Top-rated product

Brother FS40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.

<p>Bursting with impressive features, the Brother FS-40 is a lightweight, portable sewing machine with the world at its fingertips. Thanks to the efficient slide speed control the machine can be operated without a foot control. <br \><br \></p><p>In addition, you can choose from an impressive array of 40 stitch options, get up close and personal with convenient backlit LCD control panel and take on new projects with the easy-to-use embroidery. <br \><br \></p><p>Model number FS-40. </p><p>Computerised</p><ul><li>6 automatic stitches. </li><li>40 manual stitches. </li><li>Motorised 30 watts. </li><li>3 needle positions. </li><li>1-step buttonhole. </li><li>Embroidery feature. </li><li>Drop feed mechanism. </li><li>Twin needle capability. </li><li>LCD screen. </li><li>Stitch pattern indicator. </li><li>Stitch length control. </li><li>Stitch width control. </li><li>Accessories included: buttonhole foot, overcasting foot, monogramming foot, zipper foot, zigzag foot, blind stitch foot, button fitting foot, seam ripper, 4 bobbins, needle set, tin needle, cleaning brush, screwdriver, extra spool pin, foot controller, instruction manual and user guide. </li><li>Includes instructional DVD. </li><li>Weight 7.7kg. </li><li>Size H40.4, W49.5, D32.3cm. </li><li>Manufacturer&apos;s 3 year guarantee. </li><li>EAN: 4977766695671. </li></ul>
Overall rating:
4.742 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 97 reviews
5 Stars
78
4 Stars
17
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
82 of 8399%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
58 Questions | 74 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Brother FS40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Review 21 for Brother FS40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
brilliant
Posted26 February 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Kent, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Fantastic machine, well worth the money, slow speed for tricky parts or new to sewing, super fast speed for the quick and easy. Easy to set up and start using, took me 5 minutes from unpacking to get going. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Brother FS40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great choices
Posted17 February 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:AYRSHIRE
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Have just had this machine for 2 weeks I have just made curtains was really pleased with it still learning things about it "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Brother FS40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great little machine
Posted17 February 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Manchester, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Having only ever had old second hand machines in the past this one is just brilliant! So lightweight yet sturdy and easy to use, although I'm still getting used to what stitch to use for what and with which foot. The instruction manual and dvd are very helpful though. Having the extension table is a bonus. The cover that came with the machine is very flimsy so I bought a storage bag which also easily accommodates the extension table and lots of my accessories and makes portability so easy. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Brother FS40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing
Posted17 February 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Stirling, Stirling, Stirling, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Amazing sewing machine - all you need to know :) "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Brother FS40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Little work Horse
Posted08 December 2014
Customer avatar
By
From:Wales
Age:35 to 44
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I sew all day everyday, quilts to curtains, jeans and teddy bears, this machine has no problems at all. I like to call it my little trojan because it just hammers through every task I give it. The stitches are lovely and the variety plentiful. It is easy to set up and use. It has the 3 speed stitches setting which is really useful. It is't too noisy either which was a pleasant surprise. I have had my machine a year now and it has been used and abused, but it shows no signs of slowing down. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Brother FS40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great little sewing machine
Posted20 November 2014
Customer avatar
By
From:Staffordshire, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This machine has all the features that I require and is very easy to use. I am enjoying using it on all the sewing projects that I have lined up to do. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Brother FS40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brother FS-40
Posted18 November 2014
Customer avatar
By
From:Derby, Derby, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Very good machine, lightweight and easy to use. Only down side found so far is no needle threader and you have to remove the bobbin in order to wind. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Brother FS40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
3-speed control lever is really good.
