Sorry this product is currently unavailable. Please visit Argos for similar products.

Challenge Air Conditioner.

White finish. Supplied with a 150cm hose. Accessories included exhaust pipe, remote control and battery. Electronic control panel. Casters included. Removable filter. Built-in storage cable. BTU 9000 (measured at 27 degrees 60% RH). 4 operating functions (fan, cool, auto and temperature settings). 2 speed settings. 12 hour timer. Full water indicator. Energy efficiency A. Remote control - requires 2 x AAA batteries. Optimum working temperature 18-32 degrees. Suitable for room size 20m2. Size (H)75, (W)30.5, (D)38cm.
Overall rating:
3.902 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 51 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
21
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
5
1 Star
4
17 of 2085%would recommend to a friend
Sort by Customer reviews for Challenge Air Conditioner.
Review 1 for Challenge Air Conditioner.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My summer heat buster
Posted22 August 2010
Customer avatar
By Yomi
From:London, England.
"I acquired this unit at the height of the heat wave and I was not let down one bit by this purchase. The unit was very easy to set up, quite light and due to the casters is manoeuvrable. Vibration was minimal and the noise level are okay, bearing in mind that these devices will always have a fair amount of noise output due to their design & construction (it’s not a split unit) but the benefits far outweigh the noise! I found the 12 hour timer extremely useful and the push button controls very easy to master, considering that I didn't bother to read the didn't read the manual initially!
Ensure that all doors & windows are properly shut, if you have gaps block these out using old clothing, towels or bubble wrap along with the foam cut outs provided in the box. It has a very efficient thermostat so doing this will ensure the product works efficiently, cutting out the compressor when it’s optimum temperature setting set has been reached or else you’ll overwork the compressor unit which will inadvertently lead to high electricity bills.
The cooling effect can be felt within a couple of minutes depending on the size of the room, overall I am impressed with my purchase.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Challenge Air Conditioner.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very good purchase
Posted03 August 2010
Customer avatar
By Jennifer
From:Dundee
"Yes, this a is a good purchase, and certinely cools down a warm room"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Challenge Air Conditioner.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Purchase Ever
Posted28 July 2010
Customer avatar
By Michelle
From:Slough
"Ideally this would suit a room with a small top opening window ( the hose maybe a bit short, but a small table would resolve this). As we dont have a small window, to ensure we received the best results we covered the full size window with perplex making a hole for the hose, this worked a treat. We purchased this for my sons birthday and he hasnt moaned about being to hot since, he thinks its the best present ever!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Challenge Air Conditioner.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pretty Good!
Posted20 July 2010
Customer avatar
By JaySee
From:Gateshead
Value for Money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cooling output 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Aside from the fact my first unit broke on me I've been very happy with this product. It is pretty loud, but you get used to it after a while. Definitely couldn't sleep with it switched on. I usually have it on 10 minutes before I sleep so it's fine by me. The noise is worth the benefits of being freezing cold in the middle of summer."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Challenge Air Conditioner.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Efficient and easy to use.
Posted09 July 2010
Customer avatar
By Alex
From:Leicestershire
Value for Money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of assembly 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cooling output 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I bought this at half price when the heat got to me. No actual assembly required, just push the flexible hose into the back of the unit, drop the other end of the hose out of a small window and go. Takes only 5-10 minutes to bring an unpleasantly hot double bedroom from 28C down to 24C and from then on, just comes on and off as required to keep the temperature down and, most importantly, the humidity down.
The amount of condensation in the tank after use was minimal, I got about 1/8th of a cup after it being on all night. The noise I found I could sleep through fine, certainly better than trying to sleep in a room at 28C and 50% humidity!
This unit will keep an average double room at a stable temperature in the middle of summer. Don't expect it to cool your entire 3-bedroom house to 21C as no 2.3kW air conditioner could possibly manage that.
During my use for a double bedroom, it was cycling between on for 1 minute, off for 5 minutes. The fan runs continuously, but it does drop to a slower speed as the room gets closer to your target temperature. You can force the fan to stay at either high or low speed all the time. You can also select a fan-only mode if you just need moving air instead of cooling.
