Top-rated product

Challenge 1.6kW Halogen Heater.

<p>This white-finished Challenge halogen heater has a heat output of 1.6kW with four heat settings and a safety cut out switch to prevent it from overheating. It also has handles to make it easy to carry. </p><ul><li>Heat output 1.6kW.</li><li>4 heat settings.</li><li>Safety cut out switch.</li><li>Size H64, W41, D30.5cm.</li><li>EAN: 4150200.</li></ul>
Overall rating:
4.272 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 327 reviews
5 Stars
190
4 Stars
89
3 Stars
18
2 Stars
7
1 Star
23
227 of 26386%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
15 Questions | 15 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Challenge 1.6kW Halogen Heater.
Review 1 for Challenge 1.6kW Halogen Heater.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Oh Dear
Posted25 February 2015
Customer avatar
By Morrisgirl
From:Isle of Wight, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" l thought l was on to a winner ......unfortunately l was wrong. Although it is very effective, instant heat, running costs are not too bad etc, like a lot of others, one tube has packed up after only 5 wks, and l very rarely had all 4 bars on at the same time either, l have no intention of waiting to see how long before another one goes, am off to return this t'moro. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Challenge 1.6kW Halogen Heater.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Glad I bought this product
Posted17 February 2015
Customer avatar
By Steve
From:Hampshire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" the heater is ideally fit for purpose, and very good value "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Challenge 1.6kW Halogen Heater.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Heater from heaven
Posted17 February 2015
Customer avatar
By Vinetta36
From:Weston-super-Mare,
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" After our boiler gave up the ghost we needed a heater.This heater was amazing. It only took 2 mins to fit the stand (2 screws). It heated the whole upstairs of my house. I even had to turn it down at one point. The only down side is its very bright so it's not a good heater for night time use. But for evening use, the extra money you are using on the electric for this heater you are saving on lighting. Unlike other heaters this thing heats up instantly and is silent. Highly recommended. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Challenge 1.6kW Halogen Heater.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lightweight and efficient
Posted08 February 2015
Customer avatar
By Mikey
From:Somerset, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" The product has several convenient controls allowing the user to switch between one zone or multiple zones of heat. It is lightweight and the safety cut-off feature works well if the heater is tipped over - reassuring as it was bought for an elderly person. The main criticism is that the heater does tend to sway on its stand and I feel it could have been more robust in this respect. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Challenge 1.6kW Halogen Heater.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Very poor product
Posted04 February 2015
Customer avatar
By fred
From:surrey,uk
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Now on third replacement in 1 year. main switch fails, elements fail. Heater elements not available. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Challenge 1.6kW Halogen Heater.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Does what it says on the tin
Posted03 February 2015
Customer avatar
By Zozi
From:London
Age:35 to 44
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" I've had this heater nearly a month and it heats up my living room in no time. It's not an electricity guzzler which is the greatest plus for me. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Challenge 1.6kW Halogen Heater.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
keeps going wrong
Posted26 January 2015
Customer avatar
By MINIBUSTER
From:Middlesex, U.K
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
" This is now the forth time I have had to return the heater for the same problem each time to Argos HAVE change it.
The fault is with the halogen elements after a matter of only 6 weeks the leading element pops and stops working leaving you with only 3 working elements, always the same fault.
Would I recommends to another buyer NO
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Challenge 1.6kW Halogen Heater.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Posted15 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Sophie
From:Bekshire UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" My heating broke down so I wanted something to take to different rooms. The lead was so short I could not use it in the kitchen as it could not reach the socket. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Challenge 1.6kW Halogen Heater.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Heater
Posted10 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Chris86
From:England, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Heats up my bedroom very quickly on cold mornings. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Challenge 1.6kW Halogen Heater.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Foxtrot2
Posted30 December 2014
Customer avatar
By Foxtrot2
From:Cornwall
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Great product, very economic to run,hope the heat elements last longer than my 4 previous heaters (all different makes).Thought I would try a Challenge seeing the previous Challenge products I have bought have been very reliable.So taken out insurance for 3 years to cover the Heat elements, just in case. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Challenge 1.6kW Halogen Heater.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Good product let down by unreliablity
Posted30 December 2014
Customer avatar
By Rikky
From:Glorious Devon
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" It's the 4th heater since Feb 2014. The elements only last a few weeks before dying, so after a few months the heater stops working. Argos has exchanged the useless heaters for a new one without question.
