Top-rated product

Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD Digital TV Recorder.

<p>Freesats award winning service, Freetime, brings you over 200 channels, the most popular On demand services (BBC IPlayer, ITV Player, 4oD, Demand 5, YouTube, BBC News and BBC Sport), as well as a 7 day Roll Back Guide, across 26 channels. You can also record all your favourites and enjoy TV recommendations with Showcase picks. </p><p>Pair this box with the Freesat App that lets you choose what to watch, when to watch it, anywhere, anytime, with just the swipe of a finger on your iOS device. It lets you plan, record and manage programmes to watch and directly control your TV.</p><p>Clever recording means you can avoid clashes with on screen recording alternatives to ensure you don't miss your favourite programs. With 300 hours of SD recording and 125 hours of HD, there is plenty of space to fill!</p><ul><li>This product needs a fully installed satellite dish to operate.</li></ul><p>Digital TV features:</p><ul><li>Digitally interactive.</li><li>Digital text.</li><li>Favourite channels list.</li><li>Auto setup.</li><li>Electronic programme guide.</li></ul><p>Recording features:</p><ul><li>Twin tuner.</li><li>500GB hard drive.</li><li>300 hours recording time.</li><li>Record 2 channels at the same time.</li><li>Record 1 channel whilst watching a previous recording.</li><li>Continual 2 hour recording buffer.</li><li>Series record.</li><li>Pause live TV.</li></ul><p>Connectivity:</p><ul><li>1HDMI output (one cable included).</li><li>1 SCART socket .</li><li>2 USB ports.</li><li>Ethernet connection.</li></ul><p>Additional information:</p><ul><li>Upscales to 1080i and 1080p.</li><li>Remote control AAA (included).</li><li>Size H5.5, W35.2, D23.8cm.</li><li>Weight 1600g.</li></ul><p>Energy efficiency information:</p><ul><li>On mode power consumption 17 watts.</li><li>Standby power consumption 0.5 watt.</li></ul><p>EAN: 8809095666205</p>
Overall rating:
4.7 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 60 reviews
5 Stars
47
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
58 of 6097%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
54 Questions | 65 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD Digital TV Recorder.
Review 1 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Humax HDR 100S
Posted25 June 2014
Customer avatar
By Mrs A
From:Worcestershire, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I'm very pleased with this, good quality ad ease of use, glad I paid a bit more for the quality."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Humax HDR-1000s freestst+ HD Digital TV Recorder
Posted25 June 2014
Customer avatar
By Sals
From:Cornwall
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Easy to set up and use. Unfortunately in the info I did not see anything about the need for a second feed from satellite dish which is needed for recording and playback at same time and changing channels while a recording is in progress"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted24 June 2014
Customer avatar
By tonym
From:tyne wear
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Very good freesat plus can also play movies of a memory stick looked at a lot of freesat hardrive s this seems the best to me good design t"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best DVR
Posted18 June 2014
Customer avatar
By Steve zodiac
From:Darwen, Blackburn with Darwen, UK
Age:45 to 54
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I am very happy with my new purchase ,ie it was easy to set up,
& programe to record what i want ,& freetime catch up is also great when you connect it to your broadband ......so far i`m very happy
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works with single sat cable
Posted10 June 2014
Customer avatar
By KarenC
From:Manchester, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Using with old free Sky dish with single cable connected to old TV via SCART lead (not supplied) without internet. Works well but obviously cannot use all features. Can pause live TV (up to 2 hrs) and record one prog at a time, and also watch recorded prog while another recording or watch TV in same group of channels while one recording. Instructions assume 2 sat cables and internet, but when connected with just one it all worked straight away on wizard by selecting right line source on TV."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sky plus replacement
Posted28 May 2014
Customer avatar
By Daveyboyfromwales
From:Pembrokeshire, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Having had sky+ for many years and the price going up and up, I decided to give up sky, it was the recorder box I would miss the most. When you cancel, the box just stops.
The solution is the freesat Humax box, I had read on forums, you just unplug sky & plug in the Humax connect the satellite cables and away you go.
