Sorry this product is currently unavailable. Please visit Argos for similar products.

RAC 500 with UK and ROI GPS Sat Nav.

Model number 500 Card slot for updates but has built-in flash memory. Home synch for downloading maps, voices, weather forecasts, traffic, lonely planet guides etc. 3.5in touch screen. Pre-loaded maps for UK and Republic of Ireland. Full postcode search. Safety camera alerts - no subscription required. Features: 2D and 3D mapping. Points of interest. General information: Car charger. Includes windscreen suction mount. Up to 2 hours battery life. Weight 660g. Size H16.5, W11, D12.6cm. EAN/Barcode: 5022336594317.
Overall rating:
3.438 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
5
11 of 1669%would recommend to a friend
Sort by Customer reviews for RAC 500 with UK and ROI GPS Sat Nav.
Review 1 for RAC 500 with UK and ROI GPS Sat Nav.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not So Good
Posted05 July 2011
Customer avatar
By Martin P
From:UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
" Sorry to say, this product did not live up to expectation. Bought first one - it gave up the ghost after one week. Second one did not work from the outset. In fairness, the RAC helpdesk were excellent; but even they accepted the device was duff, so I returned it for a refund. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for RAC 500 with UK and ROI GPS Sat Nav.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great value
Posted13 May 2011
Customer avatar
By Michael
From:England
" Nice and simple to use and great value for money, the only grumble I would have is that the map is 2009 not 2011. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for RAC 500 with UK and ROI GPS Sat Nav.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Easy to Use
Posted11 May 2011
Customer avatar
By Sarah
From:Bristol
" Very easy to use. Well worth the price i paid. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for RAC 500 with UK and ROI GPS Sat Nav.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good for the money
Posted11 May 2011
Customer avatar
By mand
From:yorkshire
" brill for the money i paid, easy to use, didnt really need anything flash, used it a few times and its been spot on, got it really for finding airport car parking, would recomend. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for RAC 500 with UK and ROI GPS Sat Nav.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Worst Sat Nav Ever
Posted11 May 2011
Customer avatar
By Rich
From:Loughborough
" Wanted a very basic cheap Sat Nav, so brought this on offer. Worst decision ever. The day I brought it I checked it, by turning it on and checking the GPS worked, which it did. The next day I used it to go on Holiday. Once my route was plotted the battery died even when I had it on charge. When I had no route plotted it would find my location, track me and the battery would charge, as soon as I plotted a route it died. When it was working it constantly crashed. I would say it worked for 10 miles out of 200! I used the master reset a couple of times when it did this and eventually the Sat Nav would even go to the GPS screen. Better off spending a bit more and getting something that works! "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for RAC 500 with UK and ROI GPS Sat Nav.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
RAC Sat Nav
Posted11 May 2011
Customer avatar
By Pule
From:UK
" The voice guidance was not working and I had to return it and bought a binatone satnav instead for £10.00 more. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for RAC 500 with UK and ROI GPS Sat Nav.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
you get what you pay for
Posted10 May 2011
Customer avatar
By van1
From:west midlands
" just about does what it is supposed to. design is really poor, bulky and difficult to fix to windscreen. verbal instructions are fine but display doesn't always show an arrow to prompt you to turn right/left ahead.
purchased as a second sat nav - will use the main one at all times, unless desperate. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for RAC 500 with UK and ROI GPS Sat Nav.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good value
Posted10 May 2011
Customer avatar
By Steve
From:West Yorkshire
" A bit basic, works well,if you can afford it get a more expensive one but good for price "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for RAC 500 with UK and ROI GPS Sat Nav.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted10 May 2011
Customer avatar
By buyanyrubbish
From:GB
" I bought this satnav as a present and so far so good. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for RAC 500 with UK and ROI GPS Sat Nav.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bargain sat nav
Posted15 March 2011
Customer avatar
By michael.h
From:warwickshire
" has all the basic features and more,very detailed maps,like the way motorway junctions are numbered,demo mode with speed control,and you can play around with the map colours for hours!very good battery life too.very good.
michael
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for RAC 500 with UK and ROI GPS Sat Nav.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted04 March 2011
Customer avatar
By The Heretic
From:UK
" lost my old TOM TOM so purchased this in its place. Obviously, you get what you pay for and this is a good bit cheaper than the TOM TOM. It follows that this isn't as sophisticated and doesn't have some of the useful features that I had grown used to with TOM TOM. That said, it worked fine as long as you follow the on screen map as opposed to the voice recommendations, but this happens to an extent with TOM TOM. For the money paid I think it is a nice compact bit of kit. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+11points
13of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for RAC 500 with UK and ROI GPS Sat Nav.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money.
Posted20 February 2011
Customer avatar
By ColinV
From:U.K
" Very accurate, simple to use, bargain. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+14points
15of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for RAC 500 with UK and ROI GPS Sat Nav.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great machine
Posted15 February 2011
Customer avatar
By hamps29
From:Lisburn C.Antrim N.Ireland
" good value for money, very easy to use.
would recommend.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
9of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for RAC 500 with UK and ROI GPS Sat Nav.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
absolute rubbish
Posted01 February 2011
Customer avatar
By mark
From:Maidstone
" I bought this as a back up sat nav. after 2 days it stopped working. it is the worst sat nav I have ever owned or known of. I would never buy this item again. it would make more sense to use an AtoZ. Pure rubbish and a waste of time, money and effort "
No, I do not recommend this product.
-13points
9of 31voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for RAC 500 with UK and ROI GPS Sat Nav.
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4.5 / 5
4.5 / 5
2 out of 2 recommend this product