Sorry this product is currently unavailable. Please visit Argos for similar products.

Hitachi Digital TV Recorder - 500GB.

<p>This Hitachi Digital Television Recorder with Freeview+ enables you to record up to 250 hours of television programmes directly on to the 500GB hard drive. It has a twin tuner, enabling you to record 2 channels at once or record one channel while watching a previous recording. It also has a series link option, 8 day television guide and can pause live TV.</p><p>Digital TV features:</p><ul><li>Digital text.</li><li>Electronic programme guide.</li></ul><p>Recording features:</p><ul><li>Freeview+.</li><li>Twin tuner.</li><li>500GB hard drive.</li><li>250 hours recording time.</li><li>Record 2 channels at the same time.</li><li>Record 1 channel whilst watching a previous recording.</li><li>Series record.</li><li>Pause live TV.</li></ul><p>Connectivity:</p><ul><li>1 SCART socket .</li></ul><p>Additional information:</p><ul><li>Remote control batteries required: 2 x AAA (included).</li><li>Size H4, W30, D20cm.</li><li>Weight 1550g.</li></ul><p>Energy efficiency information:</p><ul><li>On mode power consumption 18 watts.</li><li>Standby power consumption 1 watt.</li></ul><p>EAN: 4902530895476</p>
Overall rating:
3.903 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 144 reviews
5 Stars
64
4 Stars
48
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
4
1 Star
21
114 of 14479%would recommend to a friend
Sort by Customer reviews for Hitachi Digital TV Recorder - 500GB.
Review 1 for Hitachi Digital TV Recorder - 500GB.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not Brilliant but not Bad
Posted11 February 2014
Customer avatar
By rose74
From:Gwynedd, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
" i bought this for my bedroom tv as I already have another in my living room. It's ok simple to use but it has quite a delay in bringing up the tv menu, when you press record theirs also a delay infact everything is delayed, it's just slow to react to everything, Also you can't rewind live tv but you can pause it though. It does the job i want it to do at the same speed of my teenage son lol, no this is faster than my son but only just :) "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hitachi Digital TV Recorder - 500GB.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hitachi Digital TV Recorder
Posted11 February 2014
Customer avatar
By bbb
From:bbbb
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
" Good value for money, it is a bit slow to react to the remote control but other wise works well "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hitachi Digital TV Recorder - 500GB.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted04 February 2014
Customer avatar
By dynamo
From:Bristol, City of Bristol, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
" easy to order on line,collected at my convenience,easy to follow instructions,comes up to all my ex petations "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hitachi Digital TV Recorder - 500GB.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
tv recorder
Posted04 February 2014
Customer avatar
By gordy
From:West Yorkshire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
" so easy to set up and use,easily the best recorder i have ever had
g bamford
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hitachi Digital TV Recorder - 500GB.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good product
Posted30 January 2014
Customer avatar
By smilerman
From:cardiff
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Easy to use and set up. Great little picture in picture facility. BUT be aware that you don't need to buy the 'essential extra' scart lead listed by Argos, as there's one included with the recorder. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hitachi Digital TV Recorder - 500GB.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Poor picture quality
Posted30 January 2014
Customer avatar
By Sue0151
From:Wirral, Merseyside CH60, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Range of features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
2 / 5
2 / 5
" Thought I was getting a bargain but returned the item due to the poor picture quality and replaced it with a more expensive Hd model which is far better. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hitachi Digital TV Recorder - 500GB.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hitachi Digital Recorder - 500GB
Posted29 January 2014
Customer avatar
By june71
From:Flintshire, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" very easy to set up and use
would recommend "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hitachi Digital TV Recorder - 500GB.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good product
Posted28 January 2014
Customer avatar
By Joe90
From:England
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Recorder works well, easy to use. reproduction quality good.
Small problem, when turned on it sometimes turns off after a few seconds but restarts ok.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hitachi Digital TV Recorder - 500GB.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I'm pleased with my purchase and would recommend!
