Top-rated product
Sorry this product is currently unavailable. Please visit Argos for similar products.

Toshiba 40BV801 40 Inch Full HD 1080p Freeview HD LCD TV.

This elegantly-designed black Toshiba 40BV801 40in LCD TV with built-in HD Freeview tuner provides stunningly crisp and vibrant Full HD visuals. Complete with three HDMI sockets for your gaming and multimedia needs, it also features two USB ports - allowing you to view your photos and videos on its glorious high-definition display. LCD TV:Television picture quality:Full HD 1080p display resolution.Integrated Freeview HD digital tuner.40in (102cm) widescreen TV.Resolution 1920 x 1080 pixels.Refresh rate 50Hz.Brightness 450cd/m2.Contrast ratio 40000:1 (dynamic).Response time 8miliseconds.Viewing angle 178/178 degrees.Progressive scan.Connectivity:3 HDMI sockets, 2 SCART sockets and 2 USB ports.PC input socket.Component video socket.Composite.Headphone socket.S-Video socket.Ethernet connection.Sound quality:NICAM stereo sound system.2 x 8 watts RMS power output.Digital features:Digitally interactive.Digital text.Digital video broadcasting (DVB) subtitles available.Auto setup.Auto scan for new channels.Now and next programme guide.7 day electronic programme guide (EPG).CI slot.Audio description compatible.Additional features:Sleep timer.Child lock.Remote control batteries required 2 x AAA (included).Size of TV H61.3, W97, D9.9cm.Weight of TV 14.4kg (unpackaged).Complete with tabletop stand.Size of TV with stand H65.3, W97, D21.9cm.Weight of TV with stand 14.4kg.Suitable for wall mounting with a VESA 400 x 200mm bracket (bracket not included).Energy efficiency information:Energy efficiency rating: D.Energy efficiency index (EEI) 0.7.On mode power consumption 134 watts.Standby power consumption 0.5 watt.Mercury content 70mg.
Overall rating:
4.488 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 41 reviews
5 Stars
29
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
3
37 of 4190%would recommend to a friend
Sort by Customer reviews for Toshiba 40BV801 40 Inch Full HD 1080p Freeview HD LCD TV.
Review 1 for Toshiba 40BV801 40 Inch Full HD 1080p Freeview HD LCD TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted11 September 2012
Customer avatar
By Anonymous
From:DERBY
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
" Am very pleased with my T.V picture very sharpe. Thanks. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Toshiba 40BV801 40 Inch Full HD 1080p Freeview HD LCD TV.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Toshiba TV
Posted22 August 2012
Customer avatar
By philw
From:Shropshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
" My second Toshiba TV purchase. this one is even better with the HD tuner built in. Great picture and sound quality. Easy to set up and nice simple to use Remote.
This TV was very good value for it's spec' highly reccommended
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Toshiba 40BV801 40 Inch Full HD 1080p Freeview HD LCD TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great TV for money
Posted15 August 2012
Customer avatar
By Eugene
From:West Yorkshire
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
" Freeview HD channels are as clear as Sky HD. Only four in HD on freeview at present, but looks great on the kitchen wall. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Toshiba 40BV801 40 Inch Full HD 1080p Freeview HD LCD TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent purchase
Posted13 August 2012
Customer avatar
By Sophia
From:London
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
" After a few weeks, this TV has proved to be an excellent purchase. Extremely easy set up, nice picture, very modern looking. Definitely recommend! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Toshiba 40BV801 40 Inch Full HD 1080p Freeview HD LCD TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good value for money
Posted31 July 2012
Customer avatar
By steve horse
From:suffolk
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
" this tv has a crisp sharp picture on freeview hd and through hdmi socket with sky hd, very easy to set up, stand attached, so comes in massive box which is much better than some packaging i have seen for these large sets, which only can be a good thing for protection, remote is fantastic, real retro calculator look!!! would buy another one if i had the cash :-) "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Toshiba 40BV801 40 Inch Full HD 1080p Freeview HD LCD TV.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good TV, Bad Service
Posted18 July 2012
Customer avatar
By Rick
From:Wandsworth, London
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
2 / 5
2 / 5
" The TV is very good, the setup is a very simple digital TV, obviously not as snazzy as a Sony, but still works perfectly well for everything you can throw at it. The TV has so many connectivity options that you could probably wire up everything in your house to this single TV. The only downside was the ridiculous delivery slot of 6:00am to 8:00pm, which completely defeats the purpose of time slots. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Toshiba 40BV801 40 Inch Full HD 1080p Freeview HD LCD TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
VERY GOOD LOOKING TV
Posted18 July 2012
Customer avatar
By waffler
From:UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" EXCELLENT TV.VERY EASY TO SET UP AND YOU HAVE THE BONUS OF FREEVIEW HD AND SUFFICIENT SOCKETS ETC.. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Toshiba 40BV801 40 Inch Full HD 1080p Freeview HD LCD TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value TV
Posted17 July 2012
Customer avatar
By Alan
From:Swindon
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This tv has a good quality picture is easy to set up with the added bonus of freeview.
