Top-rated product
Sorry this product is currently unavailable. Please visit Argos for similar products.

Grundig GUFSAT01HD Freesat HD Digital Set Top Box.

This Grundig Freesat HD Digital Box provides access to over 200 television channels, including High Definition ones. You will also need a professionally installed satellite dish. This product needs a fully installed satellite dish to operate. Freesat receiver: Freesat HD. Digitally interactive. Digital text. Digital video broadcasting (DVB) subtitles available. Auto setup. Auto scan for new channels. Now and next programme guide. 8 day electronic programme guide (EPG). Audio description compatible. iPlayer compatible. Connectivity: LNB in. 1 HDMI socket (one cable included). 1 SCART socket. Ethernet connection. Additional information: Upscales to 1080i. Remote control batteries required 2 x AAA (included). Size H4.2, W26, D17cm. Weight 820g. Energy efficiency information: On mode power consumption 13 watts.
Overall rating:
4.018 / 5
4
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 55 reviews
5 Stars
23
4 Stars
20
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
4
1 Star
3
20 of 2291%would recommend to a friend
Sort by Customer reviews for Grundig GUFSAT01HD Freesat HD Digital Set Top Box.
Review 1 for Grundig GUFSAT01HD Freesat HD Digital Set Top Box.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Free TV
Posted07 June 2011
Customer avatar
By Dave
From:England
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Easy to follow set up instructions. Simple to operate. Nothing extra to buy. Plug it in and off you go. Free TV."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Grundig GUFSAT01HD Freesat HD Digital Set Top Box.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good value
Posted18 January 2011
Customer avatar
By richard adams
From:suffolk
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"no problems,works well"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Grundig GUFSAT01HD Freesat HD Digital Set Top Box.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
VALUE FOR MONEY
Posted12 October 2010
Customer avatar
By MAL
From:ENGLAND
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"Nice shiny black front to the case. Feels and looks good quality for the money.
Connected it up according to the supplied instructions and it worked perfectly. It has worked perfectly eversince. BBC & Itv HD very good. You can see detail in the picture that you just don't normally see.
There are 2 criticisms that I have re the product:
1. There is no indicator light to tell you that the unit is up and running., The fascia panel blue light only lights up when the unit is in standby mode. This can be a problem as when the unit is plugged into the mains after being unplugged, then by default the unit starts up automatically into the up and running mode. In this mode there is no indication that the unit is on. The only way you can tell is by turning the tv on. As I don't leave things on standby, i unplug after use, then everytime I plug it in it starts up. It would be better if you had to turn it on every time like most devices.
2. There is no explanation of how to set up BBC I PLAYER in the manual, you do have to go to the website for this. Small problem really, but there is no real mention of it in the manual. However, once on the website, then the setup procedure is easy.
Overall, I am happy with the product, especially with the HD and I PLAYER functions."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Grundig GUFSAT01HD Freesat HD Digital Set Top Box.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
expensive but works well
Posted22 July 2010
Customer avatar
By doodsville
From:anglesey
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"A labour to set up because it insists on downloading software before you can customise. However once set up works well and is easy to use. Timer as reminder is very useful.. Good picture and useful settings"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Grundig GUFSAT01HD Freesat HD Digital Set Top Box.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted20 July 2010
Customer avatar
By smoggs
From:cleveland
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I have only had the grundig for a few weeks ,but up to now it doe's what i want gives a few extra channels and the h d quality is very good i would also like to say that i was very happy with reserving on line and going to pick it up from argos will do this every time i shop at argos from now on."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Grundig GUFSAT01HD Freesat HD Digital Set Top Box.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted08 June 2010
Customer avatar
By Ron-Aberystwyth
From:Wales, Uk.
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"An excellent purchase. Worked straight away, and within minutes was fully loaded with all available channels. It really is the unit to buy if you want simplicity and effeciency, without complications."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Grundig GUFSAT01HD Freesat HD Digital Set Top Box.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Device
Posted08 June 2010
Customer avatar
By Sharma
From:LOUGHBOROUGH,ENGLAND
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"It is simple device - plug and play. Qulaity of picture is great even on a small TV. Worth it."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Grundig GUFSAT01HD Freesat HD Digital Set Top Box.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
does what it says on the box
Posted13 May 2010
Customer avatar
By bill
From:lancashire
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"very easy to set up,good picture and sound,The box gets hot, so I only plug mine in when using"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Grundig GUFSAT01HD Freesat HD Digital Set Top Box.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not very good on menu
Posted11 May 2010
Customer avatar
By Jamshid
From:E.Sussex
Range of features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality of EPG 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"I have got it few days ago not just for freesat ....for using on hotbird chanel too... it dos work ofcours.
on freesat every thing almost good but respond to remote control is poor and slow.
on NON freesat chanel ..no chanel list which make it difficult to work.
remote control is slow responding.....
unit easy to getting too hot....
