Top-rated product

Brother FS40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.

<p>Bursting with impressive features, the Brother FS-40 is a lightweight, portable sewing machine with the world at its fingertips. Thanks to the efficient slide speed control the machine can be operated without a foot control. <br \><br \></p><p>In addition, you can choose from an impressive array of 40 stitch options, get up close and personal with convenient backlit LCD control panel and take on new projects with the easy-to-use embroidery. <br \><br \></p><p>Model number FS-40. </p><p>Computerised</p><ul><li>6 automatic stitches. </li><li>40 manual stitches. </li><li>Motorised 30 watts. </li><li>3 needle positions. </li><li>1-step buttonhole. </li><li>Embroidery feature. </li><li>Drop feed mechanism. </li><li>Twin needle capability. </li><li>LCD screen. </li><li>Stitch pattern indicator. </li><li>Stitch length control. </li><li>Stitch width control. </li><li>Accessories included: buttonhole foot, overcasting foot, monogramming foot, zipper foot, zigzag foot, blind stitch foot, button fitting foot, seam ripper, 4 bobbins, needle set, tin needle, cleaning brush, screwdriver, extra spool pin, foot controller, instruction manual and user guide. </li><li>Includes instructional DVD. </li><li>Weight 7.7kg. </li><li>Size H40.4, W49.5, D32.3cm. </li><li>Manufacturer&apos;s 3 year guarantee. </li><li>EAN: 4977766695671. </li></ul>
Overall rating:
4.744 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 90 reviews
5 Stars
73
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
75 of 7699%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
58 Questions | 72 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Brother FS40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Review 21 for Brother FS40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
3-speed control lever is really good.
Posted16 September 2014
Customer avatar
By Bill
From:Glasgow
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
" I like the 3-speed control lever as well as the start/stop button on the machine, it means you can choose not to use the included foot controller. The LED display panel is very good, it even tells you what presser foot to use. It handles denims/jeans okay, but like most home machines, the inside extra thick denim seam can be a problem. It has the best instruction book ever, and an instructional DVD. It has a free-arm facility for sleeves and trouser legs, and a top loading bobbin. Good machine. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Brother FS40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent machine
Posted09 September 2014
Customer avatar
By Cymro gwurion
From:Gwynedd, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This sewing machine has several great features which i didn't have on my old sewing machine. the automatic bobbin feeder is very handy, so is the on/off button instead of using the foot pedal. I've not used every stitch on this machine, but what i have used was very good. The embroidery is really good. The dvd and instructions help in the book is also useful. overall very impressed with this item. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Brother FS40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent machine
Posted19 August 2014
Customer avatar
By Chez
From:N Lincs
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
" Lovely sewing machine, only thing it's missing is the automatic needle threader, which is a right pain when you are used to one. Very easy to operate and sews lovely. Its really light to carry to my classes too. Would recommend this machine. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Brother FS40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This sewing machine has lots of features
Posted24 July 2014
Customer avatar
By craftydolly
From:Lincolnshire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
" My old Brother electric sewing machine had served me well but after 30 years I treated myself to Brother FS-40 sewing machine and pleased with my purchase. A lightweight sewing machine that has not been lost on great electronic power and made easy for my arthritic wrists to lift. A plus to have a larger extension table as well as easy access to lots of stitch features. Excellent stitching on denim stretch material, something I was unable to do with the last one. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Brother FS40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
brilliant machine
Posted22 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Pam
From:England
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
" I spent a long time researching sewing machines on the internet before deciding which one to buy. I chose the Brother FS-40 and I am so glad I did.It does everything I want and is so easy to use & the instructions are really easy to follow. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Brother FS40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sewing Fantastic!
Posted17 June 2014
Customer avatar
By Mrs H
From:Yorkshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
" Hi There. This Brother FS-40 Sewing Machine is smashing. I absolutely love it It's so easy to understand as everything is marked clearly on the machine for you, so you can't go wrong with threading etc. there are plenty of decorative stiches, stretch stiches and 5 buttonhole stiches and that's more than enough for anyone to use. I would recommend this sewing machine to anyone, beginners and professionals too. A needle threader would have been the icing on the cake. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Brother FS40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good for money
Posted10 June 2014
Customer avatar
By HP
From:Hampshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
" Have used it on net curtains and jeans, coped well with both. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Brother FS40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Does exactly what it says!
