Sorry this product is currently unavailable. Please visit Argos for similar products.

Ion USB Cassette Deck.

Allows you to convert your tapes directly to CD or MP3 with the included recording software, no special drivers needed. The ION USB cassette deck includes audacity software for Mac/PC, for recording and easy converter software for PC only. This cassette deck also has line level output for connecting to any home stereo with CD or auxiliary (AUX) inputs. This product is compatible with any software that supports USB audio input sound cards. Line level RCA outputs. Computer requirements: PC running Windows 98, 2000, or XP, Mac running OS9 or greater, one available USB1.1 port. Size (H)19 (W)48 (D)30cm.
Overall rating:
3.943 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 35 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
4
5 of 683%would recommend to a friend
Sort by Customer reviews for Ion USB Cassette Deck.
Review 1 for Ion USB Cassette Deck.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Great basic transfer tool
Posted11 August 2010
Customer avatar
By shedevans
From:Bromborough, Wirral
" This tape to PC deck, does what it says, transfers data from tape to PC using a downloadable program from disc and by making some small adjustments to your PC. Information and instructions all provided. It also comes with an itunes program to store music on.
It has two tape desks for some reason, (I thought the idea was to transfer from tape to PC, not tape to tape? It also does not have a mixer or sound leveller control so as to control levels that you are recording to the program. It is also a little bulky. Uploading music to the itunes program is a bit slow, but it does the job eventually.
It does the job it is bought for, so I do recomend it, but because of the details above, only mark it as four stars. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Ion USB Cassette Deck.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Buy
Posted03 August 2010
Customer avatar
By Angela
From:Nottingham,England
" I am very pleased with this cassette deck. It's easy to use and gives good quality recordings to my PC.
I would recommend it to anyone wanting to convert old tape recordings to digital format. The conversions are automatically placed in iTunes but the original files are stored where they can be easily placed onto other mp3 players.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Ion USB Cassette Deck.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tape to cd - easy!
Posted11 May 2010
Customer avatar
By Northerner
From:South Yorkshire
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" When I opened the box I found the Ion cassette deck to look a bit cheap and plastic-like so I was a bit dubious. However, once I set it up with my hifi and with the computer it is brilliant!
Im good at working with audio on the pc using Audacity and Audiograbber etc but anyone can use the EZ tape converter software that comes with the cassette deck - its so easy.
I have been editing songs from my tape collection and compiling to cd with ease. The mp3 sound quality is a really good rate and an excellent way to preserve your ancient cassette recordings. This is especially so if you have old tapes which are nearing the end of their life.
All-in-all, I would recommend this product to anyone. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Ion USB Cassette Deck.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted14 February 2010
Customer avatar
By Rik
From:Wales
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Does what it's suppose to but on someone else's computer. It isn't compatible with windows 7 or my older comp which was still on windows ME. It can only be used on on XP or Vista, so if you got something older or newer than either of these forget it.. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Ion USB Cassette Deck.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted16 December 2009
Customer avatar
By Kevin
From:Flintshire
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" A very good piece of equipment which creates excellent MP3 reproductions of old cassettes.
Setting up is simplicity itself.
