Top-rated product
Sorry this product is currently unavailable. Please visit Argos for similar products.

Acer Aspire Core i5 6GB 500GB 15.6 Inch Laptop.

With an Intel Pentium dual core i5 480M processor and a combined memory of 500GB and 6GB RAM this Acer Aspire laptop is exactly what you'll need on the move. Its light weight and stylish exterior makes the Acer Aspire 5742 a fashionable travel companion. Also with a built-in webcam you can keep in contact anywhere and everywhere. CPU and Memory: Intel Core i5 480M. 2.53GHz processor speed. 6GB memory. 500GB hard drive. Display features: 15.6 inch display. High definition display. Resolution 1366 x 768 pixels. DVD optical drives: Dual layer. Graphics: Intel HD graphics card. Interfaces and connectivity: 2-in-1 media card reader. 3 USB ports. 1 HDMI port. Wi-Fi enabled. Multi-media features: 1.3MP built-in webcam. Operating system and software: Microsoft Windows 7 Premium. General features: Up to 3.5 hours battery life. Size H3.4, W38.1, D25.3cm. Weight 2.6kg.
Overall rating:
4.581 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 31 reviews
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
30 of 3197%would recommend to a friend
Sort by Customer reviews for Acer Aspire Core i5 6GB 500GB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Review 1 for Acer Aspire Core i5 6GB 500GB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very happy so far
Posted11 January 2012
Customer avatar
By Fredb
From:Cheshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Included software 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Got this to replace an ageing desktop that died. So far been very happy with it for home use, internet, email, photos, kids homework etc. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Acer Aspire Core i5 6GB 500GB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
4 gb memory
Posted29 November 2011
Customer avatar
By ginky
From:uk
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Included software 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
" inside packet seal found opened. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Acer Aspire Core i5 6GB 500GB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lovely laptop
Posted22 November 2011
Customer avatar
By Olwynne
From:West Midlands
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Included software 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" This laptop is just wonderful. Very responsive, lots of hard drive space, smart looking, battery life is good, large memory capacity makes this a pleasure to use. I have always been a fan of Acer. They give great value for money and I would recommend this laptop to anyone. A really great purchase "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Acer Aspire Core i5 6GB 500GB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Laptop
Posted18 November 2011
Customer avatar
By Ben
From:UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Included software 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Bought this to replace my on laptop as it was getting slower & slower. Was looking at the lower spec 4GB but decided to spend a little more for the 6GB memory. Found it very simple to set up the wirless internet. Very happy with this purchase. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Acer Aspire Core i5 6GB 500GB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Purchase
Posted10 November 2011
Customer avatar
By roxy40
From:Scotland
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Included software 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Laptop performs great and is excellent value for money "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Acer Aspire Core i5 6GB 500GB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent
Posted25 October 2011
Customer avatar
By mrzed
From:England
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Included software 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Really good purchase, worth every penny. I bought this for my grandson, so that he could do his home work. It connected to the internet immediately, without any problems, the download speed is very fast, so browsing was excellent, he also plays allot of games and this laptop handles them very well. A very good purchase, and can highly recommend it. 6Gb of DDR3 memory helps allot. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Acer Aspire Core i5 6GB 500GB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent choise
Posted29 September 2011
Customer avatar
By colin
From:coventry uk
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Included software 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" thiis laptop has all the capacity i need "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Acer Aspire Core i5 6GB 500GB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wished I'd bought sooner
Posted28 September 2011
Customer avatar
By Helen
From:Great Britain
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Included software 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" I chose this to replace my 8 year old desk top and wished I'd done it years earlier. Im not a techie but the speed is way faster than my desktop. I took Macafee off and put on Norton. Over two months on I am impressed with it. The keyboard takes some getting use to. Easy to set up (which I was dreading), was surfing the web within 20 mins. The battery only lasts 3 hrs which is average so I keep it plugged in. Apart from that would recommend. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Acer Aspire Core i5 6GB 500GB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent laptop
Posted27 September 2011
Customer avatar
By paul
From:england
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Included software 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" easy set up ,online and surfing within minutes.It's really fast and a pleasure to use and it does'nt get too hot.All in all well pleased with performance, really chuffed I chose this laptop.Does'nt come with any software but plenty preloaded stuff,Mcaffee,norton&games etc "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Acer Aspire Core i5 6GB 500GB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Star Ship Speed