This review has been written after living with the tv for a few weeks so we have had time to find any dislikes - so far none to report
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Toshiba 40BV801 40 Inch Full HD 1080p Freeview HD LCD TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great bye
Posted05 July 2012
Customer avatar
By phil
From:rotherham, south yorkshire.
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" good tv , easy to set up, very reliable "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Toshiba 40BV801 40 Inch Full HD 1080p Freeview HD LCD TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A worthy upgrade!
Posted05 July 2012
Customer avatar
By Roger
From:Kent
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Digital switchover looming, it was time to replace the car sized old tv. Argos did us proud with this Toshiba, with a good selection of inputs to sort out the clutter.
Two scarts were needed for DVR and the Wii, with HD Sat and PS3 on the HDMI. Xbox Media center duties run on component to finish it off, leaving inputs to spare.
Fantastic picture quality and good sound for our room have confirmed our choice, but you must get used to the slight delay once an action has been set for the tv to react. The EPG is a bit sparse for information, less so than our old freeview box, but there is enough to get the right programmes.
All in all a lovely telly, on offer when bought so even better value, and as per the title, a worthy upgrade.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Toshiba 40BV801 40 Inch Full HD 1080p Freeview HD LCD TV.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good value for money
Posted04 July 2012
Customer avatar
By Irene
From:Cambridgeshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Nice looking TV, had a 32" before and we wanted to upgrade to a max 40" and we are happy with our purchase. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Toshiba 40BV801 40 Inch Full HD 1080p Freeview HD LCD TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GREAT TELEVISION
Posted28 June 2012
Customer avatar
By PANTS
From:NORFOLK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" GREAT TV BUT THE SOUND QUALITY HAS LET IT DOWN. PURCHASING A SOUND BAR MADE IT MUCH BETTER. VERY PLEASED WITH IT, VERY EASY TO SET UP, STAND ALREADY ATTACHED SO OUT OF THE BOX, PLUG IN, TUNE AND READY TO GO. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Toshiba 40BV801 40 Inch Full HD 1080p Freeview HD LCD TV.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted31 January 2012
Customer avatar
By glenn
From:somerset
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" overall a very good performer. one dislike is position of sockets on rear of unit making it hard to connect items .ie laptop or any usb device without turning the tv around.this would be very hard if wall mounted.
also up to now have been unable
to get onto the correct web site to explore added features of unit.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Toshiba 40BV801 40 Inch Full HD 1080p Freeview HD LCD TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An excellent entry to Freeview HD
Posted11 January 2012
Customer avatar
By Matt
From:Monmouthshire
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" We swapped a 32" CRT TV for this one and it was worth every penny.
Torn between the choice of a smaller Smart-TV or this one with the FreeviewHD built in, we chose to go down this route as the Smart-TV facilities are becoming available through various DVD/BlueRay Players.
The picture is excellent, especially on FreeviewHD.
The sound is probably not up to the standard of higer-end TVs, however it is very good for the price. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Toshiba 40BV801 40 Inch Full HD 1080p Freeview HD LCD TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
toshiba 40" T.V.
Posted10 January 2012
Customer avatar
By kaff55
From:England
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This was a really good buy. The quality is really good. Installation wasn't complicated and the instructions were easy to understand. I am a pensioner and even I found it easy. I have no dislikes about this product. The HD is an added bonus. Just brilliant
Kath. Hertfordshire
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Toshiba 40BV801 40 Inch Full HD 1080p Freeview HD LCD TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Flat Screen TV
Posted10 January 2012
Customer avatar
By whoopy-do
From:Middx
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Nice picture, good sound. Easy to connect up & get going. It did its auto-search without a problem. The DVD works fine with it though the video....is another story. I cant (yet) find where its playing. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Toshiba 40BV801 40 Inch Full HD 1080p Freeview HD LCD TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
40in tv
Posted05 December 2011
Customer avatar
By marie
From:notts
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" love it..... everything about it!!! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Toshiba 40BV801 40 Inch Full HD 1080p Freeview HD LCD TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Value
Posted15 November 2011
Customer avatar
By cynthia
From:United Kingdom
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I would recommend this tv to anyone it well wrth the money "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Toshiba 40BV801 40 Inch Full HD 1080p Freeview HD LCD TV.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent Value 40" LCD Full HDTV
Posted09 November 2011
Customer avatar
By Roebuck
From:England
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Picture quality is extremely good, menu system very easy to follow, intuitive with good range of options, connectivity is great with 3 HDMI connections & SPDIF audio port, plus standard Scart & AV Connections.
Summary:
A Good medium sized Full HD TV
the only things I have issues with are
1) the Standby light, which is only visible when in standby and is Silver in colour,
2) it seems to take a longtime to indicate that it is ON when swithing from standby.
These do not affect the operation of this extremely good quality TV "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Toshiba 40BV801 40 Inch Full HD 1080p Freeview HD LCD TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great tv
Posted01 November 2011
Customer avatar
By tommy
From:Scotland
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I have always bought Toshiba and have never been let down. Not with this one either.I switched it on and it virtually set up itself with - dvd - video recorder -Wii, all connected.
Delighted with the product and the price.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 Next >>>