Top-rated product
Sorry this product is currently unavailable. Please visit Argos for similar products.

Toshiba C855 6GB 750GB 15.6 Inch Laptop.

<p>The Toshiba Satellite C855 laptop offers great quality for everyday computing, featuring a 15.6 display. It is finished with a stylish cross line pattern, textured palm-rest and tiled keyboard. Extensive connectivity is included with SuperSpeed USB 3.0, HDMI port and an integrated numeric keypad for added convenience and ease of use.</p><p>CPU, Memory and Operating System:</p><ul><li>Intel Pentium dual core B950 processor.</li><li>2.1GHz processor speed.</li><li>6GB DDR3 RAM memory.</li><li>750GB/SATA hard drive.</li><li>Microsoft Windows 7 Premium.</li></ul><p>Display features:</p><ul><li>15.6 inch widescreen display.</li><li>High definition display.</li><li>Resolution 1366 x 768 pixels.</li></ul><p>DVD optical drives:</p><ul><li>DVD+RW/DVD-RW(read/write).</li><li>Dual layer.</li></ul><p>Graphics:</p><ul><li>Shared graphics.</li><li>Intel.</li></ul><p>Interfaces and connectivity:</p><ul><li>5-in-1 media card reader.</li><li>Secure Digital (SD), Multi-Media Card (MMC) compatible.</li><li>3 USB ports.</li><li>1 Ethernet port.</li><li>1 HDMI port.</li><li>Wi-Fi enabled.</li></ul><p>Multi-media features:</p><ul><li>1MP VGA built-in webcam.</li><li>Built-in mic.</li></ul><p>General features:</p><ul><li>Up to 5.3 hours battery life.</li><li>Size H3.35, W38, D24.2cm.</li><li>Weight 2.3kg.</li><li>EAN/MPN/UPC/ISBN: 4026203992641.</li></ul>
Overall rating:
4.512 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 215 reviews
5 Stars
137
4 Stars
63
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
0
1 Star
6
200 of 21593%would recommend to a friend
Sort by Customer reviews for Toshiba C855 6GB 750GB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Review 1 for Toshiba C855 6GB 750GB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Toshiba Satellite C855-1TC
Posted26 February 2013
Customer avatar
By Richard
From:Cumbria
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
"I run a high spec. Windows XP desktop machine which I built and which suits my needs. I have an old Toshiba 14" laptop with XP and yet another Toshiba 17" laptop the latter of which I bought from Kendal Argos a few years ago. This came with Vista pre-installed. Vista's strange little quirks are still taking a bit of getting used to, so, having heard good reports of Windows 7 I decided to look for another laptop for my wife's sole use before Windows 7 became unavailable preloaded since I wanted a "turn key" job this time. Sadly, although the online order spec. said it had Windows 7 preloaded it came with Windows 8. Sic transit gloria. However, the new machine comes with a good spec. processor, the hard disc is large enough for everyday use, it has 6gb of RAM, a DVD player, three usb's and wireless and wired internet connectivity. The service from Argos as to online ordering and collection has never failed me, and ran like clockwork. I ordered online, I got a text and email confirmation and when I turned up at the store, what I ordered was there for collection. The staff in Kendal Argos are/were all pleasant and courteous and collection and paying only took 10 minutes or so. And no one pesters you trying to sell you "add ons". The price/value for money I considered was right, and, I've always found Toshiba laptops reliable even going back to my very first one with DOS then Windows 3 in the early 90's. I still don't have the heart to throw it away. The only preloaded software which came with the Windows 8 machine apart from the usual Toshiba stuff was a trial version of Office 2010, and a trial version of McAfee antivirus which can be replaced with one of your choice, as I have done, although if you do decide to delete McAfee or not subscribe to it or any other anti virus software after the trial period then simply delete it and activate the inbuilt Windows Defender antivirus which will have been defaulted to off with McAfee loaded. As to Windows 8, the first few days had me tearing my hair out, the interface is so unlike previous versions of Windows, and this is from someone who considers themselves computer competent. I had at one stage considered buying windows 7 and loading this after formatting the disk, but, since it is not "my" machine I held back from doing so. Strangely, my wife who is an utter technophobe and has never got to grips with even Windows XP found that coming to Windows 8 as a newby was not at all unpleasant, she quite likes it with all the "tiles" and "charms" which she finds quite intuitive and she is now showing me how it works. Bizarre or what. So, all in all a very satisfied customer."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+16points
17of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Toshiba C855 6GB 750GB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very good laptop.
