Top-rated product
Sorry this product is currently unavailable. Please visit Argos for similar products.

Dell Inspiron N5040 4GB 1TB 15.6 Inch Laptop.

With a massive 1000GB hard drive this compact laptop has more than enough memory to store everything you need. 4GB RAM gives you the power to listen to music, surf the internet and access your documents simultaneously without affecting performance. Complete with Windows 7 and an Intel Dual Core processor this budget-friendly notebook is perfect for multi-tasking. CPU, Memory and Operating System:Intel Pentium dual core P6200 processor.2.2GHz processor speed.4GB DDR3 RAM memory.1000GB SATA hard drive.Microsoft Windows 7 Premium.Display features:15.6 inch widescreen display.High definition display.Resolution 1366 x 768 pixels.DVD optical drives:DVD+RW/DVD-RW(read/write).Dual layer.Graphics:Shared graphics.Intel HD graphics card with 64MB memory.Interfaces and connectivity:Secure Digital (SD), Memory Stick (MS), Memory Stick Pro (MS-Pro), Multi-Media Card (MMC) compatible.3 USB ports.1 Ethernet port.1 HDMI port.Bluetooth.E-SATA.Wi-Fi enabled.Multi-media features:0.3MP VGA built-in webcam.Built-in mic.General features:Up to 5 hours battery life.Size H33.8, W10.6, D50.6cm.Weight 3.69kg.EAN/MPN/UPC/ISBN: 5397063240906.
Overall rating:
4.21 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
17 of 1989%would recommend to a friend
Sort by Customer reviews for Dell Inspiron N5040 4GB 1TB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Review 1 for Dell Inspiron N5040 4GB 1TB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted16 January 2013
Customer avatar
By tash
From:Northumberland
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
"Good value, with all the features I regularly need, but mainly a big hard drive for music and films. All with the convenience of reserving on line, combined with Argos's opening times. Great stuff"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dell Inspiron N5040 4GB 1TB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A very good buy
Posted16 January 2013
Customer avatar
By Rosko
From:Middlesex
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"Impressed by the overall quality.
Bundled with Windows 7 which I find to be no improvement on my usual XP but have had good support from Dell Customer Services.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dell Inspiron N5040 4GB 1TB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Basic Laptop
Posted16 January 2013
Customer avatar
By hardyikab
From:Retford, Notts
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
"This laptop was purchased for my son for gaming and he is very happy with it."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dell Inspiron N5040 4GB 1TB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great laptop
Posted16 January 2013
Customer avatar
By Thozz
From:Cambridge, uk
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
"For a budget laptop this does the job. Massive hard drive for all those mp3 files and processing power galore. Not a powerhouse for the more complex tasks but more than good for the average user. For the price an excellent purchase especially when backed by Dells incredible support network."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dell Inspiron N5040 4GB 1TB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good when it eventually loads
Posted16 January 2013
Customer avatar
By halo
From:Cheshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"Good price..Laptop tempremental."
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dell Inspiron N5040 4GB 1TB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Okay
Posted16 January 2013
Customer avatar
By Sparkly
From:UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
"It does what it's supposed to do and it's quick and light.
I find the keyboard is smaller than the one on my last laptop though (although it's the same size machine) and I'm constantly hitting the wrong keys, even after using it for almost 2 months. The only other issue is that sometimes it fails to boot up.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dell Inspiron N5040 4GB 1TB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Laptop
Posted16 January 2013
Customer avatar
By Jeff
From:Exeter
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
"Good value for money. But let down by battery life and some of the loaded software."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dell Inspiron N5040 4GB 1TB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good value for money
Posted15 January 2013
Customer avatar
By Vicky
From:Shrewsbury
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
"Bought as a Christmas present for my children, good price, great make and specification."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dell Inspiron N5040 4GB 1TB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fantastic
Posted15 January 2013
Customer avatar
By mills
From:skegness
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
"brilliant value for money, really easy to set up what more could you ask for."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dell Inspiron N5040 4GB 1TB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
Posted15 January 2013
Customer avatar
By Peter
From:Derbyshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
"The Laptop is not as light as some modern ones, however, it feels solid and sturdy. The keys don't make tinny noises and the left and right mouse click are silent, this may be nothing to some people but I lke it.
The price was good and I will never fill up the Hard Drive.
Thoroughly satisfied.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dell Inspiron N5040 4GB 1TB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good product, good service, unfamiliar O/S.
Posted18 November 2012
Customer avatar
By Les
From:Co. Down, N. Ireland
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"Well-specced product for the price. Usual polite, friendly service from local Argos sales staff. Only problem area is the unfamiliar structure and terminology of Windows 7; anyone who has used XP for so long that it has become second nature has now to learn new names for familiar program features and search for them in unfamiliar places. Fellow-silver-surfers be warned!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dell Inspiron N5040 4GB 1TB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted14 November 2012
Customer avatar
By Margo
From:East Sussex
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
"It is really fast and the software is brilliant.
And the price was great as well.
Would highly recommend.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dell Inspiron N5040 4GB 1TB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted07 November 2012
Customer avatar
By lyndsay
From:south yorks
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Bought for?Entertainment
Included software 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"a great product and a good price would reccomend dell AND argos"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dell Inspiron N5040 4GB 1TB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent for the price
Posted06 November 2012
Customer avatar
By Dot
From:Derbyshire
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Bought for?Entertainment
Included software 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"Brought to replace our last laptop which after 8 years was on its way out. Ordered online, collected same day, so easy to set up and use, should of replaced old one years ago. Before this purchase we were thinking of getting fibre optic broadband but not now this is so fast."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dell Inspiron N5040 4GB 1TB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Delighted
Posted03 October 2012
Customer avatar
By Podlypiper
From:Alnwick, Northumberland.
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Bought for?Alternative
Included software 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"This is my first ever computer. I have always been terrified of getting one due to my lack of IT knowledge. However, whilst it is still very early days for me and I have lots to learn - both from purchased books and from paying for tuition; I am finding things very straightforward with this laptop. I chose this model because of the already loaded photoshop as I particularly want to store and mdify photographs. I would heartily recommend it so far."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dell Inspiron N5040 4GB 1TB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Lot of problems
Posted11 September 2012
Customer avatar
By Trudy
From:Merseyside
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Bought for?Entertainment
Included software 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"Sound has gone from several programmes
and cannot get back through following instructions from Control Panel
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
-5points
2of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dell Inspiron N5040 4GB 1TB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Idea Ever!
Posted14 August 2012
Customer avatar
By Chev
From:Manchester
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Female
Included software 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Our family computor had blowed up so we needed a replacement as we had been without a computor for a few months. so we decided to get a laptop n chose this one, great price for a great laptop"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dell Inspiron N5040 4GB 1TB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great buy
Posted31 July 2012
Customer avatar
By Mandy
From:New Brighton
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Included software 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I bought this for my daughter and she said it is really fast and the software that you get is brilliant. And the price was great aswell. Would highly recommend."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Dell Inspiron N5040 4GB 1TB 15.6 Inch Laptop.
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product