Top-rated product

Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.

<p>With a smart stylish silver and black exterior this Russell Hobbs deep fat fryer made from smooth stainless steel has a large 1.2kg food capacity and features easy-to-clean removable bowl and lid, rise and fall basket, extra safe cool wall body and a handy digital timer.</p><ul><li>1.2kg food capacity.</li><li>Oil capacity 3.3L.</li><li>Variable temperature.</li><li>Digital timer.</li><li>Removable bowl.</li><li>Rise and fall basket.</li><li>Odour filter.</li><li>Safety cut out.</li><li>Size H27.3, W30.2, D36.8cm.</li><li>2200 watts.</li><li>Manufacturer's 2 year guarantee.</li><li>EAN: 5038061034776.</li></ul>
Overall rating:
4.01 / 5
4
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 206 reviews
5 Stars
97
4 Stars
57
3 Stars
27
2 Stars
7
1 Star
18
165 of 20680%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
22 Questions | 24 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Review 1 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Posted18 April 2015
Customer avatar
By Jean
From:Essex, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Ok easy to clean nothing special average "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good enough
Posted14 April 2015
Customer avatar
By Hils
From:Buckinghamshire, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" I loved the design but the element was in the bowl and too close to basket. Also basket too small.
Unfortunately, I had to return.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Deep Fat Fryer
Posted08 April 2015
Customer avatar
By Devout granny.
From:N Ireland
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Easy to use but settings doesn't give any explanation of which to use for different foods, e.g. Chips, sausages, chicken etc. however overall a very good product. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
deep fat fryer
Posted07 April 2015
Customer avatar
By paul
From:Heald Green, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
" Purchased this product now I'll return it tomorrow morning I just wish that the lead was longer it doesn't even reach my sockets be careful this lead is about 60cm "
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Looks good to me
Posted07 April 2015
Customer avatar
By Mo
From:Rowan Road Manor Road (Stop P), London SW15 UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Received free product:Yes
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" I just bought it and I'm yet to use it, I believe it will work fine. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
do not buy!!
Posted03 April 2015
Customer avatar
By Peter
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
" After 10 months heating element started switching itself off and not heating oil to the desired temperature. Had a replacement and after 3 months same thing happened. Taking it back now.
In addition, as in other reviews - lead is not long enough and does even reach socket if you want to put further than 50cm from it.
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted01 April 2015
Customer avatar
By Olive
From:Omeath, Co. Louth, Ireland
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Great product , only downside is the lead is very short. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Posted31 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Tina
From:Plymouth
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Going by the size indicated I thought it would have had a larger basket - the unit its self is large and uses a lot of oil to fill up - but I would buy again "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
oil change
Posted31 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Tinkerbell
From:Co durham
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" It's hard to change oil as the fryer is heaven to lift to pour oil out "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product
Posted24 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Paul
From:Oxford, Oxford, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" We had a very little Deep Fat Fryer so we thought we would like to have a better one we went for the Russell Hobbs 17942 one and found it very good it works great and has a timer and a window on top so you can see when your food is ready "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great at cooking family sized portions at once
Posted23 March 2015
Customer avatar
By aes
From:Havant, Hampshire, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" This is a good fryer which has a timer. it does what it is built for, it fries well but did not have full marks as handle on basket is slightly awkward when emptying food due to moveable element. Otherwise great and basket fits enough chips for a family of 4 with ease. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice looking appliance
Posted19 March 2015
Customer avatar
By delboy
From:UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Sleek design, reasonable price & operates well. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Cheap and nasty.
Posted17 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Lancs
From:Lancs
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
" Basket design is nothing short of awful, I expected a lot more from a high profile brand such as this. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Makes great chips!
Posted11 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Andrea L
From:North Yorkshire, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This is the perfect deep fat fryer. Great design with the digital timer...no more over done chips!
Stylish black and steel design matches our other kitchen appliances!
I would highly recommend this product
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Is it anygood?
Posted07 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Steve W
From:West Sussex
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Digital - not really, ( a very basic timer.) Very quick to heat up and very hot so you need to tone it down a bit to get required cooking. Needs a lot of oil but better than our old one which you needed to switch on ages before you needed it. Basket is deep but can't easily shake it because its not that wide. Takes a lot of oil which could work out expensive. Comes apart easily for cleaning and oil changing. The Jury's out on this one but the fast heat up is great and it does it for me.... "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Deep fat fryer
Posted04 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Rocky
From:East Riding of Yorkshire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
" Nice looking product.
On the good side, it does chips quickly.
On the bad side, heating element is directly under the basket making the frying of battered fish a messy affair.
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Badly designed and needs a longer mains lead.
Posted03 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Simply
From:West Midlands, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
" I agree that the power cord length is absurd. The power is fed to the element via the front panel so the mains lead needs to be fed under the machine to reach the rear leaving very short amount of lead to reach the mains socket. To add an insult the bottom of the fryer has a facility to wrap excess lead - is this a joke? The timer is of very little use and it would have been much better if an on/off switch had been provided. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fume free fryer
Posted27 February 2015
Customer avatar
By Tommy
From:Ryde Isle of wight
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Received free product:Yes
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" A great little fryer fits nicely on the work top only uses a small ammount of oil all in all a good item "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This is the worst fryer I have ever bought
Posted24 February 2015
Customer avatar
By Madcow
From:Staffs
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
" The basket handle is a bad design. The chips do not drain well , and remain greasy the worst feature is the cable which is about 6 inches long and does not reach any of my sockets . I have to put it on a pan to reach. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Posted20 February 2015
Customer avatar
By Johnsmith
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
" For the price I think it's not worth it, the lid is flimsy and the power cord isn't long enough. If you have kitchen cupboards that hang over the kitchen sides the steam from it goes under the cupboards because the fryer only reaches about a foot from the wall "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 Next >>>