Top-rated product

Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.

<p>Freesats award winning service, Freetime, brings you over 200 channels, the most popular On demand services (BBC IPlayer, ITV Player, 4oD, Demand 5, YouTube, BBC News and BBC Sport), as well as a 7 day Roll Back Guide, across 26 channels. You can also record all your favourites and enjoy TV recommendations with Showcase picks. </p><p>Pair this box with the Freesat App that lets you choose what to watch, when to watch it, anywhere, anytime, with just the swipe of a finger on your iOS device. It lets you plan, record and manage programmes to watch and directly control your TV.</p><p>Clever recording means you can avoid clashes with on screen recording alternatives to ensure you don't miss your favourite programs. With 300 hours of SD recording and 125 hours of HD, there is plenty of space to fill!</p><ul><li>This product needs a fully installed satellite dish to operate.</li></ul><p>Digital TV features:</p><ul><li>Digitally interactive.</li><li>Digital text.</li><li>Favourite channels list.</li><li>Auto setup.</li><li>Electronic programme guide.</li></ul><p>Recording features:</p><ul><li>Twin tuner.</li><li>500GB hard drive.</li><li>300 hours recording time.</li><li>Record 2 channels at the same time.</li><li>Record 1 channel whilst watching a previous recording.</li><li>Continual 2 hour recording buffer.</li><li>Series record.</li><li>Pause live TV.</li></ul><p>Connectivity:</p><ul><li>1HDMI output (one cable included).</li><li>1 SCART socket .</li><li>2 USB ports.</li><li>Ethernet connection.</li></ul><p>Additional information:</p><ul><li>Upscales to 1080i and 1080p.</li><li>Remote control AAA (included).</li><li>Size H5.5, W35.2, D23.8cm.</li><li>Weight 1600g.</li></ul><p>Energy efficiency information:</p><ul><li>On mode power consumption 17 watts.</li><li>Standby power consumption 0.5 watt.</li></ul><p>EAN: 8809095666205</p>
Overall rating:
4.724 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 76 reviews
5 Stars
60
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
74 of 7697%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
67 Questions | 79 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Review 1 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
easy to use, responsive
Posted15 October 2014
Customer avatar
By typhooteaman
From:West Midlands, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Very pleased with the features of the unit, online players work well, flawless recordings so far, epg well laid. Unit is quiet responsive too with no noticeable delays when pressing remote keys and moving around the menu."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
stylish and efficient HD freesat viewer
Posted14 October 2014
Customer avatar
By Jules
From:Essex
Age:45 to 54
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"A good product that is easy to set up and use, and delivers all that is expected. I can see why it is a 'Which?' best buy."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So easy!
Posted07 October 2014
Customer avatar
By snowhite
From:Lincs, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Love it, its so easy to connect up. Use sky wires, it does everything more or less for you. No monthly contract. Would recommend"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product is quick and easy to set up
Posted07 October 2014
Customer avatar
By Redrose0602
From:Hertfordshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Di exactly what I wanted - good clear picture and easy and reliable for recordings. The only criticism is the number of times you need to press 'ok' at start up and when you change channel using the guide - but getting used to that now and it's reliability makes up for this."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Humax Freesat Recorder
Posted01 October 2014
Customer avatar
By Dave
From:Hastings, East Sussex, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Range of features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"The Humax Freesat Recorder is a good player.
But there are few things what could make it a whole lot better. The buttons on the remote are to small for my eyes. Also the manual only tells you the bare basics and only with exploring it do find that it has many features which it does not even mention. One of them is that if you if you plug in a memory stick into the USB you can play MP3's.
