Sorry this product is currently unavailable. Please visit Argos for similar products.

Asus X55A 500GB 4GB 15.6 Inch Laptop with Windows 8.

<p>CPU, Memory and Operating System:</p><ul><li>Intel Celeron dual core.</li><li>1.8GHz processor speed.</li><li>4GB RAM.</li><li>500GB hard drive.</li><li>Microsoft Windows 8.</li></ul><p>Display features:</p><ul><li>15.6 inch screen.</li></ul><p>Graphics:</p><ul><li>Shared graphics card.</li><li>Intel .</li><li>1 Ethernet port.</li><li>1 HDMI port.</li><li>Size H2.62, W37.8, D25.3cm.</li><li>Weight 2.45kg.</li></ul>
Overall rating:
3.786 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
10 of 1471%would recommend to a friend
Sort by Customer reviews for Asus X55A 500GB 4GB 15.6 Inch Laptop with Windows 8.
Review 1 for Asus X55A 500GB 4GB 15.6 Inch Laptop with Windows 8.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
cannot find any thing wrong
Posted30 October 2013
Customer avatar
By johnbg
From:Derbyshire, UK
Age:45 to 54
Battery life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" a good by for myself now had to buy another for my daughter now thats two this year "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Asus X55A 500GB 4GB 15.6 Inch Laptop with Windows 8.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good budget laptop
Posted30 October 2013
Customer avatar
By Woody555
From:East Riding of Yorkshire, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" I was in the market for a basic laptop and this Asus unit fits the bill nicely.
The touch pad is hard to use as pre-configured, if you turn off the features it works well enough.
Windows 8 has an awful user interface, even after the free 3.64 GB upgrade to 8.1, however if you install the freeware program "Classic Shell" you bring back a proper start button and menu system making it into a proper laptop that behaves as if Windows XP (or Windows 7) is installed. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Asus X55A 500GB 4GB 15.6 Inch Laptop with Windows 8.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
My new laptop...-_-
Posted29 October 2013
Customer avatar
By StevenH17
From:London, UK
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
Battery life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
" Terrible the worst laptop ever "
No, I do not recommend this product.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Asus X55A 500GB 4GB 15.6 Inch Laptop with Windows 8.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Asus x55a
Posted08 October 2013
Customer avatar
By Louise80
From:Crieff, Perth and Kinross PH7, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This laptop is great...set up easy n could use straight away..windows 8 takes a bit of getting used to but my 9yr old daughter soon put me right "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Asus X55A 500GB 4GB 15.6 Inch Laptop with Windows 8.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Disappointing
Posted31 July 2013
Customer avatar
By RDB
From:Durham,
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
" Slow to download and sticks in hibernation requiring removal of the battery to restart it, "
No, I do not recommend this product.
-7points
7of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Asus X55A 500GB 4GB 15.6 Inch Laptop with Windows 8.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
aweful buy
Posted15 May 2013
Customer avatar
By spike
From:kent
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
" item returned it was rubbish "
No, I do not recommend this product.
-38points
6of 50voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Asus X55A 500GB 4GB 15.6 Inch Laptop with Windows 8.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Laptop
Posted14 May 2013
Customer avatar
By Lucy
From:Lancashire
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
" This is a great laptop, at a reasonable price, looks expensive, very fast and easy to use. Was a bit concerned that it had windows 8 due to hearing a lot of negative comments from others, but have to be honest, I love it!!! Love the fact that all my emails, music, pictures and games are all on the one screen and are there at a click of the mouse. Touchscreen is not required, and can always go back
to the desktop screen if preferred. Have already recommended it to my mum as it is so easy to use.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+22points
22of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Asus X55A 500GB 4GB 15.6 Inch Laptop with Windows 8.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best ever purchase
Posted14 May 2013
Customer avatar
By Sue B
From:lincs
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
" bought this for my granddaughter and she is over the moon with quality of this laptop. Just what she wanted for study work etc for college. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Asus X55A 500GB 4GB 15.6 Inch Laptop with Windows 8.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not good enough
Posted04 May 2013
Customer avatar
By conqueror
From:United Kingdom
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
" First things first, this unit comes with windows 8 which is a flop in technological design, windows 8 was built for touch-screen devices and adapted poorly to non-touch screen devices. This laptop is not a touch-screen so it makes it a frustratingly challenging to use {imaging trying to use touch-screen gestures as you would use on a touch-screen phone, but do doing so using a track-pad mouse}.
