Top-rated product

Kobo Glo eReader - Black.

<p>With the Kobo Glo eReader you can take a whole library anywhere, and read it anytime. The eReader can store 1000 books, and has 70 hours of battery life, so you will never be bored again. Plus, the 6 inch touchscreen is fingerprint-resistant and has built-in ComfortLight technology, so you can always comfortably enjoy your book. </p><p>E-reader features:</p><ul><li>6 inch e-ink front lit touch screen.</li><li>Wi-Fi connectivity.</li><li>Stores 1000 books.</li><li>Built-in ComfortLight technology with micro-thin hard coating for durability and even light distribution.</li><li>Responsive touchscreen for glare-free, fingerprint-resistant reading.</li><li>Battery life of 70 hours.</li><li>Choose from 24 adjustable font sizes to improve readability.</li><li>Supported formats: EPUB, PDF, MOBI, JPEG, GIF, PNG, TIFF, TXT, HTML, XHTML, RTF, CBZ and CBR.</li></ul><p>General information:</p><ul><li>Size H15.7, W11.4, D1cm.</li><li>Weight 185g.</li><li>EAN: 0681495000142.</li></ul>
Overall rating:
4.318 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
19 of 2286%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 5 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Kobo Glo eReader - Black.
Review 1 for Kobo Glo eReader - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
As expected no more, no less
Posted07 May 2014
Customer avatar
By dimethyl
From:Lincolnshire, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Portability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"easy to use and just what I wanted"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Kobo Glo eReader - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Replacement for broken Kindle
Posted28 January 2014
Customer avatar
By News
From:Suffolk
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Portability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"After breaking his Kindle accidentally, my husband's 1st thoughts were to replace with the same thing. I asked him what he would want to upgrade the original. A brighter screen that you can turn up depending on light levels. So he researched for a replacement. So far so good, no problems at all to report AND considerably cheaper than Kindle. Ideal for those who don't want fancy apps just to use an e-reader, the Kobo fits the bill beautifully. Would recommend."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kobo Glo eReader - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent product but a pain to set up
Posted15 January 2014
Customer avatar
By David
From:Hampshire, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
"The reader does everything it should according to the spec but the setup guide has steps missing and takes a very long time to configure itself. Persistence is required to get it up and running but it is worth it. The touch screen feature can be a little unresponsive at times."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kobo Glo eReader - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
a cracking reader
Posted09 January 2014
Customer avatar
By steluc
From:cheshire
Age:55 to 64
"This reader is just as good as the kindle my wife has with the added advantage that: I am able to borrow ebooks from my local library (Stockport) for free. The kindle doesn't support spun files. Also - for those withvery large library you can add extra memory."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kobo Glo eReader - Black.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Glo light a disappointment
Posted09 October 2013
Customer avatar
By sue
From:London
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Bought the kobo to replace an old ereader that was big and bulky.I have not had the kobo for long I found it to be small and light, and easy to set up just drag and drop books via the computer, haven't bought any kobo books. Pdf files cannot be enlarged but can be zoomed in and out which can be a bit tricky to read. The case marks quite easy. I don't think I would recommmend this e-reader but I did want it mainly for pdf files."
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kobo Glo eReader - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kobo Glo eReader - Black
Posted11 September 2013
Customer avatar
By JIM
From:MERSEYSIDE
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"This is the third Kobo I have bought, two for me and one for my grandson, it has great features and enough storage for anybody, also it's easy to use (it must be, I have no difficulty!)"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kobo Glo eReader - Black.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Dissapointed
Posted28 August 2013
Customer avatar
By Dissapointed39
Age:35 to 44
"Absolutely disappointed. Kobo freezes all the time. Sometimes I have to restart it a few times in a row to get it work. I do not recommend it at all."
No, I do not recommend this product.
-4points
2of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kobo Glo eReader - Black.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Posted27 August 2013
Customer avatar
By shazza
From:Cheshire
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
"This product and the one before were both rubbish"
No, I do not recommend this product.
-19points
0of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Kobo Glo eReader - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to use
Posted20 August 2013
Customer avatar
By Carole21
From:London, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
"The Kobo Glo is very easy to use - the screen is clear and easy to read. It's also very light to carry around in a bag or pocket (provided it's well protected) which suits me as I love to read on journeys. Would recommend this for portability and versatility."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Kobo Glo eReader - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it
Posted06 August 2013
Customer avatar
By Happy camper
From:West Yorkshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
"Bought to replace the Kobo mini I wanted one with light to read in bed and not disturb my husband this is perfect different lighting levels, light easy to hold and fits perfectly in my handbag, took it on holiday camping last week so much easier than trying to carry books, even my 13 year old book mad grandson has asked for it when/if I don't use it anymore !"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Kobo Glo eReader - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent eReader
Posted06 August 2013
Customer avatar
By Bill
From:South Lanarkshire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"I bought one of those for my wife as she was struggling to read books on her tablet in the sunshine.