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
-2points
3of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Grundig GUFSAT01HD Freesat HD Digital Set Top Box.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very good product
Posted10 May 2010
Customer avatar
By Anonymous
From:chippenham
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Easy to use and very simple to set-up.
Just need to make sure your sat. dish is correctly aligned!
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Grundig GUFSAT01HD Freesat HD Digital Set Top Box.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Returned Item
Posted28 April 2010
Customer avatar
By Mike
From:Worthing, West Sussex
Range of features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality of EPG 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"Takes forever to download programs etc, poor picture quality, no RGB."
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Grundig GUFSAT01HD Freesat HD Digital Set Top Box.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very pleased
Posted27 April 2010
Customer avatar
By Shaun
From:essex
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I am very pleased with this. It is simple to set up and use. Just connected it to my old dish and away it went. I finally have hdtv on the beeb and itv and more to come. Better than freeview at the moment more channels too"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Grundig GUFSAT01HD Freesat HD Digital Set Top Box.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Upgrade
Posted27 April 2010
Customer avatar
By Ron
From:Perthshire
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I already owned the SD version which is very good but with the purchase of a new tv I wanted to take advantage of the HD facility so read the specs and reviews of this model and thought that tthis machine would be as good as, if not better than, others.
Seems like I made the right choice, the SD picture is great and the one HD channel which I receive is fantastic. I look forward to more HD channels.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Grundig GUFSAT01HD Freesat HD Digital Set Top Box.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grundig GUFSAT01HD Freesat HD Digital Set Top Box.
Posted13 April 2010
Customer avatar
By Steve
From:Dorset
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This Freesat Box was very easy to operate, picture is stable and channel change quick and easy.
The only down side is the colour of the menu (Bland) to the eye but it does the job.
Menu does take a few seconds to catch up when flicking through what’s available other than that a good little buy.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Grundig GUFSAT01HD Freesat HD Digital Set Top Box.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Decent Freesat Box
Posted13 April 2010
Customer avatar
By Rich
From:Uxbridge
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I already had a satellite dish installed so it was really easy to install. It was literally plug and play! You have to install the channels first but the Freesat box does it all for you. The blue light is only on when the box is off (???) and is really bright especially in the dark!
Even though its a great box and really easy to install, I think its a little over priced."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Grundig GUFSAT01HD Freesat HD Digital Set Top Box.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brilliant
Posted17 March 2010
Customer avatar
By Dennis
From:Staffordshire
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"It was just a case of plug in and go. It was necessary to have a satelite dish to connect to - which I did as I had cancelled my satelite provider. It seems a little unusual that the power lamp is lit when the power is off. Would recoment this to anyone who wants HD on their television without any ongoing charge."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Grundig GUFSAT01HD Freesat HD Digital Set Top Box.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grundig GUFSAT01HD Freesat HD Digital Set Top Box.
Posted04 February 2010
Customer avatar
By John
From:Wales
"The first purchase was another manufacturers product. this blew up within the first week. Our new Grundig performs as it should and gives total satisfaction."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Grundig GUFSAT01HD Freesat HD Digital Set Top Box.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Value FreeSat Box
Posted19 January 2010
Customer avatar
By Dai
From:Mid-Glamorgan
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"As a retired technical engineer, i was very impressed with the operation of this model. It was easy to set up, and updates are a doddle. I like full sound features and this model has both phono and optical digital out. . It can provide full bitstreamed surround sound to both digital DVD recorder, and a separate audio decoder. Don't like the technical stuff? No problem. Plug it in, follow the simple instructions. It will work with a SCART setup, also HDMI for digital TVs. Sit back and in a few minutes you will be enjoying FREESAT."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Grundig GUFSAT01HD Freesat HD Digital Set Top Box.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Grundig sat01hd
Posted27 October 2009
Customer avatar
By Anonymous
From:Somerset
Range of features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality of EPG 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"I thought this was a dud at first when I connected it to my sat dish and turned it on at the mains - but after much head scratching and unpluning / repluging it seems that the way the box turns on is the opposite of the way you think!!!
The light on the front panel - if it is on (bright blue) it means the box is OFF - if the light is NOT on - the box IS ON - most confusing for a new beginner!!!
Still - all is now well and all freeview channels are viewable.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Grundig GUFSAT01HD Freesat HD Digital Set Top Box.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great product
Posted30 September 2009
Customer avatar
By phil
From:west midlands
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"i purchased this freesat box mainly because i wanted to recieve Hd Channels , i know that we have only BBC one,and ITV via the red button but i am looking ahead. the only trouble i had i wanted to KEEP my sky plus box ,mainly for the sport , the freesat box does have a LNB in and a LNB out ,which i thought would work with my exsiting sky box ,but it would not the reason being the sky box has two tuners so it would only partly record one channel then lose signal so only partly recording a programme , the only way it could work properly was to run a length of coax up to the sky satellite dish , this does have two spare connections to use if you wanted to have a sky boxes in other rooms , then the coax would connect to the LNB in , it works great now a freesat with Hd,also sky tv"
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 Next >>>