Top-rated product
Sorry this product is currently unavailable. Please visit Argos for similar products.

Challenge Portable Air Conditioner 12,000 BTU.

Maximum room size 30m2. 3 operating modes: cool, dehumidify and fan. Timed operation from 1 to 12 hours. Optimum working temperature from 16 to 35 degrees C. Minimum cooling setting 16 degrees C. Full water indicator. Removable filter for ease of cleaning. Built in cable storage. Open grille. External drain facility for continuous use. 1.2m hose to remove hot air. CFC Free refrigerant. Mounted on castors. Suitable for room size 20m2. 3 mode settings of auto, cool and fan. Thermostat range from 18 to 32 degrees C (optimum working temperature). Minimum cooling settings 18 degrees C. Compact and small to suit average sized rooms. 1 to 12 hour timer. Quiet speed turbo fan. Cable management at the back. Dual washable pre-filter and odour eating carbon filter. Full water indicator. Energy efficiency class C. Annual consumption kW/hour 657.5. Cooling output kW 2.97. Heat output kW 2.3 Energy efficiency ratio 2.26. Size (H)75, (W)30.5, (D)38cm. Weight 35kg. Minimal assembly required.
Overall rating:
4.147 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 75 reviews
5 Stars
35
4 Stars
30
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
6
1 of 1100%would recommend to a friend
Sort by Customer reviews for Challenge Portable Air Conditioner 12,000 BTU.
Review 1 for Challenge Portable Air Conditioner 12,000 BTU.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good value for money
Posted12 March 2010
Customer avatar
By Kitty
From:Worcestershire
Value for Money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of assembly 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cooling output 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" I bought this product July 2009 it was half price at the time. Works wonders. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Challenge Portable Air Conditioner 12,000 BTU.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted30 September 2009
Customer avatar
By pete
From:essex
Value for Money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cooling output 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" excellent item does exactly as expected excellent delivery service from argos "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Challenge Portable Air Conditioner 12,000 BTU.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted15 September 2009
Customer avatar
By charlie
From:derby
Value for Money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of assembly 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cooling output 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" after a few teething troubles the air conditioner works brilliantly and has really good cooling properties "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Challenge Portable Air Conditioner 12,000 BTU.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A/c Unit Value
Posted15 September 2009
Customer avatar
By Bill
From:SE London
Value for Money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cooling output 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" A good value unit, a bit noisey but does the job at a fraction of the price. I had a problem with a couple of units being faulty but Argos replaced them with any grief. Would recommend them. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Challenge Portable Air Conditioner 12,000 BTU.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Product
Posted03 September 2009
Customer avatar
By Steve
From:Surrey
Value for Money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cooling output 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" The unit is a little noisey and tends to direct the airflow upwards so is not ideal for spot cooling.
That said it is great at cooling the room overall and at the price a bargain
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Challenge Portable Air Conditioner 12,000 BTU.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A/C Unit
Posted02 September 2009
Customer avatar
By margaret
From:Essex
Value for Money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cooling output 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" We were very pleased with our unit's great to get some air when the weather was so warm. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Challenge Portable Air Conditioner 12,000 BTU.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Challenge Aircon Unit
Posted02 September 2009
Customer avatar
By L Stevens
From:Kent
Value for Money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cooling output 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Bought one for the office and the evaporator blower motor failed within the first half-hour - HOWEVER, thanks to excellent service from Argos, a replacement was provided within a few days and has been working faultlessly since - true (and powerful) air conditioning at a very reasonable price - buy one (or more) immediately! "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Challenge Portable Air Conditioner 12,000 BTU.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A god send
Posted01 September 2009
Customer avatar
By Shirley
From:Humberside
Value for Money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of assembly 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cooling output 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Me and my husband have been saying every summer that we will get one of these next year, and never have.. well this year the heat just became to much, and we HAD to get one.... and Oh my word has it been a god send.
Its not quiet I know but saying that, we did have 3 fans on the go before getting this, and it is only slightly louder than them, and I would rather have the noise than the heat...
My only bug bear is that the hose is just a little bit to short to reach our windows, but our windows are high.
and the fitting to go through a wall isnt long enough to actualy reach through an internal wall let along an exteria wall...
over all we are very pleased with it. we have adapted the pipe so that it reaches through the wall properly, "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Challenge Portable Air Conditioner 12,000 BTU.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not portable
Posted26 August 2009
Customer avatar
By mkemp
From:berks
" Unfortunately this air conditioner is not portable by just one person. In fact it take two very strong people to move it around a room. I wouldn't like to try to carry it upstairs. We returned it. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Challenge Portable Air Conditioner 12,000 BTU.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
very good purchase
Posted20 August 2009
Customer avatar
By Dave
From:London
Value for Money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cooling output 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" The product is very good, it does what it says and does so very well. Iam very happy with my purchase, although I found that there was no remote control as it specifically said is included. The controls are easy to use and easy to understand and it doesn't take up that much space. takes minutes to completely cool down a room and even gives out a slight fragrance refreshing the room as well. All in all a good product. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Challenge Portable Air Conditioner 12,000 BTU.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a bargain!
