Top-rated product

Giant Lava Lamp - Red and Purple.

<p>Add a touch of magic to the room with this giant lava lamp with soothing coloured wax shapes and a contemporary silver finish base and top.</p><ul><li> In-line switch. Mains operated.</li><li>Size H69cm.</li><li>Bulbs required: 1 x 100W ES (included).</li><li>EAN: 047162168216.</li></ul>
Overall rating:
4.428 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 166 reviews
5 Stars
112
4 Stars
35
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
2
1 Star
10
138 of 15688%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
23 Questions | 25 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Giant Lava Lamp - Red and Purple.
Review 1 for Giant Lava Lamp - Red and Purple.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lava lamp
Posted14 April 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Washington, Tyne and Wear, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Nice size ,it's looks very cosy in the sitting room , looks very nice "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Giant Lava Lamp - Red and Purple.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
lovely but slow
Posted06 April 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Watford, Hertfordshire, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" We have had this a couple of weeks now and I do love it, it really does take 5 plus hours to get going! I have it on a timer switch so it is ready for the evening. Although the instructions say only use for 8 hours I think I was, I have it on longer with no adverse effects, Our coil of heating element does rise up at an angle and is visible until wax has fully heated, it does sink down again once the wax is melted though. I don't know if this is a fault or normal but it's not a problem for me. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Giant Lava Lamp - Red and Purple.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Living it large and retro!
Posted10 February 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Cheshire, UK
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Female
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" It works really well, I had a smaller version of this growing up but it was a spaceship one and was pink and purple. I hated it in the end cos whilst it was on it's last legs it was grotesque and yucky. I find my new lava lamp to be soothing and it helps me to relax at night just before bedtime. Can't wait to show everyone what they're missing out on. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Giant Lava Lamp - Red and Purple.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Giant lava lamp
Posted13 January 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Bridgend
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Excellent product very sturdy and safe in children's bedroom and is left on for hours at a time and no problems down side is it takes ages to get going but for such a large product is normal "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Giant Lava Lamp - Red and Purple.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Giant Lava Lamp
Posted12 January 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:County Durham, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Absolutely fantastic. My mum loves her new lava lamp.
Easy to set up and use, though it is quite heavy. Takes a long time to heat up but once it gets going it looks brilliant...mesmerising even.
I would definitely recommend it to others...I might even get one myself sometime.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Giant Lava Lamp - Red and Purple.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Lava Lamp
Posted07 January 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Somerset, UK
Age:25 to 34
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" It is awesome!
I want more of them!
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Giant Lava Lamp - Red and Purple.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent purchase - this lava lamp is huge
Posted06 January 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Farnham
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Female
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Huge lava lamp that fills the room with a warm, purple, pinkish glow. It is mesmerising to watch! Gives the room a funky, 80s vibe. It does take a while to heat up, give it a couple hours before the blobs really start to get going. After 4 hours it is working at its best. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Giant Lava Lamp - Red and Purple.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fantastic colours relaxing to watch.
Posted05 January 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Leeds, West Yorkshire, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Hassle free fast collection with friendly helpfull staff. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Giant Lava Lamp - Red and Purple.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wow! Bigger than expected
Posted05 January 2016
Customer avatar
By
From:Warwickshire
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Fast track service is excellent. I couldnt collet myself so was able to send a friend in to collect. All paid for just a pick up.
Lamp is really nice. Looks lovely once it gets going. Took a few hours to begin with.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Giant Lava Lamp - Red and Purple.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent value product
Posted30 December 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Bury, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" I struggled to find a lava lamp anywhere, then discovered this cheap, large quality product, for a really reasonable price. It was a gift and made my better half a very happy man. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Giant Lava Lamp - Red and Purple.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good buy
Posted30 December 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Hertfordshire, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Takes a while to start working "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Giant Lava Lamp - Red and Purple.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ok!
Posted30 December 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Northamptonshire, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" A good size and very effective, looks great in the corner of a room. Has definitely been a talking point with my friends. It does have a few negatives... The wire coil in the bottom does tend to float about sometimes, but once the wax has fully melted the coil does settle down, but that can take 4/5 hours. Also the purple liquid has slightly faded, but I think that was because it was originally placed in my bay window! So probably best to put in an area that doesn't get any sunlight. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Giant Lava Lamp - Red and Purple.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lovely lamp
Posted29 December 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Wiltshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Dose what it said may take a hour or two when first turns on for the bubbles "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Giant Lava Lamp - Red and Purple.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Loulou
Posted17 November 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Hull
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" The lamp is beautiful looks amazing. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Giant Lava Lamp - Red and Purple.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great price
Posted17 November 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Nottingham, Nottingham, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Ordered this for my daughters bedroom, and I must say I was thinking of getting myself one . Looks beautiful when turned on at night . I didn't expect the lamp to be so big , looks very expensive. Would definitely recommend to anyone. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Giant Lava Lamp - Red and Purple.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simply stunning!
Posted04 November 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Bournemouth
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This giant lava lamp is simply stunning, so relaxing and great to look at with its vibrant red wax continuously moving in abstract fashion through the purple liquid. I have mine sitting on a 4ft high black 4 drawer chest located in a corner of the room. It is switched on at dusk but takes 2-3 hours to fully get going. It is particularly effective set against a white painted wall with all other lights switched off. Go get one, you won't be disappointed. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Giant Lava Lamp - Red and Purple.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It does what you'd expect... Very Well!
Posted30 September 2015
Customer avatar
By
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Was trying to find something of this size for a while. Takes a while to get going (3+ hours), but it is very effective once things are in motion. Traditional design with adequate build quality, does get rather hot though, so I'd certainly recommend keeping it out of reach of children. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Giant Lava Lamp - Red and Purple.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This product should be withdrawn.
Posted26 August 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Worthing
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5
" The third time we used this item, a large spring like object rose from the inside base of the glass vessel and the wax stopped rising and sinking! We looked at some website reviews only to find that a large number had experienced the same thing. The failure rate is unacceptable and should be removed before it affects the good name of Argos. The saving grace was that we were refunded with no hassle whatsoever so to that end I praise your staff. Overall, though we were extremely disappointed. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Giant Lava Lamp - Red and Purple.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Too long to warm up
Posted02 June 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:London, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness 
2 / 5
2 / 5
" The lamp takes at least 5 hours to get going every time!
.This is something that is left out of the products description.
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Giant Lava Lamp - Red and Purple.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stunning & beautiful!
Posted05 May 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Goole
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I've always wanted one of these and at 27" tall it's a whopper it's very calming to watch I ended up missing half an episode of poldark because I was sat watching me new Lava lamp. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 Next >>>