Posted13 February 2013
Customer avatar
By mick
From:angus
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
"Bought for my wife at Christmas and she is more than happy with it. Upgraded from a 5 year old Toshiba laptop which was slow but this one is great and certainly not slow. She loves windows 8."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Toshiba C855 6GB 750GB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted04 February 2013
Customer avatar
By h4wood
From:South Wales
"Great Laptop...be aware though that the CD/DVD drive tray is rather flimsy and seems very fragile...will be keeping a check on this before warrenty runs out.. Otherwise excellent Pc and well worth the money. Great spec."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Toshiba C855 6GB 750GB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
first laptop not first PC = this i the best
Posted30 January 2013
Customer avatar
By jimmy
From:Antrim
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"ideal for my needs. Very portable and easy to ue however find Windows 8 little difficult compared to previous versions. Office is first class. Accessories package also first class"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Toshiba C855 6GB 750GB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
laptop
Posted22 January 2013
Customer avatar
By wilf
From:hampshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
"i was very pleased with the way i could reserve this laptop at the time thankyou to portsmouth argos."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Toshiba C855 6GB 750GB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great
Posted22 January 2013
Customer avatar
By georgina
From:teeside
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
"There doesn't seem to be any instructions with my comp , is this normal not sure will get in touch with Argos and find out , great value for money tho x"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Toshiba C855 6GB 750GB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money purchase
Posted22 January 2013
Customer avatar
By Margaret
From:Lancashire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
"Very pleased up to now with my Toshiba laptop.I haven't really had time yet to find any faults as I'm still finding my way around it. However it seems to be doing all I need it to do."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Toshiba C855 6GB 750GB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good quality laptop
Posted22 January 2013
Customer avatar
By Lottie
From:Somerset
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
"I chose this laptop due to the price, but also because I had used a Toshiba laptop at work and found it reliable and easy to use. I bought it to replace an HP laptop that I had had endless problems with
The laptop in itself is great, the keys are nice to use, and there is a separate number key pad which I use frequently so was an important factor to me. The keys are laid out in a very similar way to my HP laptop so that made it easier to use as it all seemed familiar. The mouse pad is also easy to use, and the laptops appearance in general is very nice, I chose the colour red as I liked it and it was available at a nearby store.
However, I have one complaint. I chose this laptop due to it claiming to run Windows 7, but on starting it up it actually has Windows 8. For some people this may not be an issue, but I was pretty unhappy to discover this. There are no instructions with the laptop on how to use Windows 8, which is pretty essential to someone who is used to XP, Vista & Windows 7 as Windows 8 is very different indeed. I suspect somewhere there is a help app on it, but I'm not sure how to access it. In the end I went online and found a website to help me figure out the basics to get me started. I avoid the start page and just stick to the desktop, but I am still encountering problems occasionally, such as how to print a PDF, but luckily I figured it out in the end.
I suspect it will be a long learning curve for me, but I hope to get there in the end. I might as well get used to it because everything will be Windows 8 before long.
Overall, if you can accept the Windows 8 aspect, then this is a very nice laptop indeed and I would recommend it. I'd have given it 5 stars if it had Windows 7.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Toshiba C855 6GB 750GB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
toshiba c855
Posted22 January 2013
Customer avatar
By June
From:Middleton
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
"Nice laptop quite fast dose what it says on the tin, Only downfall is windows 8 It gets some getting use too,"
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Toshiba C855 6GB 750GB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Toshiba C855 6GB 750GB 15.6 Inch Laptop
Posted18 January 2013
Customer avatar
By happycamper
From:uk
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
"Toshiba C855 6GB 750GB 15.6 Inch Laptop is a great laptop for the price. All keys are very clear to see as some laptops have small symbols the tosibia has quite large one,s.
