Top-rated product

Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.

<p>Freesats award winning service, Freetime, brings you over 200 channels, the most popular On demand services (BBC IPlayer, ITV Player, 4oD, Demand 5, YouTube, BBC News and BBC Sport), as well as a 7 day Roll Back Guide, across 26 channels. You can also record all your favourites and enjoy TV recommendations with Showcase picks. </p><p>Pair this box with the Freesat App that lets you choose what to watch, when to watch it, anywhere, anytime, with just the swipe of a finger on your iOS device. It lets you plan, record and manage programmes to watch and directly control your TV.</p><p>Clever recording means you can avoid clashes with on screen recording alternatives to ensure you don't miss your favourite programs. With 300 hours of SD recording and 125 hours of HD, there is plenty of space to fill!</p><ul><li>This product needs a fully installed satellite dish to operate.</li></ul><p>Digital TV features:</p><ul><li>Digitally interactive.</li><li>Digital text.</li><li>Favourite channels list.</li><li>Auto setup.</li><li>Electronic programme guide.</li></ul><p>Recording features:</p><ul><li>Twin tuner.</li><li>500GB hard drive.</li><li>300 hours recording time.</li><li>Record 2 channels at the same time.</li><li>Record 1 channel whilst watching a previous recording.</li><li>Continual 2 hour recording buffer.</li><li>Series record.</li><li>Pause live TV.</li></ul><p>Connectivity:</p><ul><li>1HDMI output (one cable included).</li><li>1 SCART socket .</li><li>2 USB ports.</li><li>Ethernet connection.</li></ul><p>Additional information:</p><ul><li>Upscales to 1080i and 1080p.</li><li>Remote control AAA (included).</li><li>Size H5.5, W35.2, D23.8cm.</li><li>Weight 1600g.</li></ul><p>Energy efficiency information:</p><ul><li>On mode power consumption 17 watts.</li><li>Standby power consumption 0.5 watt.</li></ul><p>EAN: 8809095666205</p>
Overall rating:
4.516 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 128 reviews
5 Stars
93
4 Stars
25
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
3
1 Star
7
118 of 12892%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
89 Questions | 105 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Review 1 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Humax HDR 100-S
Posted28 January 2015
Customer avatar
By liverpudlian.
From:Liverpool, Merseyside, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" very easy to install and use. works exceedingly well. Very easy to set up to record entire serials etc.... The only gripe is that the remote is not as elegant as it could have been... You can hear a faint hum of the hard drive though it is not noisy. Requires two satellite inputs. overall very satisfied. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
worth buying
Posted28 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Pippa
From:Cumbria
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" A good addition to easy viewing "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
PRODUCT FEEDBACK
Posted28 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Nicholas41
From:Helensburgh, Argyll and Bute, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" The product was reasonably easy to install and the problem encountered with the remote control was readily solved via the useful helpline. Wide choice of channels and pause, rewind, forward and the recording / playback facility easy to operate. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great buy
Posted28 January 2015
Customer avatar
By davos
From:wales
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Very happy with humax box. Why pay for tv when its free.
Easy setup, good features, picture quality perfect, plenty of channels. Just as good as pay tv boxes. Easy savings for a good price.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Humax freesat
Posted27 January 2015
Customer avatar
By barry
From:Essex
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Bought this, but had to return as it was faulty. A replacement was not available, so had a refund. I am a fan of Humax and this experience will not dampen my interest in purchasing this brand in the future. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Could do better
Posted27 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Gaz
From:Somerset, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
2 / 5
2 / 5
" Picture quality very good but having issues with programme guide as it freezes and one has to switch off and reboot.
