Top-rated product

Humax HDR-1000S 500GB Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.

<p>Freesats award winning service, Freetime, brings you over 200 channels, the most popular On demand services (BBC IPlayer, ITV Player, 4oD, Demand 5, YouTube, BBC News and BBC Sport), as well as a 7 day Roll Back Guide, across 26 channels. You can also record all your favourites and enjoy TV recommendations with Showcase picks. </p><p>Pair this box with the Freesat App that lets you choose what to watch, when to watch it, anywhere, anytime, with just the swipe of a finger on your iOS device. It lets you plan, record and manage programmes to watch and directly control your TV.</p><p>Clever recording means you can avoid clashes with on screen recording alternatives to ensure you don't miss your favourite programs. With 300 hours of SD recording and 125 hours of HD, there is plenty of space to fill!</p><ul><li>This product needs a fully installed satellite dish to operate.</li></ul><p>Digital TV features:</p><ul><li>Digitally interactive.</li><li>Digital text.</li><li>Favourite channels list.</li><li>Auto setup.</li><li>Electronic programme guide.</li></ul><p>Recording features:</p><ul><li>Twin tuner.</li><li>500GB hard drive.</li><li>300 hours recording time.</li><li>Record 2 channels at the same time.</li><li>Record 1 channel whilst watching a previous recording.</li><li>Continual 2 hour recording buffer.</li><li>Series record.</li><li>Pause live TV.</li></ul><p>Connectivity:</p><ul><li>1HDMI output (one cable included).</li><li>1 SCART socket .</li><li>2 USB ports.</li><li>Ethernet connection.</li></ul><p>Additional information:</p><ul><li>Upscales to 1080i and 1080p.</li><li>Remote control AAA (included).</li><li>Size H5.5, W35.2, D23.8cm.</li><li>Weight 1600g.</li></ul><p>Energy efficiency information:</p><ul><li>On mode power consumption 17 watts.</li><li>Standby power consumption 0.5 watt.</li></ul><p>EAN: 8809095666205</p>
Overall rating:
4.486 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 148 reviews
5 Stars
104
4 Stars
31
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
3
1 Star
8
135 of 14891%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
98 Questions | 115 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Humax HDR-1000S 500GB Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Review 1 for Humax HDR-1000S 500GB Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product
Posted23 April 2015
Customer avatar
By Happy J
From:Northumberland, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I love it. Easy to set up and use. Quality through and through. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Humax HDR-1000S 500GB Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fresat box
Posted16 April 2015
Customer avatar
By June 7
From:Seaford, East Sussex, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Very easy to set up ,all the features I wanted. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Humax HDR-1000S 500GB Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Does everything it says on the box.
Posted03 April 2015
Customer avatar
By martin47
From:Nottinghamshire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Easy set up, free-time feature v/good, very pleased with product. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Humax HDR-1000S 500GB Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Humax HDR-1000S
Posted26 March 2015
Customer avatar
By tuck'a
Age:45 to 54
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality of EPG 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" quite easy to use, sometimes keep freezing when watching catch up tv. could be internet speed!! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Humax HDR-1000S 500GB Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great value for money
Posted14 March 2015
Customer avatar
By swimman
From:Essex, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Good value for money, no paying sky etc. easy to set up and to use nice to have HD option product design look great too. There is no delay with switching the product on it only takes a few seconds so disregard any negative views on this point. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Humax HDR-1000S 500GB Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Well it is growing on me - slowly
Posted11 March 2015
Customer avatar
By DavieH
From:Northamptonshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality of EPG 
1 / 5
1 / 5
" With so many channels people I'm sure wish to select their favourites and the facility is there - but it take 4 button pushes to access it. On both my TVs and my Freeview PVR the favourites is the default EPG. Also the EPG only shows 'now and next' although it does show the time remaining of the current program. It's banned to the bedroom. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Humax HDR-1000S 500GB Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted10 March 2015
Customer avatar
By bob5763
From:Glasgow, Glasgow City, UK
Age:45 to 54
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Better picture than sky Hd "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Humax HDR-1000S 500GB Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
humax freesat
Posted10 March 2015
Customer avatar
By carol
From:yorkshire.
