Top-rated product

Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.

<p>This 42 inch Sony Full HD TV delivers 1080p image quality resulting in an exceptionally clear and vivid picture. Being both 3D and HD capable your TV is equipped for the complete range of channels available. Includes built-in freeview allowing you to enjoy over 50 TV channels.</p><p>Please be aware that not all Apps are currently available in Ireland. </p><p>Television picture quality:</p><ul><li>LED TV Screen.</li><li>Full HD (1080p) display resolution.</li><li>3D TV .</li><li>Includes 2 pairs of 3D glasses.</li><li>Screen size: 42 inches</li><li>Motion rate 400Hz.</li><li>Viewing angle 89/89 degrees.</li></ul><p>Connectivity:</p><ul><li>1 SCART socket, 2 USB ports and 4 HDMI sockets.</li><li>Smart TV.</li><li>Component video socket.</li><li>Composite.</li><li>Optical connection.</li><li>Headphone socket.</li><li>S-Video socket.</li><li>AV socket.</li><li>Wi-Fi enabled.</li><li>Ethernet connection.</li><li>DLNA compatibility.</li><li>Mobile high-definition link.</li><li>Miracast.</li><li>Open browser.</li></ul><p>Sound quality:</p><ul><li>Dolby sound system.</li></ul><p>Digital features:</p><ul><li>Features USB video playback.</li><li>Freeview HD digital tuner.</li><li>Smartphone remote capability.</li><li>Triple core processor.</li><li>7 day electronic programme guide (EPG).</li><li>CI+ slot.</li></ul><p>Additional features:</p><ul><li>Sleep timer.</li><li>Child lock.</li><li>Size of TV H56.3, W95.8, D6.4cm.</li><li>Weight of TV 10.5kg (unpackaged).</li><li>Size of TV with stand: H60, W95.8, D17cm.</li><li>Weight of TV with stand: 11.7kg.</li></ul><p>Energy efficiency information:</p><ul><li>Energy efficiency rating: A+.</li><li>On mode power consumption 50 watts.</li><li>Annual power consumption 69kWh.</li><li>Standby power consumption 0.5 watt.</li></ul><p>EAN: 4905524967692</p>
Overall rating:
4.554 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 240 reviews
5 Stars
154
4 Stars
72
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
3
1 Star
2
219 of 23294%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
13 Questions | 15 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Review 1 for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sony 3d hd smart tv
Posted27 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Robert hillman
From:United Kingdom
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I love this tv it's good for my old game consoles like my sega dreamcast and it's good for ps4 wiiu and makes 3d look nice as well and hd and I like smart tv as well I can use Netflix on it best tv I ever add "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Tv!
Posted22 January 2015
Customer avatar
By RooRooBear
From:Oswestry
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Received free product:Yes
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Beautiful TV, the only negative is that it comes with Netflix instead of Now TV, otherwise very good. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice TV
Posted09 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Caz
From:UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" TV is nice and big with good quality screen. Help button on controls as it didn't come with a proper manual. You need to attach the stand to tv but it's easy enough to do. Very light to carry . TV sound quality could be better but he sub woofer helps. Overall very pleased with TV. Still working out the best picture quality for it. It like a new toy . "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Low input lag, fast processor, great TV!
Posted09 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Reggie
From:Staffordshire, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I bought this as I have moved my desktop PC away from a desk and to my HDTV. My old HDTV didn't work well with games, like BF4, because of input lag and stuttering, because the processor couldn't keep up with how fast a mouse can move. This TV is a vast improvement and now I can play FPS games with minimal lag and stuttering (in the TV's 'Game' mode) There isn't much, if anything, out there at the time of typing this that can beat it, for the price, unless you look at monitors. Free soundbar too "
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
I also recommend:
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Breathtaking
Posted30 December 2014
Customer avatar
By Unborn fungus
From:London
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This tv in 3D is awesome. Recently watched the film gravity in 3D and I watched it at least 5 times in the space of a week because of the 3D and the picture quality.
You do get a couple of HD channels built into your free view which is decent, all the better for watching MOTD.
changing the picture scene selection to game just makes every single sector of every game more crisper. My two mates were blown away with the picture quality on FIFA 15.
Overall, fantastic tv, well worth it "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
awsome
Posted30 December 2014
Customer avatar
By bootsy69
From:midlands
Age:35 to 44
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" love this tv so much very simple to use worlds apart from my old sony "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quite frankly an awesome tv and soundbar
Posted05 December 2014
Customer avatar
By robinsj3
From:Leicester, Leicester, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I've been considering buying a new TV for the last 4 years....anything shorter than that and it's an impulse buy - sorry I'm tight.
In short - a fantastic tv, terrific picture, great features and the free soundbar isn't a nice bonus - it's essential. Great quality kit.
If you're looking for a new TV, want it to be sized for a normal living room, and want good features - then this is the TV for you. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sony 8 series.
Posted03 December 2014
Customer avatar
By Biffy
From:Merseyside
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Received free product:Yes
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" 1.Be patient on set up.
2.Go right back to manufset up,Apps sometimes dont load from when turning on initially
3. Once telly loaded, ok sound, but now load your soundbar and superwoofer, WOW
4. A 3 level stand is required no messing about with sound bar in front of telly
5 For a mid size room, the 42 is a perfect size, but once sitting down you swear it is 45, an optical illusion, as the picture goes right to the edge, watched fooball in HD last night with the football mode switched on, AMAZING.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good for head phones
Posted16 September 2014
Customer avatar
By what did you say
From:UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I'm heard of hearing,so need head phones.but everyone needs to hear the TV.This TV as the option to turn on or off TV speaks,when head phone's are plugged in.just the job "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Could have been better
Posted02 September 2014
Customer avatar
By Azad
From:London, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Before I buy this TV I googled for quite a few tv's, within this budget considering the size,price & quality I found this TV matches all requirements for a latest TV in the market, I don't have any big complain about this TV but it could have been little bit better specially the price I have paid for this TV, I could have get a bigger size if I would have gone for different brand, the picture quality is ok, sound quality needs to be improved, the design is good, the HD is really good on this TV. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted02 September 2014
Customer avatar
By Shan M
From:London, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Excellent choice in buying this television. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
No motion flow 400hz settings
Posted29 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Paul
From:London
Age:35 to 44
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" 400 hz motion flow,is really 100hz but this Sony TV has no settings but the 50 inch does,I'm not happy about that and Sony after sales is so bad rubbish,the picture is really good,one of the best.colours are lifelike the 3d is very good,network stream can drop sometimes,I'm still within 30 day so not sure I'm going to keep this TV,but for the money the TV is one of the best on the market "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sony 42w829
Posted10 June 2014
Customer avatar
By John31
From:London, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Excellent Tv with great features we all know how Sony products got the best quality and design.Free sound bar as well it gives you whole cinema experience 3d is brilliant I always go for passive 3d.No headaches and cheaper price for glasses.Only thing i am confused about is that motion flow feature it says on Sonys website its not accessible even though it is 400mhz in the description so i dont know what kind of affect it gives or perhaps Sony will bring update soon then we can use it. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sony tv
Posted27 May 2014
Customer avatar
By jan
From:Saint Helens, Merseyside, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Great tv, love it.Only concern is the stand that you have to use as the wall bracket.substantial fixing to wall but only two small screws into back of tv. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-17points
1of 19voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Sony 42W829 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD 3D Smart LED TV.
Based on the average of (226) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4.6 / 5
4.6 / 5
205 out of 218 recommend this product