Top-rated product
Sorry this product is currently unavailable. Please visit Argos for similar products.

Asus 11.6 Inch Asus Ultra Portable Laptop - Silver.

<p>The sleek Asus 11.6 inch ultra portable laptop provides you with up to 8 hours battery life, a powerful AMD dual core processor as well as a built-in camera and mic which enables you to interact with friends online. Its lightweight and streamlined design allows you to stay in contact and be entertained wherever you are.</p><p>CPU, Memory and Operating System:</p><ul><li>AMD C Series dual core C50 processor.</li><li>1GHz processor speed.</li><li>4GB RAM.</li><li>320GB hard drive.</li><li>Microsoft Windows 7 Premium.</li></ul><p>Display features:</p><ul><li>11.6 inch screen.</li></ul><p>DVD optical drives:</p><p>Graphics:</p><ul><li>Shared graphics card.</li><li>6250 graphics card.</li><li>AMD Radeon HD .</li></ul><p>Interfaces and connectivity:</p><ul><li>1 Ethernet port.</li></ul><p>Multimedia features:</p><ul><li>Built-in webcam.</li><li>Built-in mic.</li></ul><p>General features:</p><ul><li>Up to 8 hours battery life.</li><li>Weight 1.5kg.</li></ul>
Overall rating:
4.195 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 41 reviews
5 Stars
22
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
33 of 4180%would recommend to a friend
Sort by Customer reviews for Asus 11.6 Inch Asus Ultra Portable Laptop - Silver.
Review 1 for Asus 11.6 Inch Asus Ultra Portable Laptop - Silver.
This review is from:Asus 11.6 Inch Asus Ultra Portable Laptop - Red.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Asus 11.6 lap top
Posted30 July 2013
Customer avatar
By Lindie
From:Cheshire West and Chester, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
" Very slow takes over 10/15 mins to open web pages which is not ideal for my job, giving talks and presentations live on the web site. Most disappointed, if I could have returned the lap top I would. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
-4points
2of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Asus 11.6 Inch Asus Ultra Portable Laptop - Silver.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
this is the worst ulta compact laptop
Posted22 August 2012
Customer avatar
By matthew5888
From:cumbernauld
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
Included software 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" this laptop is completely deceiving. the processor struggles to even handle the most basic of tasks. i tried to watch a movie on it, stuttering every 2 seconds. dont even get me started on trying to play flash games or check facebook, it hardly happened. the hdmi port made it even slower when plugged into an external monitor. i would not recommend this to anybody. ended up trading it for another laptop with decent processor from an outside source "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Asus 11.6 Inch Asus Ultra Portable Laptop - Silver.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Okay for simple things
Posted07 May 2013
Customer avatar
By Cheri
From:Leicestershire
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Female
" I bought this laptop to take to work with me, as my dad doesn't like me using his laptop.
Nowhere did it say it didn't have a Disc Drive so I had to fork out for a USB Disc Drive. So i'm disappointed in that.
It's pretty slow loading videos up and downloading and can be pretty slow doing some tasks but overall it's okay if you want to use it for word and internet browsing. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
-2points
3of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Asus 11.6 Inch Asus Ultra Portable Laptop - Silver.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good netbook but the screen...
Posted16 January 2013
Customer avatar
By Cat
From:Wales
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
" Got this for my wife.
Installed Win 8 on it. Runs very fast, very nice performance all around.
The screen though, it is ridiculous. I have never manage to set it up properly , it is either way too bright or too dark. Doesn't matter the brightness level, it is wrong every time. I did a complete setup of the brightness, contrast and gama on the screen but it is so wrong and your eyes hurt after a while...
Because of this, I would not recommend.
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Asus 11.6 Inch Asus Ultra Portable Laptop - Silver.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ok netbook - let down by screen quality
Posted15 January 2013
Customer avatar
By Dpickers
From:Bucks
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
" Its a compact, well made netbook with a good keyboard and battery life.
The limitation is the screen - poor contrast levels and you have to be sat directly in front of it or you can see even less. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Asus 11.6 Inch Asus Ultra Portable Laptop - Silver.
This review is from:Asus 11.6 Inch Asus Ultra Portable Laptop - Red.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
An OK purchase
Posted07 October 2012
Customer avatar
By PC PC
From:London
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Bought for?Alternative
Included software 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Laptop looks and feesl good.. I bought a matt film cover because I can't stand reflective screens. Other good points are the price and the battery life.
