Top-rated product

Giant Red and Purple Lava Lamp.

<p>Add a touch of magic to the room with this giant lava lamp with soothing coloured wax shapes and a contemporary silver finish base and top.</p><ul><li> In-line switch. Mains operated.</li><li>Size H69cm.</li><li>Bulbs required: 1 x 100W ES (included).</li><li>EAN: 047162168216.</li></ul>
Overall rating:
4.504 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 125 reviews
5 Stars
86
4 Stars
27
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
1
1 Star
5
104 of 11590%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
20 Questions | 22 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Giant Red and Purple Lava Lamp.
Review 1 for Giant Red and Purple Lava Lamp.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
LAVA LAMP
Posted12 April 2011
Customer avatar
By theresa
From:liverpool
"YES MY HUSBAND WAS VERY PLEASE WITH THIS ITEM, UNTIL WE TRIED TO GET A REPLACEMENT BULB AND CANNOT GET THEM ANYWHERE."
No, I do not recommend this product.
+11points
15of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Giant Red and Purple Lava Lamp.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
awesome
Posted15 September 2010
Customer avatar
By moloko
From:Cleveleys
"This Lava lamp really is a "giant". It does take about 3 to 4 hours to get warmed up sufficiently, but when it has it works perfectly. I have read all the other reviews and would say some people expect it to work instantly, this is never going to be the case. when it has warmed up you will not be disappointed, a multitude of wax globules will rise and fall continuously during its operation. The lamps works perfectly and does exactly what a lava lamp should. I have mine on a timer so when I come home from work it is up and running Just make sure you appreciate how big it is before purchasing though, as it is NOT your normal sized table version."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+11points
13of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Giant Red and Purple Lava Lamp.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Get One !
Posted11 November 2013
Customer avatar
By telecomkaren57
From:Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
"I was surprised how big it was when I saw it coming down the conveyer belt and wondered , had I done the right thing ...Well all I can say it YES ! ....agree takes around 3hrs to get going but well worth the wait . I don't know about other people but I get the strangest shapes with mine ...Always old man faces or legs or rude parts lol...after about 4hrs it starts to develop the blobs but until then its quite funny ...so glad I got it ...."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Giant Red and Purple Lava Lamp.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted06 February 2013
Customer avatar
By Simon
From:BBH Lincoln
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
"Remember my relations having one of these as a child & being mesmerized by it.
Forty years later purshased this beauty & have to say still find it just as mesmerizing, "if not more so"
This lamp really is big, making it all the more impressive once warmed up, talking of which the lamp will take about 4hrs before the magic begins, but well worth the wait, I have mine on a timer switch ready for when we return from work.
Without doubt one of the best purchases I've made, & believe me I've made a few.
PS: Check out the shapes it makes, prior to fully heating up, WEIRD!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Giant Red and Purple Lava Lamp.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it!
Posted18 January 2012
Customer avatar
By Hope
From:Wiltshire
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
"I bought this for my son on his 17th birthday.....he loves it.
It takes a good few hours to warm up, but even while its warming its pretty cool to watch, once it gets going its fabulous and the colour is beautiful. Def WAY better than the smaller lamps. Everyone that comes to the house comments on it.....go on buy one, you won't regret it.
One thing to bear in mind though is stock up on the light bulb as they will not be available soon."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Giant Red and Purple Lava Lamp.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Super large Lava lamp
Posted05 September 2012
Customer avatar
By paula
From:rhondda
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
"She is quite heavy and with a 100wat bulb a bit expensive to run. She is lovely thought, they need to be stored upright, the one we got has some wax stuck to the side permanently I am a lavalamp fan and am familiar with cleaning them so no problem for me, but if you get one with bits stuck on the side its because its been put on its side and the wax stuck so take it back! As no amount of heat will move that. Otherwise great buy and lovely lamp , yes it gets hot.. but I dont find it a problem. It is also very very heavy! Think hard its not suitable for children in my opinion as accidents can happen."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Giant Red and Purple Lava Lamp.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
giant red/purple lava lamp
Posted29 September 2010
Customer avatar
By wendy
From:little hulton m/c
"lovely lamp but takes 4 hours to heat up"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Giant Red and Purple Lava Lamp.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted09 November 2010
Customer avatar
By Anonymous
From:warwick
"very large lamp. takes 3 hours to warm up, then after another 2 hours your lava remains a blob at the bottom of the lamp. but for 2 hours out of five its fantastic. buy the extended warranty as manufacturers guarentee is only for 90 days!!!!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Giant Red and Purple Lava Lamp.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great value
Posted10 February 2009
Customer avatar
By madmanlavadude
From:Worcestershire
"Great lamp once warmed up, best option is to plug lamp into a plug in timer like I have so by tea time, it's up and running perfectly, looks excellent when fully warmed. Only downside is if the heating coil isn't perfectly seated in the bottom of the bottle, lava won't melt properly !! A gentle wiggle of the bottle will resolve this when the wax is warm."
