Top-rated product

NOOK Simple Touch GlowLight.

<p>The clever Nook Simple Touch GlowLight allows you to read glare-free in the sunshine and late into the night with the easily adjustable lighting. Lose yourself in over 1 month of reading without having to re-charge and enjoy a customised experience with a choice of font styles and sizes. </p><p>E-reader features:</p><ul><li>6 inch e-ink touch screen.</li><li>Wi-Fi connectivity.</li><li>Stores 1000 books.</li><li>2GB holds up to 1,000 eBooks (1GB for content, 750MB reserved for NOOK content).</li><li>Extra-long battery life lets you read for over 2 months with GlowLight off, 1 month with GlowLight on.</li><li>Comes with a MicroUSB cable and UK mains plug to charge your NOOK.</li><li>Charge time of 3.5 hours.</li><li>Battery life of 1344 hours.</li><li>Choose from 6 adjustable font sizes to improve readability.</li><li>Supported formats: ePub, PDF, JPG, GIF, PNG and BMP.</li></ul><p>General information:</p><ul><li>Size H16.54, W12.66, D1.2cm.</li><li>Weight 197g.</li><li>EAN: 9781400501717.</li></ul>
Overall rating:
4.532 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 205 reviews
5 Stars
142
4 Stars
46
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
4
1 Star
6
194 of 20595%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
34 Questions | 45 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for NOOK Simple Touch GlowLight.
Review 1 for NOOK Simple Touch GlowLight.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I Love This As Much As An Actual Book
Posted16 September 2014
Customer avatar
By Night Owl
From:West Glamorgan
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Portability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I got the Nook about 3 weeks ago, so I could borrow books from the library, as I believe you cannot do that with some other readers. Like another reviewer said, it`s a bit of a palaver getting the software downloaded onto your pc, but once you`ve done that, it is pretty simple, and worth it. It`s so easy to read under any lighting conditions. Only cloud on the horizon is that the battery seems to be running down a little faster than they say in the manual, but it`s too soon to be sure."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NOOK Simple Touch GlowLight.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
still finding my way around but so far so good!
Posted16 September 2014
Customer avatar
By old ant
From:Fife
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Portability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"This product offers good value for money"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NOOK Simple Touch GlowLight.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent
Posted10 September 2014
Customer avatar
By elymay51
From:Somerset, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Portability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"A great way to read a book. This was a present for my husband on his birthday (over 50!) because he kept borrowing mine!! He didn't put itt down for the first three evenings. Lots of choice and can read any e.Pub book: Also library loans with adobe digital editions. Can increase storage by inserting SD card."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NOOK Simple Touch GlowLight.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Good Product, Rubbish Customer Support
Posted10 September 2014
Customer avatar
By Dave
From:North Yorkshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Portability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
"I've no doubt that if I was able to get the Nook to work properly, it may be a good product. It appeared to do what an eReader should be capable of, but unfortunately my experience of their customer support was non existant. I waited 3 days for a response from web and email contact with their customer support team, and I'm still waiting for that response 2 weeks later. Needless to say I considered the product faulty and returned for a refund.
I've now bought and recommend the Kindle Paperwhite."
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NOOK Simple Touch GlowLight.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted09 September 2014
Customer avatar
By gilljac
From:Somerset, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Portability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"A brilliant e reader. Easy to use. Long battery life."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NOOK Simple Touch GlowLight.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Easy Ereader
Posted05 September 2014
Customer avatar
By lynwill53
From:Hampshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Portability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"My first "gadget" and I am quite pleased. Easy to navigate around it and very light to carry. The on/off switch on the back is a bit of a pain if you keep it in a case."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NOOK Simple Touch GlowLight.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Met my expectations
Posted03 September 2014
Customer avatar
By BJ
From:Hayling Island
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Portability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I have used a "Simple Touch" for a long time and this was an upgrade. At the Argos price, I am very pleased."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NOOK Simple Touch GlowLight.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted02 September 2014
Customer avatar
By mojo
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Portability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Does exactly what it says on the box very good value for money works very well"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NOOK Simple Touch GlowLight.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good e-reader
Posted02 September 2014
Customer avatar
By Lewad05
From:Aberdare South Wales
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Portability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
"This is a good e-reader but you can only get the books from barns and noble which is a pain as a lot of the books are cheaper elsewhere but other than that it's light and easy to use the glow light is a great featur and ideal when the other half complaine about the light being on in the bedroom at all hours now he never knows"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NOOK Simple Touch GlowLight.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted26 August 2014
Customer avatar
By No angel
From:Sunbury-on-Thames,
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Portability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Very easy set up, good book selection to download ,not yet put battery life to the test , extremely pleased with product so far"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NOOK Simple Touch GlowLight.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quite nifty
Posted26 August 2014
Customer avatar
By Gem
From:Manchester
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Portability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I bought this for my husband to take on holiday so books wouldn't weigh the cases down. We got the books onto it easily enough once we had downloaded the correct software to change formats as the Nook doesn't accept a lot of different formats.
