Top-rated product
Sorry this product is currently unavailable. Please visit Argos for similar products.

Philips Lumea Hair Removal System with IPL Technology.

Philips Lumea Intense Pulsed Light hair removal system is a new device that enables you to be free from unwanted hair and enjoy smooth skin every day. You can now use this innovative technology in the comfort of your home. Rechargeable. Applies gentle pulses of light to the hair roots; as a consequence the hair sheds naturally and hair regrowth is inhibited. Repeating this treatment every two weeks for the armpits and bikini area and every four weeks for legs will keep your skin smooth everyday. Easy-to-use, handheld device for maximum freedom and manoeuvring during use. 5 light energy settings to ensure a painless treatment across a range of different skin tones and hair colours. Quick charge functionality (full charge in 1 hours, 80% charge in 1 hour). 3cm2 application window for an effective treatment of large areas. Suitable for use on underarms, bikini area and legs. Not suitable for (naturally) red, grey and light blonde hair and very dark or black skin. Includes DVD, storage pouch, cleaning cloth AC/DC adaptor/charger. Manufacturer's 2 year guarantee.
Overall rating:
4.19 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
18 of 2186%would recommend to a friend
Sort by Customer reviews for Philips Lumea Hair Removal System with IPL Technology.
Review 1 for Philips Lumea Hair Removal System with IPL Technology.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perfect
Posted03 January 2013
Customer avatar
By sarah
From:Birmingham
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
"I had very dark hair in my face and body, but now very very little i have and some times maby every 2 or 3 months, feel very good. if you know how to use it,that is perfect,"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Philips Lumea Hair Removal System with IPL Technology.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great purchase
Posted21 March 2012
Customer avatar
By Des
From:London
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
"i was very sceptic when i bought it but i had a visible results after the first use. However not all the hair has disappeared.it slows down the growth of the hair itself and leave a hairles spots. I have used it now about 4 times but there are still areas that the hair is growing. It is a very good product and worth the money,hopefully it will remove the hair on 100%."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Philips Lumea Hair Removal System with IPL Technology.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excelent product
Posted16 February 2012
Customer avatar
By worksformentoo
From:London
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
"At first I was unsure about how effective, it would be, especially as it says it is not recommended for men. However I contacted Philips and they said it does work, they just hadn't tested it on men that is why they didn't recommend when it first launched.
I have now used it 4 times, and I have definitely seen results. Hair has disappeared in smaller areas and much weaker on large areas.
Pros: small (easy to carry around and use), not that painful, some areas can be done very quickly, effective.
Cons: battery could last a bit longer, it is still good though"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Philips Lumea Hair Removal System with IPL Technology.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent!
Posted11 February 2012
Customer avatar
By Ana
From:Scotland
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
"I am very happy with Philips Lumea. It's mobility is impressive. Extremely easy to use and clean. Intensity regulation for more comfort. Results starts after tree uses. Very efficient!"
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Philips Lumea Hair Removal System with IPL Technology.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted07 February 2012
Customer avatar
By ali
From:stranraer
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
"Early days yet, still using it, but it looks good and i got it when it was on offer."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Philips Lumea Hair Removal System with IPL Technology.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted24 January 2012
Customer avatar
By Anonymous
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
"After having IPL in a salon I bought the Phillips lumea. I was really impressed with the effects of salon IPL but have heard from friends top ups are often required so I thought this unit would be the most cost effective longterm solution. The system is really easy to use, I was quite surprised you can really feel the effects of the light on the hairs the same way you can in the salon. After two treatments I am definitely seeing a significant reduction in hair on my legs. It is a little time consuming but to maintain monthly treatments will not take as long as regular shaving/ waxing or salon trips. Would be better if the battery lasted longer or worked off mains as don't get many flashes on highest setting. I had to re-charge to do both legs but that is the only critisisim and i was aware of this before buying. No need for messy and expensive gels and dont need to replase the bulb so i think this is the best home unit on the market. Confident this is going to be a product I will use longterm."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Philips Lumea Hair Removal System with IPL Technology.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Best product
Posted18 January 2012
Customer avatar
By ilu ilu
From:edgware
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
"Expensive but worth buying, slow result but sure
I have been using since 2 weeks now.used twice on my under arms ,but no sigh of hair growth yet. Would recommend this product.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Philips Lumea Hair Removal System with IPL Technology.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best buy
Posted22 August 2011
Customer avatar
By maxi
From:west midlands
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
"i'm so pleased with my lumea hair removal system.
i have fair skin and dark hair and this has worked fantastic on me. i use to wax before and i was never 100% hair free with waxing and on holiday always had to shave 4 times in a fortnights holiday after waxing but this year after using the lumea 4 times i only had to shave once on holiday and my hairs were loads finer then normal!
it's the best thing i've ever brought and worth every penny :-)
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Philips Lumea Hair Removal System with IPL Technology.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Worth a try!
