Top-rated product

Vax S88-W1M-B Upright Steam Cleaner.

<p>The White steam cleaner is ideal for cleaning a wide range of hard floor surfaces including tiles, lino, sealed laminate and sealed wood flooring. It's also perfect for refreshing carpets and rugs too. </p><ul><li>1500 watts.</li><li>6m power cord.</li><li>0.28 litre water tank capacity.</li><li>Ready to use in 30 seconds.</li><li>Steaming time 10 mins per tank.</li><li>Suitable for all floor types.</li><li>Accessories included.</li><li>Weight 2.2kg.</li><li>Manufacturer's 2 year guarantee.</li><li>EAN: 5012512135335.</li></ul>
Overall rating:
4.1 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 160 reviews
5 Stars
84
4 Stars
44
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
4
1 Star
16
131 of 15883%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 12 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Vax S88-W1M-B Upright Steam Cleaner.
Review 1 for Vax S88-W1M-B Upright Steam Cleaner.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
earl
Posted24 July 2014
Customer avatar
By earl
From:Bristol, City of Bristol, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quick Drying 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Very good quality steam cleaner.
Good value for money.
Very easy to order on line and collect in store and
Very good overall service.
Well done Argos.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vax S88-W1M-B Upright Steam Cleaner.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Tried two - neither worked!
Posted15 July 2014
Customer avatar
By sminky
Age:35 to 44
"Tried two different steamers (same brand,style etc) neither worked!
Returned first to exchange and second for refund
Waste of time, effort & money!"
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vax S88-W1M-B Upright Steam Cleaner.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
compact and useful
Posted15 July 2014
Customer avatar
By suej
From:Essex, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quick Drying 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"perfect addition to your kitchen, does the job as advertised."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vax S88-W1M-B Upright Steam Cleaner.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
nothing complicated about this, just fill and go
Posted10 June 2014
Customer avatar
By busy mum
From:England, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quick Drying 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Very good for cleaning my kitchen floor. Quick and easy to use, just fill it up switch it on and the dogs muddy paw prints are no more.
Great not to hae to worry about having a stock of the correct cleaning chemicals, the steam does the job and my floor is sparkling clean
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vax S88-W1M-B Upright Steam Cleaner.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A great steamer for a great price
Posted10 June 2014
Customer avatar
By Kellie
From:Surrey
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quick Drying 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I'm really pleased with this steam cleaner, it is lightweight and has a long lead, is easy to refill with water and judging by the dirt on the white pad after I've used it it obviously works! Also my wooden and slate floors all dry really quickly - definitely within 10 minutes.
Only downside is it'd be nice if you could see the gauge as you're filling it, I often overfill it and get water everywhere.
Overall really happy with my purchase."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vax S88-W1M-B Upright Steam Cleaner.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Big let down by vax
Posted05 June 2014
Customer avatar
By Sheila
From:Tyne and Wear
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quick Drying 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
"I am really disappointed with this product. I previously had a cheaper make but the cheaper make preformed better. I find this steam cleaner doesn't clean as well as the cheaper model. I have a vax hoover and assumed this item would be of the same high standard how disappointing|"
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vax S88-W1M-B Upright Steam Cleaner.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
very light in weight,
Posted04 June 2014
Customer avatar
By kk
From:Ilford, Greater London, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quick Drying 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
"Bought this when it was on offer, opened the packaging and it was wet(might have been a returned item) poor performance leaving the floor too wet and water leaking from the water valve. Will be returning it back."
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vax S88-W1M-B Upright Steam Cleaner.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
disappointed
Posted03 June 2014
Customer avatar
By Krissy
From:Kent
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quick Drying 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
"I was really disappointed with this vax product. I found it hard to put the water in the tank because the thing kept falling over. More importantly the mop didn't clean the floor properly and left it fairly wet and I had to go over it with an old towel to mop up some of the water."