Performance is not the best, I was expecting better. The computer can become very slow with certain programs. It originally came stuffed with horribly annoying bloware that completely clogs it and I've removed a lot of it. I'm still trying to figure out which of the running processes can be removed without damage, so I'm hoping for an improvement.
Another thing that bothers me is that the contrast of the screen is poor. I noticed it when I work on photos I take. They mostly look over exposed. It's a common problem with laptops, as far as I can tell. The best way to view photos is with an adjustable desktop monitor unfortunately.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Asus 11.6 Inch Asus Ultra Portable Laptop - Silver.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
average! but portable
Posted18 April 2012
Customer avatar
By kimararkim
From:Wiltshire
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Included software 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" ok it's not a great specification and not very quick. But it's tiny and it's great for word processing/web browsing and media viewing on the move! recommended if that is what you are after. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Asus 11.6 Inch Asus Ultra Portable Laptop - Silver.
This review is from:Asus 11.6 Inch Asus Ultra Portable Laptop - Red.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Very portable
Posted16 March 2012
Customer avatar
By sTEPHEN
From:Hertfordshire
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Included software 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This laptop is a great size, even though it is small the keyboard is laid out nicely and I have fat fingers! The laptop also looks very nice and is a good price. Unfortunately it is very slow and I expected a lot more with the spec it has. In fact its the same spec (except different processor) to my last laptop but runs incredibly slow. Even simple internet pages take a while to download which is frustrating especially when I have fast virgin broadband. I put Office on the machine and Excel also runs slow and the machine is slow to boot up. Please also note there is no disk drive. Disappointed in the machine but stuck with it now. Worth spending a little more on a different machine although as mentioned, the machine is great for portability and battery life. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Asus 11.6 Inch Asus Ultra Portable Laptop - Silver.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A tad sluggish, but very portable & good battery.
Posted05 July 2013
Customer avatar
By Mila
From:London, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
" Overall the laptop is very portable with the battery lasting a good few hours. It's a bit sluggish at times, despite the reasonable hardware, I expect this is Windows 7's fault. My 6-year old veteran laptop with XP works faster.
Also, I wish it came with a proper windows rescue CD/USB stick, rather that an image on a hidden partition - need to be slightly more careful when adding linux.
Finally, the 'silver' in the description and photos is rather misleading, the one I received is nearly black.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Asus 11.6 Inch Asus Ultra Portable Laptop - Silver.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
compact and light
Posted30 May 2013
Customer avatar
By Denise
From:Yorkshire
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
" ordered a silver one-got it home and found it was grey-so had to make another trip to town, then ended up with red one-but its nice! Bought at last minute to take abroad, should have got it before! Not used to microsoft (prefer apple) but managed to get the hang of it after a few lessons from friend. Seems easy to use but a little slow at times. Hooked it up to a cd/dvd player so i could use work on my discs and it works great. Cant get the wifi to work without a lead-may be something i dont understand? Also the charged up light doesnt turn green as its supposed to-rang support and they assured me i could get it fixed if needed in Egypt where i am now writing this! Holds its charge well without the lead. Keyboard nice to use, it feels like a quality machine. Pretty pleased with it considering i dont like microsoft! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Asus 11.6 Inch Asus Ultra Portable Laptop - Silver.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Almost there
Posted01 May 2013
Customer avatar
By Roger
From:Bedfordshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
" I reserved the silver model and when I got home found it was black, so if colour is important to you check before leaving the store.
Although this only has a one gigaherz processor the 4 gigabytes of ram help this to operate at a reasonable speed. There is dual boot with windows 7 (real, not starter) and something like chromebook but it is chromium browser and not chrome, so no apps can be added to it. It has already proved to be very useful. For facebook and skype fans (which I am not) the webcam and mike are already there. For better sound I plug in my own speakers, and for a large screen I plug my own monitor into the vga port provided ,and on windows 7 it can be configured to its correct screen resolution in the usual way. So with a usb keyboard and mouse it could feasibly be used in place of a pc. There is no cd/dvd rom but my usb plugin dvd rom works fine in windows.
My two reservations are
1 - that I cannot find a way of booting from a cd or dvd.
2 - It will not recognize my usb keyboard . It will however recognize a ps2 keyboard connected with the appropriate usb to ps2 adaptor, and it picks up a usb mouse ok.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Asus 11.6 Inch Asus Ultra Portable Laptop - Silver.
