Top-rated product

Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.

<p>Freesats award winning service, Freetime, brings you over 200 channels, the most popular On demand services (BBC IPlayer, ITV Player, 4oD, Demand 5, YouTube, BBC News and BBC Sport), as well as a 7 day Roll Back Guide, across 26 channels. You can also record all your favourites and enjoy TV recommendations with Showcase picks. </p><p>Pair this box with the Freesat App that lets you choose what to watch, when to watch it, anywhere, anytime, with just the swipe of a finger on your iOS device. It lets you plan, record and manage programmes to watch and directly control your TV.</p><p>Clever recording means you can avoid clashes with on screen recording alternatives to ensure you don't miss your favourite programs. With 300 hours of SD recording and 125 hours of HD, there is plenty of space to fill!</p><ul><li>This product needs a fully installed satellite dish to operate.</li></ul><p>Digital TV features:</p><ul><li>Digitally interactive.</li><li>Digital text.</li><li>Favourite channels list.</li><li>Auto setup.</li><li>Electronic programme guide.</li></ul><p>Recording features:</p><ul><li>Twin tuner.</li><li>500GB hard drive.</li><li>300 hours recording time.</li><li>Record 2 channels at the same time.</li><li>Record 1 channel whilst watching a previous recording.</li><li>Continual 2 hour recording buffer.</li><li>Series record.</li><li>Pause live TV.</li></ul><p>Connectivity:</p><ul><li>1HDMI output (one cable included).</li><li>1 SCART socket .</li><li>2 USB ports.</li><li>Ethernet connection.</li></ul><p>Additional information:</p><ul><li>Upscales to 1080i and 1080p.</li><li>Remote control AAA (included).</li><li>Size H5.5, W35.2, D23.8cm.</li><li>Weight 1600g.</li></ul><p>Energy efficiency information:</p><ul><li>On mode power consumption 17 watts.</li><li>Standby power consumption 0.5 watt.</li></ul><p>EAN: 8809095666205</p>
Overall rating:
4.656 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 90 reviews
5 Stars
70
4 Stars
16
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
3
87 of 9097%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
78 Questions | 92 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Review 1 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First class Humax Freesat HDR-1000S
Posted08 December 2014
Customer avatar
By Degsy1804
From:Haverhill, Haverhill, Suffolk CB9, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This product is total class. It's a high quality gloss finish and a very nice looking box. The programme guide is very easy and a vast improvement over the old guide. Recording programmes is extremely easy and efficient.
The catch up service is simply amazing. As well as all the catch up channels you can search and watch You Tube videos in high quality picture quality.
The remote can control your Television as well as the Humax box. I can't recommend this product enough. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
HUMAX
Posted02 December 2014
Customer avatar
By DENISE
Age:45 to 54
" I NEVER BOUGHT THIS ITEM ALTHOUGH I OWN A OLD VERSION "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-25points
0of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Great to start but major glitch
Posted30 November 2014
Customer avatar
By Will I T
From:Romford, Greater London, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Easy to set up.
But then it stopped there. Tried to go onto On Demand and stated i had no internet connection.
Rang Humax and they admitted where working on an upgrade in next few weeks as a known glitch. Stated this only was an issue on 10% of boxes.
So i took back.
Took that back and went to another retailer and purchased the HDR 1010s (the white one) "
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great product let down by sound
Posted26 November 2014
Customer avatar
By Graham
From:Lowestoft
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" The fist one of these I had to take back because the sound was intermittent. The 5OD On Demand channel kept on running the same adverts and then going back to the menu which was very frustrating. Overall I would recommend this as a replacement for Sky tv and I can watch films from my computer. So far there have bee no issues with the new one. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the BEST
Posted25 November 2014
Customer avatar
By John
From:Worcester, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This is a great product, a great price and all channels free, it's a pity Humax don't make cars. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wish I'd bought one sooner!
Posted25 November 2014
Customer avatar
By Sara74
From:Cornwall
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" This is a really smart box. Looks good and has much better features than my old Sky box, like the ability to watch a program while browsing the TV guide and search for a program by typing in it's name. Picture quality is great and the box shows me what channel I'm watching. The only problem I had was in set up as the menus froze when the box was connected to the TV with the HDMI cable. I connected the two with a scart lead and everything ran smoothly. I highly recommend this product! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Humax freesat
Posted25 November 2014
Customer avatar
By station master
From:cornwall
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Once the set up and connections were sorted instructions were good
Seems value for money
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product love demand TV
Posted20 November 2014
Customer avatar
By Juniper
From:East Yorkshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Easy to set up easy to use so many good features "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Humax HDR 1000S +HD with Freetime
Posted18 November 2014
Customer avatar
By Dave
From:County Durham
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Connected and operational within minutes.
Superb Quality picture and speed. Don't buy any other, this is the best.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for recording and watching HD Channels
Posted13 November 2014
Customer avatar
By Spike
From:Newton Abbot, Devon TQ12, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Very easy to set up (Needs 2 Satellite inputs to get full features)
Easy to navigate menus well worth buying.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love It
Posted11 November 2014
Customer avatar
By Midd
From:Arbroath, Angus, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Got rid of sky and this is this perfect replacement,also bought a dongle for it so have on-demand without any cables. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Does Everything It Says very pleased
Posted11 November 2014
Customer avatar
By Moni19
From:Barrow-in-Furness
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" 10 x better than humax Foxsat hdr
the freesat app where you can record programmes from your smart phone is fab.
just an all round improvement on the 1st ones out,
very pleased "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted10 November 2014
Customer avatar
By Maart
From:Oban, Argyll and Bute, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" A good box but notice that some recordings are cut short don't recorded the full program "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect picture
Posted10 November 2014
Customer avatar
By Baza
From:Cleveleys Lancashire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This new model really exceeds the previous model. Much easier to use. Completely happy with this purchase "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
easy to use, responsive
Posted15 October 2014
Customer avatar
By typhooteaman
From:West Midlands, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Very pleased with the features of the unit, online players work well, flawless recordings so far, epg well laid. Unit is quiet responsive too with no noticeable delays when pressing remote keys and moving around the menu. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
stylish and efficient HD freesat viewer
Posted14 October 2014
Customer avatar
By Jules
From:Essex
Age:45 to 54
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" A good product that is easy to set up and use, and delivers all that is expected. I can see why it is a 'Which?' best buy. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So easy!
Posted07 October 2014
Customer avatar
By snowhite
From:Lincs, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Love it, its so easy to connect up. Use sky wires, it does everything more or less for you. No monthly contract. Would recommend "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product is quick and easy to set up
Posted07 October 2014
Customer avatar
By Redrose0602
From:Hertfordshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Di exactly what I wanted - good clear picture and easy and reliable for recordings. The only criticism is the number of times you need to press 'ok' at start up and when you change channel using the guide - but getting used to that now and it's reliability makes up for this. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Humax Freesat Recorder
Posted01 October 2014
Customer avatar
By Dave
From:Hastings, East Sussex, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Range of features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" The Humax Freesat Recorder is a good player.
But there are few things what could make it a whole lot better. The buttons on the remote are to small for my eyes. Also the manual only tells you the bare basics and only with exploring it do find that it has many features which it does not even mention. One of them is that if you if you plug in a memory stick into the USB you can play MP3's.
But I would recommend it.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR
Posted30 September 2014
Customer avatar
By Peter
From:Plymouth, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I bought this product as a replacement for an old satellite receiver with no recording facilities. I have only just set it up and used it for the first time, but my first impressions are very favourable. It is very easy to use and the recorded picture quality is excellent. As I have no internet connection as yet, I haven't been able to try out all the smart features. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 Next >>>