Top-rated product
Sorry this product is currently unavailable. Please visit Argos for similar products.

Humax freesat Digital Set Top Box with DTV Recorder - 500GB.

<p>Record up to 300 hours of television with this Humax 500GB digital set top box and TV recorder. The built-in Freesat allows you to make the most of the vast array of digital channels, including subscription-free ones. Complete with twin tuner, it enables you to record 2 channels at once, or watch one while another is recording. </p><ul><li>This product needs a fully installed satellite dish to operate.</li></ul><p>Digital TV features:</p><ul><li>Digitally interactive.</li><li>Digital text.</li><li>Digital video broadcasting (DVB) subtitles available.</li><li>Auto setup.</li><li>Now and next programme guide.</li><li>8 day electronic programme guide (EPG).</li></ul><p>Recording features:</p><ul><li>Twin tuner.</li><li>500GB hard drive.</li><li>300 hours recording time.</li><li>Record 2 channels at the same time.</li><li>Series record.</li><li>Pause live TV.</li></ul><p>Connectivity:</p><ul><li>HDMI output.</li><li>2 SCART sockets (cable included).</li></ul><p>Additional information:</p><ul><li>Upscales to 1080p.</li><li>Remote control.</li><li>Size H5.5, W36, D25.5cm.</li><li>Weight 2500g.</li></ul><p>EAN/Barcode No: 8809095665369</p>
Overall rating:
4.689 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 106 reviews
5 Stars
83
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
99 of 10693%would recommend to a friend
Sort by Customer reviews for Humax freesat Digital Set Top Box with DTV Recorder - 500GB.
Review 1 for Humax freesat Digital Set Top Box with DTV Recorder - 500GB.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
well worth it
Posted25 June 2013
Customer avatar
By doggydays
From:Somerset
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
" I read the reviews before buying this product and I can honestly say it was worth every penny. My reception on freeview was rubbish and as there was a satalite dish already on the house I decided to try freesat, it was the best thing I've ever done wish I'd bought it sooner. The picture is great and its easy to record and playback, hired a tv man to fit as I needed the cable from the dish altering and he said this product was really good, would recommend to anyone. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Humax freesat Digital Set Top Box with DTV Recorder - 500GB.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good HD picture quality
Posted11 June 2013
Customer avatar
By Peter
From:Lancashire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
" Shame about the remote. When you're used to using a SKY remote with large play/pause buttons this takes some getting used to with tiny play/pause. The menu could have been designed better but you get used to it. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Humax freesat Digital Set Top Box with DTV Recorder - 500GB.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
humax freesat dtv recorder
Posted22 May 2013
Customer avatar
By Craig
From:Renfrewshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
" An easy to operate system / machine "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Humax freesat Digital Set Top Box with DTV Recorder - 500GB.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Problem Solved
Posted08 May 2013
Customer avatar
By Gunner
From:Torrevieja,Spain
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
" Got this to use in my Spanish apartment on a community system with a single feed into my apartment. Excellent picture quality with HD and able to record a different channel whilst watching another thanks to the LNB out to LNB in loop. Although this is slightly limited due to the single feed the Freesat software enables me to see which channels can be recorded whist watching another. An Ideal solution for people who can only have a single feed from a satellite dish. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Humax freesat Digital Set Top Box with DTV Recorder - 500GB.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great purchase
Posted07 May 2013
Customer avatar
By marlowe
From:eastleigh
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
" Arrived within 2 days very easy to set up . Easy to understand instructions. Lots of great features . It looks good too very sleek & modern in black . "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Humax freesat Digital Set Top Box with DTV Recorder - 500GB.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good product BUT!
Posted24 April 2013
Customer avatar
By Bobrcj
From:Suffolk
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
" Humax freesat Digital Set Top Box with DTV Recorder - 500GB. 532/2453 1
I purchased this item for a eighty year old neighbour from AGOS-on-line. This I had recommended to him based on previous HUMAX purchases plus the five star reviews from others suggesting it was easy unit to operate etc.
The quality of the pictures was impressive and initial setting up was quite straight forward. However, the learning curve of recording and playing back or deleting was found to be somewhat confusing for my aging neighbour to get his head around due to poor choice of words used in this manual. For example; Why it was thought to be clever to use foreign terminology when referring to “sort” as: “genre” is baffling to say the least.
Designers should remember; simplicity should always be paramount – not all your customers have a Oxford! st degree in electrical engineering.
B.J. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Humax freesat Digital Set Top Box with DTV Recorder - 500GB.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What it says it does
Posted09 April 2013
Customer avatar
By Pings
From:Northumberland
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
" Having done quite a lot of research, aslimited to what we can receive in our remote setting, and wanting to discontinue with Sky, decided to go for this, as recommended by a friend.
It was easy to install using the existing Sky cable from the Sky dish, as had no aerial in this particular room.
It has taken a while to get used to the remote control but after a week we're all happy bunnies!! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Humax freesat Digital Set Top Box with DTV Recorder - 500GB.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Limited Use
Posted04 April 2013
Customer avatar
By Jackie
From:Essex
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
" It is not obvious until you purchase the item and then read on the box that it is necessary to have two feeds from your satellite in order to record one channel and watch another at the same time.
