Top-rated product

Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.

<p>With a smart stylish silver and black exterior this Russell Hobbs deep fat fryer made from smooth stainless steel has a large 1.2kg food capacity and features easy-to-clean removable bowl and lid, rise and fall basket, extra safe cool wall body and a handy digital timer.</p><ul><li>1.2kg food capacity.</li><li>Oil capacity 3.3L.</li><li>Variable temperature.</li><li>Digital timer.</li><li>Removable bowl.</li><li>Rise and fall basket.</li><li>Odour filter.</li><li>Safety cut out.</li><li>Size H27.3, W30.2, D36.8cm.</li><li>2200 watts.</li><li>Manufacturer's 2 year guarantee.</li><li>EAN: 5038061034776.</li></ul>
Overall rating:
4.053 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 188 reviews
5 Stars
94
4 Stars
49
3 Stars
22
2 Stars
7
1 Star
16
152 of 18881%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
24 Questions | 26 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Review 1 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fume free fryer
Posted27 February 2015
Customer avatar
By Tommy
From:Ryde Isle of wight
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Received free product:Yes
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" A great little fryer fits nicely on the work top only uses a small ammount of oil all in all a good item "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This is the worst fryer I have ever bought
Posted24 February 2015
Customer avatar
By Madcow
From:Staffs
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
" The basket handle is a bad design. The chips do not drain well , and remain greasy the worst feature is the cable which is about 6 inches long and does not reach any of my sockets . I have to put it on a pan to reach. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Posted20 February 2015
Customer avatar
By Johnsmith
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
" For the price I think it's not worth it, the lid is flimsy and the power cord isn't long enough. If you have kitchen cupboards that hang over the kitchen sides the steam from it goes under the cupboards because the fryer only reaches about a foot from the wall "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
deep fat fryer
Posted18 February 2015
Customer avatar
By ingles47
From:South Yorkshire, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Looks nice, although can't seem to work the timer A bit pricey for what you get in comparison to other fryers i have had in the past "
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good.
Posted17 February 2015
Customer avatar
By Timjonti
From:Lewisham
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Does what it's supposed to. Chips are nice. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
overpriced and does not work well
Posted17 February 2015
Customer avatar
By Daveo
From:West Yorkshire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
" The fryer was damaged and d there was no paperwork in the box. Traipsed back to Argos for a replacement.
IN USE: the digital timer seems totally unnecessary. The basket does not allow chips to be shaken so they stick together and do not brown properly. When the basket is in the raised position it is still partly in the oil (not filled above the max mark) so food cannot be drained properly.
VERDICT:The design is poor, the quality is poor, and it is overpriced.
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very good fryer
Posted17 February 2015
Customer avatar
By K
Age:35 to 44
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This is a very good item heats up in no time ready to use.
It is Very easy to take a part and clean and more so put back together again.
Everything from the lid to front comes off for cleaning.
The only thing I found with this is there could be a little bit more room for your fingers ware you lift the basket Handel from when it is in the closed position.
All in all a very good deep fat fryer.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good looking but not very practical
Posted13 February 2015
Customer avatar
By Muttonhead
From:West Yorkshire
Age:65 or over
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Sleek, smart appearance and easy to use but the flex extends only a ridiculously short 35 cm from the back of the fryer, making it difficult to find a suitable place on the worktop. Would have returned but had bought in readiness for a new kitchen and was a few days outside the 14-day return period.
In terms of capacity, requires 3 litres of oil to reach the 'minimum' mark; this is deep enough to fry enough chips for 2 fairly modest portions.
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Compact & easy to use
Posted10 February 2015
Customer avatar
By david567
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Only used it a couple of times but seems to be easy to keep clean. Nice and compact and you can raise the basket without lifting the lid. Chips are nice. Have not bothered using the timer. One gripe is that the mains cable is annoyingly short given that it starts from the front of the unit rather than the back. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very good product
Posted04 February 2015
Customer avatar
By Rose
From:Lincoln,uk
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Received free product:Yes
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" No problem so far and basket holds more then it looks "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Russell Hobbs fryer
Posted03 February 2015
Customer avatar
By Christine
From:Wilts
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Pleased with it but shame the lead is so short have to make it longer somehow "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Jules09
Posted27 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Jules09
From:Kent, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Bought this because it had the largest basket that took 1.2kg of potatoes, unfortunately you can't cook this amount in one go! Takes forever as you have to cook 2 lots of chips! Not very good Russell Hobbs, you should change the description to mention this fact. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted07 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Dave9641
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Very good looks good and works very well easy to use . "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Happy
Posted06 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Dee
From:Gloucester, Gloucester, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" We are very happy with the fryer. We like the design and it's surprising how many chips it can take, enough for a family of four. We haven,t had to clean it yet because we have only used it a few times but it comes apart very easily and can see there being no problem. We are able to position the fryer next to the wall plug so the length of the electric wire is not a problem. Overall very happy with the purchase "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great fryer
Posted06 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Annie
From:Lincolnshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Been looking for a new fryer for sometime that would come apart for cleaning like my old one did and this one fits the bill. Chips don't take too long to cook. Down side is that the timer doesn't appear to work and the handle on the basket is very fiddly, otherwise great. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Russell Hobbs 17942 digital deep fat fryer- St/Ste
Posted06 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Keith
From:Northamptonshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" very good deep fat fryer, heats up very quickly. dismantles easily for cleaning "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
will be taking it back
Posted01 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Steve71
From:Hucknall, Nottingham, Nottinghamshire, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
" Will be taking this product back. Looks very nice but having to hold the lid down manually to heat the oil. Have tried other makes in the past, thought we'd give Russell Hobbs a go. Next time, I'll give them a miss. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent fryer
Posted31 December 2014
Customer avatar
By Chris
From:Gwent
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Excellent fryer good value for the money. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted31 December 2014
Customer avatar
By Fizzy
Age:55 to 64
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Used twice so far so good. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Russell Hobbs 17942 Digital Deep Fat Fryer - St/Steel.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Clean looking deep frier
Posted30 December 2014
Customer avatar
By love to shop
From:swansea
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" The only problem that I can find is the very,very short cable that is on it.I had read the other reviews and they mentioned the short cable but I honestly did not imagine anyone would put it that short.
Would I have changed it for another? I don't know,because otherwise it is ok and the chips cook well so can't complain.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 Next >>>