I have found the whole thing a breeze, all the features are easy to work with.
Conclusion to all this.. It's the price of 3 months viewing.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All the features
Posted28 May 2014
Customer avatar
By I hate ads!
Age:65 or over
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Had a digibox which I had to pay monthly for but rarely watched other than freeview channels and the price kept going up.
Have very good reception with my freeview aerial but if that changed I would need to get a freesat box so got one to start with. I am very pleased as I can record programmes to watch later and even have it linked up to broadband so can watch catch up in comfort in front of my normal tele.
Happy to recommend it.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted22 May 2014
Customer avatar
By Mal.
From:Derbyshire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Happy with this product the second one I have bought for a different room, impressed with the features."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Humax HDR Freesat+ Digital TV recorder
Posted20 May 2014
Customer avatar
By Gerry
From:East Yorkshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Very nice looking machine. does the job it was purchased for. Very happy"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
easy to set up
Posted22 April 2014
Customer avatar
By Billie
From:Argyll, Taynuilt, Argyll and Bute PA35, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Arrived on time and really is plug and play."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
humax hdr 1000s
Posted09 April 2014
Customer avatar
By susan45
From:raunds
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"ease of use and installation"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FIRST TIMER
Posted08 April 2014
Customer avatar
By lesley
From:Hull, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"we bought this because we was sick of sky and this was best of all freesats and others of the simlar thing, so far very pleased not had it a month yet so will let you know."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent
Posted08 April 2014
Customer avatar
By skye1
From:Inverness, Highland, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This product was so easy to install, the features on the recorder are just what I needed, able to record and watch back at my leisure."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Humax Freesat + freetime
Posted27 March 2014
Customer avatar
By Jo
From:Cumbria, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I didn't want to subscribe to Sky so this is the next best thing. There is no extra cost with Freesat other than you do need it connected to a satellite dish.
It is brilliant for viewing in HD what a difference with picture quality.
The amount of channels is great if you want to watch something different.
Overall I am very happy with my purchase.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
humax freesat hd
Posted06 March 2014
Customer avatar
By saleemsaggy
From:south yorkshire
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"purchased this as a replacement for a samsung 7800 that has failed me twice in two years.i am so happy that i did,the humax is so much better than the samsung 7800.my only gripe is that the remote control buttons are hard to see in dark lighting but ill get used to it.the remote is very powerfull as i can point in any direction and the main unit recieves the signal also extended warranty to 2 years by registering online,also the freesat ap on my phone is brilliant well done humax."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great box
Posted05 March 2014
Customer avatar
By wills
Age:45 to 54
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Great box easy to use loads of features excellent buy"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brilliant box
Posted20 February 2014
Customer avatar
By AM
From:Cambridge, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Setting up and tuning is easy. Combine box with the Free time app makes this so easy to use. Not available for Android yet.. It does not have built in wi-fi but a LAN cable is supplied if your router is nearby or purchase the dongle. You can then set up recordings from an iPhone or ipadand hide the box. To watch catch up, just scroll backwards through the EPG rather than load the catch up apps. feature does require network connection. Sound & picture quality is great and HD scale up.has AD too."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Humax 532/3256 500gb Tv Recorder
Posted20 February 2014
Customer avatar
By Joe71
From:Devon
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I have used Humax before but this is fantastic .Really like Freetime HD the beginner will need time to get familiar with this equipment"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product update.
Posted16 February 2014
Customer avatar
By LizziesMum
From:Devon UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have been toying with updating my original Humax Freesat box for some time. I could not be more pleased with this latest model. It brings my TV experience right up to date with so many new features.."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD Digital TV Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A perfect substitute for SKY
Posted12 February 2014
Customer avatar
By betJ
From:Lancashire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"As I was unable to contact Sky to downgrade my late husband's package it was suggested I get a Humax freesat box to connect to the satellite dish and I would still be able to record programmes. Works perfectly - I can also with the aid of a 'dongle' watch iPlayer. Wonderful - can thoroughly recommend this box - so easy to operate."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 Next >>>