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vax S88-W1M-B Upright Steam Cleaner.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Works well
Posted03 June 2014
Customer avatar
By JM
From:Stirling, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quick Drying 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This steam mop cleans the floor better than my old sponge mop. It is easy to use and comes with 2 washable pads for the mop head. I haven't used a steam mop before, so cannot compare it to others. I would say that the cable is a wee bit too short and it could do with an on off switch on the mop - it actually has to be switched off at the socket to stop it heating, so plan where you are plugging it in or you will end up having to walk on your nice clean (damp) floor."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vax S88-W1M-B Upright Steam Cleaner.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Posted03 June 2014
Customer avatar
By tintin
From:sheffield
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quick Drying 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"not inprest with the itam had to return"
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vax S88-W1M-B Upright Steam Cleaner.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very light and easy to use
Posted03 June 2014
Customer avatar
By Cleaning lady
From:Gloucestershire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quick Drying 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Vax Steam Cleaner is so light and easy to use, the free hand held cleaner was an extra bonus."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vax S88-W1M-B Upright Steam Cleaner.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Does what it says on the box
Posted30 May 2014
Customer avatar
By Coventry1966
From:Coventry, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quick Drying 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I've only used this once, and am hoping it lives up to it's reputation. I managed to get it at a discounted price and included a free accessory.
So no real complaints."
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vax S88-W1M-B Upright Steam Cleaner.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vax Steam Cleaner
Posted29 May 2014
Customer avatar
By Middleearthling
From:Kettering
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quick Drying 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Great design and good value for money.
Also a very good offer as Argos were offering a discount and it also came with a hand held cleaner.
Really happy with this purchase. Thank you.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vax S88-W1M-B Upright Steam Cleaner.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cleanest floor in town!
Posted28 May 2014
Customer avatar
By Mrs P
From:Essex, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quick Drying 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"This is so easy to use. My kitchen floor takes less than 250ml of water to clean it with this machine. I love it! Easy to use, super quick to heat up and it is now not my least favourite chore."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vax S88-W1M-B Upright Steam Cleaner.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
wish i'd bought one sooner!
Posted28 May 2014
Customer avatar
By Raspberry!
From:London, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quick Drying 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have arthritis in my spine so cleaning the floors was getting harder and harder so i bought this because it's light to carry and i'm so glad i did as it has made such a difference and using the carpet attachment i can also steam my heavy curtains without having to take them down!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vax S88-W1M-B Upright Steam Cleaner.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not as good as I thought
Posted28 May 2014
Customer avatar
By Lena
From:Maidstone, Kent, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quick Drying 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"I purchased this product for my tiled kitchen floor hoping that it would bring the floor up cleaner than just washing. This so far, has not been the case. I am giving it the benefit of the doubt and continuing to use it but not sure it will do the job.
Perhaps I am expecting too much from a small tool but reviews I saw seemed quite good. I expected it to bring my light coloured tiles back to almost their original colour. Cant really recommend this to anyone sorry.
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vax S88-W1M-B Upright Steam Cleaner.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Vax steam mop
Posted28 May 2014
Customer avatar
By lesley
From:lancs
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quick Drying 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Good mop ease of use water filling with ease and good all round head movement left floors clean and dried within minutes"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vax S88-W1M-B Upright Steam Cleaner.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy and stress free to use
Posted28 May 2014
Customer avatar
By louD
From:Newmarket, Suffolk
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quick Drying 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This cleaner is very easy to use and is up and running in less than a minute, and because it has two cleaning pad you can wash/dry one while using the other. I would definatly recommend to others. There are 5 of us living at home with a big dog and lots of traffic in and out ."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vax S88-W1M-B Upright Steam Cleaner.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Posted28 May 2014
Customer avatar
By Kitty
From:Nottingham
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quick Drying 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"After reading the reviews purchased item. Not sure if I am doing something wrong but I personally think I got the floor drier with a mop and bucket. Easy to use needs little effort this is a plus. Never used a steam mop before so maybe it takes a while to get use too."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vax S88-W1M-B Upright Steam Cleaner.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Rubbish - plastic brush to be used once
Posted27 May 2014
Customer avatar
By Tommy789
From:Wiltshire, UK
Age:35 to 44
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quick Drying 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Steam is good but cheap plastic tools are not as good as other brands."
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 Next >>>