Top-rated product

Brother FS-40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.

<p>Bursting with impressive features, the Brother FS-40 is a lightweight, portable sewing machine with the world at its fingertips. Thanks to the efficient slide speed control the machine can be operated without a foot control. </p><p>In addition, you can choose from an impressive array of 40 stitch options, get up close and personal with convenient backlit LCD control panel and take on new projects with the easy-to-use embroidery.</p><p>Model number FS-40 computerised </p><ul><li>6 automatic stitches.</li><li>40 manual stitches.</li><li>Motorised 30 watts.</li><li>3 needle positions.</li><li>Drop-in bobbin.</li><li>1-step buttonhole.</li><li>Embroidery feature.</li><li>Drop feed mechanism.</li><li>Twin needle capability.</li><li>LCD screen.</li><li>Stitch pattern indicator.</li><li>Stitch length control.</li><li>Stitch width control.</li><li>Accessories included: buttonhole foot, overcasting foot, monogramming foot, zipper foot, zigzag foot, blind stitch foot, button fitting foot, seam ripper, 4 bobbins, needle set, tin needle, cleaning brush, screwdriver, extra spool pin, foot controller, instruction manual and user guide.</li><li>Includes instructional DVD.</li><li>Weight 7.7kg.</li><li>Size H40.4, W49.5, D32.3cm.</li><li>Manufacturer's 3 year guarantee.</li><li>EAN: 4977766695671.</li></ul>
Overall rating:
4.757 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 70 reviews
5 Stars
56
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
56 of 56100%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
57 Questions | 71 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Brother FS-40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Review 21 for Brother FS-40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very impressed
Posted17 September 2013
Customer avatar
By Sue19
From:Nottingham, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
"Purchased this machine for it's many features. The computerised stitch selection displays all the relevant information on screen. I find it a joy to use, in fact I love it!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Brother FS-40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This machine has really impressed me.
Posted24 August 2013
Customer avatar
By Tilly Mint
From:Merseyside
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
"I bought this machine a few weeks ago and it has really made a great impression. It is very easy to use and the choice of stitches is amazing. The extension table is a bonus. I would recommend this machine for beginners or the more experienced. A***** Excellent."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Brother FS-40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great machine
Posted07 May 2013
Customer avatar
By marie
From:blackburn
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
"very very pleased with this machine,my last machine was a brother and had it 15 years without any problems, and only broke then as it got knocked off a table, so wanted to stick with brother,so easy to use,such alot to it,,if im picky id have prefered the light a little brighter , and a build in needle threader,but these 2 little things shouldnt put anyone of buying, fantastic machine"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Brother FS-40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent purchae
Posted26 April 2013
Customer avatar
By redronya
From:north yorkshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
"first time i have bought a new sewing machine i have always had secondhand machines and wo w is this a great machine and so easy to use i love the fact that you don't have to use the foot controler i find it much easyer to use the button and the slide to control the speed i would give this machine 10 out of 10 or A++++++++++++++++ and don't get me going about the price 'cos i've seen it in other places for £100.00 more!! so this is great value"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Brother FS-40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted16 April 2013
Customer avatar
By Cattherine
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
"excellent Sewing Machine"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Brother FS-40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted09 April 2013
Customer avatar
By eve
From:richmond
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
"Such a great machine. well worth the money.
Highly recommended.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Brother FS-40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good purchase
Posted08 March 2013
Customer avatar
By F.kousar
From:Manchester
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
"I bought this brother machine as my first sewing machine, overall it has been very easy to use and l have had no problems getting started the instructional DVD was excellent. l am very happy with this machine."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Brother FS-40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent
Posted19 February 2013
Customer avatar
By alvin
From:wales
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
"easy to use,reverse button needle lift button and speed controls are excellent well placed on machine would never be without again,brother have made an excellent beginners and advanced machine 5 stars*****"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Brother FS-40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friend for beginers :)
Posted12 February 2013
Customer avatar
By chantall
From:scotland
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
"I,m a beginer. This is my first sewing machine and I am very happy, that I choosed this one. Exellent and easy to use."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Brother FS-40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted16 January 2013
Customer avatar
By Robert
From:Essex
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"We purchased this Brother Sewing machine to replace one that was 20 years old same make. All seems fine stitches beautifully, and simple to operate. 5 stars"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Brother FS-40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Second to none
Posted16 January 2013
Customer avatar
By Maureen
From:Staffordshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
"This is my 4th sewing machine over my lifetime and by far the very best. It is quiet, easy to follow threading instructions on the machine and what a brilliant idea - a drop in bobbin with a plastic window,you can see when thread is running low.
