Top-rated product
Sorry this product is currently unavailable. Please visit Argos for similar products.

Kobo Glo eReader - Black.

<p>With the Kobo Glo eReader you can take a whole library anywhere, and read it anytime. The eReader can store 1000 books, and has 70 hours of battery life, so you will never be bored again. Plus, the 6 inch touchscreen is fingerprint-resistant and has built-in ComfortLight technology, so you can always comfortably enjoy your book. </p><p>E-reader features:</p><ul><li>6 inch e-ink front lit touch screen.</li><li>Wi-Fi connectivity.</li><li>Stores 1000 books.</li><li>Built-in ComfortLight technology with micro-thin hard coating for durability and even light distribution.</li><li>Responsive touchscreen for glare-free, fingerprint-resistant reading.</li><li>Battery life of 70 hours.</li><li>Choose from 24 adjustable font sizes to improve readability.</li><li>Supported formats: EPUB, PDF, MOBI, JPEG, GIF, PNG, TIFF, TXT, HTML, XHTML, RTF, CBZ and CBR.</li></ul><p>General information:</p><ul><li>Size H15.7, W11.4, D1cm.</li><li>Weight 185g.</li><li>EAN: 0681495000142.</li></ul>
Overall rating:
4.487 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 39 reviews
5 Stars
27
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
36 of 3992%would recommend to a friend
Sort by Customer reviews for Kobo Glo eReader - Black.
Review 1 for Kobo Glo eReader - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted08 January 2015
Customer avatar
By annie
From:Kent, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Portability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This product was perfect for the person I gave it to. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Kobo Glo eReader - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kobo Glo
Posted06 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Kris
From:Stoke-on-Trent, Stoke-on-Trent, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Portability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Bought as a gift for my wife , she loves it , no more books to carry around , this thing goes everywhere with her !! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kobo Glo eReader - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kobo a great item
Posted06 January 2015
Customer avatar
By kate
From:Wiltshire, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Portability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" After reaserching between a kindle and Kobo i decided on a Kobo, its a great item and you can down load free books from your local library, it was easy to purchase online from Argos and i did a collect in store option wich went smoothly. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kobo Glo eReader - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Maybe this one will last longer than 18 months?
Posted01 January 2015
Customer avatar
By MarkNPM
From:London, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Portability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" My last Kobo (a Mini) only lasted 18 months before developing an "unrepairable" screen fault. I'd heard this planned obsolescence was common with some e-readers, but not the Kobo. Taken the precaution of getting a cover for it this time; may help it last... Otherwise, VERY legible screen, light a real boon, & memory-expansion slot an advantage. Much the best thing about Kobos is they can read most formats - EPUB, MOBI, and (at a pinch) PDFs, so you aren't tied to one supplier. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kobo Glo eReader - Black.
This review is from:Kobo Glo eReader - Silver.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good all round ebook
Posted30 December 2014
Customer avatar
By Solidnatnat
From:Scotland
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Portability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Great battery life doesn't take that long to charge easy to use and set up well worth the price "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kobo Glo eReader - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great ereader
Posted12 November 2014
Customer avatar
By Richard
From:West Wales
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Portability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This is the second Kobo I've had. Firstly a Touch and now the Glo.
In between I've used the Kobo Android app which is also excellent.
I've gone back to Kobo as find it easy to use, and the Glo is good to read in the dark.
Also the battery life is excellent, whereas the tablet usually needs charging when I want to use it as an ebook in bed.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kobo Glo eReader - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A good product.
Posted10 November 2014
Customer avatar
By Chris
From:Essex.
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Portability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" A good product. However, ever so slightly glitchy. KoBo are very quick to fix bugs with firmware upgrades though. So hats off to that. All in all I'm enjoying the product. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kobo Glo eReader - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted22 October 2014
Customer avatar
By lou
From:derbyshire
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Portability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" i bought this for my 10 year old daughter.Just right size for her. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Kobo Glo eReader - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great, lightweight, e-reader
Posted10 September 2014
Customer avatar
By Kel63
From:Cheshire, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Portability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" I've wanted an e-reader for AGES but haven't been able to afford it. With birthday due I added it to my wish-list.
