Top-rated product

Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.

<p>With a smart stylish silver and black exterior this Russell Hobbs deep fat fryer made from smooth stainless steel has a large 1.2kg food capacity and features easy-to-clean removable bowl and lid, rise and fall basket, extra safe cool wall body and a handy digital timer.</p><ul><li>1.2kg food capacity.</li><li>Oil capacity 3.3L.</li><li>Variable temperature.</li><li>Digital timer.</li><li>Removable bowl.</li><li>Rise and fall basket.</li><li>Odour filter.</li><li>Safety cut out.</li><li>Size H27.3, W30.2, D36.8cm.</li><li>2200 watts.</li><li>Manufacturer's 2 year guarantee.</li><li>EAN: 5038061034776.</li></ul>
Overall rating:
4.051 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 197 reviews
5 Stars
97
4 Stars
52
3 Stars
25
2 Stars
7
1 Star
16
158 of 19780%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
22 Questions | 24 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Review 1 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product
Posted24 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Paul
From:Oxford, Oxford, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" We had a very little Deep Fat Fryer so we thought we would like to have a better one we went for the Russell Hobbs 17942 one and found it very good it works great and has a timer and a window on top so you can see when your food is ready "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great at cooking family sized portions at once
Posted23 March 2015
Customer avatar
By aes
From:Havant, Hampshire, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" This is a good fryer which has a timer. it does what it is built for, it fries well but did not have full marks as handle on basket is slightly awkward when emptying food due to moveable element. Otherwise great and basket fits enough chips for a family of 4 with ease. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice looking appliance
Posted19 March 2015
Customer avatar
By delboy
From:UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Sleek design, reasonable price & operates well. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Cheap and nasty.
Posted17 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Lancs
From:Lancs
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
" Basket design is nothing short of awful, I expected a lot more from a high profile brand such as this. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Makes great chips!
Posted11 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Andrea L
From:North Yorkshire, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This is the perfect deep fat fryer. Great design with the digital timer...no more over done chips!
Stylish black and steel design matches our other kitchen appliances!
I would highly recommend this product
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Is it anygood?
Posted07 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Steve W
From:West Sussex
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Digital - not really, ( a very basic timer.) Very quick to heat up and very hot so you need to tone it down a bit to get required cooking. Needs a lot of oil but better than our old one which you needed to switch on ages before you needed it. Basket is deep but can't easily shake it because its not that wide. Takes a lot of oil which could work out expensive. Comes apart easily for cleaning and oil changing. The Jury's out on this one but the fast heat up is great and it does it for me.... "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Deep fat fryer
Posted04 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Rocky
From:East Riding of Yorkshire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
" Nice looking product.
On the good side, it does chips quickly.
On the bad side, heating element is directly under the basket making the frying of battered fish a messy affair.
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Badly designed and needs a longer mains lead.
Posted03 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Simply
From:West Midlands, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
" I agree that the power cord length is absurd. The power is fed to the element via the front panel so the mains lead needs to be fed under the machine to reach the rear leaving very short amount of lead to reach the mains socket. To add an insult the bottom of the fryer has a facility to wrap excess lead - is this a joke? The timer is of very little use and it would have been much better if an on/off switch had been provided. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fume free fryer
Posted27 February 2015
Customer avatar
By Tommy
From:Ryde Isle of wight
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Received free product:Yes
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" A great little fryer fits nicely on the work top only uses a small ammount of oil all in all a good item "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This is the worst fryer I have ever bought
Posted24 February 2015
Customer avatar
By Madcow
From:Staffs
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
" The basket handle is a bad design. The chips do not drain well , and remain greasy the worst feature is the cable which is about 6 inches long and does not reach any of my sockets . I have to put it on a pan to reach. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Posted20 February 2015
Customer avatar
By Johnsmith
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
" For the price I think it's not worth it, the lid is flimsy and the power cord isn't long enough. If you have kitchen cupboards that hang over the kitchen sides the steam from it goes under the cupboards because the fryer only reaches about a foot from the wall "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
deep fat fryer
Posted18 February 2015
Customer avatar
By ingles47
From:South Yorkshire, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Looks nice, although can't seem to work the timer A bit pricey for what you get in comparison to other fryers i have had in the past "
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good.
Posted17 February 2015
Customer avatar
By Timjonti
From:Lewisham
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Does what it's supposed to. Chips are nice. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
overpriced and does not work well
Posted17 February 2015
Customer avatar
By Daveo
From:West Yorkshire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
" The fryer was damaged and d there was no paperwork in the box. Traipsed back to Argos for a replacement.
IN USE: the digital timer seems totally unnecessary. The basket does not allow chips to be shaken so they stick together and do not brown properly. When the basket is in the raised position it is still partly in the oil (not filled above the max mark) so food cannot be drained properly.
VERDICT:The design is poor, the quality is poor, and it is overpriced.
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very good fryer
Posted17 February 2015
Customer avatar
By K
Age:35 to 44
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This is a very good item heats up in no time ready to use.
It is Very easy to take a part and clean and more so put back together again.
Everything from the lid to front comes off for cleaning.
The only thing I found with this is there could be a little bit more room for your fingers ware you lift the basket Handel from when it is in the closed position.
All in all a very good deep fat fryer.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good looking but not very practical
Posted13 February 2015
Customer avatar
By Muttonhead
From:West Yorkshire
Age:65 or over
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Sleek, smart appearance and easy to use but the flex extends only a ridiculously short 35 cm from the back of the fryer, making it difficult to find a suitable place on the worktop. Would have returned but had bought in readiness for a new kitchen and was a few days outside the 14-day return period.
In terms of capacity, requires 3 litres of oil to reach the 'minimum' mark; this is deep enough to fry enough chips for 2 fairly modest portions.
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Compact & easy to use
Posted10 February 2015
Customer avatar
By david567
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Only used it a couple of times but seems to be easy to keep clean. Nice and compact and you can raise the basket without lifting the lid. Chips are nice. Have not bothered using the timer. One gripe is that the mains cable is annoyingly short given that it starts from the front of the unit rather than the back. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very good product
Posted04 February 2015
Customer avatar
By Rose
From:Lincoln,uk
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Received free product:Yes
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" No problem so far and basket holds more then it looks "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Russell Hobbs fryer
Posted03 February 2015
Customer avatar
By Christine
From:Wilts
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Pleased with it but shame the lead is so short have to make it longer somehow "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Jules09
Posted27 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Jules09
From:Kent, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Bought this because it had the largest basket that took 1.2kg of potatoes, unfortunately you can't cook this amount in one go! Takes forever as you have to cook 2 lots of chips! Not very good Russell Hobbs, you should change the description to mention this fact. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 Next >>>