I was so impressed that I got one for myself.
Lightweight, good size and screen easily read either in brilliant sunshine or even in the dark with the integral light.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Kobo Glo eReader - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kobo glo dreaded
Posted06 August 2013
Customer avatar
By james
From:birmingham
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"Very satisfied with this product easy to set up no problems at all"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Kobo Glo eReader - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
2nd Kobo
Posted16 July 2013
Customer avatar
By Andrei
From:UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
"This is my 2nd Kobo I bought. It got stuck during setting and it didn't budge. I got it back to Argos, and they changed it, no problem. This second one installed perfectly, and running well (mind you same happened with the 1st!). Nice to be able to read without putting light on."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Kobo Glo eReader - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
upgraded kobo
Posted28 June 2013
Customer avatar
By mariner
From:North East Lincolnshire
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
"very impressed with this. responsive touch screen and very easy to use. The light is excellent for night reading in bed without disturbing husband. Will be an added luxury for my camping holiday. Well worth the price and when finish book goes to shop ready to wirelessly download your next novel. Excellent product"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Kobo Glo eReader - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect best ereader on he market
Posted21 May 2013
Customer avatar
By Dee
From:West mids
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
"I have owned many ereaders since the first ones came out. This is the best bang for your buck ereader on the market. The killer feature is the light. I spent so much money on various ereader lights and now the problem is solved. The device is nicely shaped and very light. It is also possible if your inclined to try to increase the internal memory to something bigger..as the memory is actually a micro sd card!
This device will stay with me for many years. Also unlike kindle it will,work with many book formats so it will work for your local library ebooks service.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Kobo Glo eReader - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great ereader!
Posted17 April 2013
Customer avatar
By Solve
From:London
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
"I have Had The kobo touch for almost 2years, and wanted an upgrade because of the built in reading light.
The light is great, and adds a superb feature to a already great product.
The glo is also noticeably faster than the touch, and also about 1-2cm shorter.
Considering that the kobo ereaders d supports more formats than Any other ereader on the market, this is one great package.
If I had to pick one thing I don't like/want on this ereader, it would be a page turn button."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Kobo Glo eReader - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kobo Glo
Posted26 March 2013
Customer avatar
By jhnplmr
From:Wiltshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"Excellent product, easy to read in sunlight and with the variable illumination easy to read in bed as well.
Can download books from the local library unlike its Kindle competitor."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Kobo Glo eReader - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great buy
Posted18 March 2013
Customer avatar
By JudyG
From:United Kingdom
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
"Very happy with my Kobo, which was a replacement for my previous eReader (different brand( that met a premature end in the bath....Decided to try the Kobo because of the inbuilt light and lower price and very happy with it, just as good as the previous one was with the added benefit of being able to read discreetly in any light (e.g. when on a plane and the lights are off)."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Kobo Glo eReader - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good enough
Posted13 March 2013
Customer avatar
By Robert
From:Somerset
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"I bought Kobo because I like being able to buy various formats and not be tied to Kindle. And that has worked out well. I like the Glo feature much better than any external lights I have tried with other readers. Quality of print not the best and I am less than happy with the clunkiness of operation. It's slow (and I do mean very slow)and roundabout - e.g., after you have painstakingly typed in your notes on the intermittently unresponsive keyboard, the list of notes presented to you does not have page numbers attached! (Not that you can easily navigate to a specific page anyway.) If you just want to read from beginning to end, it's good enough. If you want to study and cross-refer, it is frustrating - not nearly as easy to use as the Kindle app on iPad. My advice? Wait a few years and later iterations ought to be top-notch. Battery life seems OK, though I am beginning to think not quite as good as I had hoped for."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
10of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Kobo Glo eReader - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Purchase Ever!! A*
Posted13 March 2013
Customer avatar
By Rose
From:Wiltshire
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
"I got a gift voucher from work, and had recently had to send my old kobo back as it was faulty.
This was perfect, as i was due to be going to north wales that weekend so i reserved a kobo glo in Argos in Caernarfon late frid evening and picked it up early sat morning! Good Service x
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
1 2 Next >>>