Before purchasing, I read reviews on ALL makes/models.
This is ideal - great variety of books available, and not tied in to one provider/ file type.
Occasionally freezes, but nothing to deter me from recommending to family and friends.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Kobo Glo eReader - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
brilliant!!
Posted09 September 2014
Customer avatar
By Max
From:Stafford
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Portability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" It's a second one in the house, since my husband broke his NOOK, and I talked him into Kobo... He loves it! Easy to use, loads of formats you can upload your books in, very light, if you switch off the WiFi battery lasts forever! Love it, and I think I'll get one for my mum for xmas! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Kobo Glo eReader - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good read
Posted03 September 2014
Customer avatar
By jonboy
From:Cornwall, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" would recommend this reader it has all you could want "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Kobo Glo eReader - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good value for money
Posted19 August 2014
Customer avatar
By Postie
From:Port Talbot, Neath Port Talbot, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Portability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" The Kobo Glo e-reader is ideal , since it is easy to use and a nice size to handle. Quite a range of features , finding out as I am using. The night light feature is very useful. Wish I could have got a matching cover to fit. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Kobo Glo eReader - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love my kobo glo
Posted13 August 2014
Customer avatar
By rach
From:solihull
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Portability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This is a present for my hubby as I love mine so much. He has the basic one but wanted one with backlight like mine "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Kobo Glo eReader - Black.
This review is from:Kobo Glo eReader - Silver.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A good little eReader...
Posted20 August 2014
Customer avatar
By S
From:London
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Portability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" I wanted something pretty basic i.e. reading only, with no internet browser to distract, small & lightweight. The USP for this particular model, not including the price at the time, was the backlight. It's really handy & easy to adjust. Great compatibility with ePub library books & expandable memory option.
The only issues are
1. It can be slow & temperamental with its touch response, for an eReader of this level.
2. Can't seem to be able to change the contrast or size for image based books.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Kobo Glo eReader - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
As expected no more, no less
Posted07 May 2014
Customer avatar
By dimethyl
From:Lincolnshire, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Portability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" easy to use and just what I wanted "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Kobo Glo eReader - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Replacement for broken Kindle
Posted28 January 2014
Customer avatar
By News
From:Suffolk
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Portability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" After breaking his Kindle accidentally, my husband's 1st thoughts were to replace with the same thing. I asked him what he would want to upgrade the original. A brighter screen that you can turn up depending on light levels. So he researched for a replacement. So far so good, no problems at all to report AND considerably cheaper than Kindle. Ideal for those who don't want fancy apps just to use an e-reader, the Kobo fits the bill beautifully. Would recommend. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Kobo Glo eReader - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent product but a pain to set up
Posted15 January 2014
Customer avatar
By David
From:Hampshire, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
" The reader does everything it should according to the spec but the setup guide has steps missing and takes a very long time to configure itself. Persistence is required to get it up and running but it is worth it. The touch screen feature can be a little unresponsive at times. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Kobo Glo eReader - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
a cracking reader
Posted09 January 2014
Customer avatar
By steluc
From:cheshire
Age:55 to 64
" This reader is just as good as the kindle my wife has with the added advantage that: I am able to borrow ebooks from my local library (Stockport) for free. The kindle doesn't support spun files. Also - for those withvery large library you can add extra memory. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Kobo Glo eReader - Black.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Glo light a disappointment
Posted09 October 2013
Customer avatar
By sue
From:London
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Bought the kobo to replace an old ereader that was big and bulky.I have not had the kobo for long I found it to be small and light, and easy to set up just drag and drop books via the computer, haven't bought any kobo books. Pdf files cannot be enlarged but can be zoomed in and out which can be a bit tricky to read. The case marks quite easy. I don't think I would recommmend this e-reader but I did want it mainly for pdf files. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Kobo Glo eReader - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kobo Glo eReader - Black
Posted11 September 2013
Customer avatar
By JIM
From:MERSEYSIDE
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
" This is the third Kobo I have bought, two for me and one for my grandson, it has great features and enough storage for anybody, also it's easy to use (it must be, I have no difficulty!) "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
1 2 Next >>>