Sorry this product is currently unavailable. Please visit Argos for similar products.

Binatone Read Me e-Book - Black.

e-ink technology which provides realistic page texture for viewing even in direct sun light. 1GB memory. Stores between 500 and 5000 books depending on their size. 6in screen with easy to use menu system. Battery life with up to 7,000 page turns on one charge. Protective case. MP3 music player with headphones. Supported formats TXT, EBX, EBM (TBC). Other supported formats include MP3/AAC/MID/AMR and JPG/BMP/GIF/TIF/PNG. UK adaptor and charger. Rotation key to make text read in either landscape or portrait formats. Built in speakers. Sleek aluminium outer skin. Slim and light. Weight 245g (excluding case).
Overall rating:
2.7 / 5
2.7
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
2
1 Star
4
5 of 1050%would recommend to a friend
Sort by Customer reviews for Binatone Read Me e-Book - Black.
Review 1 for Binatone Read Me e-Book - Black.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
rubbish
Posted06 July 2010
Customer avatar
By karl.
From:birmingham
"i got this product and all was going well . then afet a few week problems started to happen . ie wont load anything thing on .also will not read the memory card .also keeps swithing itself on and off so i am sending this product back ."
No, I do not recommend this product.
+11points
14of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Binatone Read Me e-Book - Black.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
basic e-book reader
Posted08 June 2010
Customer avatar
By Colin
From:Nr Wolverhampton
"The functions seem to work well, but the battery life is not what is quoted on the box 7000 page turns, more like 800 per full battery recharge. I have not attempted to use the image files or the MP3 player if the battery is so poor I would imagine you get to listen to 5 or 6 tunes before needing a recharge."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+20points
21of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Binatone Read Me e-Book - Black.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Binatone Read Me ebook
Posted08 June 2010
Customer avatar
By owain
From:Wrexham
"This ereader is not worth buying. It uses books in a txt format, which nobody sells. Instead, you have to download ebooks in other formats and use a converter programme to change to txt format. This process loses a lot of basic formatting, punctuation marks etc. Biggest problem is that when downloads of newer books are copyright protected, by DRM (digital rights management), it is not legally possible to convert them. The only plus side was that Argos refunded our money without any question."
No, I do not recommend this product.
+22points
22of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Binatone Read Me e-Book - Black.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Basic e-reader
Posted13 April 2010
Customer avatar
By snorwood
From:London
"Bought this as cheap taster for e-ink.
Only supports text files which means converting my existing e-books which I have been reading on my phone (PDB, RTF, & HTML formats). You need fairly good light to read the text as the contrast is not that high, but the resizing of text makes it easier for ageing eyesight.
I will probably replace it with something better though.
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
+8points
17of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Binatone Read Me e-Book - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ebooks
Posted18 March 2010
Customer avatar
By Topazowl
From:Lancashire
"I did alot of research before I bought this particular e-reader. I read some good reviews and there were quite a few things in its favour: it was relatively cheap, it had a large screen and it came with a case. I love it. I read from it most nights - it is lighter to hold than a book - and I have been able to load fan fiction from the web on it. The battery lasts for ages and the three choices of font size are great, especially if your eyes are tired. I loaded Calibre, the library software that came with it, on my PC and once you update it you can connect straight to the reader and it automatically converts your text, word doc, pdf file etc as it loads onto the machine. It also has a micro sd slot which wasn't in the description and it takes up to a 4GB card - hundreds of books. Great buy - wish it had an internal light but that might come with the next generation, No hesitation in recommending it. ANd you can play your mp3's on it too at the same time as reading!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+51points
57of 63voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Binatone Read Me e-Book - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Impressive
Posted02 March 2010
Customer avatar
By Happy Buyer
From:West Sussex
"Basic but impressive! After doing lots of research opted for this e reader mainly because of the price and the accessories. This was the only one that came with a mains charger and protective cover included in the price. Easy to use - only drawback is that it only supports text format but it's a straightforward process to convert other formats."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+22points
23of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Binatone Read Me e-Book - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
present for partner
Posted16 February 2010
Customer avatar
By Sally
From:south glamorgan
"found this hard to set up at first, instructions not easy to follow. once set up really happy with purchase and the price was great value. partner loves it"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+23points
25of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Binatone Read Me e-Book - Black.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not worth the money.
Posted16 February 2010
Customer avatar
By SPINNER
From:West Midlands.
"Down loaded a book from Waterstones books. Put it into Calibre to convert to text format and could not convert because of the DRM. If you cant just download a book without trolling the WWW for tools to take the DRM off its not worth the money you paid. Returned it to Argos bought a **** and it worked first time, no problems."
No, I do not recommend this product.
+14points
18of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Binatone Read Me e-Book - Black.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
No Good!!!!!
Posted16 February 2010
Customer avatar
By Looby.
From:Leicestershire
"This e reader doesnt support epub or pdf. Please be aware of this before you buy. Most downloadbale books come with "DRM" files, which means you can not change the format.
Do some resarch before buying an e reader - I wish I had!
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
+26points
27of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Binatone Read Me e-Book - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted03 February 2010
Customer avatar
By Misty
From:Warks
"took a while to sort out instructions but very good easy to read"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
11of 13voted this as helpful.