The instruction manual says it is possible to overcome this by connecting a loop through. When this was done and it didn't work I was informed by Humax that the manual was incorrect.
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Humax freesat Digital Set Top Box with DTV Recorder - 500GB.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted28 March 2013
Customer avatar
By Jared
From:Lincolnshire
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
" Great product bought for my mother who missed the pause & record features when we cancelled our Sat provider.
Was easy to swap the existing Sat box to this & the instructions were straight forward.
Remote control is detailed & simple to use.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Humax freesat Digital Set Top Box with DTV Recorder - 500GB.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very happy with perchase
Posted27 March 2013
Customer avatar
By tony
From:lancs
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
" does every thing i wanted i it to found it easy to use features and set up "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Humax freesat Digital Set Top Box with DTV Recorder - 500GB.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very good buy
Posted21 March 2013
Customer avatar
By Shiloh
From:South Yorkshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
" Very happy with this simple to use machine, up and running within 5 mins of taking out of box, connecting and applying a few simple settings, e.g. language and post code, this is my second Humax machine, the first one is still in very good working order after 2 yrs of constant use. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Humax freesat Digital Set Top Box with DTV Recorder - 500GB.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted12 March 2013
Customer avatar
By kaz
From:uk
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
" so easy to set up no problems easy to use "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Humax freesat Digital Set Top Box with DTV Recorder - 500GB.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wish I'd bought it years ago
Posted06 March 2013
Customer avatar
By Mal
From:Cheshire
" Read reviews on lots of similar blankets and decided this was what I wanted. I reserved it on-line and collected it the next day; a very simple process. Having used it for over a week now, I am really pleased, and enjoying a measure of comfort I didn't think existed. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-6points
1of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Humax freesat Digital Set Top Box with DTV Recorder - 500GB.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not worth the money!
Posted01 March 2013
Customer avatar
By David
From:Irvine, Scotland
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
" Over-priced and over-rated is how I would describe this product. If you can find an alternative to Humax then I would choose that and not Humax. I needed some advice about a couple of issues, so I emailed Humax UK twice and they never even replied let alone offer any advice, so for me, that tells me a lot about Humax. When I bought my Humax, I was under the impression that I would have BBC iplayer and ITV player available to me, but as I live in Scotland I can only get BBC iplayer, so that was disappointing too. So you don't have that many programmes available to use the 'on demand' option. There are some really niggly things that are annoying too, the Humax sound differs from channel to channel especially the HD channels. You switch from say BBC 1 to BBC1 HD and the sound is deafening, you have to quickly turn down the sound before the neighbours start complaining. The remote control is pretty slow too. The picture quality is ok as is the programme guide, but as I said, this is not worth the money. Personally, I would just get a Freeview recorder and save a couple of hundred pounds! This is not a good buy! "
No, I do not recommend this product.
-10points
0of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Humax freesat Digital Set Top Box with DTV Recorder - 500GB.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
humax freesat
Posted13 February 2013
Customer avatar
By chris
From:devon
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
" Great picture, simple to install, save money and ditch the sky +box. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Humax freesat Digital Set Top Box with DTV Recorder - 500GB.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
one of the best products bought
Posted13 February 2013
Customer avatar
By Anonymous
From:north yorkshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
" very easy in install, very good picture,remote takes a bit of getting used to,would recommend this product "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Humax freesat Digital Set Top Box with DTV Recorder - 500GB.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best purchase
Posted13 February 2013
Customer avatar
By pheobe48
From:banbury
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
" Brillant Freesat box would highly recommend.,The best remote ever! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Humax freesat Digital Set Top Box with DTV Recorder - 500GB.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
brilliant product
Posted13 February 2013
Customer avatar
By trevor
From:cambs
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
" only had a fortnight, & have added ethernet cable & second cable which cost a bit more than i planned, but glad idid as picture etc. is brilliant and so far it does everything i want it to do & i'd recommend it to anyone "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Humax freesat Digital Set Top Box with DTV Recorder - 500GB.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
OK but awkward
Posted08 February 2013
Customer avatar
By John H
From:West Yorkshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
" Have had this 3 months now. Works well. Others will give a more technical review.
Good points:
* Reliable, high qualiy picture, easy to first set up, remote can be used to control other devices, start up time faster than MyView, Freesat choice of channels. More than adequate storage for most people, x64 maximum fast forward which is handy (MyView only goes up to X32)
Bad Points: Display icons small and orange so hard to read unless you already know what they indicate, Slow response to remote so often double click which is same as no action. Layout and logic of remote is awkward and complex making deleting recordings a check twice operation. If you have MyView many channels repeated but occasionaly a benefit when multiple recordings at same time slot.
Nearly gave this 4 stars but control dropped score to 3. OK when you get used to it but some learning needed.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Humax freesat Digital Set Top Box with DTV Recorder - 500GB.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
lovely product
Posted31 January 2013
Customer avatar
By john
From:west yorkshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
" very easy to set up and nice and easy to use, we didn't really know what we were buying but read other reviews , really glad we paid the extra money as its a quality product. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 Next >>>