One thing I was extremely impressed about was the battery life. We charged it fully before we left. Two weeks later, after being used every day and never fully turned off, only left on standby, it had just under half the charge left. We were amazed!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NOOK Simple Touch GlowLight.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Trouble with the Nook
Posted21 August 2014
Customer avatar
By Kim
From:Reading, Reading, Reading, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Portability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"When I purchased the Nook I thought it would be marvelous for accessing library books. I chose two books from the library and so far I have been unable to download them. I have no idea why I cannot get into them and no idea of where to go for help. The Nook does not give enough information on how to use the appliance for people unused to such technology."
No, I do not recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for NOOK Simple Touch GlowLight.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
very good product
Posted21 August 2014
Customer avatar
By jenko9
From:Abertridwr, Caerphilly, Caerphilly CF83, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Portability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I bought this for my wife and I'm thoroughly impressed. read in full sunlight (I am unable to with my Kindle Fire). you can down load books and I've been informed borrow library e-books. The back light makes it a really good ebook."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for NOOK Simple Touch GlowLight.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nook glowlight! Amazing!!!
Posted19 August 2014
Customer avatar
By Cazzy178
From:Stockport, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Portability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Fantastic product at amazing price. Very easy to set up and use. Fraction of the price of the kindle paperwhite but equally as good if not better as you can download free books from the library service. Would recommend to anyone!!!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for NOOK Simple Touch GlowLight.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kobo
Posted19 August 2014
Customer avatar
By jane m
From:scotland
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Portability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"After my kindle fell in the bath and stopped working I decided to buy the kobo after reading the other reviews. I have to say it was easy to set up and was easy to use. I found downloading books easy and the glow light is fab as my other half can sleep while I read. I also found downloading books that had been given to me on a pen drive extremely easy to download onto device
My opinion is buy, buy, buy no brainer
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for NOOK Simple Touch GlowLight.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted13 August 2014
Customer avatar
By Toots
From:Kent, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Portability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Good value for money."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for NOOK Simple Touch GlowLight.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Kindle alternative
Posted12 August 2014
Customer avatar
By LeeG
From:Crawley, West Sussex, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Portability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Really happy with the low cost Kindle alternative. The glow light works really well (something the bottom end Kindle doesn't have).
Screen is excellent even in bright sun light.
The only thing missing is a web browser but then an iPad would be more suitable for web browsing."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for NOOK Simple Touch GlowLight.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nook for Books
Posted12 August 2014
Customer avatar
By bamboo2
From:Andover, Andover, Hampshire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Portability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Really delighted with every aspect, especially the freedom to download books from almost anywhere. The act of downloading is very well explained and it works!
Comfortable to hold while reading and lettering on screen is very clear with no background glare."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for NOOK Simple Touch GlowLight.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great basic e-reader
Posted11 August 2014
Customer avatar
By Eryngium
From:Northamptonshire, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Portability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"This was a great price and is very simple to set up and use. Excellent for taking on trains, holidays etc. Glowlight is handy for reading at night and the standard screen setting works perfectly in sunlight. Everything you need as fas as I'm concerned. Great that you can download books from your own online library facilities, which Kindle won't allow you to do, so this is better in my opinion."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for NOOK Simple Touch GlowLight.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nook e-reader
Posted29 July 2014
Customer avatar
By AGE
From:Devon
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Portability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Great value for money. Screen can be damaged easily so always protect."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 Next >>>