Philips Freeview+ HD Digital Smart TV Recorder - 500GB.

<p>This digitally interactive Philips Freeview+ HD digital TV recorder gives you access to amazing TV content and the best viewing experience. With easy recording functions, 500GB hard drive, 300 hours of recording time and high-definition, you will have a crisper, sharper picture bringing the finer details to your favourite TV show. </p><p>Digital TV features:</p><ul><li>Digitally interactive.</li><li>Favourite channels list.</li><li>Auto setup.</li><li>Electronic programme guide.</li></ul><p>Recording features:</p><ul><li>Freeview+.</li><li>Twin tuner.</li><li>500GB hard drive.</li><li>300 hours recording time.</li><li>Record 2 channels at the same time.</li><li>Record 1 channel whilst watching a previous recording.</li><li>Continual 2 hour recording buffer.</li><li>Series record.</li><li>Pause live TV.</li></ul><p>Connectivity:</p><ul><li>1HDMI output (one cable included).</li><li>1 SCART socket .</li><li>1 USB port.</li><li>Ethernet connection.</li></ul><p>Additional information:</p><ul><li>Upscales to 1080p.</li><li>Remote control batteries required: 2 x AAA (included).</li><li>Size H4.7, W25.5, D15.5cm.</li><li>Weight 850g.</li></ul><p>Energy efficiency information:</p><ul><li>On mode power consumption 13 watts.</li><li>Standby power consumption 1 watt.</li></ul><p>EAN: 3425160314076</p>
Overall rating:
2.857 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
5
6 of 1443%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
19 Questions | 19 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Philips Freeview+ HD Digital Smart TV Recorder - 500GB.
Review 1 for Philips Freeview+ HD Digital Smart TV Recorder - 500GB.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Easy to set up.
Posted03 June 2014
Customer avatar
By Sarah
From:Staffordshire
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Range of features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
2 / 5
2 / 5
"Had to return this item as picture kept freezing, sound would also go at times whilst you were watching something. It's a shame as it's a good quality picture when it works & very easy to set up."
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Philips Freeview+ HD Digital Smart TV Recorder - 500GB.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
compact and smart
Posted21 January 2014
Customer avatar
By rikkidee
From:Greater London
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"Very useful little box which works beautifully with my Philips Smart TV and is so easy to use"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Philips Freeview+ HD Digital Smart TV Recorder - 500GB.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
philips 500GB
Posted22 August 2013
Customer avatar
By gringo
From:middlesex
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
"excellent digital receiver easy to set up and tune. user friendly which is what i needed as it was for my elderly parents who are 70 and 90 yrs of age.only problem is size of on screen text tv guide and especially info so small even i cant read clearly sitting more than 6ft away"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Philips Freeview+ HD Digital Smart TV Recorder - 500GB.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
poor
Posted19 March 2013
Customer avatar
By Dave
From:camberley
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
"I got this product home set it up, all seemed ok at first, then I found that the sound was not matching the picture, looked in to setting to find that you might have to synchronice the sound using a No. between 1- 250, I tried it and found it made no difference. poor buy"
No, I do not recommend this product.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Philips Freeview+ HD Digital Smart TV Recorder - 500GB.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Disappointment
Posted06 March 2013
Customer avatar
By Snapper
From:Essex
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
"I was expecting a wifi enabled product and found they (Argos) had downgraded the model. Attaching the product to broadband hub via Ethernet cable. First operation was fraught and needed an upgrade immediately to access BBC iPlayer. Start up from off or standby is far to long, it initiates a boot sequence followed by front panel lights signals and display codes not described in the manual.
On a plus the picture quality is good and recording easy.
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Philips Freeview+ HD Digital Smart TV Recorder - 500GB.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointed
Posted20 January 2013
Customer avatar
By techchick
From:Dorset
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
"Tried two of these recorders as description had everything we wanted. First one was dreadful, poor picture quality, didn't tune properly etc. As we had read good reviews about it we decided to give it the benefit of the doubt and try another one. This was much better but kept freezing and we could only get it to work by unplugging at the socket. It also changed the timing of scheduled recordings which was very frustrating. Have now changed it for a Humax which we are very pleased with."
No, I do not recommend this product.
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Philips Freeview+ HD Digital Smart TV Recorder - 500GB.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A good buy!
Posted17 January 2013
Customer avatar
By Paul W.
From:South Yorks.
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
"Bought a different model but did not meet our requirements. This purchase was exactly what we required & to a degree, future proofed."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Philips Freeview+ HD Digital Smart TV Recorder - 500GB.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Awful
Posted17 January 2013
Customer avatar
By BuyAnotherBrand
From:Essex
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
"This product simply doesn't do what it's meant to do.
Mine didn't have iPlayer installed when I first switched it on and I had to wait several days for Philips to send me a patch.
It says it's recording a program and then doesn't save it.
It mutes for no reason in the middle of programs and you have to switch off to get sound back.
You can't rely on it to pause live TV, because sometimes it either won't or it pauses, but then jumps back to live TV when you press play so you miss stuff anyway.
It locks up at random so that it won't respond to the remote or the control panel. Sometimes it just won't switch off. Sometimes it won't switch on.
It looses channels at random. I don't have ITV1 at the moment. If I re-scan, I'll probably get ITV1 but loose something else.
A really pointless bit of kit."
No, I do not recommend this product.
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Philips Freeview+ HD Digital Smart TV Recorder - 500GB.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good after update
Posted15 January 2013
Customer avatar
By stuart
From:Lancashire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
"At first the box was not up to standard but after the software was updated it has been fine"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Philips Freeview+ HD Digital Smart TV Recorder - 500GB.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good recorder
Posted12 November 2012
Customer avatar
By Bill
From:Manchester
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Got this to replace an old video recorder that stopped working. Wish I'd done it years ago.
Plugged in the aerial and it set itself up in minutes. Can now record easily and my wife is delighted with it - no more fiddling with tapes and stuff - thats brownie points !
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+20points
24of 28voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Philips Freeview+ HD Digital Smart TV Recorder - 500GB.
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
1 out of 4 recommend this product