Posted16 September 2014
Customer avatar
By
From:Glasgow
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
" I like the 3-speed control lever as well as the start/stop button on the machine, it means you can choose not to use the included foot controller. The LED display panel is very good, it even tells you what presser foot to use. It handles denims/jeans okay, but like most home machines, the inside extra thick denim seam can be a problem. It has the best instruction book ever, and an instructional DVD. It has a free-arm facility for sleeves and trouser legs, and a top loading bobbin. Good machine. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Brother FS40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent machine
Posted09 September 2014
Customer avatar
By
From:Gwynedd, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This sewing machine has several great features which i didn't have on my old sewing machine. the automatic bobbin feeder is very handy, so is the on/off button instead of using the foot pedal. I've not used every stitch on this machine, but what i have used was very good. The embroidery is really good. The dvd and instructions help in the book is also useful. overall very impressed with this item. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Brother FS40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent machine
Posted19 August 2014
Customer avatar
By
From:N Lincs
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
" Lovely sewing machine, only thing it's missing is the automatic needle threader, which is a right pain when you are used to one. Very easy to operate and sews lovely. Its really light to carry to my classes too. Would recommend this machine. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Brother FS40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This sewing machine has lots of features
Posted24 July 2014
Customer avatar
By
From:Lincolnshire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
" My old Brother electric sewing machine had served me well but after 30 years I treated myself to Brother FS-40 sewing machine and pleased with my purchase. A lightweight sewing machine that has not been lost on great electronic power and made easy for my arthritic wrists to lift. A plus to have a larger extension table as well as easy access to lots of stitch features. Excellent stitching on denim stretch material, something I was unable to do with the last one. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Brother FS40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
brilliant machine
Posted22 July 2014
Customer avatar
By
From:England
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
" I spent a long time researching sewing machines on the internet before deciding which one to buy. I chose the Brother FS-40 and I am so glad I did.It does everything I want and is so easy to use & the instructions are really easy to follow. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Brother FS40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sewing Fantastic!
Posted17 June 2014
Customer avatar
By
From:Yorkshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
" Hi There. This Brother FS-40 Sewing Machine is smashing. I absolutely love it It's so easy to understand as everything is marked clearly on the machine for you, so you can't go wrong with threading etc. there are plenty of decorative stiches, stretch stiches and 5 buttonhole stiches and that's more than enough for anyone to use. I would recommend this sewing machine to anyone, beginners and professionals too. A needle threader would have been the icing on the cake. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Brother FS40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good for money
Posted10 June 2014
Customer avatar
By
From:Hampshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
" Have used it on net curtains and jeans, coped well with both. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Brother FS40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Does exactly what it says!
Posted03 June 2014
Customer avatar
By
Age:25 to 34
" This was my first computerised sewing maching and I found it much easier to use than my old machine. It has a lot of features for the price and I would definately recommend it for beginners and more experienced users! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Brother FS40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very lightweight machine but has everything you wi
Posted20 May 2014
Customer avatar
By
From:Barnstaple, Devon, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
" Having researched Brother machines on line this product was very good value for money "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Brother FS40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product
Posted20 May 2014
Customer avatar
By
From:Tyne & Wear
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
" I already have an older Brother machine which still works as good as new, which is why I chose another Brother machine; this one has more features and is computerized. Loving it, only complaint is I bought it for quilting and patchwork and the accessories for this are 'optional'. Would have liked a 1/4" foot with guide supplied. Argos might like to think about offering a pack of the 5 'optional' patchworking accessories.
Apart from that I would recommend this machine.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Brother FS40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm in love
Posted07 May 2014
Customer avatar
By
From:Rainham, Greater London, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
" I originally purchased a cheaper Toyota brand which in traded in for this and I am extremely pleased with that decision.
I absolutely live this machine, I am a novice and haven't done any machine sewing for over 8 years.
The instruction DVD along with the booklet make it so easy to understand and control.
I love the stitching options and the fact that I do not have to use the foot control!
I love it.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Brother FS40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product has so many good features.
Posted02 April 2014
Customer avatar
By
From:Merseyside
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
" This sewing machine is really the best one I'v had the amount of different features it has is amazing would of liked a metal drop down for needle but I would recommend this product, I'm really pleased with it. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Brother FS40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great machine
Posted01 April 2014
Customer avatar
By
From:Bridgend
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
" Only just bought this machine. And I'm surprised at what it can do. It also has variable speed so if your sewing a large item you can whiz through it. And it's so light too. My best buy to date. Love it!! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.