The system however is not without faults, eg:
The "Gracenote" facility takes many times longer to find track info than it would take to type it in manually and I invariably find, on transferring to itunes, that the system makes duplicate entries.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Ion USB Cassette Deck.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ion USB CASSETTE DECK
Posted10 November 2009
Customer avatar
By Bharat
From:LONDON
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
2 / 5
2 / 5
" I expected all in one product, as the catalogues description stated old cassette transfer to CD. But after buying it , I discovered I also required a computer, it turned out more complicated then I expected, I had to download into computer then transfer onto disc very time consuming. Had I known what I know now I definately would NOT BOUGHT this item "
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
5of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Ion USB Cassette Deck.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Like it
Posted19 August 2009
Customer avatar
By Chancer
From:UK
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" good product and easy to set up and use. "
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Ion USB Cassette Deck.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very pleased
Posted19 August 2009
Customer avatar
By Bryn
From:Wales
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" The best by far way of transfering old tapes to CD we have tried. Great sytem that works. "
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Ion USB Cassette Deck.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Impressive
Posted18 August 2009
Customer avatar
By Beyond1dream
From:Essex
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" A tape deck which is very useful at providing quality to hiss and distorted sounds from a tape recording, then converted to mp3. Ideal for those "Dj's" who've hung on to their valuable pre 90's recordings. The software included is invaluable to provide that quality, which then can be burned onto cd. "
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Ion USB Cassette Deck.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent purchase
Posted18 August 2009
Customer avatar
By ROSE
From:WALES
" Excellent purchashaving great fun converting old cassette tapes into cds easy to use "
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Ion USB Cassette Deck.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy peasy
Posted18 August 2009
Customer avatar
By Robb
From:West Sussex
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Was easy to set up and use. Haven't figured Audacity properly yet, but the software that came with it was adequate for speech "
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Ion USB Cassette Deck.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It just works
Posted27 May 2009
Customer avatar
By David
From:North Yorkshire
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" As stated, it simply does the job, easy as that.
Plug into mains, plug USB cord to computer, put in tape, press play and contents can be saved using whatever software you choose to use.
Supplied software seemed to be adequate but I stuck with my preferred product.
Only downsides for me are that with two tape decks it's a bit bulky. One tape deck would be OK for me.
An additional output to 3.5mm (headphone jack size) would be a benefit.
"
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Ion USB Cassette Deck.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ion Cassette deck
Posted18 April 2009
Customer avatar
By Richard A
From:Didcot
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" It does what it says plug and play to transfer cassettes to your pc. "
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Ion USB Cassette Deck.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
ion tape
Posted22 March 2009
Customer avatar
By dor
From:wigan
Sound Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
1 / 5
1 / 5
" i am disappointed with the sound it is very tinny not good at all the size o.k. and a lot of hassle to put a few songs on at a time "
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Ion USB Cassette Deck.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great fun
Posted15 February 2009
Customer avatar
By Rachel
From:Warwickshire
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" present for my retired dad - easy to set up and use - hours of pleasure for dad - mum shuts herself in the kitchen during some of his music history ! "
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Ion USB Cassette Deck.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Music saved for posterity
Posted12 February 2009
Customer avatar
By sillybilly
From:Carmarthenshire
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Easy to set up and operate. Basic computer knowledge needed. Comes with disc to load the operating programme onto the computer. Music from the cassettes sounds even better when recorded onto discs. Very clever product. "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Ion USB Cassette Deck.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Surprisingly straightforward
Posted10 February 2009
Customer avatar
By Stephen
From:Herts
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I wish other devices that you connect to a computer are as easy as this one. It did exactly what it said on the packet, without any conflicts. The software was not overly complicated with loads of unnecessary options. Just load the software, plug it in, and record.
However,I found the automatic music titling a minor irritation.
As this is something that you would not normally have permanently connected to your computer, it would have been handy to have the cable connections and gain control at the front.
I was using alternative cleaning software that I already had a my computer and found this straight forward to transfer from the iTunes folder. "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Ion USB Cassette Deck.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Works well
Posted10 February 2009
Customer avatar
By PePaSan
From:East Sussex
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Wanting to make space in my living room, I decided to try digitising my old cassette tapes so I can discard the old tapes and play nostalgic music on my iPod. I was glad to find Argos were selling this item which had good reviews on the wep pages I researched. It doesn't disappoint - does exactly what I expected and more and works equally well on Apple Macs as on Windows. "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Ion USB Cassette Deck.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ion USB Cassette Deck
Posted10 February 2009
Customer avatar
By Paul
From:Northampton
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Only used a couple of times so far. Very happy with output. Software could be more user friendly in naming tracks etc.... on the whole is is far superior to connecting cables to a regular cassette player. Recommended and cheaper at Argos too. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Ion USB Cassette Deck.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good buy
Posted10 February 2009
Customer avatar
By tal
From:uk
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" excellent buy for the purpose , will save money as i will not have to buy cd,s "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 Next >>>