The hardware components of this device is very{and i do mean very cheaply designed}. The plastic has parts that melt at room temperature and the keyboard is so cheaply made that a simple damp wipe will make it malfunction same goes to the track-pad{wipe it with a damp cloth and it is doomed to fail}. Thankfully after hours of drying it could recover functionality but very sensitively too that sweat from your palm will make it malfunction. Don't think about using a hair-dryer on this thing {i've tried and the keys on the keyboard baked and melted that is how cheaply thinly designed they are}.
The speaker are located under the device{and high pitched - lacking deep bass} so if you place it on a soft surface, it will most likely drown the audio output except you use external speakers.
It rarely gets overheated which is a plus, as you can carry it about in standby mode without fear of frying. It if did, all the keys on the keyboard would have probably melted off.
Battery life is decent ranging within 3-4hours of use and putting it in standby. Aggressive/intesnive use will get you about 2-2.5hours of battery life.
One other thing, don't you think of removing the manufacturer recovery partition for windows 8 cause that would be the end of using using windows 8 on this device. Microsoft does not offer download even if you have geekly managed to retrieve the authentic key, and ASUS will not give you any means to recover it either, its says so on their website. Your option would be to buy another copy of windows 8 and if you intend to sell it, buyers mostly insist that windows 8 be installed on it. {It will not accept any other version of windows other than windows 8 - it is not backward compatible to windows 7-vista-xp... and so on. It will not accept any of the previous versions and it will also not accept a 32bit version of any operating system. It will only accept 64bit version of windows 8 and 64 bit versions of only a handful of selective linux distros of which i am currently using one of that on it.}
Geek section:
Processor is reasonably quick for a celeron CPU and the 4GB of ram is decent of which you can allocate the amount of out of the RAM that you want to dedicate to your graphics card {from 32mb up to 512mb}, 500GB hard-drive is decently reasonable storage with a fast usb 3.0 for transfer of files to external harddrives.
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
30of 56voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Asus X55A 500GB 4GB 15.6 Inch Laptop with Windows 8.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent buy
Posted27 April 2013
Customer avatar
By moncha
From:Liskeard
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
" I bought the asus thinking I would not get on with a laptop. I have had a tower and monitor for 7 years, I started to have problems with it and a friend recommended the asus so I bought one I get on with it better than my other one and since got rid of the old tower. I was so impressed with the asus that I told my partner about it and he has purchased one for himself. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Asus X55A 500GB 4GB 15.6 Inch Laptop with Windows 8.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very good for price
Posted23 April 2013
Customer avatar
By Mr Campbell
From:Bedfordshire
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
" Was bought as a replacement for an elderly persons computer. Very easy to use, easy to assemble and easy to understand! Especially for an old person. Great purchase and very good value for money! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Asus X55A 500GB 4GB 15.6 Inch Laptop with Windows 8.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted02 April 2013
Customer avatar
By Jean
From:Lancs
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
" Bought two for my grandchildren and was impressed by the performance so I bought one for myself.Good product.Jean "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Asus X55A 500GB 4GB 15.6 Inch Laptop with Windows 8.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
laptop
Posted13 March 2013
Customer avatar
By kevin
From:cleveland
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
" Very impressed with everything from start to finish no problems whatsoever and A very good product "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Asus X55A 500GB 4GB 15.6 Inch Laptop with Windows 8.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
old being tutored
Posted13 March 2013
Customer avatar
By daisyboy
From:WIRRAL
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
" Had to have my 13 year old Granddaughter to explain things to me, what with all the apps etc?
but just like a most p.c's once you get past the funny looking screen etc, very pleased with purchase.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.