Sorry this product is currently unavailable. Please visit Argos for similar products.

Challenge Slimline 4.5 Litre Air Cooler.

<p>The Challenge Air Cooler has an attractive slimline design and easy glide castors which makes it ideal for conveniently storing and moving from room to room. The Challenge Air Cooler will create a blast of cool air across your room using water from its 4.5 litre tank or the ice packs supplied, making it a fantastic product for your home during the summer months.</p><ul><li>White and Black finish.</li><li>Mounted on castors for easy movement.</li><li>3 speed settings.</li><li>7-hour timer with remote control.</li><li>4.5 litre tank.</li><li>Cooler only function.</li><li>Size H59.8, W29.5, D24cm.</li><li>EAN/MPN/UPC/ISBN: 4250351.</li></ul>
Overall rating:
3.256 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 39 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
14
19 of 3259%would recommend to a friend
Sort by Customer reviews for Challenge Slimline 4.5 Litre Air Cooler.
Review 1 for Challenge Slimline 4.5 Litre Air Cooler.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Rubbish
Posted17 July 2013
Customer avatar
By JCD
From:Heanor
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
"This does absolutely nothing to cool the room. My normal round fan on stand cools the air better. Even tried chilling the water. Just a waste of money"
No, I do not recommend this product.
-4points
8of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Challenge Slimline 4.5 Litre Air Cooler.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good choice
Posted17 July 2013
Customer avatar
By Solihull
From:Solihull, West Midlands, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
"The water tank is infact 8 litres not 4.5. It works really well with nice cool air blowing out. A good tip is to buy a couple of extra ice packs to put in the water tank."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Challenge Slimline 4.5 Litre Air Cooler.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ineffective
Posted09 July 2013
Customer avatar
By J
From:UK
Age:45 to 54
"Simply didn't cool the room"
No, I do not recommend this product.
+14points
25of 36voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Challenge Slimline 4.5 Litre Air Cooler.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best purchase from argos ever
Posted21 June 2013
Customer avatar
By Doreen
From:somerset
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
"i brought this product two weeks ago as i have an illness that needs me to be kept cool this machine is wonderful it lowers the tempreture in my flat by 2 degrees in half an hour it now comes with a 7.5 litre tank and the ice packs work great top tip buy more ice packs its light weight and very easy to move and very quiet even on the full power setting"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+15points
24of 33voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Challenge Slimline 4.5 Litre Air Cooler.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Product has been replaced.
Posted19 June 2013
Customer avatar
By Anonymous
"This product has been replaced with an upgraded 7 litre cooler with a purifier, however it's very cheaply built and despite the large front grill the air only comes out of the top left corner.
Does the job, but expensive for what it is.
Freeze water in some Tupperware, and place it in front of a regular fan and it will do the same."
No, I do not recommend this product.
+29points
39of 49voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Challenge Slimline 4.5 Litre Air Cooler.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
4.5L cooler is now 7Litres!
Posted19 September 2012
Customer avatar
By Skipper
From:Hampshire
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Value for Money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of assembly 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Cooling output 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"This product has been upgraded to a 7 litre model - great! I assume that means better cooling. It's also remote control - either I did not read that bit or it's not in the online blurb. It also oscilates, has a timer to switch off in 1 to 7 hours and can ionise the air.
It does cool the air, but nowhere near as much as an air conditioner. However, I am not able to use air-con as there is no window for the pipe to go through. And it is cooler than a fan - just.
Low setting is quiet and my normal quiet radio can be heard. Middle or high setting is too loud.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+14points
21of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Challenge Slimline 4.5 Litre Air Cooler.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
does what it says
Posted21 August 2012
Customer avatar
By -
From:somerset
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Value for Money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cooling output 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"pros - powerful blast of cooling air, not too noisy
cons- not easy to move when full- water tank can spill"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
21of 34voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Challenge Slimline 4.5 Litre Air Cooler.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works A Treat!
Posted08 August 2012
Customer avatar
By H.oxford
From:Oxfordshire
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Value for Money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cooling output 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Bought this instead of an air conditioner for my salon as have nowhere to put the vent of an air conditioner. Just using the fan with the water tank produces a nice cool breeze on a warm/hot day and does not seem to use too much water. Using the ice packs in the water and the evaporator (dehumidifier) with the fan does lower the temperature of a hot room on a very hot day. Well recommended for those who cannot use an air conditioner."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+21points
23of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Challenge Slimline 4.5 Litre Air Cooler.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cooling AC
Posted08 August 2012
Customer avatar
By shafiqah
From:MK, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Value for Money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cooling output 
2 / 5
2 / 5
"the produch did not meet my expectations"
No, I do not recommend this product.
