Top-rated product

Kindle Paperwhite 3G (2012).

<p>The Kindle Paperwhite 3G is the most advanced eReader in the Kindle family. The new screen has a brilliant white display, with light projecting down from above instead of at your eyes, letting you enjoy your read for longer. The 3G capabilities mean you no longer need to hunt for Wi-Fi, you can download all your favourite books anywhere, anytime! </p><p>E-reader features:</p><ul><li>6 inch e-ink screen.</li><li>Wi-Fi and Cellular connectivity.</li><li>Stores 1100 books.</li><li>Patented built-in light evenly illuminates the screen to provide the perfect reading experience in all lighting conditions.</li><li>Paperwhite has 62% more pixels for unsurpassed resolution and 25% better contrast for sharp, dark text. It features new hand-tuned fonts - 6 font styles.</li><li>Even in bright sunlight, Paperwhite delivers clear, crisp text and images with no glare. It has an 8-week battery life, even with the light on.</li><li>Built-in Wi-Fi lets you download books in under 60 seconds.</li><li>New Time to Read feature uses your reading speed to let you know when you'll finish your chapter.</li><li>Battery life of 1344 hours.</li><li>Choose from 8 adjustable font sizes to improve readability.</li></ul><p>General information:</p><ul><li>Size H16.9, W11.7, D0.91cm.</li><li>Weight 213g.</li><li>EAN: 848719000054.</li></ul>
Overall rating:
4.906 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 32 reviews
5 Stars
30
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
32 of 32100%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 8 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Kindle Paperwhite 3G (2012).
Review 1 for Kindle Paperwhite 3G (2012).
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
No plug for mains charging
Posted15 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Plastic
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Portability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"No actual plug for mains charging is a little inconvenient . Other than that a great item."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Kindle Paperwhite 3G (2012).
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Read more now.
Posted15 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Yorkyboy
From:Berkshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Portability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Great bit of kit. It's as easy to read on a bright sunny beach as it is in a darkened bedroom. The built-in light is adjustable for brightness and does not make your eyes ache.It is so much easier than holding pages open in bed. I would also recommend buying the leather case to go with it as it not only protects the Kindle, it also puts it into sleep mode when closed and restarts the page where you left off when you open it. The 3G is great and you don't need wi-fi to download books etc."
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
I also recommend:
 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kindle Paperwhite 3G (2012).
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kindle Paperwhite 3G
Posted15 July 2014
Customer avatar
By sazza
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Portability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I love this product. I used to read my kindle books on my iPad but this is so much better. It doesn't matter if it is sunny and it is soooo light. I am going on holiday soon and I am so excited about taking this with me. My daughter can use the iPad and I can use this. Previously I had to wait till she was asleep. I recommend this product. It's brilliant."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kindle Paperwhite 3G (2012).
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
glad that I upgraded
Posted08 July 2014
Customer avatar
By tina1960
From:portugal
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Portability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"glad that I upgraded to The paper white is light weight ,easy to hold and great to read in the dark.it has taken a bit of getting used to from the basic kindle as buttons and functions are slightly different,but like everything we soon get used to changes.The thing that I find the most awkward is the fiddly button at the bottom which is used to turn on/off your kindle or put it on idle.for me a bigger push button on the front of the kindle would be easier.(especialy for us ladies with nails!!)"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kindle Paperwhite 3G (2012).
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good value for money
Posted03 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Nobby Clarke
From:Essex, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Portability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This was bought as a birthday present, and was greatly accepted and appreciated.
I would certainly recommend it.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kindle Paperwhite 3G (2012).
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
over the moon
Posted01 July 2014
Customer avatar
By angie 66
From:Essex, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Portability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"As someone who is slowly losing some of my sight I cant say how pleased I was to be given the Kindle Paper white, comfortable to hold, a good choice of different size letters which has helped very much and the internal light just makes this the perfect way to read books, brilliant."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kindle Paperwhite 3G (2012).
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kindle Paper white 3G
Posted02 October 2013
Customer avatar
By Shaney 64
From:Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
"The Kindle Paper white ticks all the boxes. My wife is an avid reader in bed. I no longer get disturbed by the rustling of page turning. Books are so easy to download, even for me a total novice with technology, like me. highly recommend."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+12points
15of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kindle Paperwhite 3G (2012).
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Can't live without my kindle!
Posted10 September 2013
Customer avatar
By bee
From:Manchester
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
"I previously owned the original kindle keyboard and had noticed the battery life was gradually declining, so I decided to upgrade it. I am more than happy with the paperwhite so far! It is a little heavier than my last one but that's to be expected with the built in light I suppose. Initially, I was disappointed that I was unable to alter the orientation of the text as I could on the kindle keyboard, but after using the paperwhite I have found that this is no longer an issue for me."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Kindle Paperwhite 3G (2012).
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent
Posted04 September 2013
Customer avatar
By Deej
From:Croydon
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
"Love it!! Goodbye to big fat chunky books!!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Kindle Paperwhite 3G (2012).
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Does the job
Posted17 August 2013
Customer avatar
By tooey
Age:45 to 54
"Nice little kindle, easy to read, did the job"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Kindle Paperwhite 3G (2012).
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it!
Posted13 August 2013
Customer avatar
By shivvy
From:West Midlands
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
"I bought this to replace my non lit version and to also have the 3G option so now I can choose a new book anywhere in the world. Same lightweight features but touch screen and is very responsive. Lovely not to have to fiddle with a separate light. Incidentally my daughter snapped up the old one!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
I also recommend:
 
