Top-rated product
Sorry this product is currently unavailable. Please visit Argos for similar products.

York Inspiration Rowing Machine.

This rowing machine is fantastic value for money. Workout at your own pace at home. With single handled rowing and 12 levels of tension control, you can build up your cardiovascular fitness at the same time as toning muscles all over.Manual hydraulic resistance system with 12 level tension control.4 user programmes.Programmes include: target strokes, target time, target distance and target.Single handle rowing style.Console feedback including: strokes, time, distance, calories, stroke rate per minute, accumulated total strokes and target achievement alarm.Pivoting foot plates with adjustable foot straps.Maximum user weight 90kg (14st2lb).Transportation wheels.General information:Size H40, W40, D150cm.Weight 18.1kg.Packed flat.EAN/MPN/UPC/ISBN: 0014961560039.
Overall rating:
4.308 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 52 reviews
5 Stars
30
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
4
1 Star
1
16 of 2176%would recommend to a friend
Sort by Customer reviews for York Inspiration Rowing Machine.
Review 1 for York Inspiration Rowing Machine.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Purchase
Posted21 June 2012
Customer avatar
By katie
From:South Gloucesterhsire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
"Easy to put together took only 30mins on my own, the two tools needed to put together are included. Can be moved easily over carpet, but stays put when in use, also very quiet. Yes some would call this a basic rower, but for the average person this is an excellent compact piece of equipment for home use. My only gripe would be that the rowing bar is not that comfortable to hold as it has a hard exterior, but I have put two foam tubes over the ends which seems to have done the trick."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for York Inspiration Rowing Machine.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good value for money
Posted06 March 2012
Customer avatar
By ponytail
From:greater manchester
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
"very easy to assemble, took about 30 mins. it,s used daily for around 30 minutes. had no problems with the machine. the seat is very comfry & smooth. it can be put under a bed when not used. i think it,s a great buy. the only problem is that you need something like an old carpet or a thick mat to stop the rowing machine moving & damaging the flooring."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for York Inspiration Rowing Machine.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent
Posted22 June 2011
Customer avatar
By Happy Shopper
"Fantastic item met all requirements"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for York Inspiration Rowing Machine.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best purchase ever
Posted07 June 2011
Customer avatar
By Jane
From:Lancashire
"Excellent value for money, use most nights and can already feel fitter and more toned. My husband has also started using the machine."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for York Inspiration Rowing Machine.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
FLAWED!
Posted24 September 2010
Customer avatar
By mo
From:moray
"I read the reviews before i bought this and didn't really pay too much attention. I am only 5ft2 and thought the concerns were for that of a much taller person....WRONG! The design of this model is so flawed I am surprised York put their name for it. If you are used to using proper gym equipment, this is awful. I am now used to having to try and get the handles over my legs when i row and have had to put tape on the rowing handles to stop blistering of my hands, but if i had the chance to change this machine i definitely would. The only plus is the ease of assembly and price i suppose, but my advice, spend a bit more and get something decent."
No, I do not recommend this product.
+6points
13of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for York Inspiration Rowing Machine.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Very Poor
Posted16 April 2010
Customer avatar
By Nick
From:UK
"This product was no good. I set it up fine, took about 30 minutes. the size was good (fine for anyone up to 5ft7.
HOWEVER, on the second 'row' the resistance band slipped off the wheel and wrapped itself around the mechanism inside the machine. thus I had to strip it apart to put it back on the wheel, to no avail as it happened again.
I took it back the next day a got a refund. Really not good. Buy at your peril
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
+10points
18of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for York Inspiration Rowing Machine.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
love it
Posted13 April 2010
Customer avatar
By eileen
From:cheshire
"glides smoothly, ideal rower, would recommend it"
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for York Inspiration Rowing Machine.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Portable with limitations
Posted25 March 2010
Customer avatar
By vld
From:kent
"Just got this little beast for daily cardio exercises (used to cycle a lot but have no time for it now)
The first impression's nice good build rower. Assembles in minutes. Very portable both assembled and in the box(<1.45m long) Needs two hands to adjust resistance on Hydraulics.
As it was already mentioned before, this rower is not suitable for tall people. Furthermore, this is very-very portable rower. It is not possible to make a full stroke under proper rowing technique(search youtube for it). The final destination for handle bar's at the tip of you feet. No one is able to keep shins at 90o and arms stretched and parallel. Your knees protrude between you arms and legs are not working at the beginning of the full stroke(until your arms are fully stretched and experience resistance) Bottom line, If you are after power training look elsewhere.
