Top-rated product

Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.

<p>Freesats award winning service, Freetime, brings you over 200 channels, the most popular On demand services (BBC IPlayer, ITV Player, 4oD, Demand 5, YouTube, BBC News and BBC Sport), as well as a 7 day Roll Back Guide, across 26 channels. You can also record all your favourites and enjoy TV recommendations with Showcase picks. </p><p>Pair this box with the Freesat App that lets you choose what to watch, when to watch it, anywhere, anytime, with just the swipe of a finger on your iOS device. It lets you plan, record and manage programmes to watch and directly control your TV.</p><p>Clever recording means you can avoid clashes with on screen recording alternatives to ensure you don't miss your favourite programs. With 300 hours of SD recording and 125 hours of HD, there is plenty of space to fill!</p><ul><li>This product needs a fully installed satellite dish to operate.</li></ul><p>Digital TV features:</p><ul><li>Digitally interactive.</li><li>Digital text.</li><li>Favourite channels list.</li><li>Auto setup.</li><li>Electronic programme guide.</li></ul><p>Recording features:</p><ul><li>Twin tuner.</li><li>500GB hard drive.</li><li>300 hours recording time.</li><li>Record 2 channels at the same time.</li><li>Record 1 channel whilst watching a previous recording.</li><li>Continual 2 hour recording buffer.</li><li>Series record.</li><li>Pause live TV.</li></ul><p>Connectivity:</p><ul><li>1HDMI output (one cable included).</li><li>1 SCART socket .</li><li>2 USB ports.</li><li>Ethernet connection.</li></ul><p>Additional information:</p><ul><li>Upscales to 1080i and 1080p.</li><li>Remote control AAA (included).</li><li>Size H5.5, W35.2, D23.8cm.</li><li>Weight 1600g.</li></ul><p>Energy efficiency information:</p><ul><li>On mode power consumption 17 watts.</li><li>Standby power consumption 0.5 watt.</li></ul><p>EAN: 8809095666205</p>
Overall rating:
4.478 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 136 reviews
5 Stars
96
4 Stars
28
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
3
1 Star
8
124 of 13691%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
91 Questions | 107 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Review 1 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Seems Fine
Posted24 February 2015
Customer avatar
By vocaphone
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" The range of Features and ease of use are very good. The signal seems to be a little erratic though. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
poor
Posted17 February 2015
Customer avatar
By Mark
From:Suffolk, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" I returned it after a week for a refund. A pity because when it worked it was great, good features and very easy to use.
But it kept freezing, 3 or 4 times a day and only a reboot would get it going again. Then all my recorded programs disappeared, so it had to go.
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good piece of kit
Posted10 February 2015
Customer avatar
By Mike T
From:Lincolnshire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" I am waiting for a software update to enable the box to work properly, hence only average overall rating. It does not do quite what it says on the box "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Humax Freesat
Posted08 February 2015
Customer avatar
By Blackhawk
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Excellent product, easy setup and installation, would easily recommend to others. Picture and sound quality good. Catch up TV is a great addition to the box. Had to purchase broadband extenders to get full use of the box, but well worth it. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
humax free sat
Posted05 February 2015
Customer avatar
By sassybabe
From:Derbyshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Really pleased with this product going to save me about £365.00 a year "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Humax Delivers
Posted03 February 2015
Customer avatar
By Bargain Hunter
From:Kent, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" We have had other Humax products in the past and have always been pleased with the quality and durability.
This is no exception. A new format to the Guide but it is very clear and easy to use. Deleting of old stored programmes is simpler and quicker allowing for whole series to be deleted in one choice. Reminders are shown if you can also view a programme on another channel in HD and you can switch instantly by pressing the OK button. Quality of picture is good.
Overall very pleased.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent tv box
Posted29 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Marko18
From:Weymouth, Dorset, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" A very good piece of equipment. If it had Netflix I would of given it 10 out of 10.