Posted15 September 2011
Customer avatar
By Captain Kirk
From:UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Included software 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Even although my old desk top was only 3 years old it is like going from horse power to star ship power it is that good. What used to take seconds is done in the press of a button. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Acer Aspire Core i5 6GB 500GB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted02 September 2011
Customer avatar
By Anonymous
From:UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Included software 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Good product. Just remember to make your system recovery disks (you will need 4). "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Acer Aspire Core i5 6GB 500GB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A GOOD PRODUCT OVERALL
Posted22 August 2011
Customer avatar
By Chrissieand Bry
From:UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Included software 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
" Bought this because I got the dreaded white screen of death with a Toshiba which I bought from Argos. They were brilliant and immediately refunded me. After reading countless reviews about the Acer I thought I would take the plunge. Overall a good product, battery life could be better but I am pleased with it. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Acer Aspire Core i5 6GB 500GB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Acer aspire core i5 6gb 500gb 15.6 inch laptop
Posted05 August 2011
Customer avatar
By Clare
From:Northern ireland
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Included software 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Excellent quality laptop that coves all requirements. I love it's wide screen and the simplicity of the standard type keyboard layout. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Acer Aspire Core i5 6GB 500GB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fab
Posted02 August 2011
Customer avatar
By maxine
From:england
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" i am ddelighted with this laptop!!! it is a great all rounder. would highly recommend "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Acer Aspire Core i5 6GB 500GB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent
Posted19 July 2011
Customer avatar
By Julie
From:Kent, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Included software 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" This laptop was a replacement for one that was 5 years old. To be fair there was nothing wrong with it until I dropped and broke the screen. Well that was what I thought until I plugged in my new laptop. OMG!!! What a difference, everythng is so much better, faster, brighter, clearer and I love the flat keys. The mouse takes a bit of getting used to as it is multi functional but you soon get the hang of it.
Only down side is the lack of software included, buying additional basic software bumps the cost up but this does not detract fron the fact that this is a fab laptop for the price.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Acer Aspire Core i5 6GB 500GB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great to use proper laptop
Posted05 July 2011
Customer avatar
By steve medic
From:Torfaen
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Included software 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" This laptop is not really that expensive when you consider what you get for your money and they all work! 6gb of memory,more than me,500gb hard drive enough for all your photo`s and music.I`ve hard no problems with this machine thus far,downloads fast even though i am only on a dongle.I am looking forward to using all the programs on it,could do with Office on it as standard at this price,come on Microsoft share it out. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Acer Aspire Core i5 6GB 500GB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic
Posted28 June 2011
Customer avatar
By stacey
From:manchester
Included software 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Could not be happier. Would highly reccommend to anyone. Brill spec. Great price!! A++++++ "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Acer Aspire Core i5 6GB 500GB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great desktop replacement
Posted28 June 2011
Customer avatar
By malglu
From:uk
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Included software 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" i did a lot of research before buying this model. it is the Aspire 5742 (the model number was not available from argos before i purchased it). i wanted a desktop replacement and this is exactly what i got. it is heavier then some other laptops and battery life is not great, but if you are planning to buy it to mainly use at home this is not important. i saw a complaint about the keyboard/mouse position. i have had no problem with this. keyboard can get crumby as others have pointed out. my only niggle with this computer is that the mouse jumps, so i have accidently deleted emails as i scroll through them. i will phoning Acer to sort this out. great price for what you get. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Acer Aspire Core i5 6GB 500GB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted23 June 2011
Customer avatar
By kev
From:u.k
Included software 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" a good affordable machine,not second generation processor but good value for money "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Acer Aspire Core i5 6GB 500GB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Acer Aspire Core i5
Posted22 June 2011
Customer avatar
By Grantham Jonny
From:UK
Included software 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Good value at sale price. Lightweight and bright clear screen.
Plenty of space on the hard drive, and quick performance surfing the web and switching between apps.
Wifi includes N connectivity so as long as your router is capable, a very fast wifi connection.
Basic software included along with a nagging AV software pestering you to buy :(
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 Next >>>