Posted01 June 2011
Customer avatar
By helen
From:herts
"I've only used twice, on full leg. not yet sure of success as it will take longer, but with 60 day money back guarantee thought it worth the risk. Needs charging for 90 mins, and you only get half a leg from that, which is a downside. Have also used on armpits and I do think it's making a difference - feeling very soft still after 3 days, would normally have had regrowth. Does NOT hurt, even on full power!!!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+21points
22of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Philips Lumea Hair Removal System with IPL Technology.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good hair removal
Posted19 January 2011
Customer avatar
By Kay
From:slough
"Did on arms and although it was a slow process -the regrowth has been slow and light. Want to do on legs -but put off by how long it will take.
It's not recommended for use on the face. You need to shave the hair off before use.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+21points
29of 37voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Philips Lumea Hair Removal System with IPL Technology.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
not a great product
Posted18 January 2011
Customer avatar
By amy
From:uk
"too weak,was expecting much more .regret that paid lots of money for this."
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
25of 45voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Philips Lumea Hair Removal System with IPL Technology.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good purchase
Posted20 July 2010
Customer avatar
By ela
From:bounds green
"I have just started using lumea but after 6 weeks so 3 use i can see difference. on my legs underarms and bikini line there is less hair then usual. its not painful, easy and quick to use. i like it!!!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+30points
51of 72voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Philips Lumea Hair Removal System with IPL Technology.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
v good purhase so far
Posted28 June 2010
Customer avatar
By Anonymous
From:yorkshire
"i bought product 3 weeks a go i have only used product once and i can tell diffrence already i will have to use again soon so far so good with product i bought the rio laser 1st would not recommend its a bit pricy but if want results worth the bit extra in price the only downfall is battery life on product but thats just being too picky"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+44points
56of 68voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Philips Lumea Hair Removal System with IPL Technology.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great even from first use
Posted26 May 2010
Customer avatar
By Crystal
From:West Midlands
"I am on my way to my 2nd treatment,already i have noticed a reduction in hair growth and also the hair that is growing back is noticebly thinner! Not even waxing had the same effect, if the results are this great from 1st use- i have very high expectations for further uses. Really impressed and it doesn't hurt- such a blessing compare to waxing!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+76points
86of 96voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Philips Lumea Hair Removal System with IPL Technology.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointing battery life
Posted19 May 2010
Customer avatar
By Eli
From:London
"I purchased this product to use on my legs, however the battery ran out after only having done about a third of my lower legs. It then took another 90 minutes to recharge so would have to recharge several times to cover the full area. This would be ok if it resulted in a permanent hair removal but you would then have to cover the whole area every two weeks."
No, I do not recommend this product.
+20points
63of 106voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Philips Lumea Hair Removal System with IPL Technology.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hair free... finally!
Posted06 May 2010
Customer avatar
By Cristina
From:Scotland
"I have been battling with hairs for more years than I can remember and I'm so pleased to see that finally, there is something on the market which can help.
I have used the usual epilators but, since the IPL technology has reached the market, I've been making use of this at a beauty therapist.
The Philips Lumea works in exactly the same way as the one the professional use with the small difference that you don't need to go out of the house. Very small and easy to use (adjust the setting, place on the skin and zap!), it does work well, exactly as mentioned in the product details.
I've only used it a couple of times on the required area so it's too soon to see how many treatments it will take to get the same effect as the beauty therapist.
The only negative point I've seen so far is that the rechargable battery will only last 15 minutes from a full charge. So, it takes at least 2 sittings to get the full legs.
A part from this, I've found no other points worth mentioning. If it works like the professional ones used so far, I've no doubt that everybody will want one of these!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+146points
174of 202voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Philips Lumea Hair Removal System with IPL Technology.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
At last!
Posted06 May 2010
Customer avatar
By Heather
From:Derbyshire
"I have had my Lumea for 3 weeks now and am 2 treatments in. It is easy to use and fairly quick. It sometimes causes a tingling sensation but it is not painful at all. Half a leg takes about 15mins which is as long as the power lasts! Underarms only a couple of minutes for both. I can already see a significant reduction in hair regrowth so I am hopeful that this will continue. I have had this treatment before in a salon and one session cost more than the Lumea! If the hair reduction continues it will be the best gadget i have ever bought!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+148points
177of 206voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Philips Lumea Hair Removal System with IPL Technology.
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4.3 / 5
4.3 / 5
4 out of 4 recommend this product