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" really pleased with this freesat box,great replacement for the endless repeats that you have to pay for on sky. it pays for itself in 4 months . great buy. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Humax HDR-1000S 500GB Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Disappointing
Posted04 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Jay
From:London, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" The box was easy to set up and easy to use but I was disappointed that it didn't have all the Freeview channels and the range of Freesat channels was not particularly useful to me as they included BBC Wales (in Welsh), BBC Scotland and Ireland. As I live in London and don't speak Welsh these haven't increased my viewing pleasure. I was also disappointed that it is not possible to record from on-demand. The HD channels are good and the unit is easy to use but expensive for what you get. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Humax HDR-1000S 500GB Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Humax HDR 1000S freesat box
Posted03 March 2015
Customer avatar
By TW
From:Southampton, Southampton, UK
Age:55 to 64
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Box has 2 satellite inputs so you can record a different program to the one you're watching. I can't easily connect a cable so I bought a Humax wireless adapter (not available from Argos so bought it on line).
Very pleased with results. I just plugged in my existing sat cable & it set itself up, now moving seamlessly from live TV to playback or recordings. It finds more channels than the old box and the controls are reasonably intuitive - 'home', 'menu', 'back' etc.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Humax HDR-1000S 500GB Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted03 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Jeff
From:Norfolk, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Excellent product. Easy to install. Good value "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Humax HDR-1000S 500GB Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best freesat box on the market
Posted03 March 2015
Customer avatar
By pete
From:West Midlands, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" great sat box with bonus of freetime feature which means you will never miss anything.
recordings a breeze with series link.
better than sky box ,quicker to turn on from cold ,great picture
if your looking for a quality freesat box look no further "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Humax HDR-1000S 500GB Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Seems Fine
Posted24 February 2015
Customer avatar
By vocaphone
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" The range of Features and ease of use are very good. The signal seems to be a little erratic though. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Humax HDR-1000S 500GB Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
poor
Posted17 February 2015
Customer avatar
By Mark
From:Suffolk, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" I returned it after a week for a refund. A pity because when it worked it was great, good features and very easy to use.
But it kept freezing, 3 or 4 times a day and only a reboot would get it going again. Then all my recorded programs disappeared, so it had to go.
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Humax HDR-1000S 500GB Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good piece of kit
Posted10 February 2015
Customer avatar
By Mike T
From:Lincolnshire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" I am waiting for a software update to enable the box to work properly, hence only average overall rating. It does not do quite what it says on the box "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Humax HDR-1000S 500GB Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Humax Freesat
Posted08 February 2015
Customer avatar
By Blackhawk
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Excellent product, easy setup and installation, would easily recommend to others. Picture and sound quality good. Catch up TV is a great addition to the box. Had to purchase broadband extenders to get full use of the box, but well worth it. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Humax HDR-1000S 500GB Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
humax free sat
Posted05 February 2015
Customer avatar
By sassybabe
From:Derbyshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Really pleased with this product going to save me about £365.00 a year "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Humax HDR-1000S 500GB Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Humax Delivers
Posted03 February 2015
Customer avatar
By Bargain Hunter
From:Kent, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" We have had other Humax products in the past and have always been pleased with the quality and durability.
This is no exception. A new format to the Guide but it is very clear and easy to use. Deleting of old stored programmes is simpler and quicker allowing for whole series to be deleted in one choice. Reminders are shown if you can also view a programme on another channel in HD and you can switch instantly by pressing the OK button. Quality of picture is good.
Overall very pleased.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Humax HDR-1000S 500GB Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent tv box
Posted29 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Marko18
From:Weymouth, Dorset, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" A very good piece of equipment. If it had Netflix I would of given it 10 out of 10.
Very easy to use and set up.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Humax HDR-1000S 500GB Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+HD with Freetime PVR
Posted29 January 2015
Customer avatar
By marjon68
From:Lancashire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" This product has generally got good features, but it seems to have a flaw in as much as it will not play back with either ITV player or BBC I player. I have had advice from the Humax customer service department (twice) on how to reset the product to enable the above players to work. Having followed the advice given, the identified players still do not work with my Humax box. Would not recommend this product at the present time. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 Next >>>