Top-rated product

Philips AJ3231 Alarm Clock Radio - Silver.

<p>This Philips alarm clock radio has two alarm times, so you can set one alarm time to wake you up and the other to wake up your partner. Connect your MP3 player and play your favourite tunes through the speakers. Sleep timer lets you slowly drop off to your favourite music.</p><p>Product features:</p><ul><li>FM/MW tuner.</li><li>0.1 watts RMS - the average measurement of a speakers output.</li><li>Dual alarm.</li><li>Wake up to alarm/radio.</li><li>Snooze function to delay alarm.</li></ul><p>General information:</p><ul><li>Size H14, W14, D6cm.</li><li>Mains operated.</li><li>EAN: 8712581425272.</li></ul>
Overall rating:
4.135 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 275 reviews
5 Stars
128
4 Stars
99
3 Stars
22
2 Stars
9
1 Star
17
183 of 21784%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
40 Questions | 42 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Philips AJ3231 Alarm Clock Radio - Silver.
Review 1 for Philips AJ3231 Alarm Clock Radio - Silver.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good alarm clock
Posted02 September 2014
Customer avatar
By Mehrdad
From:Brighton, The City of Brighton and Hove, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is exactly what I was searching for, slick design and very operational. The only set back is that the radio can not be used on its own."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Philips AJ3231 Alarm Clock Radio - Silver.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Phillips AJ3231
Posted02 September 2014
Customer avatar
By Cootje
From:Oxfordshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"Difficult to set up. Alarm sound so soft this would not wake anyone. I did like the design but that is not the purpose of an alarm clock radio. So I returned it the next day."
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Philips AJ3231 Alarm Clock Radio - Silver.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Don't waste your time
Posted02 September 2014
Customer avatar
By Annie K
From:Tavistock, Tavistock, Devon PL19, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"Don't usually write reviews for items. BUT this clock radio is such bad quality that I just have to. The radio feels very light and flimsy, the sound is the cheapest quality you can imagine. The display is almost impossible to see in daylight. I felt so strongly about the low quality of this item I was not even prepared to stick it in the spare room. I took it back to Argos (30 mile round trip) the following day and got my money back. I would strongly recommend that you DO NOT BUY THIS ITEM."
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Philips AJ3231 Alarm Clock Radio - Silver.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Phillips AJ3231 Alarm Clock Radio
Posted12 August 2014
Customer avatar
By Buzzard
From:Portishead, North Somerset, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"This was chosen as a budget clock for a spare bedroom. The radio is a bonus as we only wanted a nice looking functional modern looking clock. It was very easy to set up from the instructions and the radio is adequate for the location."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Philips AJ3231 Alarm Clock Radio - Silver.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good gift
Posted05 August 2014
Customer avatar
By Peter
From:Norwich
Age:65 or over
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"Given as a gift. Not had any complaints."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Philips AJ3231 Alarm Clock Radio - Silver.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very modern and stylish
Posted29 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Michael56
From:Rochdale
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This Philips AJ3231 Alarm Clock Radio looks great and is easy to use."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Philips AJ3231 Alarm Clock Radio - Silver.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great features
Posted08 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Tina57
From:London, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Nice big numbers the radio is loud so we have the alarm on that the buzzer is very quite.2 alarms and they can be set at different times.a bit fiddley to turn alarm off in the dark cause everything is a bit close together but when you get used to it it's fine.don't take up much space and the clock has a low and high setting for the light ."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Philips AJ3231 Alarm Clock Radio - Silver.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Baggies1952
Posted08 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Baggies1952
From:West midlands
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This product was great value"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Philips AJ3231 Alarm Clock Radio - Silver.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Looks good
Posted02 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Suzy
From:U.K.
Age:45 to 54
Sound Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"Looks good - time easy to see - sound from radio is tinny but didn't expect anything else for the price !"
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Philips AJ3231 Alarm Clock Radio - Silver.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good product
Posted02 July 2014
Customer avatar
By tlrzwy
From:Birmingham UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"For this price, it is a good product. Looks lovely and nice, perfect size. Set up is simple and straightforward. However, the side push bottons are not so easy to operate. This is the only issue I really hope Philips can improve in furture.
Conclusively, good product at this price."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Philips AJ3231 Alarm Clock Radio - Silver.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Subtle lighting doesn't keep you awake
Posted01 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Maclaren
From:Southampton, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"A previous clock lit up the room like Blackpool Illuminations- sleep was out of the question. This clock ticks all the boxes, stylish, takes up hardly any room,easy to set up. Sound might not be top end hi-fi but is good enough to wake you up. Excellent value all round, would highly recommend it."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Philips AJ3231 Alarm Clock Radio - Silver.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Phillips radio alarm
Posted24 June 2014
Customer avatar
By gornalgal
From:West Midlands
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Replacement for the old model. Looks very good, I like this clock very much."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Philips AJ3231 Alarm Clock Radio - Silver.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Clock Radio
Posted27 May 2014
Customer avatar
By julie
From:Lancs
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Great stylish alarm clock/radio. Looks good and sounds great. Value for money."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Philips AJ3231 Alarm Clock Radio - Silver.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
An elegant and uncluttered clock/radio
Posted21 May 2014
Customer avatar
By Daveh
From:Hampshire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"A great looking clock that does all it says. Set up is simple, and the dual alarms with different tones very useful. The display is good against the mirror background, but can be difficult to see in bright daylight.
The radio is adequate for its purpose although tuning is rather tricky. It is necessary to learn the positions of the control buttons since they are difficult to see in low light.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Philips AJ3231 Alarm Clock Radio - Silver.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Average sound, nice design.
Posted20 May 2014
Customer avatar
By Pete
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This looks great and the amber light is easy on the eye. Being able to connect a media device is great but here's where the product becomes average. The sound quality is a little flat, there are no settings to change that. Also the aux input is shared with radio when it comes to the alarm, so if you set your device to play an album with the clock set to sleep, when the alarm goes off, it wont wake you unless you set it to buzzer. But I use the buzzer and it's fine though it could be much louder!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Philips AJ3231 Alarm Clock Radio - Silver.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Philips alarm clock radio, silver
Posted22 April 2014
Customer avatar
By Chris
From:Merseyside
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Stylish clock radio, easy to use, can set two alarms if needed."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Philips AJ3231 Alarm Clock Radio - Silver.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great modern radio
Posted16 April 2014
Customer avatar
By lucy
From:England
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"great radio a little tricky to set up but read the instructions and follow them then its ok"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Philips AJ3231 Alarm Clock Radio - Silver.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
new clock radio
Posted15 April 2014
Customer avatar
By cath
From:Scotland
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"Looks nice easy to unpack etc but buttons on side are a bit fiddly and light coloured - i had to use a torch to read them. But ok for price."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Philips AJ3231 Alarm Clock Radio - Silver.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
A shadow of its former self
Posted21 March 2014
Customer avatar
By PeterT
From:East Midlands uk
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I had the previous model to this for many many years; the clock failed. I bought this one and whilst the design is more modern Philips have skimped on everything else. The sound quality and volume are very poor - you do get used to it. It is light weight, probably because the loud speaker is cheap. The old one had buttons with tactile marks. This one the buttons are concealed and flush with the top so even to turn it off/on you need to look. The display is larger but not too bright."
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Philips AJ3231 Alarm Clock Radio - Silver.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lovely clock for the bedroom
Posted18 March 2014
Customer avatar
By steve
From:West Yorkshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Really nice looking clock with easy to see numbers, not really tried the radio as just wanted a clock that you could see in the dark."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 13 Next >>>