All in all, I am very happy with this unit. It is effective and not too big or loud."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Challenge Air Conditioner.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good value for the money
Posted08 July 2010
Customer avatar
By IAN B
From:BIRMINGHAM
Value for Money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cooling output 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"got mine for the bedroom. keeps it nice and cool on the hot nights when you can not sleep. exhaust pipe is a bit small so you have to keep it by a window but all around it dose the job."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Challenge Air Conditioner.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted06 July 2010
Customer avatar
By Mikey
From:West Mids
"Bought my first unit last year in the half price sale. Does exactly what it says and quickly reduces the room temperature. A bit noisy but well worth the money. So impressed I bought another in the 2010 half price sale and so did two friends on my recommendation."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Challenge Air Conditioner.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Posted06 July 2010
Customer avatar
By Angela
From:Reading
"Got a fault product. working like a heater so returned. --- no comments"
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Challenge Air Conditioner.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted06 July 2010
Customer avatar
By Malcolm
From:cambs
"Very good value ,Does an exelent job at a reasonable price. Noise level is acceptable.
I certainly recomend.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Challenge Air Conditioner.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Challenge Air Conditioner
Posted06 July 2010
Customer avatar
By phil
From:kent
"noise is not too loud cold air is instant remote is great only problem i have top openers on my window and needed to use entention vent hose from my old mechine but apart from that its a great little air con unit"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Challenge Air Conditioner.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good way to chill
Posted06 July 2010
Customer avatar
By Jon
From:London
"This was an excellent investment for a hot day, particularly in that we bought it during a half price sale. It cools, it filters, it conditions, it's got wheels and a remote control. It even gets an A for efficiency.
It does make a bit of noise while working, but this is akin to any A/C or HVAC unit and blends easily into the background. The vent hose won't easily reach an upper window from the floor, but realistically this hasn't been a problem either, providing you have a slightly lower window.
All in all, good buy.
END TRANSMISSION!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Challenge Air Conditioner.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great value for money
Posted06 July 2010
Customer avatar
By shaun
From:England
"Looks good, easy to set up. Does the job of cooling the room very well.
I purchased mine at a discounted price.
It is a lot smaller than i expected so is easy to store when not in use and being England this is most of the time.
On those sweltering summer days it allows me to get on with my day to day household chores with a lot more energy.
It does make noise but not much more than the noise couple of fans would make and I can always use ear plugs overnight if that was a problem.
I choose to only use this on very humid days\nights (less impact on the enviorment). However it is nice to know it can be switched on/off with the press of the remote at any time.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Challenge Air Conditioner.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product
Posted06 July 2010
Customer avatar
By Hadi
From:Sheffield
"Great Product, very quite and at a good price"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Challenge Air Conditioner.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
took it back
Posted06 July 2010
Customer avatar
By debs
From:cheshire
"the hose on this was soooo rigid, wide & not long enough to reach my top opening windows that i returned it, didn't xpect the hose to be so big & ugly, it can't be xtended either. but am sure the item would have kept the dogs cool had it worked."
No, I do not recommend this product.
-5points
1of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Challenge Air Conditioner.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic purchase
Posted06 July 2010
Customer avatar
By Kirsty
From:Surrey
"We had tried everything to cool our daughters loft conversion. It easily gets up to 30 degrees in the summer. Fans and air coolers didn't work at all. So we finally decided to buy an aircon even though we didn't think it would work very well as had to put hose out loft window. Well, we have been super impressed. Even with having to leave window open for hose, the aircon brought the temperature in her room right down to 22 degrees. Although a bit noisy it did the trick. would highly recommend-especially at the special deal Argos are running at half price."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Challenge Air Conditioner.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted06 July 2010
Customer avatar
By Joanne
From:Notts
"I have this in my sons bedroom which is large.
It keeps the room really cool and not too noisy.
Only drawback is it needs a longer tube if you have high windows. I just stand it on a stool.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Challenge Air Conditioner.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good for the hot nights
Posted06 July 2010
Customer avatar
By tyron
From:orpington
"Works as it should, just close the door and let this little machine do the work,
My only grime is it's a bit noisey
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Challenge Air Conditioner.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
LOUD!!!
Posted06 July 2010
Customer avatar
By Danlajsdpow
"Cools the room ok, but very loud."
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Challenge Air Conditioner.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Works Well
Posted22 June 2010
Customer avatar
By smith10036
From:Essex
"Remember it exhausts some hot air so keep it near an open window for best results. Air cooled units work much better though the exhaust can present a install issue. I exhust to the entrance hallway and keep all doors shut....works very well."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Challenge Air Conditioner.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted18 August 2009
Customer avatar
By BIG G
From:West Country
Value for Money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of assembly 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cooling output 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Very good product - although the outlet hose could do with being a bit longer if it is needed to go out of a top window."
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 Next >>>