The only fault and this is why i have not given it 5 star is because of the power light on the front of the laptop as it shows up where ever you put your laptop in the room . and if some one looks through the window the light on the can bee seen so showing them you have a laptop .
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Toshiba C855 6GB 750GB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good basis computer
Posted18 January 2013
Customer avatar
By Liz
From:W Mids
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
"Good all rounder tho I find the arrow buttons a little small, and the battery life is not a long as advertised. But still Ok"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Toshiba C855 6GB 750GB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding Product
Posted17 January 2013
Customer avatar
By John
From:Durham
Age:17 or under
Gender:Male
"Not only is this laptop fantastic the hard drive, processor and all other components are amazing! I would recommend this laptop to anyone! A+++"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Toshiba C855 6GB 750GB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
This review is from:Toshiba C855 6GB 750GB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great laptop
Posted26 February 2013
Customer avatar
By Julieanne
From:Down
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
"as I am writing this review I have 7 Tabs/Pages open ranging between facebook, Bingo, emails, travel republic and and a holiday site. all working fine together. even better to take up to bed at night to keep warm. defo great buy. this is not my main machine I keep photos music etc on main pc."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Toshiba C855 6GB 750GB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
This review is from:Toshiba C855 6GB 750GB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Purple Toshiba C855 6GB 750GB 15.6 Inch Laptop
Posted23 February 2013
Customer avatar
By Babs
From:Leicester
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
"My old xp laptop died and went to heaven so needed another asap. The spec on this tosh looked good. I purchased the very last one in stock hoping it would be windows 7 but unfortunate for me was windows 8, which I'm finding to be a nightmare :(( It's been 3 weeks now and I'm still trying to get used to it. It's a pity there was not a user guide on how to use Win 8, but i guess with perseverance all will come to light eventually. I do find it to be very touch sensitive and it's very frustrating when your page suddenly disappears. Not overly impressed with the constant pop ups from Toshiba or McAfee. Overall its a nice 'looking' laptop, fast internet connection, loving Skype and the bundle was an added bonus too. Would have given 5 stars if a help guide to windows 8 was included."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Toshiba C855 6GB 750GB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
This review is from:Toshiba C855 6GB 750GB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good laptop
Posted14 February 2013
Customer avatar
By peter
From:tyne and wear
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"great laptop a shame it has windows 8"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Toshiba C855 6GB 750GB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
This review is from:Toshiba C855 6GB 750GB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Toshiba c855
Posted09 February 2013
Customer avatar
By J
From:London
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
"Unfortunately this computer was advertised as windows 7 and that's what I wanted. On collection, this laptop was windows 8. I went to another store as I thought it was an individual mistake but, alas. Anyway, I decided to purchase the laptop anyway as I needed one and it's been fine. Lovely for the money spent. Good buy"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Toshiba C855 6GB 750GB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
This review is from:Toshiba C855 6GB 750GB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
computer
Posted05 February 2013
Customer avatar
By gillian
From:halifax
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
"I bought this item cos I aready had a Toshiba computer and been very good but I also wanted a built in web cam so im happy with it now"
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Toshiba C855 6GB 750GB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
This review is from:Toshiba C855 6GB 750GB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
careful
Posted05 February 2013
Customer avatar
By Colin
From:Essex
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"The online catalogue said this was windows 7. Foolishly I accepted Argos word. It was not until I was on page two of the set up, I discovered it was Windows 8, I had to learn a whole new language!"
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Toshiba C855 6GB 750GB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
This review is from:Toshiba C855 6GB 750GB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brill
Posted05 February 2013
Customer avatar
By Sue
From:Cheshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
"I love this computor and it is windows 7 so I am one of the lucky ones. Great colour (purple) and
lovely keyboard, great all round.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Toshiba C855 6GB 750GB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
This review is from:Toshiba C855 6GB 750GB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good value for money
Posted31 January 2013
Customer avatar
By Anonymous
From:Hertfordshire
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
"A budget laptop with impressive specification including 6GB RAM and 750 GB hard disc. The overall performance is more than adequate thanks to the dual core processor. It also comes with the preloaded Windows 8 operating system"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 Next >>>