Top-rated product

Challenge 1.6kW Halogen Heater.

<p>This white-finished Challenge halogen heater has a heat output of 1.6kW with four heat settings and a safety cut out switch to prevent it from overheating. It also has handles to make it easy to carry. </p><ul><li>Heat output 1.6kW.</li><li>4 heat settings.</li><li>Safety cut out switch.</li><li>Size H64, W41, D30.5cm.</li><li>EAN: 4150200.</li></ul>
Overall rating:
4.257 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 338 reviews
5 Stars
194
4 Stars
94
3 Stars
18
2 Stars
7
1 Star
25
236 of 27486%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
15 Questions | 15 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Challenge 1.6kW Halogen Heater.
Review 1 for Challenge 1.6kW Halogen Heater.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A very good heater that warms up a room quickly.
Posted21 April 2015
Customer avatar
By Denise
From:Abbey Wood, London SE2, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Received free product:Yes
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This heater is economical to run and gets very hot when all four heat bars are on. It then gives out heat immediately and can rotate 180 degrees if need be. The only downside is that the heat bulbs blow often after a couple of weeks. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Challenge 1.6kW Halogen Heater.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Suitable heater for small room
Posted14 April 2015
Customer avatar
By SooC
From:Bridgend, Bridgend, Bridgend, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" This heater is perfectly adequate for what I required, i.e. to heat a small conservatory. It does seem a little light and is flimsier that the heater it replaced but it does the job very well. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Challenge 1.6kW Halogen Heater.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
really good output
Posted14 April 2015
Customer avatar
By weaver
From:Wales UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" this is the best halogen heater that I have ever bought. mainly because of the high heat output. I have, in the past bought cheaper models and been disappointed with them, this one is first class. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Challenge 1.6kW Halogen Heater.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Very cheap build
Posted26 March 2015
Customer avatar
By BossMul
From:Lancashire, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
" I have changed this product 3 times in 4 months, first time the halogen bulb blew, second time the button got jammed, third time bulb went again... Lucky i have 3 year warranty... But not the point, it's 2015, if you can send a man to the moon in a ship that don't break I'm sure you can build a heater made to last "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Challenge 1.6kW Halogen Heater.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Heat from Halogen Heater
Posted25 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Pedro
From:Northamptonshire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" We have used this heater all through the winter especially during the day when the central heating is not on and it is still cold. It does not use too much power and sends out lots of heat. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Challenge 1.6kW Halogen Heater.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Challenge Halogen Heater
Posted25 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Jimmy38
From:Downpatrick
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Just the job for heating in my garage, delighted with it. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Challenge 1.6kW Halogen Heater.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this product is perfect
Posted24 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Rosie
From:Kent, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" A very economical and easy to use heater. Love the instant heat and that it cools as soon as switched off. Handy for any room in the house "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Challenge 1.6kW Halogen Heater.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent Heater
Posted24 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Chris
From:Portsmouth, Portsmouth, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" This heater is very easy to use and is not expensive to run, at 9p an hour on full power. Just out of the box, plug in and go, very simple. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Challenge 1.6kW Halogen Heater.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Heater
Posted24 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Anne
From:Fife, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Bought this for my mum because she always feels the cold and think it is much safer for her than some of the others around. It also rotates, so it's better for her little home. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Challenge 1.6kW Halogen Heater.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bulbs
Posted12 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Poodles
From:Ayr, South Ayrshire, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Have hardly used it and three of the bulbs have already gone "
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Challenge 1.6kW Halogen Heater.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wrong Colour
Posted10 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Pisces
From:Lancs
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Both the catalogue and online pictures showed this product to be white. It is in fact a dark grey. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Challenge 1.6kW Halogen Heater.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Oh Dear
Posted25 February 2015
Customer avatar
By Morrisgirl
From:Isle of Wight, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" l thought l was on to a winner ......unfortunately l was wrong. Although it is very effective, instant heat, running costs are not too bad etc, like a lot of others, one tube has packed up after only 5 wks, and l very rarely had all 4 bars on at the same time either, l have no intention of waiting to see how long before another one goes, am off to return this t'moro. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Challenge 1.6kW Halogen Heater.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Glad I bought this product
Posted17 February 2015
Customer avatar
By Steve
From:Hampshire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" the heater is ideally fit for purpose, and very good value "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Challenge 1.6kW Halogen Heater.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Heater from heaven
Posted17 February 2015
Customer avatar
By Vinetta36
From:Weston-super-Mare,
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" After our boiler gave up the ghost we needed a heater.This heater was amazing. It only took 2 mins to fit the stand (2 screws). It heated the whole upstairs of my house. I even had to turn it down at one point. The only down side is its very bright so it's not a good heater for night time use. But for evening use, the extra money you are using on the electric for this heater you are saving on lighting. Unlike other heaters this thing heats up instantly and is silent. Highly recommended. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Challenge 1.6kW Halogen Heater.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lightweight and efficient
Posted08 February 2015
Customer avatar
By Mikey
From:Somerset, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" The product has several convenient controls allowing the user to switch between one zone or multiple zones of heat. It is lightweight and the safety cut-off feature works well if the heater is tipped over - reassuring as it was bought for an elderly person. The main criticism is that the heater does tend to sway on its stand and I feel it could have been more robust in this respect. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Challenge 1.6kW Halogen Heater.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Very poor product
Posted04 February 2015
Customer avatar
By fred
From:surrey,uk
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Now on third replacement in 1 year. main switch fails, elements fail. Heater elements not available. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Challenge 1.6kW Halogen Heater.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Does what it says on the tin
Posted03 February 2015
Customer avatar
By Zozi
From:London
Age:35 to 44
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" I've had this heater nearly a month and it heats up my living room in no time. It's not an electricity guzzler which is the greatest plus for me. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Challenge 1.6kW Halogen Heater.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
keeps going wrong
Posted26 January 2015
Customer avatar
By MINIBUSTER
From:Middlesex, U.K
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
" This is now the forth time I have had to return the heater for the same problem each time to Argos HAVE change it.
The fault is with the halogen elements after a matter of only 6 weeks the leading element pops and stops working leaving you with only 3 working elements, always the same fault.
Would I recommends to another buyer NO
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Challenge 1.6kW Halogen Heater.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Posted15 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Sophie
From:Bekshire UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" My heating broke down so I wanted something to take to different rooms. The lead was so short I could not use it in the kitchen as it could not reach the socket. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Challenge 1.6kW Halogen Heater.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Heater
Posted10 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Chris86
From:England, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Heats up my bedroom very quickly on cold mornings. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 16 Next >>>