Top-rated product

Alba Freeview Digital Set Top Box.

<p>This Alba Digital Set Top Box provides access to over 50 television stations and 20 radio channels on a non-digital TV. Make the most of Freeview with digital interactive and text, allowing you to get access to all the latest news and information.</p><p>Digital set top box features:</p><ul><li>Digital text.</li><li>RF loop.</li><li>Auto setup.</li><li>7 day electronic programme guide.</li></ul><p>Connectivity:</p><ul><li>1 SCART socket.</li></ul><p>Additional information:</p><ul><li>Remote control batteries required 2 x AAA (included).</li><li>Size H4, W15, D10cm.</li><li>Weight 500g.</li></ul><p>EAN: 5322226</p>
Overall rating:
4.178 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 337 reviews
5 Stars
180
4 Stars
97
3 Stars
23
2 Stars
14
1 Star
23
288 of 33785%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
113 Questions | 178 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Alba Freeview Digital Set Top Box.
Review 1 for Alba Freeview Digital Set Top Box.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Posted08 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Blue
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Range of features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality of EPG 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"Don't like that when your looking at the TV guide you can't watch the current program your watching, but ok for your basic free view box for the bedroom."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Alba Freeview Digital Set Top Box.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
North West and Wales
Posted08 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Roy
From:Manchester, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is an excellent product. We get signals from Wales and the North West transmitters. This product allows you to select your transmitter so if you live in the NW you don't need to learn Welsh."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Alba Freeview Digital Set Top Box.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
this product is well worth money
Posted02 July 2014
Customer avatar
By shell
From:Wolverhampton, West Midlands, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"this product is realy good and well worth the money does the job perfect"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Alba Freeview Digital Set Top Box.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect
Posted24 June 2014
Customer avatar
By Debs
From:West Norwood, London, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Does exactly what it stands for.
Collected an old TV (Toshiba from year 2005) and connected to the Digital Box and also plugged the TV Aerial to this box and... Txanan !
Works in perfection, managed to get more than 100 channels plus Radio.
Totally happy.
Happy ending with totally affordable solution !
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Alba Freeview Digital Set Top Box.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
poor
Posted13 June 2014
Customer avatar
By nobby
From:East Riding of Yorkshire, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Range of features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality of EPG 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"poor reception, cant get many channels"
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Alba Freeview Digital Set Top Box.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted10 June 2014
Customer avatar
By barb
From:uk
Age:65 or over
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Easy to set up, simple to use, excellent basic box, good value"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Alba Freeview Digital Set Top Box.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted03 June 2014
Customer avatar
By Tan
From:Shropshire, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Very good for grandchildren"
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Alba Freeview Digital Set Top Box.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent, were it not for the red light.
Posted27 May 2014
Customer avatar
By Shiloh
From:Gloucestershire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"This product is very neat and serves the purpose for which it is intended.
It would be even better for me if it could be switched off rather than left on standby with the red light on. I have to unplug it if I want to get rid of the light."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Alba Freeview Digital Set Top Box.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Posted29 April 2014
Customer avatar
By AITCH
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"IT DOES WHAT IT SAYS, VALUE FOR THE PRICE, IF YOU WANT MORE YOU PAY MORE"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Alba Freeview Digital Set Top Box.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
You get what you pay for.
Posted27 April 2014
Customer avatar
By Ian
From:North Yorkshire, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Range of features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality of EPG 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"It was cheap so I should have expected it break down. Taking it back!"
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Alba Freeview Digital Set Top Box.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good for the bedroom.
Posted22 April 2014
Customer avatar
By Paul
From:Hertfordshire
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
Range of features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
2 / 5
2 / 5
"I brought this set top box for the bedroom as the TV doesn't have built in freeview. It does a good enough job for catching the odd programme or two before bed. The EPG is the only slight problem, there isn't an option to display any information about the programme before selecting it which seems to be frequently found on other boxes.
If you are looking for a cost effective box this suits the bill."
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Alba Freeview Digital Set Top Box.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
its compact
Posted22 April 2014
Customer avatar
By panda
From:dorset
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"its not a bad product there as not as many channels as i thought but its mainly for a friend when they come up as i use it for films. so its fine for that"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Alba Freeview Digital Set Top Box.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Easy set-up
Posted22 April 2014
Customer avatar
By Richard
From:Suffolk
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Very easy to set-up, and works well, but remote control seems a bit on the cheap side, so not sure how long that will last."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Alba Freeview Digital Set Top Box.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sensible price for basic use.
Posted16 April 2014
Customer avatar
By NALA
From:Dorset
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Easy to set up. I have only used the basic features to change the TV to view the six programmes and teletext that I need. It is not possible to comment further than to say that while the buttons are harder to push than the unit that it replaces the teletext response is far faster."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Alba Freeview Digital Set Top Box.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Alba Freeview Digital Set Top box
Posted15 April 2014
Customer avatar
By me
From:Hampshire, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Range of features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality of EPG 
2 / 5
2 / 5
"The remote control is not very be set out and you can only view the guide for one channel at a time, so choosing your viewing is difficult."
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Alba Freeview Digital Set Top Box.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very happy
Posted08 April 2014
Customer avatar
By Runtings
From:London, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This product surprised me but I am very happy with it and I would recommend this product to people."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Alba Freeview Digital Set Top Box.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cheap and very cheerful
Posted08 April 2014
Customer avatar
By ajripcon
From:Essex
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Excellent price, good picture and worked straight out of the box. Superb little device."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Alba Freeview Digital Set Top Box.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was plesantly surprised
Posted01 April 2014
Customer avatar
By Senna
From:Essex
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"A cheap box like is so easy to use and the colour output is great. Good work Alba!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Alba Freeview Digital Set Top Box.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good quality
Posted01 April 2014
Customer avatar
By ellie
From:Saint Helens, Merseyside, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"i have had this item before and its been really good i have 2 of them in my house now easy to install good quality and they take take up hardly any space"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Alba Freeview Digital Set Top Box.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Scart Lead
Posted01 April 2014
Customer avatar
By TC
From:Southend-on-Sea, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Range of features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality of EPG 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"Does not come with a Scart Lead."
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 15 Next >>>