Top-rated product

Vax S88-W1M-B Upright Steam Cleaner.

<p>The White steam cleaner is ideal for cleaning a wide range of hard floor surfaces including tiles, lino, sealed laminate and sealed wood flooring. It's also perfect for refreshing carpets and rugs too. </p><ul><li>1500 watts.</li><li>6m power cord.</li><li>0.28 litre water tank capacity.</li><li>Ready to use in 30 seconds.</li><li>Steaming time 10 mins per tank.</li><li>Suitable for all floor types.</li><li>Accessories included.</li><li>Weight 2.2kg.</li><li>Manufacturer's 2 year guarantee.</li><li>EAN: 5012512135335.</li></ul>
Overall rating:
4.333 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 78 reviews
5 Stars
43
4 Stars
26
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
0
1 Star
4
69 of 7691%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 12 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Vax S88-W1M-B Upright Steam Cleaner.
Review 1 for Vax S88-W1M-B Upright Steam Cleaner.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
First time steam mop user
Posted22 April 2014
Customer avatar
By Jonesy
From:Greater Manchester, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quick Drying 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Thought I would buy this because I can't stand getting the mop and bucket out. It cleaned very well and the floor dried very quickly, good product at a good price."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vax S88-W1M-B Upright Steam Cleaner.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
No more mop and bucket!!!!
Posted08 April 2014
Customer avatar
By ace1
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quick Drying 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I never write reviews but after buying this product I advise anyone with children and wooden flooring or tiles to have this. I have a 24 meter square sized living room which is all wooden flooring for ease of cleaning with 3 children. With the traditional mop i still got the cleanliness but the biggest problem was waiting for it to dry which all in all took about 2 hours. With the steam mop it literally takes me half an hour and the floor is clean and dry."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vax S88-W1M-B Upright Steam Cleaner.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fab machine!
Posted06 April 2014
Customer avatar
By Lancashiremummybear
From:England, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quick Drying 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"I had wanted a steam mop for some time, so when I saw this one had been reduced and reading the reviews I decided this is the one! Like previous reviewers have stated...it's a little awkward to fill as the water tank and the filling inlet are on opposite sides, however this is only a minor issue as when full and switched on the mop is ready to use in around 30seconds. Also used with the carpet glider and does an equally good job of refreshing carpets and rugs. This mop has made life much easier."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vax S88-W1M-B Upright Steam Cleaner.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good value for money
Posted05 April 2014
Customer avatar
By jonno
From:beds
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quick Drying 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"This is my 2nd steamer cleans floor tiles better than my last one.I have rippled tiles on floor and find the micro fibre pads do an excellent job and leave the floor almost dry. As someone else said holding your finger on trigger to steam can make your finger ache , but overall am well pleased with it,"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vax S88-W1M-B Upright Steam Cleaner.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Steam cleaner
Posted28 January 2014
Customer avatar
By Densal
From:Stoke-on-Trent, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quick Drying 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Good product best buy so from argos my floors shine again my only dislike you have to keep your hand on the trigger witch leaves you with a stiff hand all so leaves a puddle of water if left this is my first steam cleaner so am still learning to get use to it.no more mop and bucket for me."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vax S88-W1M-B Upright Steam Cleaner.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Worth the money
Posted22 January 2014
Customer avatar
By Char
From:Aberdeen, Aberdeen City, UK
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Female
"This is the first steam mop I have ever bought. After seeing the X5 on teleshopping, I got curious. Even though I don't have a previous to compare to, I really loved this it. I have a cream carpet in my bedroom & after a while of blue candle wax & brown hairdye stains the mop cleared up most of it -practically gone! As for our walk-in shoower floor, its much easier to clean. Its clear that after a few sessions and regular use, this mop will transform your floors. For the money its amazing value."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vax S88-W1M-B Upright Steam Cleaner.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Could Be Better
Posted14 January 2014
Customer avatar
By Eliza
From:Scotland
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
"Product is a fiddle to fill and has to be pushed across the floors very slowly in order to get the right results. Was slightly disappointed but it does leave my floor clean (if done slow)."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vax S88-W1M-B Upright Steam Cleaner.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bye, bye mop and bucket
Posted09 January 2014
Customer avatar
By sjt
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
"I am not in the habit of writing reviews for products but I am so pleased with this steam cleaner that I feel compelled to tell everyone! I was a little hesitant about the purchase having read other, slightly mixed reviews. This product is so quick and easy to set up, fill and use that I wish I had bought one years ago. The floor has never been cleaner and it is dry in a fraction of the time when using a traditional mop. Cleaning the floor is now a pleasure not a chore!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vax S88-W1M-B Upright Steam Cleaner.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Easy to use
Posted24 October 2013
Customer avatar
By peebee
From:Lincolnshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
"This mop was easy to assemble and worked a treat on all my tiled floors. So far I haven't had the courage to use it on my oak floor as I'm not sure if it would leave it too wet"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vax S88-W1M-B Upright Steam Cleaner.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Steam Cleaner
Posted15 October 2013
Customer avatar
By Deejjay
From:Leics
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
"Excellent very light ready in one minute and cleans brilliantly"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vax S88-W1M-B Upright Steam Cleaner.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product!