Very easy to use and set up.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+HD with Freetime PVR
Posted29 January 2015
Customer avatar
By marjon68
From:Lancashire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" This product has generally got good features, but it seems to have a flaw in as much as it will not play back with either ITV player or BBC I player. I have had advice from the Humax customer service department (twice) on how to reset the product to enable the above players to work. Having followed the advice given, the identified players still do not work with my Humax box. Would not recommend this product at the present time. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Humax HDR 100-S
Posted28 January 2015
Customer avatar
By liverpudlian.
From:Liverpool, Merseyside, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" very easy to install and use. works exceedingly well. Very easy to set up to record entire serials etc.... The only gripe is that the remote is not as elegant as it could have been... You can hear a faint hum of the hard drive though it is not noisy. Requires two satellite inputs. overall very satisfied. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
worth buying
Posted28 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Pippa
From:Cumbria
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" A good addition to easy viewing "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
PRODUCT FEEDBACK
Posted28 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Nicholas41
From:Helensburgh, Argyll and Bute, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" The product was reasonably easy to install and the problem encountered with the remote control was readily solved via the useful helpline. Wide choice of channels and pause, rewind, forward and the recording / playback facility easy to operate. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great buy
Posted28 January 2015
Customer avatar
By davos
From:wales
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Very happy with humax box. Why pay for tv when its free.
Easy setup, good features, picture quality perfect, plenty of channels. Just as good as pay tv boxes. Easy savings for a good price.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Humax freesat
Posted27 January 2015
Customer avatar
By barry
From:Essex
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Bought this, but had to return as it was faulty. A replacement was not available, so had a refund. I am a fan of Humax and this experience will not dampen my interest in purchasing this brand in the future. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Could do better
Posted27 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Gaz
From:Somerset, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
2 / 5
2 / 5
" Picture quality very good but having issues with programme guide as it freezes and one has to switch off and reboot.
Also the prog guide is not very user freindly compared with our old freeview box.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Disappointing
Posted27 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Evie
From:Beds
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Range of features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality of EPG 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" This product does not offer the range of programs we expected and is clumsy to use. We are used to Sky and thought this would be a cheaper alternative. In hind-site, it does not even offer as much as Free-view but the picture quality is better, as it is via satellite. Would not recommend. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great features and easy to use
Posted27 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Craig32
From:Oxfordshire
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" This was an upgrade from an early eurostar slingbox freesat box which became riddled with bugs through age and lack of continued product support. I wasn't expecting much from the upgrade but some of the new features are really useful and worthwhile! The only downside is the 4oD app doesn't appear to work very well, often failing to load a show which is a shame but we didn't have it before so we've not lost anything! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best buy
Posted26 January 2015
Customer avatar
By MRSBLH123
From:Essex, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Fed up with expensive Sky we decided to cancel and use the dish for FreeSat. There are loads of channels to watch and catchup as well as on demand.
Simple and fast to set up. Very easy to use with written booklets to guide you.
Easy to record a programme whilst watching another. Easy to ff and rewind and pause.
A very good buy at a very good price.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
humax hdr-1000s
Posted22 January 2015
Customer avatar
By dave
From:Scotland, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" does what humax said it does, good picture easy to use,
a light to let you know its recording would be handy.
mini TV screen,record a single program or a complete series.
AND ITS FREE...what more can I say.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Smart box and easy to use
Posted22 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Mikecourier
From:Lincolnshire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" The first box had a fault which was exchanged by ARGOS without a fuss. The second box developed a problem with internet access onDemand but was solved quickly by Humax help line who talked me through resetting the factory setting and started again. So far no further problems and a great little box to use. Humax are very good at helping with any problems. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
first class quality and features
Posted22 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Johnboy
From:Ayrshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Really very good, easy to set up , love the menu buttons for quick access to recordings for instance. connect with internet and the iplayer access is excellent. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 Next >>>