otherwise very good. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice TV
Posted09 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Caz
From:UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" TV is nice and big with good quality screen. Help button on controls as it didn't come with a proper manual. You need to attach the stand to tv but it's easy enough to do. Very light to carry . TV sound quality could be better but he sub woofer helps. Overall very pleased with TV. Still working out the best picture quality for it. It like a new toy . "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Low input lag, fast processor, great TV!
Posted09 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Reggie
From:Staffordshire, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I bought this as I have moved my desktop PC away from a desk and to my HDTV. My old HDTV didn't work well with games, like BF4, because of input lag and stuttering, because the processor couldn't keep up with how fast a mouse can move. This TV is a vast improvement and now I can play FPS games with minimal lag and stuttering (in the TV's 'Game' mode) There isn't much, if anything, out there at the time of typing this that can beat it, for the price, unless you look at monitors. Free soundbar too "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Breathtaking
Posted30 December 2014
Customer avatar
By Unborn fungus
From:London
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This tv in 3D is awesome. Recently watched the film gravity in 3D and I watched it at least 5 times in the space of a week because of the 3D and the picture quality.
You do get a couple of HD channels built into your free view which is decent, all the better for watching MOTD.
changing the picture scene selection to game just makes every single sector of every game more crisper. My two mates were blown away with the picture quality on FIFA 15.
Overall, fantastic tv, well worth it "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
awsome
Posted30 December 2014
Customer avatar
By bootsy69
From:midlands
Age:35 to 44
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" love this tv so much very simple to use worlds apart from my old sony "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quite frankly an awesome tv and soundbar
Posted05 December 2014
Customer avatar
By robinsj3
From:Leicester, Leicester, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I've been considering buying a new TV for the last 4 years....anything shorter than that and it's an impulse buy - sorry I'm tight.
In short - a fantastic tv, terrific picture, great features and the free soundbar isn't a nice bonus - it's essential. Great quality kit.
If you're looking for a new TV, want it to be sized for a normal living room, and want good features - then this is the TV for you. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sony 8 series.
Posted03 December 2014
Customer avatar
By Biffy
From:Merseyside
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Received free product:Yes
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" 1.Be patient on set up.
2.Go right back to manufset up,Apps sometimes dont load from when turning on initially
3. Once telly loaded, ok sound, but now load your soundbar and superwoofer, WOW
4. A 3 level stand is required no messing about with sound bar in front of telly
5 For a mid size room, the 42 is a perfect size, but once sitting down you swear it is 45, an optical illusion, as the picture goes right to the edge, watched fooball in HD last night with the football mode switched on, AMAZING.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good for head phones
Posted16 September 2014
Customer avatar
By what did you say
From:UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I'm heard of hearing,so need head phones.but everyone needs to hear the TV.This TV as the option to turn on or off TV speaks,when head phone's are plugged in.just the job "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 Next >>>