Posted20 August 2009
Customer avatar
By Duncan
From:Wiltshire
Value for Money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cooling output 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Bought half price on Argos sale - bargain! This is a large portable (on casters) air conditioning unit which is ideal for the home office. It comes with all the fixtures & fittings for temporary (flexible pipe & window/door vent) and permenant (pipe & external wall fixture) siting. Even with the temporary venting through a window, unit just underneath the window it cools the home office exceptionally well even on low fan. A must have for those occassional UK summer heat waves. Great value for money. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Challenge Portable Air Conditioner 12,000 BTU.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
be cool dude this summer
Posted18 August 2009
Customer avatar
By joseph
From:warks
Value for Money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cooling output 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" wonderful value for the price,only wish I had bought the dearer model to have a remote,at this price ,who needs to buy a fan ,,well made and easy to understand "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Challenge Portable Air Conditioner 12,000 BTU.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Noisy but effective
Posted18 August 2009
Customer avatar
By GRR150
From:Edinburgh
Value for Money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cooling output 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" very easy to set up; does what it says it will do, but don't expect it to be unobtrusive - in terms of both noise and space...
My unit had to be replaced after one of the fans stopped in first week, but delivery of replacement / collection of faulty unit was very smooth "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Challenge Portable Air Conditioner 12,000 BTU.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase
Posted11 August 2009
Customer avatar
By Lee
From:South Yorkshire
Value for Money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cooling output 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Works exactly like it should, easy to use, keep the room really cool. Not exactly quiet but thats to be expected for air con. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Challenge Portable Air Conditioner 12,000 BTU.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It's huge!
Posted10 August 2009
Customer avatar
By Homer
From:Luton
Value for Money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of assembly 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cooling output 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Unfortunately the dimensions on the internet were wrong and this unit I feel is much too big for a "average" size room. Because of this we have had to sell it on to someone with larger premises so we are still without a moderately sized and moderately priced air con unit. If you have the space then this is an excellent unit. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Challenge Portable Air Conditioner 12,000 BTU.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
wrong description
Posted10 August 2009
Customer avatar
By kath
From:worcestershire
Value for Money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of assembly 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
" really pleased with purchase until i realised i hadnt got a remote control, whichi thought it came with. went straight back to the web and checked, and yes it said it came with remote. phoned argos up who checked manufacturing description and said the next model up came with a remote not that one, but i could upgrade or keep this one, i upgraded and it is very good. i have suggested they change the web details. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Challenge Portable Air Conditioner 12,000 BTU.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ian
Posted09 August 2009
Customer avatar
By ian
From:liverpool
Value for Money 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of assembly 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cooling output 
1 / 5
1 / 5
" Very noisy has to be turned off to have a conversation- does not reach lowest indicated temperature - But does cool the room a little "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Challenge Portable Air Conditioner 12,000 BTU.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cool Purchase
Posted09 August 2009
Customer avatar
By Gordon
From:Co Down
Value for Money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cooling output 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Wow. I bought this as a replacment unit . Did not expect such a good quailty unit for the money. Very fast cooling and thats what its about. . a little noiser than my last but fine. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Challenge Portable Air Conditioner 12,000 BTU.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Challenge Portable Air Conditioner 12,000 BTU
Posted07 August 2009
Customer avatar
By Dave
From:surrey
Value for Money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cooling output 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Been using this for about a month. This ar con is overall very good of money, but be prepared for its weight and noise. It is certainly not a quiet unit, but it does provide a good 5-6 degrees cooling in the extreme humid and hot weather we have had recently. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Challenge Portable Air Conditioner 12,000 BTU.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great product
Posted07 August 2009
Customer avatar
By paulsporsche924
From:UNITED KINGDOM
Value for Money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cooling output 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" we both work shift work meaning we could be need ing to sleep during the day and we bought an enegy efficient home last year which is VERY warm in summer (even the excuse for the one we are having) making sleep difficult.
the air cooler is bulky, its waist high and a small bedside table deep (we call ours R2D2) but its very effective. I put it on for 20 mins before bed and hey presto a 16*c room. its not silent running but u can easily sleep with it on and its very easy and effective to use the window vent meaning no holes need be drilled.
Come winter it will be put in the attic but for now we use it daily. all my collegues in work have already ordered theirs.
A TOP PRODUCT AT THE SAME PRICE AS A LARGE FAN. VERY HAPPY WOULD DEFO RECOMMEND. 5 star! "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 Next >>>