Posted28 January 2014
Customer avatar
By Lisa
From:Nottingham
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" I'm pleased with this. I think any previous reviews of the picture freezing is due to the signal in certain areas. They do recommend checking your signal strength before purchase. Just to mention you DO get a scart lead with this, even though stated otherwise. I was actually encourage to purchase one so thought I would mention. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hitachi Digital TV Recorder - 500GB.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
value for money
Posted23 January 2014
Customer avatar
By H
Age:35 to 44
" Got this to replace an expensive Panasonic which broke. So far very happy with purchase. Good points: easy to use, series record, scart socket and good price. Bad points: slow to turn on, display is simplistic so you dont really know what it's doing, picture is a little grainy if you look really closely and slight discrepancy about storage space between website and box. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hitachi Digital TV Recorder - 500GB.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
hitachi tv recorder
Posted23 January 2014
Customer avatar
By colinutt
From:lancs
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
" Neat small unit which is simple to set up . Though catalogue seemed to suggest neither batteries for the remote nor cables were included they were all included . Records as expected but I find it surprising that the pass through loop coax to the tv does not work in the recommended low power off state . I have had to use a splitter to provide separate aerial input to both bits of kit . "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Hitachi Digital TV Recorder - 500GB.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cheapo recording and freeview+box
Posted23 January 2014
Customer avatar
By lennyb
From:uk
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
" this a great little box i say little because it is small but that does
not matter as what counts is inside it is a cheap way to buy a
box like this it does the job well 5 stars.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Hitachi Digital TV Recorder - 500GB.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
no good
Posted23 January 2014
Customer avatar
By willie
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
" This did not work I started to record and it just kept switching off so I had my money back "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Hitachi Digital TV Recorder - 500GB.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great addition to freeview TV
Posted23 January 2014
Customer avatar
By Griff25
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
" Brilliant functionality, twin tuner is great to be able to watch one channel and record another.
Overall very happy.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Hitachi Digital TV Recorder - 500GB.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product peforms as advertised.
Posted22 January 2014
Customer avatar
By The Bold One
From:Southampton, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
" The only negative feature is the slow start up from stand-by. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Hitachi Digital TV Recorder - 500GB.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
GREAT BASIC RECORDER
Posted14 January 2014
Customer avatar
By MarieG73
From:Sunderland, Tyne and Wear, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
" I'm not a great tv watcher and not into all these phone/tablet/apps etc etc and just wanted a basic box to replace my old one that had packed in - this one fits the bill fine, it gives me all the free channels, records, has a 7 day tv guide and program synopsis - why do you need any more!! Yes there's a delay loading up and accessing the guide but we're talking seconds not minutes. Only thing I miss from my previous box is rewind live tv, can pause but not rewind. Overall - great value for money "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Hitachi Digital TV Recorder - 500GB.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good for price
Posted09 January 2014
Customer avatar
By STEVE
From:CHRISTCHURCH
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
" easy to set up good instructions "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Hitachi Digital TV Recorder - 500GB.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted09 January 2014
Customer avatar
By jimbo
From:Essex, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
" Does exactly what it says on the "tin" lovely unit from hitachi "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Hitachi Digital TV Recorder - 500GB.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Recorder recorder recorder
Posted08 January 2014
Customer avatar
By Jan
From:England
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Simple to work and on the whole does what is needed. But the drawbacks are that if you are watching something for a while it turns itself to standby mode. Then the most annoying thing about it is when you set the timer to record something it frequently records all repeats of that program, so if you arent in you end up not recording something you really want because it is re recording something you already have. very annoying. I find myself always checking the timer to delete repeats. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Hitachi Digital TV Recorder - 500GB.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great value and so intuitive.
Posted04 January 2014
Customer avatar
By carefulwithmymoneydotcom
From:Bingley, West Yorkshire, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" I have owned one of these before and had confidence to purchase another one.It really is intuitive and so easy to set up. Great price and good quality. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 Next >>>