My only negative comments are that the plastic window is very insubstantial and probably easy to lose and the machine cover is very flimsy.
Overall this is the best machine I have ever used, and would recommend it to anyone.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Brother FS-40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent pURCHASE
Posted20 June 2012
Customer avatar
By Gerry
From:Devon
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
"The machine is very light and easy to use, the instruction manual is very easy to follow and for the lesser experienced user the DVD is in very plain language. The amount of plastic on the machine was a concern but should be okay with careful use,the only negative is the lack of a needle threader which, for a machine of this calibre and cost, should be automatically included."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Brother FS-40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
thrilled to bits
Posted14 June 2012
Customer avatar
By wendy
From:derbyshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
"this machine is easy peasy. It is good to have variable speeds and reverse that works one stitch at a time,very helpful. Fantastic not to have to use the foot control if you don't want to. I prefer to use the button at the front of the machine, which is so much better for me, much more confortable. but haven't tried the one step buttonhole yet, expect ti to be just as easy as the rest of the operations"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Brother FS-40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted12 June 2012
Customer avatar
By Gillian
From:Dorset
"The sewing machine itself is pretty good. The cover is just a flimsy piece of plastic and the 'table' is not very good.
The DVD is basic but helpful and I'm looking forward to spending more time trying out everything it seems to be able to do.
Highly recommended but for the price I must admit I wish I had been able to try before buying.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Brother FS-40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Replacement Sewing Machine
Posted23 May 2012
Customer avatar
By Phyl
From:Gwent
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
"Bought this machine as my old faithful machine died on me. Very good amount of stitch choices. Only gripe is the flimsy plastic cover but I bought a stronger sewing machine bag for it and now this machine is much lighter than my old one."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
9of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Brother FS-40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Happy customer
Posted13 March 2012
Customer avatar
By J
From:Northants
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
"Great machine, easy to use, the bobbin cover is made of quite flimsey plastic and could easily be lost if not replaced properly after changing the bobbin. Apart from this I am very happy with my purchase."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Brother FS-40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best of three tries.
Posted06 March 2012
Customer avatar
By bert
From:Greatstone ,kent
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"Brilliant m/c. fantastic service from staff at ashford kent.Will remain a loyal customer."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Brother FS-40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
happy with my purchase
Posted22 January 2012
Customer avatar
By Fran
From:Sussex
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
"I bought this new sewing machine after my old Singer's motor blew, my first ever new sewing machine, so my first experience of a modern machine. Easy to follow manual and smooth running when I got sewing. Made me feel confident and enthusiastic about what I could acheive in the future, as I want to get started with historical costume making without having to do it all by hand! Very happy with my purchase."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Brother FS-40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fantastic
Posted10 January 2012
Customer avatar
By Tasha
From:Glasgow
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
"Yeah this machine was a big difference from the one I bought five years ago .Its great for a new learner ,you can select which speed to sew. Also good for the professional sewer.Really easy and straight forward to use. Some parts were quite plastic though,but I love it."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Brother FS-40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Christmas Gift
Posted10 January 2012
Customer avatar
By Barbara
From:Cumbria
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
"I love this machine it is so easy to use, the embroidery function is brilliant you just select the pattern and push the button. I just wish it had a free hand embroidery foot with it, but I can order one from the Brother company. I would recommend this sewing machine to all users."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.