Posted28 September 2013
Customer avatar
By ElaineCaz
From:Leeds, West Yorkshire, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
"Product is amazing, so easy to use, light weight, you can even put the pads in the washing machine and I think it's excellent value for money. I can honestly say that I actually quite enjoy cleaning the floor now! Definitely recommend it. In fact I've recommended it to my friend and she loves it too."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vax S88-W1M-B Upright Steam Cleaner.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Simple yet effective
Posted05 September 2013
Customer avatar
By Sarah&Em
From:Portsmouth
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
"I only wanted a basic, reasonably priced steam cleaner as I have 4 rooms with laminate and tiled flooring and wanted to make life easier for myself. This steam cleaner does exactly that. It's fairly lightweight and simple to use. The only negative is that the lead is not long enough as I do not have a plug socket near the bathroom so need to use an extension cable to reach this floor. I understand the blue cleaning pads enhance the performance so I am going to save up to buy some of them."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vax S88-W1M-B Upright Steam Cleaner.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted16 July 2013
Customer avatar
By Cookie
From:Bedfordshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
"Easy to use, quick drying, no puddles, cleans well. Excellent product, wish I had bought it sooner."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vax S88-W1M-B Upright Steam Cleaner.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great little purchase
Posted03 July 2013
Customer avatar
By Rachee
From:Norwich
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
"This is my first steam mop so I have nothing to compare it to. It took me a little while to get the hang of working it but once I did it was fantastic. It did a great job cleaning my kitchen lino and ceramic floor tiles which had grout stains on and it took them all off!
As others have mentioned the water level gauge is on the other side to the hole, but as you pour into the funnel it's easy enough to pour the water in whilst keeping an eye on the level, but 1 full jug is the maximum anyway so you wouldn't overfill it if using the jug supplied.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vax S88-W1M-B Upright Steam Cleaner.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great little cleaner
Posted02 July 2013
Customer avatar
By scottydog
From:Tyne and Wear
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
"Great machine does what it says on the tin without much fuss or bother."
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vax S88-W1M-B Upright Steam Cleaner.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Steam mop
Posted26 June 2013
Customer avatar
By Kevin
From:Uk
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
"I found the steam mop basic but very good value for money"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vax S88-W1M-B Upright Steam Cleaner.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great wee yoak
Posted26 June 2013
Customer avatar
By Di
From:Ireland
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
"This is great very light and easy to use came with handy spare pads too. It's soo handy to use that hubby even offers to clean the floors which is an added bonus.
It only takes a min or so to get heated and ready for use and you get aprox 10-15mins from a full water tank.
It is quite handy to store when not in use too as it is the same size as a traditional mop and stands upright.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vax S88-W1M-B Upright Steam Cleaner.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superb
Posted25 June 2013
Customer avatar
By Bigsy
From:NE30 2HG
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
"I originally bought the 'vax' steam cleaner and was so disappointed, I had to clean the floor again on my hands and knees. Went back the next day and changed it for the 'shark', the cleaning power was fantastic and the power boost button just lifted deep marks. I have Karndean laminate textured tiles and it just lifted the dirt. 5 Star"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vax S88-W1M-B Upright Steam Cleaner.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not the best
Posted12 June 2013
Customer avatar
By ThisDude
From:London
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
"Whilst it does exactly what it says on the box, I found it rather difficult to use on laminate wooden floors - It was quite difficult to push the mop (easier to pull away). I bought it for my mum so she wouldn't have to use harsh chemicals when cleaning, but she (and I) found that it wouldn't slide across the floor without a lot of force."
No, I do not recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vax S88-W1M-B Upright Steam Cleaner.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Do not buy
Posted14 May 2013
Customer avatar
By Annmarie
From:Lanarkshire
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
"I bought this product after reading reviews it was the worst thing i could have done .it did not work all i got was a few drips of cold water i took it back and replaced it with a different make do not buy a vax product i contacted the customer care for vax 4 weeks ago still waiting for a reply"
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 Next >>>