Top-rated product

Philips AJ3231 Alarm Clock Radio - Silver.

<p>This Philips alarm clock radio has two alarm times, so you can set one alarm time to wake you up and the other to wake up your partner. Connect your MP3 player and play your favourite tunes through the speakers. Sleep timer lets you slowly drop off to your favourite music.</p><p>Product features:</p><ul><li>FM/MW tuner.</li><li>0.1 watts RMS - the average measurement of a speakers output.</li><li>Dual alarm.</li><li>Wake up to alarm/radio.</li><li>Snooze function to delay alarm.</li></ul><p>General information:</p><ul><li>Size H14, W14, D6cm.</li><li>Mains operated.</li><li>EAN: 8712581425272.</li></ul>
Overall rating:
4.091 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 295 reviews
5 Stars
133
4 Stars
107
3 Stars
25
2 Stars
9
1 Star
21
198 of 23784%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
40 Questions | 42 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Philips AJ3231 Alarm Clock Radio - Silver.
Review 1 for Philips AJ3231 Alarm Clock Radio - Silver.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very Stylish
Posted27 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Parky22
From:Lancashire
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I think this product is very stylish looking. Very easy to set up and to read the clock. The clock display has 2 brightness settings, which is good as you can dim it at night time if you wish. Radio is clear enough and you can plug your smart phone or MP3 player into it as well and listen to your music. Alarm functions easy to use, but disappointingly, I think the buzzer for the alarm is too quiet, so I am using the radio function to wake me up, this is the only real down side to this product. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Philips AJ3231 Alarm Clock Radio - Silver.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Recommend - yes but....................!!!!!!
Posted22 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Bourneal
From:Lincs
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Sleek, elegant but oh so difficult to set the alarm etc. the controls are slider switches but with nothing to get hold of, OK if you happen to have long fingernails! Also our one may well be going back, on the 'dim' setting some segments of numbers are very bright which looks a bit silly. Fortunately retired so don't have to rely on alarm but think Philips have gone for looks over practicality.
Nice but difficult if you rely on the alarm every day "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Philips AJ3231 Alarm Clock Radio - Silver.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Stylish & smart but awkward to set/reset
Posted22 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Elsie
From:Glasgow
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Received free product:Yes
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
1 / 5
1 / 5
" Looks lovely & clock easy to see.
However, the buttons are not very clear to see, took us a while to set & now it's ok.
If you pull the plug accidentally, you need to reset everything (I have a pure clock/radio & it remembers your alarm & resets clock itself)
However, this was on promotion so great price. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Philips AJ3231 Alarm Clock Radio - Silver.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Poor quality just didn't work
Posted22 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Disappointed
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
1 / 5
1 / 5
" Difficult to set alarm times failed to go off , display would flash when you touched the clock ! Not Good ! "
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Philips AJ3231 Alarm Clock Radio - Silver.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice design
Posted22 January 2015
Customer avatar
By A
From:Coulsdon
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Love the design and sound of this alarm clock but the snooze button is quite small and difficult to find when you are semi awake. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Philips AJ3231 Alarm Clock Radio - Silver.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
An alarm clock that actually loses time!
Posted12 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Marti1986
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I bought my original clock in August 2014 and noticed after 2 weeks that it was a few minutes slow. Having set it from my watch I thought I would google the time and set it from google. A week later it was a few minutes slow. I was past my 30day Argos return policy so contacted Philips who agreed (in a very easy process) to replace the clock. I set up the new clock and within a week it was running 3 minutes slow. With this running off the electric mains it is obviously a fault within the clock. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Philips AJ3231 Alarm Clock Radio - Silver.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great alarm clock
Posted08 January 2015
Customer avatar
By HRM24
From:Cleveland
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Exactly what we where looking for, great value for money and looks really nice too. Very pleased. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Philips AJ3231 Alarm Clock Radio - Silver.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted08 January 2015
Customer avatar
By S
Age:35 to 44
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Nicemodern clock for a child "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Philips AJ3231 Alarm Clock Radio - Silver.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Stylish design
Posted30 December 2014
Customer avatar
By Bella
From:Gwent
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Bought this for my son, very pleased with design and quality , would recommend "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Philips AJ3231 Alarm Clock Radio - Silver.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Posted27 November 2014
Customer avatar
By Chewie
From:Scotland
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Great display but this is my second clock and believe it or not , it loses time! An electric,digital clock that loses time I don't understand it. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Philips AJ3231 Alarm Clock Radio - Silver.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Alarm Clock Radio
Posted23 November 2014
Customer avatar
By JT
From:Cork, Ireland
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" A monkey could set this up, no need to read any booklets it was as simple as can be, nice smart design & not too bright for the bedroom "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Philips AJ3231 Alarm Clock Radio - Silver.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Alarm Clock / Radio
Posted12 November 2014
Customer avatar
By canute
From:Leek, Leek, Staffordshire ST13, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Was pleased to find it has 2 alarms which can be set independently. The display can be set to 2 levels, the low setting great for night time. Overall a very slim stylish unit with all features you would require at a fair price. Argos provided a good service with reservation and quick collection. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Philips AJ3231 Alarm Clock Radio - Silver.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great design, great features
Posted29 October 2014
Customer avatar
By matrev
From:Arklow, Co. Wicklow, Ireland
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I am very happy with this purchase. The two alarms can become handy. The radio is really easy to use, and you can plug in your own device to listen to your own music. Beautiful design, doesn't ruin the bedroom atmosphere. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Philips AJ3231 Alarm Clock Radio - Silver.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great design
Posted21 October 2014
Customer avatar
By Bonestones
From:Lewes
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Looks good and functions well. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Philips AJ3231 Alarm Clock Radio - Silver.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Overall good
Posted14 October 2014
Customer avatar
By PJD
From:Southampton, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" The buttons on the side to set the time and alarm are a bit awkward. Buttons on the top for on-off are good.
Overall good
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Philips AJ3231 Alarm Clock Radio - Silver.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good radio alarm
Posted10 October 2014
Customer avatar
By pete
Age:35 to 44
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" What initially drew me to this one was the difference of it to all the others, plus the colour of the numbers matched our walls!
It's a simple radio-alarm with the added benefit of having 2 alarms, for those partners who get up at different times.
The sound quality is not great by any means, but then how much quality do you need when you just wake up?!
Features analogue tuning and volume dials, snooze button, easy to set time and alarms. All in all a nice little number with an unusual look.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Philips AJ3231 Alarm Clock Radio - Silver.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Looks great ,awkward to use!
Posted23 September 2014
Customer avatar
By jamie222
From:Southampton, Southampton, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
1 / 5
1 / 5
" Lovely mirrored appearance but not practical. Buttons are flat and small, making settings difficult and almost impossible to use in the dark. Looks great on the bedside table though! "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Philips AJ3231 Alarm Clock Radio - Silver.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
alarm clock
Posted23 September 2014
Customer avatar
By dave
From:north tyneside
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" quite a good design I needed glasses on to read the info on the switches apart from that quite satisfied for the price "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Philips AJ3231 Alarm Clock Radio - Silver.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Tinny sound
Posted16 September 2014
Customer avatar
By alano
From:Buckinghamshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" I always buy Philips equipment and thought this design looked really nice, but the sound is very tinny and grating so I took it back. Pity, but waking up to the sound in the morning was annoying "
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Philips AJ3231 Alarm Clock Radio - Silver.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good alarm clock
Posted02 September 2014
Customer avatar
By Mehrdad
From:Brighton, The City of Brighton and Hove, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This is exactly what I was searching for, slick design and very operational. The only set back is that the radio can not be used on its own. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 Next >>>