Top-rated product
Sorry this product is currently unavailable. Please visit Argos for similar products.

Acer Aspire 5742Z 250GB 15.6 Inch Laptop.

Numeric keypad. CPU and Memory: Intel Pentium dual core P6100. 2GHz processor speed. 4GB DDR3 RAM memory. 250GB SATA hard drive. Display features: 15.6in display. DVD optical drives: DVD+RW/DVD-RW(read/write). Dual layer. Graphics: Intel GMA with 4500M graphics card. Interfaces and connectivity: Multi-Media Card (MMC) compatible. 3 USB ports. 1 HDMI port. B/g/n wireless/WiFi enabled. Multi-media features: 1.3MP built-in webcam. Built-in mic. Built-in sound system. Operating system and software: Microsoft Windows 7 Premium. Preloaded manufacturers suite of applications include: Music. Photo. Movie. Business. Tuition. Gaming. General features: Up to 3 hours battery life. Weight 2.6kg.
Overall rating:
4.686 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 35 reviews
5 Stars
26
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
33 of 3594%would recommend to a friend
Sort by Customer reviews for Acer Aspire 5742Z 250GB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Review 1 for Acer Aspire 5742Z 250GB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very quick machine
Posted27 October 2011
Customer avatar
By jack
From:U.K.
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"This laptop has all the features I need, namely a sensible hard drive (.I do not need vast storage), a big memory and Acer built, my old Acer laptop performed perfectly for four years but with only one gigabyte of DDR2 it had slowed to a crawl, This machine with four gigabytes of DDR3 is a real eyeopener, Windows loads and shuts down in less than a minute and I am connected to firefox immediately, The screen is first class and the only gripe I have is with battery life which in fact it average for 15 inch laptops."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Acer Aspire 5742Z 250GB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good value easy set up
Posted13 September 2011
Customer avatar
By Diddles
From:N.Ireland
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Included software 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Very pleased with my acer,this is now my 3rd acer laptop VERY easy to set up,this is much lighter in weight than any of my previous laptops, which may be important to some people. Battery life seems quite good though wouldnt be an important aspect for me.
Very dissappointed there was no email facility such as outlook express loaded as soft ware.
Acer arn't known for their generosity in soft ware but for people like myself with an array of software already available, it makes it a good buy as money goes on perfomance rather than software i dont need.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Acer Aspire 5742Z 250GB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good deal
Posted27 July 2011
Customer avatar
By jimmy
From:uk
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Included software 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"Very happy and good design"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Acer Aspire 5742Z 250GB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good for the price
Posted20 July 2011
Customer avatar
By Greg A
From:Scotland
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Included software 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I don't need a hard working or gaming laptop so this does just fine for web browsing, light office work and dowloading digital camera pictures."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Acer Aspire 5742Z 250GB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product
Posted19 July 2011
Customer avatar
By Graham
From:England
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"My wife and I are in aggreement that our purchase was just what we wanted and its performance can not be faulted, Thankyou."
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Acer Aspire 5742Z 250GB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very very happy
Posted12 July 2011
Customer avatar
By doogs
From:Wales
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Included software 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"more than pleased with my new acer laptop,easy set up, nice and fast ,also not least ! a nice finish on the case ,even my 21yr old son is impressed."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Acer Aspire 5742Z 250GB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good laptop
Posted07 July 2011
Customer avatar
By Keith
From:England
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Included software 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"I've been looking for months to find a laptop with a sufficiently high spec and not too expensive and finally chose this one.
Overall I'm happy with it.
Fast enough (without the new i series processor) and the 250GB hard drive is enough for my needs (although only just over 200GB with all the software installed)
Battery life is only about 2 hours, even with following the initial charge instructions to the letter.
Sound is not too bad, once I altered the sound settings.
Very good feature is that it comes with Word and Excel so I can read/save my old documents without the added expense of going for a new Office package.
