Sorry this product is currently unavailable. Please visit Argos for similar products.

Black Coal Hod.

This modern edge style coal hod is suitable to store solid fuel or use for a flower/plant display. For decorative use only.Black.Size H25, W25, D23.5cm.
Overall rating:
3.483 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 29 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
1
1 Star
7
19 of 2576%would recommend to a friend
Sort by Customer reviews for Black Coal Hod.
Review 1 for Black Coal Hod.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
CUTE LITTLE NUMBER
Posted15 April 2012
Customer avatar
By ANDREA
From:EAST YORKS
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
"A great size for a regular cottage fireplace, looks good on the hearth. However, if you get it too near the fire it produces a foul chemical smell."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Black Coal Hod.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
got what i was looking for at argos
Posted08 November 2011
Customer avatar
By RALPH
From:ABERDEEN
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"order on line went to store and it was already for me, although thier was only one girl at the order desk a gentleman at the delivery desk called me over for my purchase"
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Black Coal Hod.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Decent, reasonably priced product
Posted18 October 2011
Customer avatar
By Andy
From:East Sussex
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
"This was just what we wanted for our fireplace at a reasonable price - you can pay a lot more elsewhere for similar items. It isn't huge but is perfectly adequate for a normal fireplace. We use a mixture of logs & coal, with the latter being used more to establish the fire. This hod therefore holds sufficient coal for several fires. This item looks good & does what it says on the tin - would therefore recommend it."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Black Coal Hod.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
okay
Posted14 October 2011
Customer avatar
By jane
From:Staffordshire moorlands
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
"not very big, will probably require more than one filling on a cold night"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Black Coal Hod.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted08 October 2011
Customer avatar
By arnie
From:warwickshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
"very pleased matches our coal fire surround"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Black Coal Hod.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
lovely item
Posted01 March 2011
Customer avatar
By jollyjoy
From:loudwater
"smashing item very happy with it"
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Black Coal Hod.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very satisfactory
Posted15 February 2011
Customer avatar
By alison
From:england
"bought this item for my newly refurbished black cast iron fireplace. It serves two purposes a, looks very decorative and b, is used to store coal & wood in. so if you want that oldy worldy look this is an ideal product without breaking the bank ."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Black Coal Hod.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted15 February 2011
Customer avatar
By Anonymous
From:Leeds
"Small and light, but does the job. Holds just enough coal for one night"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Black Coal Hod.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good value for money
Posted20 January 2011
Customer avatar
By Lee
From:Bolton
"i recently bought this coal hod and found it attractive sat at the side of the fire. It holds enough coal for at least one night supply of coal. I found it good value for money"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Black Coal Hod.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Bit smaller than expected
Posted18 January 2011
Customer avatar
By Wak
From:Gwent
"Could have done with something bigger really but is doing a good job holding coal at the moment"
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Black Coal Hod.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Cheap and nasty
Posted12 October 2010
Customer avatar
By sue1
From:Northumberland
"Admittedly cheap in price but appearance is cheap and nasty, little more than a black tin container and useless for anything except decoration. Definitely a disappointment."
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Black Coal Hod.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great buy
Posted20 July 2010
Customer avatar
By loupinp
From:East Sussex
"I was really pleased with this coal hod, and although it says for decorative purposes only it is well enough made to use with real coal, it holds more than enough for a very large fire!!! Picked up in the sale so a real bargain!!!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Black Coal Hod.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good & neat
Posted24 February 2010
Customer avatar
By Alfie
From:Norfolk
"Not large (check dimensions), but perfect for us - one night's coal to stand next to the multi fuel burner."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Black Coal Hod.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
lislou
Posted16 February 2010
Customer avatar
By lislou
From:longtown
"it was so bad and small i took it back you could only get one bit of coal in it"
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Black Coal Hod.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good buy for show
Posted20 January 2010
Customer avatar
By diane
From:south yorks
"bought this as a present for mums hearth, and looks good, however, only good for show not good enough for collecting coal"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Black Coal Hod.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Black Coal Hod
Posted20 January 2010
Customer avatar
By Freddie
From:Gwynedd, North Wales
"Long time since I had a coal fire so didn't really know what to get.
This product, I have found to be ideal.
Light but very solid, big enough for the job and not a bad price at all.
Recommended +++++
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Black Coal Hod.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
useless
Posted19 January 2010
Customer avatar
By ag
From:essex
"this bucket is far too small for everyday use for a coal fire. I had to return it as soon as i seen the size of the box it came in. do not purchase if it is to be used as a coal bucket, unless of course you are only able to carry a small amount of coal at a time"
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Black Coal Hod.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Very poor
Posted27 October 2009
Customer avatar
By james
From:Munster
"I was very disapointed in the size of this product, could only fit five or six lumps of coal in it."
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Black Coal Hod.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Very small
Posted27 October 2009
Customer avatar
By sozz
From:essex
"expected a bit more for my money scuttle very very small, need seceral trips outside to keep fire gingo"
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Black Coal Hod.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not a great product.
Posted13 October 2009
Customer avatar
By karen
From:isle of wight
"As soon as I picked it up at the collection point I thought I would end up returning it. It is so light weight and flimsy I'm sure it would have dented the first time I tipped coal into it. Fine for decoration but not practical at all. I did take it back!!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 Next >>>