-14points
4of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Challenge Slimline 4.5 Litre Air Cooler.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Beware what you're buying
Posted08 August 2012
Customer avatar
By David
From:Northamptonshire
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Value for Money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cooling output 
2 / 5
2 / 5
"This is an air-cooler; it works by evaporating water from a material which is constantly wetted. If the humidity of the room/area you want to cool is high, then this unit will not cool as effectively as it could - if the humidity is high, no more water can be dissolved into the air, and so no cooling action is provided.
But, if it's not humid, this unit works a treat.
Shame it's very high humidty in the UK most of the time, really. This unit simply wont work when you need it most in the UK."
No, I do not recommend this product.
+14points
23of 32voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Challenge Slimline 4.5 Litre Air Cooler.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
worst ever buy
Posted02 August 2012
Customer avatar
By casp
From:nth lincs
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Value for Money 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of assembly 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Cooling output 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"totally useless. fan worked better. took it back straight away."
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Challenge Slimline 4.5 Litre Air Cooler.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent product
Posted10 July 2012
Customer avatar
By mark
From:milton keynes
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
"does exactly what is says on the description... cools brilliantly... even in a work enviroment...although lack of info on web site on the power out put it gives raised with assistant in the shop..."
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Challenge Slimline 4.5 Litre Air Cooler.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not fit for purpose
Posted08 June 2012
Customer avatar
By Anonymous
Value for Money 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of assembly 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Cooling output 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"Very disappointing. Didn't do what it was supposed to - the room was warmer after we used it than before. If you want a large oblong fan, buy this. If you want something that cools the air, don't."
No, I do not recommend this product.
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Challenge Slimline 4.5 Litre Air Cooler.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Doesn't really spdo what it says on the tin!
Posted07 June 2012
Customer avatar
By Anonymous
From:Kent
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Value for Money 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of assembly 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Cooling output 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"Bought this item for use in a really small shop. Filled tank at back with water and the ice block. Didn't seem to make any difference whether it had water/ice or nothing. Wouldn't buy again or recommend."
No, I do not recommend this product.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Challenge Slimline 4.5 Litre Air Cooler.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
useless
Posted07 June 2012
Customer avatar
By Rob
From:Northamptonshire
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
Value for Money 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of assembly 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Cooling output 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"At best this thing as a very expensize loud poor quality fan didnt change the temp atall returned the next day"
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
6of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Challenge Slimline 4.5 Litre Air Cooler.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
real value for money
Posted07 June 2012
Customer avatar
By rahima
From:lancs
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Value for Money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cooling output 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I bought the cooler to keep my dogs cool it does the job much quieter than a fan love the idea of the ice block and my dogs are very happy ."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Challenge Slimline 4.5 Litre Air Cooler.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Don't bother
Posted11 October 2011
Customer avatar
By Neil
From:UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Value for Money 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cooling output 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"This unit is very poor. All it managed to do was turn an already hot room into a very warm and humid room.
Very disappointed with it. It was bought to cool down my office where I use lots of computer equipment, and even using pre-chilled fridge water and the ice packs together, it didn't manage to lower the temperature by more than half a degree!
But it did manage to turn my office into a tropical rainforest. Ideal for all manner of wildlife I'm sure, but not very good for sensitive electronic equipment!"
No, I do not recommend this product.
+8points
15of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Challenge Slimline 4.5 Litre Air Cooler.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
air cooler
Posted20 September 2011
Customer avatar
By kilrenny
From:fife
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Value for Money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cooling output 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"if used in a small room as mine is it does work well. fans only move the hot air around but this actually cools it"
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Challenge Slimline 4.5 Litre Air Cooler.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best cooler money can buy
Posted08 September 2011
Customer avatar
By Paul
From:Swansea Wales
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Value for Money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cooling output 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The picture doesn't do it justice, it is a quite smart stationary unit, if you want it to oscillate then the louvres on the front go left and right (not the unit) so it can be placed near to other objects, the remote control is excellent and you can control all functions with it and as an added bit of luxury it also has a timer that can be set from 1 - 7 hours, as you can probably gather i am absolutely delighted with this cooler.... I very highly recommend it.. Thank You"
Yes, I recommend this product.
-6points
1of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Challenge Slimline 4.5 Litre Air Cooler.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Air cooler unit
Posted24 August 2011
Customer avatar
By Lee-Anne
From:hillingdon middx
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Value for Money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cooling output 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Easy to assemble,even easier to work, very quiet and very cold if u pot ice blocks in the tray.
Very good buy.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
1 2 Next >>>