This review is from:Asus 11.6 Inch Asus Ultra Portable Laptop - Red.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great carry around replacement for larger laptop
Posted19 February 2013
Customer avatar
By precious
From:Lancashire
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
" very pleased with this purchase.
love the subtle red colour as not to bright
like the feel of the keys - easy to tap
mouse functions bit difficult to master/control
setup was very easy
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Asus 11.6 Inch Asus Ultra Portable Laptop - Silver.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good portable low power laptop
Posted22 January 2013
Customer avatar
By Marek
From:North Yorkshire
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
" My product came with a C-60 processor which is essentially a good mid-range processor for a netbook. After working with high powered laptops for a number of years I notice the lower processing ability for tough jobs, but then weight, disk storage, battery life and display are all very good for the price. If you are looking for something to browse the net or do some word processing / work with spreadsheets then this is a nice little machine. The touchpad does seem a little temperamental at times (especially when clicking and dragging), but I think this is something I can compensate for by applying less pressure. I would consider buying this machine again and would recommend it to a friend providing their processor needs were not too high.
I've now used the laptop for 7 months and it has served me well. However one of its screen hinges has just failed and I am sending it back to ASUS for repair. Despite this because of its portability and battery life I would recommend this machine and would buy the same again.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Asus 11.6 Inch Asus Ultra Portable Laptop - Silver.
This review is from:Asus 11.6 Inch Asus Ultra Portable Laptop - Red.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Lightweight Netbook
Posted27 October 2012
Customer avatar
By bonzo
From:East Sussex
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Bought for?Work
Included software 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" I was pleasantly surprised with this Asus netbook having tired of dragging around a heavyweight Dell desktop replacement laptop (ie heavy!).
The screen and keyboard are very high quality and the performance is not at all bad. Good points are HDMI output and three USBs (two are USB3)
Only real bad point is that the wireless connectivity is poor. It keeps losing the connection even though I have an excellent signal strength showing. I tried downloading the latest driver and also found out that you have to turn off power saving in the wireless card software (difficult to find but recommended solution by Asus). This did not solve the problem so I loaded my old Netgear software and separate dongle. This works flawlessly.
Otherwise a very neat little machine with jus the right balance of size, weight and functionality.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Asus 11.6 Inch Asus Ultra Portable Laptop - Silver.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted24 October 2012
Customer avatar
By Anonymous
From:Cheshire
Included software 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Good product at a fair price "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Asus 11.6 Inch Asus Ultra Portable Laptop - Silver.
This review is from:Asus 11.6 Inch Asus Ultra Portable Laptop - Red.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very good but could be better
Posted21 March 2012
Customer avatar
By Anonymous
From:Warwickshire
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Included software 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" the 2 main advantages of the laptop - great battery life (can easily watch movie and listen to music, surf net for few (4-5) hours without charging) and size&weight (not too tiny and not too big/heavy)
the main issue is responsiveness of the laptop and 'crush-ability' of explorer but I guess that this is caused by windows 7 mainly (not particular fan of it) "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Asus 11.6 Inch Asus Ultra Portable Laptop - Silver.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Not too bad
Posted07 February 2012
Customer avatar
By Emma
From:Kent
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Included software 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I brought this for simple internet use and writing. I am pleased with the way it runs and easy to use with straight forward features "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Asus 11.6 Inch Asus Ultra Portable Laptop - Silver.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very, very happy with this laptop ...
Posted30 July 2013
Customer avatar
By Happy customer
From:Kent, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
" Meets all my requirements - very, very pleased :0) "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Asus 11.6 Inch Asus Ultra Portable Laptop - Silver.
This review is from:Asus 11.6 Inch Asus Ultra Portable Laptop - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Does every thing I want
Posted02 July 2013
Customer avatar
By angelblue
From:West Yorkshire
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
" Wanted a laptop that had windows 7 ...excellent value for money.....small and compact so I can use it in the car with memory maps "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Asus 11.6 Inch Asus Ultra Portable Laptop - Silver.
This review is from:Asus 11.6 Inch Asus Ultra Portable Laptop - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Replacement notebook
Posted22 May 2013
Customer avatar
By David
From:Benitachell (Alicante) Spain
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
" The Asus laptop came recommended by friends from Canada who brought theirs with them whilst on holiday in Europe earlier in the year.
Our previous laptop needed replacing and so the ASUS was the natural choice.....The long battery-life between charges was one of the reasons for tmy purchase.
I ordered the item from Argos in Letchwoth Hertfordshire. It was collected by friends. who were pleased with the in-store service there...They then brought it out to me here in Spain and so far I am delighted with my purchase
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 Next >>>