Top-rated product

Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.

<p>With a smart stylish silver and black exterior this Russell Hobbs deep fat fryer made from smooth stainless steel has a large 1.2kg food capacity and features easy-to-clean removable bowl and lid, rise and fall basket, extra safe cool wall body and a handy digital timer.</p><ul><li>1.2kg food capacity.</li><li>Oil capacity 3.3L.</li><li>Variable temperature.</li><li>Digital timer.</li><li>Removable bowl.</li><li>Rise and fall basket.</li><li>Odour filter.</li><li>Safety cut out.</li><li>Size H27.3, W30.2, D36.8cm.</li><li>2200 watts.</li><li>Manufacturer's 2 year guarantee.</li><li>EAN: 5038061034776.</li></ul>
Overall rating:
4.018 / 5
4
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 216 reviews
5 Stars
101
4 Stars
61
3 Stars
29
2 Stars
7
1 Star
18
173 of 21680%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
22 Questions | 24 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Review 1 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Great fryer however....
Posted20 May 2015
Customer avatar
By Cabbage
From:Wakefield, West Yorkshire, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Lovely looking & easy to clean fryer as it comes to bits virtually but whoever decided a ridiculously short lead coming out of the front was a good idea needs to have a word with themselves. I cannot pull the fryer out enough so the hot steam isn't going under my kitchen cupboards unless i turn it around so I'm looking at the back of it. ridiculous design. I have to use it with an extension every time. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Decent fryer
Posted19 May 2015
Customer avatar
By Semaj
From:Kent, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Does everything it should - one word of caution though, don't fill the oil to the maximum line as if you do, when the basket is full it, the bottom is just in contact with the oil meaning whatever is at the bottom will continue to cook (e.g. when letting chips sit to drain a bit before removing from fryer)
Also the raising/lowering mechanism for the basket feels a little flimsy and insecure. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Shame about the power lead
Posted15 May 2015
Customer avatar
By Martin
From:Llanelli
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
" Looks nice and works well. Has a VERY short power lead which lets it down, i have to move items around to reach a power socket. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Great, but...
Posted13 May 2015
Customer avatar
By JaneB123
From:Staffs
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
" The cord is far too short! Cooks great chips, easy to clean but the cord is literally inches long. Fryer needs to be pushed right up to the socket which in my kitchen is underneath the wall cupboards so the lid can't open properly.
Really poor design but does make nice chips. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
looks fab
Posted05 May 2015
Customer avatar
By skegbabe
From:Skegness, Lincolnshire, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Easy to use, easy to clean as the inside is completely removable, looks really smart, love it! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to use
Posted01 May 2015
Customer avatar
By Youngl
From:Dumfries, Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Great buy, value for money and easy to use "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Proper chips,
Posted28 April 2015
Customer avatar
By Gwyn31
From:West GLamorgan
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" I had one of these new chip pans that only use a spoonful of oil, my husband hated it , so I bought the Russell hobs fryer, and I have got to admit the chips are great, the fryer is easy to use , easy to clean , and as I said great chips . "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
safe chips
Posted22 April 2015
Customer avatar
By Bas
From:Friars Cliff
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Have used a deep fat fryer now for several years following a very near miss when I left a deep pan of hot oil on the cooker too long!
They produce excellent chips safely. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Neat little machine
Posted21 April 2015
Customer avatar
By Zeroc
From:Down NI
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" This machine looks neat and tidy, easy to use, easy to clean, all the controls are well away from the lid, so they will not get gunked up with grease. We have only used it 4 times, but so far, so good. Very pleased with it! Heats up really quickly. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Posted18 April 2015
Customer avatar
By Jean
From:Essex, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Ok easy to clean nothing special average "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good enough
Posted14 April 2015
Customer avatar
By Hils
From:Buckinghamshire, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" I loved the design but the element was in the bowl and too close to basket. Also basket too small.
Unfortunately, I had to return.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Deep Fat Fryer
Posted08 April 2015
Customer avatar
By Devout granny.
From:N Ireland
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Easy to use but settings doesn't give any explanation of which to use for different foods, e.g. Chips, sausages, chicken etc. however overall a very good product. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
deep fat fryer
Posted07 April 2015
Customer avatar
By paul
From:Heald Green, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
" Purchased this product now I'll return it tomorrow morning I just wish that the lead was longer it doesn't even reach my sockets be careful this lead is about 60cm "
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Looks good to me
Posted07 April 2015
Customer avatar
By Mo
From:Rowan Road Manor Road (Stop P), London SW15 UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Received free product:Yes
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" I just bought it and I'm yet to use it, I believe it will work fine. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
do not buy!!
Posted03 April 2015
Customer avatar
By Peter
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
" After 10 months heating element started switching itself off and not heating oil to the desired temperature. Had a replacement and after 3 months same thing happened. Taking it back now.
In addition, as in other reviews - lead is not long enough and does even reach socket if you want to put further than 50cm from it.
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted01 April 2015
Customer avatar
By Olive
From:Omeath, Co. Louth, Ireland
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Great product , only downside is the lead is very short. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Posted31 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Tina
From:Plymouth
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Going by the size indicated I thought it would have had a larger basket - the unit its self is large and uses a lot of oil to fill up - but I would buy again "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
oil change
Posted31 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Tinkerbell
From:Co durham
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" It's hard to change oil as the fryer is heaven to lift to pour oil out "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product
Posted24 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Paul
From:Oxford, Oxford, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" We had a very little Deep Fat Fryer so we thought we would like to have a better one we went for the Russell Hobbs 17942 one and found it very good it works great and has a timer and a window on top so you can see when your food is ready "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great at cooking family sized portions at once
Posted23 March 2015
Customer avatar
By aes
From:Havant, Hampshire, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" This is a good fryer which has a timer. it does what it is built for, it fries well but did not have full marks as handle on basket is slightly awkward when emptying food due to moveable element. Otherwise great and basket fits enough chips for a family of 4 with ease. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 Next >>>