Top-rated product

Roberts Portable Radio - Silver.

<p>Tune in and listen to your favourite stations with the Roberts R9993 3 band portable radio. The compact design and carry strap allows for easy use while on the go. The sleek silver design ensures it looks great while the simple to use tuning dial makes it a joy to operate.</p><p>Product features:</p><ul><li>FM/AM/LW tuner.</li><li>Mono speaker.</li><li>Output power to headphones is 0.4 watts RMS - the average measurement of a speakers output.</li><li>Up to 80 hours battery life.</li><li>Headphone socket.</li></ul><p>General information:</p><ul><li>Size H13, W20, D5.5cm.</li><li>Batteries required 4 x AA (not included).</li><li>EAN: 5038301199937.</li></ul>
Overall rating:
4.644 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 284 reviews
5 Stars
208
4 Stars
63
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
4
1 Star
4
226 of 23596%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
23 Questions | 28 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Roberts Portable Radio - Silver.
Review 1 for Roberts Portable Radio - Silver.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Roberts radio
Posted21 July 2015
Customer avatar
By Mags
From:Essex, UK
Location:Office
Reason for purchase:Replacing an existing product
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Excellent reception and good value-for-money. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Roberts Portable Radio - Silver.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great little radio
Posted16 July 2015
Customer avatar
By Tia
From:Hamilton
Location:Other
Reason for purchase:Spontaneous
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Bough to take on holiday brilliant sound and batteries are still going three weeks later use in the garden all the time "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Roberts Portable Radio - Silver.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great radio
Posted08 July 2015
Customer avatar
By sue123
From:skegness
Location:Other
Reason for purchase:Planned purchase
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" We brought this radio for our allotment and it is great ,the sound quality is very good and the battery's are lasting well. It also looks good...we are very pleased with it "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Roberts Portable Radio - Silver.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent radio at a good price
Posted07 July 2015
Customer avatar
By David
From:nottinghamshire
Location:Other
Reason for purchase:Gift
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Brought this for my 88 year old father.
Excellent radio at a good price. My father loves it.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Roberts Portable Radio - Silver.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ALREADY HAVE ONE!
Posted07 July 2015
Customer avatar
By JEANIE
From:COLERAINE
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" My husband has had one of these for years. It suddenly stopped so we purchased this new one - only to discover that the first one is still working perfectly.. Had changed the batteries without realising a couple of them had been used and no life left.
Did not return this radio , as it is so reasonable, and surely the first one will give up in the not-too-distant future.
Would definately recommend.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Roberts Portable Radio - Silver.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Roberts Portable Radio
Posted04 July 2015
Customer avatar
By Bronson
From:Ireland
Location:Other
Reason for purchase:Replacing an existing product
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Excellent reception, coverage and sound quality and it is great for listening to in the garden. One slight concern for the future is the combined roller on/off/volume control as from past experience these can become dusty and cause the radio to crackle or just not work. Apart from this slight potential issue, I am very pleased with the radio. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Roberts Portable Radio - Silver.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A good basic radio
Posted28 June 2015
Customer avatar
By Scary Rob
From:Staffordshire, UK
Location:Other
Reason for purchase:Planned purchase
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Simple, elegant design. Sound isn't tinny (which is unusual for radios of this size and price). And pretty loud for its size as well. It's everything I needed from a cheap, battery-operated radio. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Roberts Portable Radio - Silver.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Value
Posted18 June 2015
Customer avatar
By Rad1
Reason for purchase:Replacing an existing product
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Bought this for my father who has started to have hearing problems, he was unable to hear the DAB radio he had properly. I found out that FM is actually higher quality than Dab radio. He has no problems with the sound from this one and also it last for around 1 month on batteries use of around 4 hrs per day. The dab radio only lasted 1 day on batteries! Dab has gone for recycling. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Roberts Portable Radio - Silver.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good wee radio
Posted17 June 2015
Customer avatar
By susan
From:Glasgow
Location:Other
Reason for purchase:Planned purchase
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Bought this for my adult son as he wanted a portable radio, he said the sound is good on it, its nice not big and bulky, nice looking small light radio with good sound. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Roberts Portable Radio - Silver.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Don't Bother With Battery-DAB; Go For This!
Posted20 May 2015
Customer avatar
By pastyman
From:Cornwall, UK
Location:Other
Reason for purchase:Spontaneous
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Was looking for a simple radio for the bathroom. The Bush DS372V2 battery/mains DAB radio **seemed** a cheap solution but had really rubbish sound quality & burnt through new batteries (4 x AA) in three or four hours :-(
Argos took it back & I got this simple FM/AM Roberts battery radio for a similar price. Pretty good sound quality, batteries go on for ever, decent reception...what more do you want? Highly recommended for people who just want to listen without any fuss. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Roberts Portable Radio - Silver.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
does what it says in the tin!
Posted06 May 2015
Customer avatar
By Robbo
From:UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Good quality product, great looking design, operates well, sounds great. All at a good cost. Have bought three so far! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Roberts Portable Radio - Silver.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
happy customer
Posted05 May 2015
Customer avatar
By bernie the bolt
From:Cambridgeshire, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" does all it says on the box, very happy "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Roberts Portable Radio - Silver.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Roberts radio
Posted28 April 2015
Customer avatar
By eddie1852
From:Scotland
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Great wee radio. Pity it didn't have a carry handle instead of a strap, still, I can live with it. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Roberts Portable Radio - Silver.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Easy to use
Posted28 April 2015
Customer avatar
By Elizabetta
From:Cornwall
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Light to carry around, with good reception. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Roberts Portable Radio - Silver.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great basic radio with a good sound
Posted28 April 2015
Customer avatar
By johanna
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Great. Good sound easy to use and AA battery powered. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Roberts Portable Radio - Silver.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Little Gem
Posted21 April 2015
Customer avatar
By Jilly
From:Cleveland
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Neat,stylish,sound quality excellent.couldn't have picked better!
especially for the price. Great!!!
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Roberts Portable Radio - Silver.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good basic radio with no frills
Posted01 April 2015
Customer avatar
By gypsy40
From:Leitrim, Ireland
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" this is my second of these radios, got it for keeping me company while i work outside. would recommend it, no frills with it, just the basics of what you need "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Roberts Portable Radio - Silver.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great radio
Posted24 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Angela
From:N. Ireland
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This is a great little radio, it picks up our local radio stations which we couldn't get on the digital radio. It also has the benefit that you can carry around from room to room, I am very happy with it, "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Roberts Portable Radio - Silver.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super little Radio
Posted24 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Kaz
From:Lancs UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" We are very pleased with this little radio just what we needed for use upstairs to take from room to room. Would thoroughly recommend. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Roberts Portable Radio - Silver.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Use
Posted17 March 2015
Customer avatar
By beverley
From:bedfordshire uk
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Bought this little radio for my 91 year old father, who wanted something easy to use. Fit for purpose & a good sound out of something so small & compact. Very easy to set up & for him to operate. Would certainly recommend. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 Next >>>