My local branch had it in stock and only a couple of minutes wait whilst they brought it to the counter - good service - thanks Argos"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Acer Aspire 5742Z 250GB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase
Posted28 June 2011
Customer avatar
By Maria
From:Glasgow
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Included software 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I bought this Acer laptop after first seeing it on sale in the catalogue and then reading all the reviews and I must say i"m delighted with my purchase. The keyboard is really good as the buttons are like springs"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Acer Aspire 5742Z 250GB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great little Laptop
Posted28 June 2011
Customer avatar
By Shell
From:England
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Included software 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Birthday present for Father-in-law. Excellent product for his purposes. Start Up no issues, onto the Web in a flash. Very protable and very good key pad and screen visibilty. Excellent picture quality for watching DVD's etc. Only draw back was the lack of Microsfoft software. Not an issue for me as I had a spare 2010 liscence to use. Overall, a very good product reviewed by a non-IT person for everyday use. He loves it!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Acer Aspire 5742Z 250GB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Acer
Posted28 April 2011
Customer avatar
By Angela
From:Telford
Included software 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Great laptap easy to set up. This laptop was recommended in the Which magazine so I have made a good purchase"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Acer Aspire 5742Z 250GB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Battery life ever
Posted28 April 2011
Customer avatar
By caramell
From:Lincolnshire
Included software 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Before I had 2 HP laptops, each was great 1 year and than broke down, so I wanted try something different- why not Acer?! And it's really good!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Acer Aspire 5742Z 250GB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Buy
Posted31 March 2011
Customer avatar
By Murs
From:Northern Ireland
Included software 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I am not an IT expert but I consider this a great buy.
It didn't take long from opening the box until we were surfing the net.
The high definition graphics are excellent and the computer has great performance in terms of speed.
We purchased Microsoft word & excel seperately so we now have a fully functioning laptop for the kids homeworks etc.
Would definately recommend.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Acer Aspire 5742Z 250GB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best laptop I've purchased
Posted16 March 2011
Customer avatar
By Mal
From:UK
Included software 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"It's such a relief to have a 4 GB laptop with instant response after suffering for so long with a 1 GB laptop. It's worth investing in more memory. I found this laptop on offfer at Argos so got the extra memory for the price of a 3 GB model."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Acer Aspire 5742Z 250GB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Buy
Posted15 March 2011
Customer avatar
By tony
From:Milton Keynes
Included software 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I bought this Acer laptop after being impressed with an Acer netbook that I purchased recently.
Setting up to my wireless hub was very easy and I am very pleased with the speed of the machine.
I like the Microsoft Word and Excel starter software which comes installed which is not the usual trial versions so you don't need to buy a licence after 3 months to continue using it.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Acer Aspire 5742Z 250GB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Decent equipment
Posted02 March 2011
Customer avatar
By akin
From:England
Included software 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"its got all the modern technology stuff, good processor and also HD view very neat, battery life is not spectacular, all in all its decent does everything you can think off, from watching movies, word processing, gaming"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Acer Aspire 5742Z 250GB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good first time laptop
Posted01 March 2011
Customer avatar
By bertie
From:England
Included software 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Easy to set up, quick downloads, great screen."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Acer Aspire 5742Z 250GB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent laptop
Posted01 March 2011
Customer avatar
By Peter
From:london
Included software 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"great laptop does everything i wanted good for games and my work"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Acer Aspire 5742Z 250GB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Does the job
Posted01 March 2011
Customer avatar
By Stephen
From:UK
Included software 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"Connected up easilly to my wireless modem and have had no problems. A 3 hour battery life is short but charges quickly and is as described on the box. Keyboard is very comfortable and mousepad light and sensitive.
RAM and processor are fast enough for any applications I have tried.Overall I am happy with this purchase and my wife has certainly taken to it.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Acer Aspire 5742Z 250GB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Purchase
Posted15 February 2011
Customer avatar
By Keefyboy
From:uk
Included software 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Great laptop. Windows 7 is so much better than Vista. High def screen. Dissapointed that there is no card reader."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Acer Aspire 5742Z 250GB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good light weight laptop
Posted14 February 2011
Customer avatar
By kathleen
From:INVERNESS
Included software 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Bought this for my son to help with his studies .Handy size ,light weight ,outer case has a study raised design ,more practical for rough use . Good clear screen . Easy to navigate ."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 Next >>>