Top-rated product
Sorry this product is currently unavailable. Please visit Argos for similar products.

Braun Series 5 - 590CC Male Shaver.

Gillette Precision comfort blades - for exceptional closeness. Power CombTM - lifts difficult flat-lying hairs for a closer shave. Comfort setting switch. Contour-hugging head - adjusts to the shape of your face for a closer shave 3-Stage Cutting System. Smart Foil head. Precision head. Extendable trimmer. Clean&Renew System at the touch of a button the shaver is cleaned, dried and automatically charged. Rechargeable. Mains. Washable. Charging indicator. 7 x LED clean, charge and replacement part indicators. Automatic worldwide voltage. Charge stand. 1 hour charge for 45 minutes shaving time. 5 mins quick charge. 3 stage cutting system: twin foils and integrated cutter. 2 pin adaptor. Smartplug. Deluxe travel pod. Manufacturer's 2 year guarantee.
Overall rating:
4.286 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 56 reviews
5 Stars
37
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
3
1 Star
4
21 of 2681%would recommend to a friend
Sort by Customer reviews for Braun Series 5 - 590CC Male Shaver.
Review 1 for Braun Series 5 - 590CC Male Shaver.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really very good shaver
Posted27 April 2011
Customer avatar
By liopik
From:UK
" I have a very irritating skin, and I was looking for a proper shaver. This is my 5th shaver, and yes, finaly it really helps! And its good VFM
Thanks
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Braun Series 5 - 590CC Male Shaver.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good value
Posted13 April 2011
Customer avatar
By Dave
From:UK
" This is a good product - easy and comfortable to use - no drag on the skin. It charges quickly and holds charge well. On a day to day to day basis it is easy to clean; the cleaner /charger process needs to be handled carefully to avoid spilling the cleaning fluid but once you get used to it, it's fine. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Braun Series 5 - 590CC Male Shaver.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Don't!
Posted17 March 2011
Customer avatar
By Pete
From:UK
" A complete waste of (a lot of) money. This does not give a close shave or anywhere near one. After using this my face feels as though it needs a good shave. I'm sticking to a wet shave now. I just wish I could have returned this shaver. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Braun Series 5 - 590CC Male Shaver.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted16 March 2011
Customer avatar
By daronim
From:UK
" I had a Philips shaver HQ series which was noisy and had to shave for 20 mins , Braun series 5 590 does its job very good, shaving is in few minutes . I would recomend it to every one if you find it on sale. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Braun Series 5 - 590CC Male Shaver.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
really impressed
Posted15 March 2011
Customer avatar
By jonno
From:birmingham uk
" ive always used remington but decided to try braun for 1st time.
so far so good, really impressed with closeness of shave
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Braun Series 5 - 590CC Male Shaver.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding
Posted15 March 2011
Customer avatar
By Dazza
From:England
" Throw them wet razors in the bin lad's outstanding shave, top quality shaver "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Braun Series 5 - 590CC Male Shaver.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Greate shaver
Posted02 March 2011
Customer avatar
By mike
From:north east lincs
" I am giving this top rating although it is my intention to return it,no problems with the shave,for most of the last 40 years i have had a beard,shaved it of a couple of times bought a cheap electric razor but they failed to give a decent shave so went back to the beard.
This one is fantastic even the self clean,the only reason its going back is poor battery life,dont think this is a problem normally but i bought this one at the time it was being replaced with a new model and the battery was totally dead when i got it,so now it will not hold its charge for than 5/6 min shaving,think it had just been on the shelve to long.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Braun Series 5 - 590CC Male Shaver.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
very disappointed
Posted01 March 2011
Customer avatar
By daz
From:Wales
" Ive always used braun shavers (over a period of 36 yrs) and this is the first one that has left me feeling, 'I wish Id not bothered'
Ive had four series 5's and this one is a huge let down, within an hour of shaving I can feel growth coming back and have to shave again. It doesnt get close enough at all, and Ive had to shave again with an old shaver to stop the need for shaving over and over again through the day.
I cant return it due to the argos policy of hygiene and if Id paid the full £189 would be livid. Its bad enough paying the sale price.
The cleaning system is good, however will be quite expensive to keep up with one refill only lasting 30 days.