Also the prog guide is not very user freindly compared with our old freeview box.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Disappointing
Posted27 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Evie
From:Beds
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Range of features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality of EPG 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" This product does not offer the range of programs we expected and is clumsy to use. We are used to Sky and thought this would be a cheaper alternative. In hind-site, it does not even offer as much as Free-view but the picture quality is better, as it is via satellite. Would not recommend. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great features and easy to use
Posted27 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Craig32
From:Oxfordshire
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" This was an upgrade from an early eurostar slingbox freesat box which became riddled with bugs through age and lack of continued product support. I wasn't expecting much from the upgrade but some of the new features are really useful and worthwhile! The only downside is the 4oD app doesn't appear to work very well, often failing to load a show which is a shame but we didn't have it before so we've not lost anything! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best buy
Posted26 January 2015
Customer avatar
By MRSBLH123
From:Essex, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Fed up with expensive Sky we decided to cancel and use the dish for FreeSat. There are loads of channels to watch and catchup as well as on demand.
Simple and fast to set up. Very easy to use with written booklets to guide you.
Easy to record a programme whilst watching another. Easy to ff and rewind and pause.
A very good buy at a very good price.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
humax hdr-1000s
Posted22 January 2015
Customer avatar
By dave
From:Scotland, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" does what humax said it does, good picture easy to use,
a light to let you know its recording would be handy.
mini TV screen,record a single program or a complete series.
AND ITS FREE...what more can I say.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Smart box and easy to use
Posted22 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Mikecourier
From:Lincolnshire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" The first box had a fault which was exchanged by ARGOS without a fuss. The second box developed a problem with internet access onDemand but was solved quickly by Humax help line who talked me through resetting the factory setting and started again. So far no further problems and a great little box to use. Humax are very good at helping with any problems. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
first class quality and features
Posted22 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Johnboy
From:Ayrshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Really very good, easy to set up , love the menu buttons for quick access to recordings for instance. connect with internet and the iplayer access is excellent. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
humax hd pvr
Posted14 January 2015
Customer avatar
By terry
From:stoke on trent
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I had the previous model to this which lasted 5 plus years before suddenly expiring!! However Humax pvr units are not the cheapest but to me are the best out there.
I bought this one as a replacement with no hesitation but it was not until I set it working that I realised this new model is light years ahead of the old one!
All the menus are so easy to use, recording is easy, it is honestly a pleasure to use.
GO BUY ONE......YOU WILL NOT BE DISSAPOINTED
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted14 January 2015
Customer avatar
By ErniesMum
Age:45 to 54
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Excellent, very happy with all aspects especially quick set up. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Humax HDR 1000S
Posted14 January 2015
Customer avatar
By gerry1000
From:Hertfordshire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" So far so good, I've had it for a couple of weeks now and overall been satisfied. The only slight problems I've had was firstly, that it takes a few moments for the hard drive to start which appeared to be a fault but is not. Secondly, the remote sometimes conflicts with my LG television, which apparently is not uncommon.
Overall, would recommend. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brilliant
Posted14 January 2015
Customer avatar
By britisle
From:Derby
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" An excellent unit. Very easy to use and great value for money. Goodbye Sky. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Humax
Posted14 January 2015
Customer avatar
By coombes
From:Bracknell, Berkshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Very pleased with this item and would recommend easy to use and set up "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Humax Freesat Box
Posted12 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Mary1
From:France
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Excellent product, all singing, all dancing does more than we could have imagined without having to search for satellites or programmes.We are retired, not too au fait with technology,so this was our dream scenario.We have recommended it to 2 friends,who are equally happy and were ourselves recommended it by friends.It sometimes tells us there is a recording conflict when recording from a non standard channel, eg Pick but we ask it to record next time it's on so no real problem there. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disgusted
Posted10 January 2015
Customer avatar
By MGJ
From:Dorset, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
" Just bought the Humax HDR 1000s, went through instructions bit by bit, came to connect to power supply and had wrong connector on box. Going to have to go out of my way to return to store NOT HAPPY. Won't get replacement! "
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice box.
Posted08 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Dave
From:Suffolk, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Used as a replacement for my old Sky+ box.
Easy enough to set up, though you do need to be able to connect to the internet (wired connection to your router is best) to get the most from it.
Lovely program guide, nice and easy to roll back to popular tv from the last 7 days. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 Next >>>