Top-rated product

Brother FS-40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.

<p>Bursting with impressive features, the Brother FS-40 is a lightweight, portable sewing machine with the world at its fingertips. Thanks to the efficient slide speed control the machine can be operated without a foot control. </p><p>In addition, you can choose from an impressive array of 40 stitch options, get up close and personal with convenient backlit LCD control panel and take on new projects with the easy-to-use embroidery.</p><p>Model number FS-40 computerised </p><ul><li>6 automatic stitches.</li><li>40 manual stitches.</li><li>Motorised 30 watts.</li><li>3 needle positions.</li><li>Drop-in bobbin.</li><li>1-step buttonhole.</li><li>Embroidery feature.</li><li>Drop feed mechanism.</li><li>Twin needle capability.</li><li>LCD screen.</li><li>Stitch pattern indicator.</li><li>Stitch length control.</li><li>Stitch width control.</li><li>Accessories included: buttonhole foot, overcasting foot, monogramming foot, zipper foot, zigzag foot, blind stitch foot, button fitting foot, seam ripper, 4 bobbins, needle set, tin needle, cleaning brush, screwdriver, extra spool pin, foot controller, instruction manual and user guide.</li><li>Includes instructional DVD.</li><li>Weight 7.7kg.</li><li>Size H40.4, W49.5, D32.3cm.</li><li>Manufacturer's 3 year guarantee.</li><li>EAN: 4977766695671.</li></ul>
Overall rating:
4.754 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 65 reviews
5 Stars
52
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
51 of 51100%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
57 Questions | 71 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Brother FS-40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Review 21 for Brother FS-40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted09 April 2013
Customer avatar
By eve
From:richmond
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
"Such a great machine. well worth the money.
Highly recommended.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Brother FS-40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good purchase
Posted08 March 2013
Customer avatar
By F.kousar
From:Manchester
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
"I bought this brother machine as my first sewing machine, overall it has been very easy to use and l have had no problems getting started the instructional DVD was excellent. l am very happy with this machine."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Brother FS-40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent
Posted19 February 2013
Customer avatar
By alvin
From:wales
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
"easy to use,reverse button needle lift button and speed controls are excellent well placed on machine would never be without again,brother have made an excellent beginners and advanced machine 5 stars*****"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Brother FS-40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friend for beginers :)
Posted12 February 2013
Customer avatar
By chantall
From:scotland
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
"I,m a beginer. This is my first sewing machine and I am very happy, that I choosed this one. Exellent and easy to use."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Brother FS-40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted16 January 2013
Customer avatar
By Robert
From:Essex
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"We purchased this Brother Sewing machine to replace one that was 20 years old same make. All seems fine stitches beautifully, and simple to operate. 5 stars"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Brother FS-40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Second to none
Posted16 January 2013
Customer avatar
By Maureen
From:Staffordshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
"This is my 4th sewing machine over my lifetime and by far the very best. It is quiet, easy to follow threading instructions on the machine and what a brilliant idea - a drop in bobbin with a plastic window,you can see when thread is running low.
My only negative comments are that the plastic window is very insubstantial and probably easy to lose and the machine cover is very flimsy.
Overall this is the best machine I have ever used, and would recommend it to anyone.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Brother FS-40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent pURCHASE
Posted20 June 2012
Customer avatar
By Gerry
From:Devon
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
"The machine is very light and easy to use, the instruction manual is very easy to follow and for the lesser experienced user the DVD is in very plain language. The amount of plastic on the machine was a concern but should be okay with careful use,the only negative is the lack of a needle threader which, for a machine of this calibre and cost, should be automatically included."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Brother FS-40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
thrilled to bits
Posted14 June 2012
Customer avatar
By wendy
From:derbyshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
"this machine is easy peasy. It is good to have variable speeds and reverse that works one stitch at a time,very helpful. Fantastic not to have to use the foot control if you don't want to. I prefer to use the button at the front of the machine, which is so much better for me, much more confortable. but haven't tried the one step buttonhole yet, expect ti to be just as easy as the rest of the operations"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Brother FS-40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted12 June 2012
Customer avatar
By Gillian
From:Dorset
"The sewing machine itself is pretty good. The cover is just a flimsy piece of plastic and the 'table' is not very good.
The DVD is basic but helpful and I'm looking forward to spending more time trying out everything it seems to be able to do.