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Kindle Paperwhite 3G (2012).
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted26 July 2013
Customer avatar
By deb24
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
"great item,pleased I purchased it"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Kindle Paperwhite 3G (2012).
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Everything I want .
Posted16 July 2013
Customer avatar
By Carolyn
From:Fife, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
"I bought this product for 2main reasons, I can download books from Amazon straight on to the e-reader home with wifi and when I am abroad with 3G. Also it has a great back light, and very easy to read outside in daylight. Am very pleased with this product and would highly recommend it."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Kindle Paperwhite 3G (2012).
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Favourite purchase
Posted27 June 2013
Customer avatar
By Krissyloo
From:Cleveland
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
"Argos was the only shop that could supply my Kindle immediately. I checked online for availability at my nearest store and yes I could reserve online and collect the next morning. I went down the next morning to collect with no problem, just fantastic, would defiantly buy again like this."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Kindle Paperwhite 3G (2012).
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great little reader
Posted13 June 2013
Customer avatar
By Kevin B
From:West Midlands
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
"I was gutted to find my old Kindle 3G screen had gone faulty, and was forced to decide quickly to replace it ready for a long flight. The new Kindle has surpassed my expectations, being smaller and lit, and was easier on the eye than my wife's iPod on the plane.
I wonder why Amazon didn't sell it sooner. I do miss the keyboard, but the on screen keyboard is most appropriate and pops up when required. Amazon kept track of where I was in the last book
I was reading. If I have a criticism at all, it would be that I had to download each book, though the entire collection is maintained in the cloud and downloaded at will. Yes, I would recommend it, most heartily, particularly when it is fitted in the compatible case."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Kindle Paperwhite 3G (2012).
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted12 June 2013
Customer avatar
By Jimbo
From:Worcestershire
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
"The last kindle was good but now with backlit display and good battery life this is a no brainer"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Kindle Paperwhite 3G (2012).
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Buy.
Posted11 June 2013
Customer avatar
By ramfan
From:Gwynnedd
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"Bought this for a birthday present for my wife. She is delighted with it, can read in any light and is light enough to hold for long periods. Also bought the leather cover and that is great particularly like the fact it turns the Kindle on and off as you open and close the cover. Would recommend both items."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Kindle Paperwhite 3G (2012).
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Must have ereader
Posted05 June 2013
Customer avatar
By Becks
From:Lancashire
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
"I was undecided on whether or not to get kindle paperwhite when I already had a kindle touch and i read that some people have had problems with their kindles. But I decided in the end to get a kindle paperwhite and I am glad I did as it enhances your reading experience with having a backlight which can be used in both light and dark rooms.
I would definitely recommend buying kindle paperwhite though it does have the drawback of having no audio but this does not bother me too much, though I would like amazon to put an upgraded text to speech in the next kindle.
Overall I am very happy with my kindle paperwhite.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Kindle Paperwhite 3G (2012).
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product
Posted05 June 2013
Customer avatar
By Momc
From:Renfrewshire
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
"The Kindle paperwhite is a great product.Easier to hold and turn pages than my original keyboard version. The on screen controls are easy to use and understand. I bought the 3G version so I can use it anywhere in the world. My husband was so impressed he bought one too the next day. There are no negatives so far."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Kindle Paperwhite 3G (2012).
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kindle paperwhite
Posted05 June 2013
Customer avatar
By Ray-noakes
From:Nottingham
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
"Got this one as a replacement as my dear wife stepped on the other one while on holiday nd cracked the screen. Completely satisfied itch the purchase and Argos were quick and efficient with the order. No complaints at all and will certainly use Argos in the future. Thanks"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 Next >>>