The latest one looks and feels different to the previous 3; a new model? Let's hope that they have improved the reliability.
When working it provides heat just where you need it, safely and efficiently. I like the fact that you can touch the cover for a few seconds without getting burnt.
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Challenge 1.6kW Halogen Heater.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Halogen heater a little wobbly
Posted30 December 2014
Customer avatar
By Mummy knows best
Age:45 to 54
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" I bought this heater for my elderly, I wanted something that would provide instant heat and have the flexibility to be moved about.
This product is portable however it sits on the base via a hinge that allows the heater to pivot, this in turn leads to it feeling unsteady. I would ensure that the heater is on a level surface (not on a rug) when in use.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Challenge 1.6kW Halogen Heater.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Silent radiant heat
Posted19 November 2014
Customer avatar
By Ig
From:Midlands
Age:35 to 44
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Construction is a little "lightweight", a good choice for a room where it can be placed away from passing people.
Very effective, running at 400W (the minimum) you easily maintain the temp in a small room. That's a running cost of about £1 per 12hrs on my tariff.
Rotating function is weakest part, feels like it can barely rotate the heater and that a hard knock could "snap" it but leave it in a fixed position and it's not an issue. And with rotation off it's completely silent. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Challenge 1.6kW Halogen Heater.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product
Posted21 October 2014
Customer avatar
By Pinewood boy
From:Dorset, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Does all it says on the box. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Challenge 1.6kW Halogen Heater.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
My fave heater
Posted20 September 2014
Customer avatar
By Smudge's mum
From:Glasgow, Glasgow City, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Great Heater - Instant Heat - I bought it to supplement my existing heating and find that I don't need the heater on more than two bars max and only then if it is really cold. However, I have had them before and you are lucky if they last more than a year before the bars fail - just wish they would make it a bit more longer-lasting. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Challenge 1.6kW Halogen Heater.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
worth the money
Posted09 September 2014
Customer avatar
By wig
From:West Lothian, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
" Ive bought several halagon heaters online in past.This one has lasted longer than the rest.Tho it dosnt look sturdy it is and throws out plenty of heat.Well worth the money "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Challenge 1.6kW Halogen Heater.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Light and transportable
Posted02 September 2014
Customer avatar
By Motorhome geek
From:Derbyshire
Age:55 to 64
" Very pleased with this product, the fire turns if you want it to from side to side or you can just have it facing forward
We are using it in our lounge until we open the chimney up but we will also use it when we go away in our motorhome if the nights get cold
Throws out a lot of heat on the top setting
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Challenge 1.6kW Halogen Heater.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Faulty Terrible
Posted16 April 2014
Customer avatar
By Jenna
From:Scotland, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
" This is the second one I bought and every time you press one of the buttons it blows the heating tubes. These are definitely faulty. Its not only this make but also others we have bought. The older ones we have are great that we bought from Cathay 8 yrs ago but the newer makes all have this fault. Expensive and bad quality. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Challenge 1.6kW Halogen Heater.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted11 March 2014
Customer avatar
By Elif
From:Hounslow
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
" This product is excellent well worth the money does not use a lot of electricity "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Challenge 1.6kW Halogen Heater.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
3 bars went within days of each other..
Posted04 March 2014
Customer avatar
By 2e0bvj
From:Bolton
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
" Great heater at first untill one by one 3 of the heating bars failed..Only had it a month and am going to return it..Looking at other reviews its a common problem..Will exchange it and took out insurance too, but if the replacement goes the same way i will be asking for a full refund.. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 15 Next >>>