Overall Im very disappointed in this shaver, but it may suit guys with softer growth as its useless for thick growth, just wont get close enough. It states 'exceptional closeness' thats why I bought it, thats a total fabrication, don't believe the hype!! "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Braun Series 5 - 590CC Male Shaver.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent value
Posted02 February 2011
Customer avatar
By John
From:England
" When I saw the offer for this product in an Argos supplement in my local paper I immediately went on line to find and reserve the product. Two days later it was mine at a price that was cheaper than anywhere else. Excellent value and an excellent product. And available at my local Argos. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Braun Series 5 - 590CC Male Shaver.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Close Shave
Posted01 February 2011
Customer avatar
By Dennis
From:England
" This shaver shaves almost as close as a wet shave. I like the dry cleaning process (partially loosen foil and switch on) but haven't yet tried the wet cleaning system that comes with the shaver. Charges in an hour and provides 45 minutes shaving (9 - 10 shaves). So far I am impressed, the shaver might be a bit expensive at the regular price but at the sale price it is very good value. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Braun Series 5 - 590CC Male Shaver.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Easy and good value purchase
Posted24 September 2010
Customer avatar
By Joe
From:Merseyside
" The item was a gift and my brother was delighted to receive it. He remarked how much more technology there is in everyday items.
This Braun is so much more advanced that his old razor and therefore so much better and easy toi use
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Braun Series 5 - 590CC Male Shaver.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent
Posted15 September 2010
Customer avatar
By Sandeep
From:UK
" I think the shaver is excellent gives real smooth shave good deal infact would recommend to everyone "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Braun Series 5 - 590CC Male Shaver.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Braun 5 Series
Posted15 September 2010
Customer avatar
By Donrafter
From:East Yorkshire
" This is an excellent shaver giving a really close shave.
Only downsidw battery life not very good. and only lasts about 5 shaves
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Braun Series 5 - 590CC Male Shaver.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great replacement for old shaver
Posted14 September 2010
Customer avatar
By Andrew
From:London
" After using rotary shavers for a number of years, this foil shaver is a real difference. This really does only need a few passes to give a good shave, and also doesn't require any of the gimmicky moisturisers to work properly. It is also far better at dealing with longer beards than my old rotary shaver - the long hair trimmer is good as well.
It is quite noisy though.
Charges quickly and easily lasts for a two week trip.
The cleaning pod works well, leaving the shaver free of hair and smelly lemony fresh. I do have to admit I hated cleaning the face chutney out of the intricate head on the old shaver. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Braun Series 5 - 590CC Male Shaver.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Best electric shaver to date
Posted17 August 2010
Customer avatar
By John
From:Worcestershire
" Gives a good close shave and removes long stray hairs. Quiet in operation. The holder with cleaning bath not used to date and seems unnecessary since the shaver can be cleaned under a tap. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Braun Series 5 - 590CC Male Shaver.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best electric shaver I have bought.
Posted20 July 2010
Customer avatar
By Baloo
From:Dorset
" Very happy with the way this shaver performs on my soft but old skin. It takes away all those bristles that the old one didn't. My wife is much happier!
Approx half price from Argos, all I had to do was reserve online & then go and collect. It was easy.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Braun Series 5 - 590CC Male Shaver.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
works better than we thought
Posted06 July 2010
Customer avatar
By happy girlfriend
From:durham
" my boyfriend only ever used to have a wet shave but i bought him this shaver after we had read reviews on it. He has very dry skin and normal shaving made his skin very sore and flakey. After trying this shaver he had no problems and his skin was not irritated by this shaver. He has gone from shaving every 3-4 days to every day which makes me happy as we never have the rough kissing days "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Braun Series 5 - 590CC Male Shaver.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not the best
Posted23 June 2010
Customer avatar
By AdyB
From:West Yorkshire
" Having used Braun shavers for the past 30 years, i have found this particular one to be the worst yet. Although the shape of the shaver is very good for holding, the actual shave that i get is poor. The shave does seem to improve after a couple of weeks, but is still not good enough. This shaver is certainly not value for money, and for the first time, i may find myself looking to purchase an alternative brand, sooner, rather than later "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Braun Series 5 - 590CC Male Shaver.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best dry razor ever
Posted25 February 2010
Customer avatar
By Mike
From:Middlesex
" This razor gives a closer shave than any other that I have owned (not quite as good as a wet razor, but not far off). It even copes with about four days growth, which I have not achieved with other razors. The cleaning system is brilliant, once I got used to positioning the razor correctly in the cleaner. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Braun Series 5 - 590CC Male Shaver.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Posted21 January 2010
Customer avatar
By colin
From:merseyside
" very poor for its price enough said "
No, I do not recommend this product.
-7points
1of 9voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 Next >>>