The same points are valid for York R510 model which is virtually the same rower with square not round stands.
I still give it 4 for portability. Half and quarter strokes will do just fine for daily cardio routine. Looking forward to get myself in shape.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
12of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for York Inspiration Rowing Machine.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
York Inspiration Rower
Posted16 March 2010
Customer avatar
By hairycornflake
From:Devon
"Easy to put together took about 15mins
Simple to use really good workout
Robust yet small fitted under my bed
Would recommend to anyone wanting to start out on a gentle training regime
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for York Inspiration Rowing Machine.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
does what it it says it does
Posted07 March 2010
Customer avatar
By BLONDIE
From:Cheshire
"I wanted a rower for exercise at a reasonable price , that was easy to put together , gave me good feedback on my progress , and comfortable to use . It ticked all the boxes ."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for York Inspiration Rowing Machine.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
York Inspiration Rower
Posted16 February 2010
Customer avatar
By Franky
From:High Wycombe
"For the money, this rower is excellent (I use it about 3 times a week). The various tension settings are great and allow you to have as tough or as light a workout as you want. The seat is pretty comfortable and the build quality would lead you to believe the rower to be much more expensive than it is.
When not is use, it can be stored upright and doesn't take up much space at all which is a real bonus. Assembly was a breeze, less than an hour. The footstraps are really secure, whatever size feet you have. All in all, I'm really pleased with this purchase and highly recommend the York Inspiration Rower.... You won't regret it, it's superb value for money."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for York Inspiration Rowing Machine.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted16 February 2010
Customer avatar
By Richard
From:Suffolk
"Easy to assemble, good instructions. With 12 resistance settings great for beginner and upwards."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for York Inspiration Rowing Machine.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good choice
Posted16 February 2010
Customer avatar
By abread
From:evesham
"Excellent Purchase, Its heavy to move around."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for York Inspiration Rowing Machine.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
York Rower
Posted02 February 2010
Customer avatar
By Noureen
From:london
"excellent value for money! you a gym workout without leaving your home.
I would recommend it to all"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for York Inspiration Rowing Machine.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
York rowing machine
Posted02 February 2010
Customer avatar
By gary
From:cleveland
"cable / belt worn away after about 3 weeks use.
Argos exchanged without a problem
Hope the replacement lasts longer
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for York Inspiration Rowing Machine.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent value
Posted23 January 2010
Customer avatar
By James
From:Havant
"Easy to put together and very smooth in use. Only 4 stars not 5 because seat could be more comfortable and "main wheel" could be larger to mimic an air rower but in terms of value for money and doing what it is designed for, this is an excellent piece of equipment."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for York Inspiration Rowing Machine.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hard work
Posted20 January 2010
Customer avatar
By Russ
From:surrey
"This is a good rower that is for all sizes (I am 5ft and my husband is 6ft). The only thing I haven't worked out yet is how to change the difficulty setting as it is quite hard work (although maybe I am that unfit). Also the display is not easy to read and quite dark. However that being said I think it is very good value and seems to be a good quality."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for York Inspiration Rowing Machine.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
inspiration rower
Posted19 January 2010
Customer avatar
By Anonymous
From:west sussex
"great for home use,easy to put together,just the job."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for York Inspiration Rowing Machine.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good for the price
Posted19 January 2010
Customer avatar
By ruhul555
From:Manor Park
"the frame on the product is of good build quality as of always with York products. Quite heavy. The difficulty settings are broad but I feel would be quite hard for someone new to rowing. One problem that I found was that the handle was very uncomfortable and gave blisters on my palms which can be solved by using gloves. Personally, I would spend a little more and get one that has a better belt assembly because this one has tangled up once."
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for York Inspiration Rowing Machine.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Dissapointing - but cheap
Posted19 January 2010
Customer avatar
By thewsfamily
From:HERTS
"Got this rowing machine for my husband, but he can't use it because he is too tall (193 cm - so it's not like he is a giant) to work it properly - his knees get in the way.
The instrument panel is really hard to read (back lights would improve this but I guess this would make it more epensive) and you get blisters in your hands because the handle is nothing but a plastic stick...not ergonomically constructed or fitted in any way. If you have tried bigger/professional/more sturdy rowing machines you will find that they have a large wheel which gives you a gliding "real" sensation when you row. But this machine only has a little wheel which comes to a complete stop before you have time to take your next stroke and thus the movement does not simulate rowing on water at all.
We've decided to take it back to Argos - we should have known better than to get a low priced rowing machine. Price and quality do go hand in hand, I guess.
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 Next >>>