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Giant Red and Purple Lava Lamp.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
HUGE!!!
Posted05 November 2013
Customer avatar
By caledonia
From:South Ayrshire, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
"i know the ad said 'giant lava lamp'....i was expecting it to be, maybe twice the size of a normal one....no! its HUGE!! looks great but takes 4-6 hours to get up and running...i switch it on every morning around 9am and its fully flowing by 2pm"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Giant Red and Purple Lava Lamp.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Take note of the size its huge ;) but gorgeous
Posted05 November 2013
Customer avatar
By Kevin
From:Middlesbrough, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
"This is huge to carry out - but works quiet good im impressed and so is my partner :)"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Giant Red and Purple Lava Lamp.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a beast it looks fab
Posted28 June 2013
Customer avatar
By sharons-normal4norfolk
From:great yarmouth
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
"Had a lava lamp years ago so I wanted another one to replace it. This does not disappoint. its very BIG and heavy but worth the carry home. It takes a long while to warm up about 3 hours and gets very hot on the base but when it does warm up its mesmerizing well worth the buy ."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Giant Red and Purple Lava Lamp.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
just the job
Posted19 May 2011
Customer avatar
By Erica
From:UK
"My son loves the lamp. Only downfall is that it does take three hours to warm up so needs to go on late afternoon for bedtime viewing!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Giant Red and Purple Lava Lamp.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Very large
Posted09 November 2010
Customer avatar
By jules
From:uk
"A briliant piece of kit...works well & quite relaxing 2 watch....only down side.....a very big lamp & takes a good 5 or more hours 2 get flowing properly......."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Giant Red and Purple Lava Lamp.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Looks nice but takes too long to get going
Posted14 May 2013
Customer avatar
By BleasdaR
From:Hampshire
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
"This giant lava lamp is great and I love watching the different patterns it produces. The only problem I have with it is the 5 hours it takes to warm up and get going.
Its base and glass can also get really hot, so that is something you would need to keep in mind if you decide to buy one."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Giant Red and Purple Lava Lamp.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
HUGE!!
Posted11 November 2009
Customer avatar
By Natalie
From:High Wycombe
"This is huge!!!! I was expecting a slightly larger than normal size lava lamp which was quite thick but this is about 4ft! Took it back as wasnt quite what i expected - so beware of that if you do buy this!"
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
6of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Giant Red and Purple Lava Lamp.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lights up the room!
Posted26 March 2013
Customer avatar
By Bongo
From:Hampshire
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
"This is actually a replacement, since the first one was very dull. But good old argos replaced it without any fuss, and now it looks lovely!! Takes an age to warm up about 5/6 hrs which is somewhat longer than the first one but its well worth the wait. I would really recommend this giant larva lamp, it looks fab in the room!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Giant Red and Purple Lava Lamp.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing!
Posted29 February 2012
Customer avatar
By Detatched Reality
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
"Wow, didnt quite realise how big this was until they brought it to the counter. Got it home and couldnt believe how nice it is, not a lamp, but a feature in our living room.
Took a good 5 hours on the 1st run to get any movement, but now fires up in around an hour. Looks beautiful at night.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Giant Red and Purple Lava Lamp.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
oops
Posted27 September 2011
Customer avatar
By julia
From:northumberland
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
"I love lava lamps, but unfortunately this one's on its way back. Would be lush except the wax is 'too heavy' to float right. i even left it on for a full 24hrs and still it was a poor sight. Maybe i just got a bad un? not sure if going for replacement yet or refund"
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Giant Red and Purple Lava Lamp.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
giant lava lamp
Posted27 August 2013
Customer avatar
By dougan64
From:Worcestershire, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
"Anyone who has owned the usual boring size lava lamp should have a look at this baby. The pictures cannot do it justice and although it takes a while to actually do anything, the end justifies the wait........cannot be more pleased :)"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next >>>