Highly recommended but for the price I must admit I wish I had been able to try before buying.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Brother FS-40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Replacement Sewing Machine
Posted23 May 2012
Customer avatar
By Phyl
From:Gwent
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
"Bought this machine as my old faithful machine died on me. Very good amount of stitch choices. Only gripe is the flimsy plastic cover but I bought a stronger sewing machine bag for it and now this machine is much lighter than my old one."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
8of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Brother FS-40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Happy customer
Posted13 March 2012
Customer avatar
By J
From:Northants
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
"Great machine, easy to use, the bobbin cover is made of quite flimsey plastic and could easily be lost if not replaced properly after changing the bobbin. Apart from this I am very happy with my purchase."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Brother FS-40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best of three tries.
Posted06 March 2012
Customer avatar
By bert
From:Greatstone ,kent
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"Brilliant m/c. fantastic service from staff at ashford kent.Will remain a loyal customer."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Brother FS-40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
happy with my purchase
Posted22 January 2012
Customer avatar
By Fran
From:Sussex
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
"I bought this new sewing machine after my old Singer's motor blew, my first ever new sewing machine, so my first experience of a modern machine. Easy to follow manual and smooth running when I got sewing. Made me feel confident and enthusiastic about what I could acheive in the future, as I want to get started with historical costume making without having to do it all by hand! Very happy with my purchase."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Brother FS-40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fantastic
Posted10 January 2012
Customer avatar
By Tasha
From:Glasgow
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
"Yeah this machine was a big difference from the one I bought five years ago .Its great for a new learner ,you can select which speed to sew. Also good for the professional sewer.Really easy and straight forward to use. Some parts were quite plastic though,but I love it."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Brother FS-40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Christmas Gift
Posted10 January 2012
Customer avatar
By Barbara
From:Cumbria
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
"I love this machine it is so easy to use, the embroidery function is brilliant you just select the pattern and push the button. I just wish it had a free hand embroidery foot with it, but I can order one from the Brother company. I would recommend this sewing machine to all users."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Brother FS-40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great sewing machine
Posted22 November 2011
Customer avatar
By sarah
From:Wakefield
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
"I'm very pleased with this machine. It's quiet and can sew through various materials. I look forward to using it for many years to come."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Brother FS-40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fantastic buy
Posted25 October 2011
Customer avatar
By mummyej
From:Derby
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
"I'm totally in love with this machine. As I have never used a sewing machine before I found the dvd very useful, it gives me all the tips I need to get started. Also because as it is digital, when something goes wrong it lets you know exactly what the problem is so you can rectify the problem, with a none digital machine you would have to figure the problem for yourself. the manual is very useful, tells you how to use the machine, lists all the stitches and what materials they work best with and gives sewing hints and tips. you have the choice of either using a pedal or you can stitch at the touch of a button. there's also a button for the back up stitching and a button to lower and raise the needle. it's so simple to use. Comes with all the accessories you need too. I'm very happy with my purchase and very pleased I went with a digital machine, I think it's necessary for beginners"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+20points
20of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Brother FS-40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very pleased
Posted16 August 2011
Customer avatar
By Helen
From:cardiff
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
"I am very pleased with this machine, I have had three machines in the last 45 years and this one is really good."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
9of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Brother FS-40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sew good
Posted05 August 2011
Customer avatar
By Catriona
From:Scotland
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
"This sewing machine is very easy to use and the instructions on setting up and sewing are very easy to understand, extremely helpful and very in depth. The automatic stitch width and length are brilliant. The variety of stitches and buttonholes are great for me, a stay at home mum and sewing fanatic. The LCD screen is easy to see and the light is helpful too. The extras that come with the machine (feet, bobbins, needles) are very handy. I have already sewn up a storm. I love my new machine"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Brother FS-40 Sewing Machine with Extension Table - White.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good purchase
Posted20 July 2011
Customer avatar
By Mohbeen
From:England
Age:17 or under
Gender:Female
"Dear Argos
I am very happy with the product I recieved, the best thing about it , was how quickly it arrived, it had been dilivered after a day or two of me ordering it. I can't say the same about other purchases I ordered from other online stores which took over a Period of a week or two to come so that is one reason why I was so happy with my purchase. Another reason was that the product it self which was a sewing machine was very good. It was very helpful and easy to use. The product has a garentee which i am happy about. overall I am very happy I purchased this product from Argos. One thing i would change would be the covering of the machine which in my point of view not very good but other than that it is a good item.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
8of 13voted this as helpful.