But I would recommend it.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR
Posted30 September 2014
Customer avatar
By Peter
From:Plymouth, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I bought this product as a replacement for an old satellite receiver with no recording facilities. I have only just set it up and used it for the first time, but my first impressions are very favourable. It is very easy to use and the recorded picture quality is excellent. As I have no internet connection as yet, I haven't been able to try out all the smart features."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superb equipment
Posted18 September 2014
Customer avatar
By mb
From:Cornwall, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We especially love the ability to watch the previous week's programmes so easily, so that if we forget to record we just roll back, saves recording space too. So simple to use and so versatile. Love, love, love it. It will pay for itself in 4 months. We don't need all the extra channels so we're very happy."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Not bad
Posted16 September 2014
Customer avatar
By TC
From:Fife
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality of EPG 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"Controls not intuitive. Seems to have some mystery issues - sudden brief blank screen, loss of sound when starting from standby, irritating."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wow.....
Posted16 September 2014
Customer avatar
By Lomper888
From:Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I've cut Sky so looking for a replacement. This box beats Sky hands down... so many features. If anyone knows what an MKV file is then this stream them flawlessly from my media server. Amazing piece of kit..."
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Not fancy but does the job
Posted16 September 2014
Customer avatar
By tech-dad
From:lancashire
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Like many we were looking to ditch a well known satellite provider but freeview signal where we live is woeful, so in step humax with a nice PVR.
Recordings are fine, pause and rewind of live TV works well. Also has a few nice unadvertised features including the ability to play divx files from usb/DNLA.
My only criticism is with the user interface as this does feel a little clunky and unresponsive at times. Also the start up time from standby to on is a little on the long side 5-10 seconds."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An excellent replacement for sky+
Posted16 September 2014
Customer avatar
By marcadam
From:Birmingham
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is as good, if not better than the alternative sky products. The EPG is really functional and easy to use. I particularly like the way the menu tells you if the channel you have selected is available in HD and switches at the press of a button. Most importantly this product will pay for itself in less than 10 months as there are no monthly subscription fees."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
freesat Box og tticks
Posted02 September 2014
Customer avatar
By Popeye
From:Belfast
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I have been a freesat customer for many years and decided to upgrade to this new player/recorder. A good choice as it was simple to install and works a treat as they say.
After you have mastered the endless menu's you can settle down to watching what you want.
A super product and judging from my last box this one will last me many years. A great buy.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am so glad I bought this
Posted02 September 2014
Customer avatar
By joe63
From:Yorkshire, VA, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"It has everything I wanted and more I truly cannot fault it great !"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent product
Posted26 August 2014
Customer avatar
By Karen
From:hull
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Brilliant product so easy to use and just plugs straight in to your satellite dish and off you go recording quality excellent highly recommend"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great buy
Posted26 August 2014
Customer avatar
By Thirza
From:Kettering
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Great product. Had sky box for years. Don't watch sport or movies. So this box gives me all the features of the sky box, with no monthly payments. Great buy and easy to instal and use."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
not bad for second chose
Posted23 August 2014
Customer avatar
By TAZ
From:South Yorkshire, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"ended up with this one as my first selection was not in stock, slightly more expensive, but it was my treat to me so Ho-ho-ho."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Humax HDR 100S
Posted25 June 2014
Customer avatar
By Mrs A
From:Worcestershire, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I'm very pleased with this, good quality ad ease of use, glad I paid a bit more for the quality."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Humax HDR-1000s freestst+ HD Digital TV Recorder
Posted25 June 2014
Customer avatar
By Sals
From:Cornwall
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Easy to set up and use. Unfortunately in the info I did not see anything about the need for a second feed from satellite dish which is needed for recording and playback at same time and changing channels while a recording is in progress"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted24 June 2014
Customer avatar
By tonym
From:tyne wear
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Range of features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Very good freesat plus can also play movies of a memory stick looked at a lot of freesat hardrive s this seems the best to me good design t"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Humax HDR-1000S Freesat+ HD with Freetime PVR.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best DVR
Posted18 June 2014
Customer avatar
By Steve zodiac
From:Darwen, Blackburn with Darwen, UK
Age:45 to 54
Range of features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality of EPG 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I am very happy with my new purchase ,ie it was easy to set up,
& programe to record what i want ,& freetime catch up is also great when you connect it to your broadband ......so far i`m very happy
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 Next >>>