Posted03 June 2014
Customer avatar
By Kaizu-chan
Age:25 to 34
" This was my first computerised sewing maching and I found it much easier to use than my old machine. It has a lot of features for the price and I would definately recommend it for beginners and more experienced users! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Brother FS40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very lightweight machine but has everything you wi
Posted20 May 2014
Customer avatar
By Hills
From:Barnstaple, Devon, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
" Having researched Brother machines on line this product was very good value for money "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Brother FS40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product
Posted20 May 2014
Customer avatar
By Londoner
From:Tyne & Wear
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
" I already have an older Brother machine which still works as good as new, which is why I chose another Brother machine; this one has more features and is computerized. Loving it, only complaint is I bought it for quilting and patchwork and the accessories for this are 'optional'. Would have liked a 1/4" foot with guide supplied. Argos might like to think about offering a pack of the 5 'optional' patchworking accessories.
Apart from that I would recommend this machine.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Brother FS40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm in love
Posted07 May 2014
Customer avatar
By Susyo0
From:Rainham, Greater London, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
" I originally purchased a cheaper Toyota brand which in traded in for this and I am extremely pleased with that decision.
I absolutely live this machine, I am a novice and haven't done any machine sewing for over 8 years.
The instruction DVD along with the booklet make it so easy to understand and control.
I love the stitching options and the fact that I do not have to use the foot control!
I love it.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Brother FS40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product has so many good features.
Posted02 April 2014
Customer avatar
By JC
From:Merseyside
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
" This sewing machine is really the best one I'v had the amount of different features it has is amazing would of liked a metal drop down for needle but I would recommend this product, I'm really pleased with it. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Brother FS40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great machine
Posted01 April 2014
Customer avatar
By Jan
From:Bridgend
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
" Only just bought this machine. And I'm surprised at what it can do. It also has variable speed so if your sewing a large item you can whiz through it. And it's so light too. My best buy to date. Love it!! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Brother FS40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Has great features
Posted01 April 2014
Customer avatar
By Mags 52
From:Retford, Nottinghamshire DN22, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
" Excellent machine for the money. Its great to use with the extension table and has lots of different features
M. Record
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Brother FS40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted26 March 2014
Customer avatar
By Sophie
From:Kent
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
" Great machine, even for a first timer. Instructional DVD is a bonus. Plenty of accessories and easy to use. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Brother FS40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
another brilliant buy
Posted20 February 2014
Customer avatar
By jinx
From:cwmbran
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
" great sewing machine haven't used one since school along time ago this practically does it for you really pleased with it well worth the investment, great price, well done again argos! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Brother FS40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Big brand quality small brand price!
Posted24 January 2014
Customer avatar
By Roni
From:County Durham
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
" I chose this machine as it had a lot of features only normally found in expensive sewing machines, eg needle down facility, foot pedal free operation as a choice, and a good selection of stitches. The wide extension table is a bonus for quilting. I am really impressed with it. A good budget buy for anyone who has the desire for a big-brand machine but not the money to match. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Brother FS40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent sewing machine
Posted23 January 2014
Customer avatar
By Blooming
From:Enfield, Greater London, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
" I do lots of craft work and wedding decoration and at times I need to hem or sew fabrics to make up my own designs. I live in an area where everything is expensive , it sometimes cost me more than the fabric if I ask my local tailor/ alteration shop to sew for me.
I have never used a sewing machine before but after reading some good reviews about this Sewing machine , I decided to invest in one.
It is very straight forward to use and the instruction manual is easy to follow .
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Brother FS40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beat sewing machine I have used
Posted14 January 2014
Customer avatar
By Zoe6
From:Barnsley, South Yorkshire, UK
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Female
" I am so glad I bought this sewing machine. I love that it is really easy to use and that it came with an extended table to add on. I would recommend this machine to anyone as it is a great price too. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Brother FS40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sew lovely!
Posted13 November 2013
Customer avatar
By lov2sew
From:UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
" Decided to purchase this sewing machine as an upgrade from my more basic model for doing some blanket stitch on applique for quilting etc. Only used it briefly as yet but so far I am very impressd. Looking forward to using more. It has received excellent reviews on many websites and I hope it has been a wise investment. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.